PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Reviews on PubCrawler from geoff bruce
Other Reviews by this User
 
August 30, 2014 @ 05:35 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.

Reviews By
geoff bruce

Beer Reviews
(39)

Restaurant Reviews
(0)






no
user
photo

39
Beer Reviews from geoff bruce
   

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ ALL ]
Average Rating
Beer Quality
Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome!
Great Great Awesome! Awesome!

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Awesome! Great

Establishment: BJ's Pizza and Grill, La Jolla, CA

As always, BJ'S do a good job. My only criticism of the IPA was not floral nose - so maybe more cascade hops? and served in a too cold a glass. Time is a great healer of "too cold." Now the hefervison (where is spell check when you need it) was rated as awesome.

Curent wife and I had an excellent lunch, awesome service from a place that undersalts food allowing one the privilidge of putting salt on food to one's own taste.

(05/01/2011)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: The Alchemist Pub and Brewery, Waterbury, VT

I note that my earlier thoughts were written under a slight beer haze. This will not happen again.

Not often I find a rival for the Mountain Sun in Boulder but after visiting The Alcamist once or twice a year,   i  now declare that The Mountain Sun has a worthiy  match.

the Alchemist , in Waterbury, Vermont  One of those places that you remember,  not just  for it's  Holy Cow  iPA - IBU 85   but also for the double IPA - Heretic -  99IBU  and of courser its Heady Topper -(IBU's - plenty) but who's counting?  Of  course they  had other beers but i don't care,  OK you might so it's worth mentioning that the Harvest Ale comes in at 35 IBU's   and the Porter IBU's are only 26 IBU but its full of flavour and I'm calling it Wobbly Harriet". It seemed to sink so smoothly and deliriously down her throaght. - they call it Pappys Porter and my sip indicated a a smoothie with deep chocalate tones, but I was going to drive - you know that is? Room for one more. The Friday cask offering, looked like a wheat beer, tasted adequately hopped and only had 4.5% by vol. So I had two - as one does. I  can't try them all so let's consider food.   The tomato  soup does for soup what double IPA does for pale ale. Chunks of uncircumcised tomato float in a creamy tomato and basil support system. This could be described as Tomato Stew.. If you like heavy IBU's in beer, then this ones for you, not to mention  the chicken pate and the pizza. At least SWMBO (She Who Must Be Obeyed) didn't share my pate. My only swear word thar effects her is "liver." Mussels in a sausage sauce - who would have thunk it? This is not pub grub. My sausage in sauercrout  was just too much so finish with maple pie. SWMBO dove into that one! Warning, this place fills and you have to drink whilst waiting for a table. Oh dear!

(10/16/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! N/A

Establishment: Hamiltons Tavern, San Diego, CA

Hamilton's , recommend by a concierge at the Manchester Hyatt. I tend to Hyatt when the current wife has a conferences. Otherwise, without "she who must be obeyed" it's Motel Six and close to a brewery or a place such as Hamilton's - the watering hole of our splendid concierge, . I had complained about the Hyatt having a disgusting pallet challenged range of near beers. The Hyatt, although a more than pleasant hotel has the most awesomely boring beer selections designed by man - or woman. The concierge knew without saying a word what I was seeking. Just imagine a Hyatt serving wine from a box? They just wouldn't - or would they?. Why do they serve such rotten beers? I digress but bad beers in otherwise splendid hotels - it's what we expect isn't it?.

Ten minutes and I was in paradise. Comfortable, local and Green Flash Imperial IPA. I started with the Green Flash West Coast IPA - just so as to tune my palate but some idiot soon made the glass empty. So onto the long slow one. Maybe you also should try Green Flash if you dare. Just have a designated to take you home. You can't drink one. it's like chips (crisps). Once the packet is open - crunch.

My friendly local brewery was also on tap. Avery - one of my all time Colorado favorite's but why bother when I have it to hand back home. Hamilton's have a range of ciders (hard of course). This place as the Americans would say "rocks." If you enjoy games, blues and other nere do well music and great beer - especially that Green Flash which is one of the most utterly absorbing tongue twisting delectable beers available - unless one is in Anchorage and have some Midnight Sun IPA - but that's another story. Did I mention they have Green Flash? Just a tad more hops and it would be dangerouse.

Hamilton's. - a reason for moving to San Diego. A great pub and all those breweries within an hour or so, just in case Hamilton's don't have it on tap.

(11/22/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Good Great Great

Establishment: San Diego Brewing Company, San Diego, CA

A brew pub that has 50 - yes fifty taps just can't go wrong. It also indicates a huge confidence in their own beers. I (as a drinker of very small quantities - drinker in training) would have to spend a few days to pass comment about the beer range - other than the domestic beers as "no comment" is all that need be said.

Dean, the master brewer, dressed in that style of elegance know only in the brewing world, produces an eclectic range of his own beers and supervises the fifty taps. This again is one of those "local pubs" that cater to the regulars. Within minutes I was chatting and having my leg pulled by some of the regulars. I visit so many places and generally, I intend to return. This is one of them. No grand style, just local comfort with the usual crowd where they all know each others name. Another watering hole not to be missed. By the way, to absorb all the alcohol - go for that cheese soup. Don't order if you arn't hungry. Artery blocking good.

When I find my notes I will probably add to this encouragement to visit this place.

(11/21/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A N/A Awesome!

Establishment: Ballast Point Brewing Company, San Diego, CA

So you want comfortable chairs and a fake roaring fire? Get lost - this is not your cup of tea - as it were. It's a brewery - a brewery on it's way to gather medals. Gongs of excellence. Your palate will tells you which is best. Who am I to recommend that IPA with a buzz of hops flowing though ones sinus? Those citrus undertones and overtones. Not that I love hops, I'm addicted. Why would one make beer without heavy hop additions? Whoops - oh well- try the IPA if you must A home brewers paradise, H.Q. of the Brewers Guild and a center of excellence. Ladies - if you miss this place - serves you right - unless you have a hot date. If you do and he brews - drag him along. Men if she doesn't like this place - you have the wrong woman. It's a brewery, it's excellent, just visit .

(11/21/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Great Great

Establishment: Coronado Brewing Company, Coronado, CA

A real pub with excellent beers Of course, not to have the three or four IPA's on tap removes Brownie points. Especially when the American IPA I had was flowing with citreous nose of those delightful hops and they had just made what they said was an Imperial or was it that better named double IPA? - BUT - not yet ready!! OK the Chili bowel made up for the lack of additional IPA's . I lie.

The brothers Chapman started this place with too many partners. By judicial use of buy outs, hit men and less desirable other methods - (I invented some of this as I lost my notes - must have been drinking) they have the now a delightfully calm place to hang out and put the world to rights. I was there for early lunch and I suspect that it gets hopping in the evenings. It's a meet people place and if I were on the island would look no futher. Having lost my notes, all I can say - charming server at the bar, met a regular who sent me to another brewery and lo and behold, later he rolled in. I will update when I find those blessed notes.

(11/21/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Midnight Sun Brewing Company, Anchorage, AK

Visiting a town without a car can present problems. I am the designated when Harriet is vintering but it never seems to work like that when I'm beering. Oh well that's life and she does love wine and "she who must be obeyed," must be indulged.

On professional (brewer) recommendation we headed for the Midnight Sun.

I sampled many beers as we were delivered by taxi. An immaculate conception and delivery , well worth the $20 Taxi fare from the heart of Anchorage..

I've visited some four to five hundred breweries and brew pubs and I have a major complaint about this one. Oh yes I know problems when I see them..

This brewery is a long - long way from everywhere, especially my home in Colorado.

The flavors, the mouth feel, the sheer joy that come from all corners of this brewery and it's as far from Colorado as is London from Colorado! Now I wouldn't dream of heading to London just for a brewery - Midnight Sun - I might well do just that.

No brewery can have ever had a brewer who delights in doing what brewers shouldn't and getting away with it. This man uses hops as though we have to get rid of a dreadful weed. His beers overflow with the most delicious flavouors, yeast nuances which I just have the descriptors to really say what they are about.

Gabe Fletcher is the Salvador Dali of brewers. Exhibiting intense skill as a brewer conjoined with a liberal dose of humour. Now you may well ask "How can a flavor make one laugh, how can flavor have humour? Try his beers and see. His beers are a flavorful riot!

A few days later I was wondering if I had just consumed too much to feel so good about a brew or seven? - The Baked Salmon in Danali had a sign "Midnight Sun - on tap." It was the IPA!! It was superb. I had not imagined the superb flavors. They are for real. The nose was for real, the attack on the side of the tongue with all those citreous floral tones - oh damn - they should have outlets here in Colorado.

Any time you see Midnight Sun Brewery - get a designated and indulge. I gather that Liquid Solutions in Portland can ship. OK then - send me a tanker.

The "samples" which some correspondent complained about are limited to seven. You deserve everything you get if you go over this limit as the samples are not the usual "sample" size. They must be at least 1/3 + of a pint and are high in % by vol. So quite complaining about being charged a measly $1 . Get a life and buy these beautifully made beers and consider yourself one of the privileged to be able to do so..

Their Double IPA is probably the best IPA I have ever sampled anywhere! Sorry, all my friends in the brewing industry. This is the ultimate, the one you have to match. I seem to recall seven different hops were used, but who cares if I'm wrong?

They have at present the Seven Deadly Sins in bottles. Yes - you have to buy seven bottles to partake. Each sin it's own little microcosm of flavors. Great beers all of them but always - would you have guessed - one comes back to that IPA? Well at least I do.

A Belgium style with a hop hit (did I dream that?) new beers with strange mixes of hops. How the heck Gabe thinks of them and combines the flavors - a secret of any great chef and he has the ability to conceptualize unknown flavors. Alaska with it's long long winter has one compensation as this brewer luxuriates in taking as many hops as can fit in the most enthusiastic combinations and he makes the most crazy bunch of flavors for all palates that I have ever come across, other than at the GABF.

Did I mention that I like this brewery?

(07/24/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great So So Good

Establishment: Phantom Canyon Brewing Company, Colorado Springs, CO

The IPA here is as it has always been, but with the more aggressive use of hops as used in more and more USA breweries, the hall mark Phantom Canyon IPA has lost it's edge. A few more hops and it would regain it's place.

Now my friend Peter often phones from the bar at the phantom to tell me of their latest offering as he knows I love the place but I can't face the traffic mess that is Colorado Springs. Those who know me, realize that if you are black, blue, straight, gay - no concern of mine - Bless you and have a drink. I enjoy company other than right wing religious zealots and one doesn't find many of them at micro breweries where palate is the concern of the day.

I even associate with Republicans.

Peter , a stalwart at the GABF for many years, and after my beer training of hi palate is now an IPA geek and was at the Phantom. He was approached by a couple of guys who suggested a rendezvous in a hotel close by. One of them tried to have a snuggle and was firmly pushed away by Peter who asked him to keep clear. Peter complained to the bar keep and then the manager and was rewarded with a 90 day suspension for being racist and homophobic!!!.

Peter is not racist or homophobic and if this is a new management policy, although I love their Shepherds Pie, it will now have to be a memory!

I have known Peter for so many years it's not funny and I resent him being accused of anything but being a political idiot. Yes - he voted for that guy and should be banned from voting, but not brewereies.

So if you are straight, gay, male, female, black, blue,or green, if you receive unwelcome touches at the Phantom Canyon, don't complain to the staff, go straight to the police.

By the way, the beers are usually more than OK but I don't think I will be able to confirm this for some time if ever.

(07/24/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Midnight Sun Brewing Company, Anchorage, AK

Some reviewer complains about $1 per large sample? Wow oh pathetic wow. I will do a longer description of this brewery - possibly the best brewery I have ever visited and advise the complainer to indeed stick to the Little Brown Jug or Dairy Queen. This brewery is a riot and is not to be missed for any reason unless you enjoy Budamillercoor Helium Lite- .

(07/22/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Captain Daniel Packer Inne, Mystic, CT

A night on the town in Mystic was becoming a farce. The local "Irish" pub had no beer worth even trying - unless you are a covert domestic drinker. There seemed to be fast food available but Piza at my local in Arvada -CO has made all others seem cruddy. A local sailor directed "She who must be obeyed" and I to Captain Daniel Parker Inne. Spelling inn - Inne - don't let that put you off. I know, "Inne" normally means plastic and false beer and food, but not here. This place rocks - well yes - old stone walls, low noise level and a delightful low key atmosphere, humorous staff - good beers (IPA on tap of course) and superb food. Crowded - Yes, but shouldn't all excellent places be? When traveling we never visit the same place twice - the idea is to experience as much as we can - but after finding this place - we returned. Just as delightful on the second visit. I will have to return to visit Mystic seaport and also this what every pub should be. Score 10 out of 10.

(05/11/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Doyles Cafe, Boston , MA

This is the home of the first account of Samuel Adams. The 1882 atmosphere is a dream, it's what a pub should be , the sort of pub one sees in film and indeed - over six films have been made here including Mystic River (Clint Eastwood) and I forgot to ask what beer he drank - The Brinks Job , more film and many - many adverts. The gorgeous molded ceiling is offset by an unpretentious bar back. A lovely mural and prints and - oh to hell with it - just visit - you will love it. And the place invites conversation. I talked with regulars having lunch. We covered politics and women and we didn't have time to cover religion as I had to get round to Sam Adams for the brewery tour. We admired the sheer genious of President Bush and I did find from them why Sadham Hessian attacked Kuwait - it would appear that they were side drilling into his oil field. Pretty naughty but what do I know? So it wasn't such an unprovoked attack as I thought. What one learns in a pub.They have a good range of beer from lite crap to IPA and stout. When in Boston, don't miss theis gem!

(05/11/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A N/A Awesome!

Establishment: Great Divide Brewing Company, Denver, CO

Those of you who don't live in Colorado - sorry. Move here to be able to taste beer before it's traveled thousands of mile. We have so many breweries which rate way above that horrible descriptor awesome. When breweries make beers better than any in the world, awesome just doesn't cut it. There are quite a few breweries which provide extreme beers as part of their selection - Great Divide is one. I drink for taste - so from moderate to wild, Great Divide has them all. My major complaint about their brewery is that I always forget to stock up on their winter beer. Each year they double production - so I know it will be there but too many beer geek's buy it and I they sell out before I can get my unfair share. This year - Brain Dunn - triple production - no excuses damn it!

(05/10/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So N/A N/A Good

Establishment: Boston Beer Company aka Samuel Adams, Boston, MA

If in the area, don't miss the tour if you have non micro drinkers with you. Non micro drinkers will begin to appreciate the that beer can nearly have a flavor. It's a fun tour, well presented. On the other hand, this brewery which has done so much to advance micro brewing and is at present helping others during the hop shortage, only offers beers appreciated by non beer drinkers. Beers are well made but and so are Coors and Bud - if you like that sort of beer. Some of the extreme beers made by Sam Adams and offered at the GABF would have made the tour much more interesting. Sam Adams can make some great beers so why the heck don't they have a beer geek tour? When in the area visit Doyles for an excellent range of beers - reasonable food in a superb atmosphere that takes you back over a hundred years. Delightful.

(05/06/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good N/A Awesome!

Establishment: Elm City Brewing Company, Keene, NH

There aren't enough Bill Dunn's the brewer. OK so he didn't have three beers on tap with 100 IBU's (a chili - oh wow oh wow, and a pilsner??) due to the hop shortage but all his beers are tasty (smoked porter is a must) and he follows the tradition of having guests beers as do other breweries of excellence such as Mountain Sun in Boulder. He uses his drinkers to judge beers - not competitions which is very sound as a concept but a pity as then I could taste his beer at the GABF. His smoked porter got my attention and I ignored the obligatory fruit beer. This is a destination brewery due to this having one of the brewing greats - and I know many brewers. Lovely town with a superb raconteur brewer. Where was my recorder when I needed it? One quote after another. When asked for a XXXX lite "do you want that in the bottle or in the can?"

(05/01/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: C.B. and Potts Restaurants / Big Horn Breweries, Broomfield, CO

We now have a problem with Pub Crawler. If a place was Awesome before and improves - how do you then rate it? I run brewery tours so ratings matter to me.

C B Potts have changed policy. They no longer serve domestics on tap. Took them long enough to realize that domestics are designed to be bottled or canned so why waste taps when Brewer Denis is going to compete with Brewer Steve from CB Potts at 120 th - (about three miles away) and we will be able to sample and declare a winner. Two great brewers who make better and better beers - we need a category above Awesome - "SPLENDID or SPECTACULAR"?

I took a group in yesterday and they loved a soured Belgium style. It took Denis nine moths to make and Belgium style enthusiast had better get in there but quick. Not my favorite but hey, that's the beauty of micro breweries and brewpubs. One person tries out an idea - not a committee. Shame that the Java Porter has run out. Who would have thought I would love a coffee breakfast beer? What do I have to do to make it a standard offering? I had to make do with the Big Red -that lovely beautiful satisfying beer - it's an IPA - take no notice of that Red in the name. Make do? I wish my whole life was making do and having to make do with that Big Red.

Now with more taps to devote to brewing, we will have even more unique offerings from this bloody marvelous chain of breweries. I must roll over to see what Steve is up to at CB Potts at 120th. He is always busy inventing new beers and the CB Potts brewery in Fort Collins has produced possibly the first Scottish Ale that I loved and Steve won't take that lying down. A SPLENDID brewpub.

(03/07/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Great Awesome!

Establishment: Twisted Pine Brewing Company, Boulder, CO

My only criticism is that they need a sampling guide to keep the 13 plus sample separated. That's why I rated service as only Great and now I feel guilty as it's awesome. The range of beers is fantastic - from a Chili beer that my guest (I run Brewery tours) love far more than I to two porters and wheat beers. I love hops and some foolish people accuse me of being a hop head. That's rather like accusing me of wearing shoes - their point is?

So Bob - owner - brewer - a great raconteur who loves showing off his beers, is very much part of the scene. When you visit the large tasting and sales room, try to find him. His enthusiasm is infectious.

His acute, clean delicious IPA is my favorite tipple. His wheat beers tantalize my guests more than I (hop head). Something for everybody and always well made beers. Bob goes for balance more than heavy hitting over the top beers. One of the joys of Boulder is tasting and listening to the account as to why he made the beer in this particular way. You will love Twisted Pine. Life is good.

(03/07/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Avery Brewing Company, Boulder, CO

I take people on brewery and brewpub tours. I love sharing my delight in what has become arguably the leading brewing area in the world. Colorado is the HQ of the Association Of Brewers and by sheer chance, within a mile or so we have Avery Brewing, probably the highlight of my tours. When it's big - big beers, sometimes dramatically hopped (there are those malt lovers who accuse me of being a hop head but what do they know?) Avery can't be surpassed. It's amazing that the Maharajah (try saving that after a glass full) has IBU's of 102 and one can still feel and taste the glow of the malt base. It's balanced - truly it is - and as I sip. I enter a metaphysical state. Maharajah - beer - a reason for living - an Imperial IPA that proves wine is purely for the undeveloped palate or cooking, why do brewers make all the other 80 + styles - will there ever be a beter beer? I confess that sometimes I enjoy some of the other styles but not when we have the Maharaja close by. . There are some foolish enough to disagree - but they haven't sipped this beer. So by now, maybe you think I'm going overboard about this brewery. If so - you haven't visited have you?

(03/07/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Breckenridge Brewery and Pub, Denver, CO

Great small batch beers, IPA to die for, a very worthy stout and the best barbeque in Denver. A small town real pub atmosphere with great staff. Did I mention that I like this place?

I should know as I run brewery and brewery tours. This place ranks at the top Geoff the Believer I believe I'll have another pint

(03/06/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Dry Dock Brewing Company, Aurora, CO

I take people on brewpub and brewery tours - here in Colorado and in the UK and I know quality and I look for great beers - OK - I do admit that I also love hops - and a relaxed atmosphere.. Dry Dock is comparatively new and has aimed high - and reached a pinicle very quickly with lots of hops as needed, brewing medals and a true pub atmosphere. It won't be just Avery, Bristol and Great Divide mentioned when talking of big beers. Dry Dock must now be included in the big beer league and will keep the others on their tippy toes.duking it out, for the biggest best beers. I pop in regularly just to make sure they use enough hops. They do - Isn't Colorado just great with yet another exceptional brewery?

(03/06/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Bull and Bush Pub and Brewery, Denver, CO

I run brewpub and brewery tours and get feed back from my guests. Can a brewpub that is awesome improve? In this case yes. My guests hadn't visited the B B for many years and remembered cigarette smoke. Yes it USED to be smokey. Now it's all light and airy and retains it's old pub charm. Plan on staying for an hour or three. Everything a pub should be and without the smoke you can taste those hops, those nuances of flavor and the more than adequate pub grub

(03/06/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: C.B. and Potts Restaurants / Big Horn Breweries, Englewood, CO

The Hefeweizen is a variation of Hefeweizen. The IPA is a variation of IPA. What the heck do the detractors of this brewery chain want?

I am tired of negative idiots who can't tell a bitterness from roasted malt from the bitterness of the beautiful hop. They pass comments about this chain and probably stand outside smoking so as to destroy their palates.

A sports chain which keeps noise levels low enough to be able to talk is step one.

To brew beers that all can enjoy, from a rich IPA to a domestic taste alike is step two.

To have good food at reasonable prices is step three.

What more do you want?

I don't own shares but would if I could. The food is good, the service when the place isn't being slammed, excellent. Ever notice that all taverns, pubs, restaurants have a servicing blip on Friday nights? Choose another night before passing comment - knucklehead.

The beers at all the C.B.& Potts are all to style and they keep the standards the same so that a Big Red at Westminster is the same as at Broomfield.You know what you are getting. It's called quality control!!!!!!! They are all well brewed and each C. B. Potts has two beers designed by each individual brewer.

The chain is good for meetings, for hanging out or that special get together. I have visited most brewpubs in Colorado and many other parts of the world and C. B Potts are an asset to any person who enjoys beer, enjoys good food and friendly well trained staff.

(01/23/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: C.B. and Potts Restaurants / Big Horn Breweries, Westminster, CO

I have traveled much of the world and have drunk East, West, North and South of the equator and can say that C B & Potts ALL make great beers with a quality control most can't imagine. Brewers are still encouraged to have their own recipes on tap and therefore Any CB & Potts will delight those who enjoy real beer. Call at any successful brew pub at the wrong time and service will be slow. So I avoid the very busy times

Brandi clearly has no knowledge of beer or food or is employ by one of the domestic beer production companies.

Maybe she is domestic drinker who visited at the wrong time of the month or has other problems. Please take no notice of the pallet challenged knuckle head. The Fish and chips are some of the best. Other dishes are great pub food. Try those superb soups - a meal in their own right. The more I think about her critique, the more apparent it is that she is employed by a competitor as everything she says is wrong and probably her name also..

C B & Potts brew beers for all palates. The Big Red is hoppy enough for a hop lover such as me. The Porter is a mellow chocolate / coffee roast flavor. Oh how it sips down so smooth. A change from the IPA.

The Bud look alike's are for the Brandi's of this world but as even the C B & Potts domestic taste alike's have a flavor - well in all honesty as I haven't tasted them -that's what beer judges have told me, she doesn't like beer with flavor and the same with food. Take no notice of her wretched critique.,

Brandi she should stick to Bud, Coors or Miller and Macdonald's for a real treat..

(01/12/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: C.B. and Potts Restaurants / Big Horn Breweries, Broomfield, CO

Nobody has added to this review since my last one.

I find that amazing as the beers just get better and the Fish and Chips are as good as any in the UK.

I forgot to mention the MUG CLUB. Join and you are invited to regularly to get together to taste new beers (I still always have my Big Red) in a real 20 oz pint. Applies at any CB Potts.

Reading my last review, it may appear that I'm part of the corporation. I'm not, and unfortunately I don't own shares or work for CB Potts, I just enjoy visiting them. Consistent quality and no deafening music bring me back, time and time again.

I just love the set up of good food and good beer.

KROC (Keg Ran Out Club) frequents this establishment and home brewers know where the quality is. Check out the KROC web site.

(03/03/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Alcatraz Brewing Company, Orange, CA

Why the heck did this person visit a brew pub and not taste the beer?

Why does this person even look at PubCrawler?

(10/23/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Stone Brewing Company, Escondido, CA

When I taste the Stone's IPA beer that has traveled all those miles to Falling Rock in Denver I wonder what the brewery beer must be like on site? Only one way to find out isn't there?

I always have a bottle or three for when a hop hit is needed, but as always "on tap" is best.

Makes me introspective as I realize that the USA has the best brewers in the world and the worlds worst foreign policies. Oh well, I don't drink foreign policy but Stones must be one of the classic breweries which will become a standard for others to emulate.

Anderson Valley, Siera Nevada, Anchor Steam and now - Stones. The West Coast rocks.

(07/10/2005)


Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ ALL ]













(0.149 seconds) 17:35:02 23.22.128.96, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS