PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Reviews on PubCrawler from gene
Other Reviews by this User
 
April 23, 2014 @ 06:24 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.

Reviews By
gene

Beer Reviews
(31)

Restaurant Reviews
(0)






no
user
photo

31
Beer Reviews from gene
   

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ ALL ]
Average Rating
Beer Quality
Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great
Great Great Great Great

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Berwick Brewing Company, Berwick, PA

Now called Berwick Brewing. They now have an event area for bands and other events. Guy and Tom have completed the pavilion over the Bier Garten. It opens on May 22. They still only serve pizza but have expanded the choices which are great, with Jager and Wisconsin Curd Cheese being tied with the plain cheese as my favorites. Generally there are now 5 taps serving. I believe this summer will be the best yet as they continue to expand and grow. Also Guy is "peddling" some of his beers to the Philly and the northern Susquehanna valley.

(05/11/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Earth Bread + Brewery, Philadelphia , PA

EBB has supergreat flatbread pizzas. I love the sausage with homemade mozzarella. I had a wonderful and very different IPA. After an hour of trying to get a taxi back to our hotel the owners bent over backwards trying to also get us a taxi. None were available. They then went to great lenghts to find us alternative transportation back. While waiting for that to arrive we were provided complimentary drafts. This was my third visit there. I live 140 miles away or I would be a regular. Everone should visit this pub no matter how far away they live.

(02/16/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Berwick Brewing Company, Berwick, PA

Guy has been brewing for 20 some years. His place is all about beer and conversation. He is humble and entertainly fun and enjoyable. He will expand and start a menu in the future. He has four on tap using a 2 barrel system and rotates thru 8 or so recipes. I very much enjoy his pilsner. He has a good pale ale and a very good lager. I am not a stout drinker. I would rate it very good, but it may be great to a stout drinker. He serves his own pizza Thurs. thru Sat. with HOMEMADE SAUCE(it is great!) and has free pretzels. The atmosphere is plain jane and very clean. He's enjoying himself and is happy with where he is at as far as growth/expansion. If you are from out of town, it is worth a 30 minute or more drive if you need to kill an hour and are thirsty. I live 20 minutes away and seem to be thirsty most weekends. Sometimes I stop on Sunday for a couple. People from Bloomsburg and surrounding area, if you haven't stopped in you are missing out. I always find someone to enjoy a beer with at the bar. Finally a brewpub close to home!

Guy has expanded hours. Open 3PM til 11PM Tues. Wed. Thur. Fri. Fridays. Open 1PM til 11PM Sat. 1PM til 7PM Sun.

(11/30/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great So So Good

Establishment: Old Forge Brewing Company, Danville, PA

In cold months it's freezing downstairs. I always go upstairs till warmer weather. service still needs improvement buy it's so-so. beers are okay to good. he's a new brewer. Phila. cheeseburger is great. chicken satay wrap is great. sausage sandwich is great if you can get it heated:(. I continue to go back because my favorite brew pub doesn't serve food. I start in berwick and go to danville for food or eat and have a beer in danville and finish at the pub in berwick. yeah crazy but I like great beer.

(03/09/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Good Great

Establishment: Earth Bread + Brewery, Philadelphia , PA

House Drafts: Love Your Mother (Mild Ale) 3.2% abv

Biere d’ Earth (Farmhouse Ale) 5.3% abv

Terra Fume (Smoked Wheat Ale) 4% abv

Sedgwick Pale Ale (Lemon Verbena and Local Hops) 5.8% abv

Guest Drafts: 13oz. - $3.75 / 20oz. - $5 Philadelphia Brewing Co. - Rowhouse Red

Philadelphia Brewing Co. - Wheat Wine

Victory Baltic Thunder

Victory Moonglow Weizenbock

Sly Fox O’Reilly’s Stout

Allagash White

One Guy Brewing Oktoberfest

Dock Street Rye IPA

High+ Mighty St. Hubbins Abbey

(10/08/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Great Great

Establishment: Blue Light Grill, Charlottesville, VA

thought I walked into just another great beer bar, but the menu really surprised me. I had the starr hill amber ale and it was delish.

4 starr hill brewery taps. 5 other good taps. gourmet food and it's great.

(09/30/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Berwick Brewing Company, Berwick, PA

Guy is just starting up. He opened this winter. He's taking it very slowly. He's been brewing for 20 some years. His place is all about beer and conversation. He is humble and entertainly fun and enjoyable. Hours are 1-9 Sat. and 1-6 Sun. He will expand and start a menu in the future. He has four on tap using a 2 barrel system and rotates thru 8 or so recipes. I very much enjoy his pilsner. He has a good pale ale and a very good lager. I am not a stout drinker. I would rate it good, but it may be great to a stout drinker. He serves only hot dogs and has free pretzels. The atmosphere is plain jane and very clean. He's enjoying himself and is happy with where he is at as far as growth/expansion. If you are from out of town, it is worth a 30 minute or more drive if you need to kill an hour and are thirsty. I live 20 minutes away and seem to be thirsty most weekends. We go to an early dinner elswhere and stop by for a few after. Sometimes I stop on Sunday for a couple. People from Bloomsburg and surrounding area, if you haven't stopped in you are missing out. Finally a brewpub close to home!

Guy has expanded hours. Open 4:30p till 11p Fridays.

(08/30/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A Great Great

Establishment: Berwick Brewing Company, Berwick, PA

Guy is just starting up. He opened this winter. He's taking it very slowly. He's been brewing for 20 some years. His place is all about beer and conversation. He is humble and entertainly fun and enjoyable. Hours are 1-9 Sat. and 1-6 Sun. He hopes to open Fridays in May. He will expand and start a menu in the future. He has four on tap using a 2 barrel system and rotates thru 8 or so recipes. I very much enjoy his pilsner. He has a good pale ale and a very good lager. I am not a stout drinker. I would rate it good, but it may be great to a stout drinker. He serves only hot dogs and has free pretzels. The atmosphere is plain jane and very clean. He's enjoying himself and is happy with where he is at as far as growth/expansion. If you are from out of town, it is worth a 30 minute or more drive if you need to kill an hour and are thirsty. I live 20 minutes away and seem to be thirsty most weekends. We go to an early dinner elswhere and stop by for a few after. Sometimes I stop on Sunday for a couple. People from Bloomsburg and surrounding area, if you haven't stopped in you are missing out. Finally a brewpub close to home!

(04/18/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Awesome! Great

Establishment: House Of Brews, New York City, NY

4 of us stopped in on dec 1 at 11:30 am before a broadway show. bar tender service was excellent and we sat at a booth at the bar. business was slow and picking up. bartender gave me a beer on him just to get me to try a particuIar beer I had not had before. would stop again.

(12/09/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Great Great

Establishment: Bullfrog Brewery, Williamsport, PA

Chris and I visited last nite,saturday. I had a pale ale that was worth the 1 hour drive, for me. very citrousy. I suspect lottsa cascade. I had too many so she drove home. The sesame encrusted tuna was delicious. I chose french fries as a pasta. They were okay but not homemade fresh. Salad is of varied greens rather than the tiresome traditional head leattuce many places serve. If in the area you should stop by. Reservations Friday, Sat would be good idea. We most always dine at the bar and occassionally have to wait for seats, although we got the last 2 this time.

(05/07/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Great

Establishment: KClinger's Publik House, Etters, PA

they are not closing. they are open and going full bore. bartender heard same rumor about closing. I was there 2 weeks ago.

(03/10/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Good Good

Establishment: Union Street Public House, Alexandria, VA

good to great. people are very social even before they get drunk. stopped in twice this past weekend while staying in town. prices are a little high. food was good to great. fordham beers and others, 8 or 10 on tap.

(06/21/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So N/A Good So So

Establishment: Founders' Restaurant and Brewing Company, Alexandria, VA

stop if you are near. don't make a special trip

(06/21/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Great

Establishment: American Flatbread Taproom was Burlington Hearth, Burlington, VT

(06/14/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Lousy So So Lousy So So

Establishment: Vermont Pub and Brewery, Burlington, VT

my second time and my last. poor selection. service was very poor. to the gentleman's comment below, I do know good beer and gave it a 2nd chance from 2 years ago. go down the street to the flatbread grill brew pub. sorry my 2¢

(06/14/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Elmer Suds Restaurant, Croton-on-Hudson, NY

the place I was at is in wilkes barre,pa. I did an update to reflect this. I am not familiar with the one in N.Y.

(05/08/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Good

Establishment: Elmer Suds Restaurant, Croton-on-Hudson, NY

they have about 10 taps of real beers. I had a troeg dubbel, somebody's tripple, forget who, a good IPA, they had 3 on. They also had a wheat,stout, stoudt's pale ale, a brown ale. very good bottle selection,things like spaten etc. I only had a burger,great. I had mussels/red cabbage soup,outstanding. they don't have french fries but do have lottsa sandwiches. the bar service was great. the place is a little "divey",only a few tables but large bar. very little,I mean very little parking. street parking starting across the intersection. not a first date place but great for beer drinking and sandwich/soups. I will return and try other foods. stop in if in wilkes barre,pa.

(05/07/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Good

Establishment: Arena Bar and Grill, Wilkes-Barre, PA

bar service was very good. food: homemade french fries,great. chicken rice soup,great. chicken chunks/brandy sauce,great. did not have any entrees. bar area was extremely noisy/loud music and very smokey. had to wait for a stool. wouldn't take my mom there but would take my wife,or yours:)staff is young so I can see why Chris had a bad experience. no excuse though.

(04/30/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Good Awesome! Great Great

Establishment: Selin's Grove Brewing, Selinsgrove, PA

great scottish ale although this batch lacked some 'scotch' flavor. still great. food as always great and different than normal pub soups/sandwiches. no real entrees

(03/20/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good N/A Good

Establishment: Barley Creek Brewing Company, Tannersville, PA

I had the celebration ale and oatmeal stout. both fantastic. stout was very different. loved it. ate burger at the bar. good. bar service was great. don't know about table service. I have a friend who hates this place but he hasn't been here for a year. he's gonna try it again. surprised at the negative reviews but I'll take note when I return.

(02/16/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A Good Good

Establishment: Independence Brew Pub, Philadelphia, PA

I had 2 oatmeal stouts that were delish. I am a brew pub fan but rarely drink stouts. My wife had an Kolsch and really liked it. I thought it was a pretty good Kolsch but I don't care for them. I had to leave for a short seminar at the sailboat show we were attending, so Chris was going to snack and catch up. well, someone bought her a beer so ladies if you like beer with a little wolf it's a good place. just kidding except that did happen. nice place for beer.

(02/03/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Tuscarora Mill, Leesburg, VA

but as another post mentioned it is pricey as hell foodwise. I had a salmon entree that was fabulous and unlike any salmon dish I've ever had. $28.00 yikes. if you can go for the beer. I've heard the Thoroughbred is not too good from the nice local couples we chatted with at the bar. tenders were good but you had to warm the one up a little. I'm going back but not for food.

(02/03/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Good Great

Establishment: Seven Bridges Grill and Brewery, Jacksonville, FL

on the first friday new year's day in evenig nice crowd great service. on saturday a week later at 7:30 p the place was very crowded bar packed. waitress said nicely it will be 15 minutes before I can get you a beer. not her fault. so I went to the bar and got ours and brought back to table. packed with younger crowd. I'm going back next winter though.

(02/03/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great So So Good Great Good

Establishment: Taylor Brewing Company, Lombard, IL

no ipa or pale ale available. octoberfest was good. I think a pale ale is a necessary core beer. course I don't own a pub. I go to a pale ale when all else fails. good standby

(11/02/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Cooper's Waterfront, Pittston, PA

good microdraft selection. very good food. too bad it's 40 miles for me. a must if visiting in town.

(09/16/2004)


Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ ALL ]













(0.139 seconds) 06:24:10 54.205.59.78, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS