PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Reviews on PubCrawler from greg jenson
Other Reviews by this User
 
July 24, 2014 @ 07:09 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.

Reviews By
greg jenson

Beer Reviews
(49)

Restaurant Reviews
(0)






no
user
photo

49
Beer Reviews from greg jenson
   

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ ALL ]
Average Rating
Beer Quality
Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good
Good Good Good Good

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Good Good Great

Establishment: Moonshine, Chicago, IL

This restaurant has been brewing for several years but finally seems to have it's brewing at a consistently high standard. They now have several of their own beers on tap in addition to some other taps. When I visited on 12/02/09, they had an IPA, a pale ale, a blonde ale, an Irish stout, and a triple IPA. The latter was good and interesting but the best beer was the Truth IPA. This restaurant is in the Wicker Park/Bucktown neighborhood and is not far south of the Piece Brewpub. They have a small but varied menu. I have only been there during the day and it is fairly relaxed at that time. Plus there is usually a space available in their small parking lot during the day. They have an outdoor patio in the summer with a view of the traffic on Division Street. If you sit out there long enough, you may see a vehicle actually stop at the all-way stop sign in front of the restaurant. Overall, after a shaky start with the brewing, Moonshine now deserves to be ranked up there with Chicaog's other fine brewpubs (Piece and Goose Island).

(12/04/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Lousy Good Good

Establishment: Illinois Brewing Company, Bloomington, IL

The owner told me that he had tried two brewmasters but that they wanted "real money" so he was back to being his own brewmaster. He has done a good job at this in the past. I tried several beers and the Colonel Harrington IPA was very good and quite hoppy. The Alaskan Amber was good. McGuire's Irish Red was a bit off. He always has lots of his own beers on tap; it might be good idea to ask for a taste before ordering a pint.

(07/20/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A Lousy So So

Establishment: Buckner Brewing Company, Cape Girardeau, MO

We were on our way to Memphis and went out of our way to stop at this place for lunch on a Tuesday. I had called the week before to verify they were open for lunch every weekday. When we got there, all the lights were out and there was a sign out front that said "Closed today". There was no other explanation. Apparently, they close whenever they feel like it. That is no way to run a business, especially, a brewpub that people are likely to go out of the way to. I withdraw my recommendation from 5/7/04. Check it out only if you happen to be in downtown Cape Girardeau. Don't go out of the way to get there.

(05/02/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So Lousy Good N/A

Establishment: Illinois Brewing Company, Bloomington, IL

Apparently, the owner/brewmaster is breaking in a new brewmaster. There appear to be some problems. I tried the pale ale and I agree with the previous review that this batch of the pale ale was not good. It had been a good beer when I had it here before. I was advised by someone in the know that the Stout, the Uptown Amber, and the Pilsner were all right. I tried them and they were fine. The pilsner was a bit too mild though; unlike the great hoppy pilsner I had here in 2003. I recommend giving them another chance (maybe in a month or two).

(12/27/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Awesome! Good Great

Establishment: Extra Billy's Smokehouse and Brewery, Midlothian, VA

This place is part of a chain of BBQ places but I believe this is the only one with the brewpub beers. I was pleasantly surprised that the beers were fairly good and not just a gimmick tacked on to an existing chain concept. The Pilsner was excellent and quite hoppy. It is in the Czech style not the American style. The Hefeweizen was also very good. The American Ale was rather mild and the Red Ale was decent but nothing special. The food was outstanding. The pulled pork and brisket were great. The brewpub is in a very busy area with lots of malls in a western suburb of Richmond. I didn't like the area but I liked everything else about Extra Billy's.

(10/28/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good

Establishment: Legend Brewing Company, Richmond, VA

This place is in a mostly industrial area south of the river and downtown Richmond. They have a nice patio but the view from the patio is of huge industrial pipes. Inside, there is a bar atmosphere in contrast to the restaurant emphasis of most brewpubs. My wife and I sat outside and tried a sampler of the beers. They were all good and we ordered pints of the Golden IPA since we like hoppy ales. However, this is far from being an outstanding IPA. And using the name "Golden" for a "pale" ale seems odd, especially since "golden ale" is a mild style of ale served at many brewpubs. On our way out, we went through the inside and I noticed that our waitress had not told us about Big Tom's Double IPA. It had not been in the sampler or listed on the beer menu. So, we had to have a couple of pints of that. It was excellent, their best beer by far. I believe this was a seasonal but they should consider making it a regular. They also might want to re-think their "Golden IPA". It's not bad but it could be better.

(10/28/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Good Great

Establishment: Richbrau Brewing Company and Restaurant, Richmond, VA

This brewpub is in a trendy area near downtown. They have a full menu and excellent food. The Hogwash IPA is excellent. The beers were all good.

(10/28/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good N/A

Establishment: Weeping Radish, Manteo, NC

This is a large place with a great beer garden, that is also large. The beers are German style, as is the food. The Hefeweizen is probably the best and most authentic of their beers.

(10/28/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Good Good

Establishment: Outer Banks Brewing Station, Kill Devil Hills, NC

I tried all of the beers here and liked them all except the Pipeline Pale, which is too mild for my taste. It is a light ale, so using the name Pale (as in pale ale) is a bit confusing. The Paddlesnapper ESB was my favorite. The brewpub is on the big highway in the Outer Banks and does not have a view of either the ocean or the sound.

(10/28/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good So So Good Good

Establishment: Portsmouth Brewing Company/Mault's Brewpub, Portsmouth, OH

This brewpub is west of downtown. They have a nice patio but they weren't serving out there when I was at the brewpub. Inside there are a lot of rooms but everyone was in 2 fairly small, smoky rooms. Everyone in the place seemed to be smoking. The non-smoking section was apparently a few tables by the kitchen that the kitchen staff was sitting at. The beers were good but nothing great. They are doing a good job considering that brewpubs in areas like this tend to have very mild beers. They had 8 beers on tap and I tried the sampler. The Hefe Weiss was the best. The pale ale was decent but could use some more hops. The menu is basically steaks or sandwiches. If you don't like smoky rooms, you might have to make a fuss to get them to serve you in some other area. They have a quite a few different rooms in the place.

(10/28/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So Great So So So So

Establishment: Watson Brothers Bistro and Brewery, Blue Ash, OH

This brewpub has a nice patio on a pond and excellent food. They could work on improving the service and the beers. The Oktoberfest was the best beer they had when I was there and it was on the mild side. The Amber and the Golden Ale were both so mild in flavor, there wasn't much difference in them. They were out of the Pale Ale when I was there. I notice that some others have rated this as the best beer. This place needs to punch up the beers and have a full flavored ale and dark beer at all times.

(10/28/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good So So Great

Establishment: Flour City Brewing, Incorporated, Rochester, NY

This is a typical brewpub in a mall area. It has a full menu and good food. They had quite a number of brewpub beers on tap and they were all good. For hop lovers, the British Attack IPA was excellent but the 44 Magnum Double IPA was even better. The latter had 100 IBU's. This brewpub is worth going out of the way to. The beers are much better than at the Bru Brewpub downtown. The service was passable when I went.

(10/27/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So N/A Good So So

Establishment: BrĂ¼, Rochester, NY

This brewpub is northwest of downtown in an area that is trendy or on the way to it. It seems to be a fairly popular place with a trendy young crowd but I don't think the popularity is due to the beers. I tried the sampler and the beers were on the mild side. The Dugout IPA was the only one I liked at all and it should have been labeled something else since it was a fairly mild ale not an IPA type at all. The point of the original IPA's in Britain was to make them strong and hoppy to preserve them all the way to India. There were no serious defects in the beers; they are just too mild.

(10/27/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Ithaca Beer Company, Ithaca, NY

This place is more of a retail store for their beers (in bottles & growlers) than a tasting room. They also sell some homebrew supplies. There's an old couch there you could sit on and drink a beer, I suppose, but no real bar. The beers are quite good. I tried them in both bottles and on tap. I especially liked the Flower Power IPA, a good hoppy ale.

(10/27/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Good Good Awesome!

Establishment: Wagner Vineyards and Brewing Company, Lodi, NY

This is a winery that started brewing beer as well. It is just northeast of Watkins Glen on Seneca Lake. They have a nice restaurant with a patio and a spectactular view of Seneca Lake and the hills on the other side. The beer is great, too. My wife and I tried the sampler and the beers were all good, especially the pale ale and IPA. If you don't want to eat, you can get small samples for free or pay for pints at the tasting room, which is inside the large gift shop next door to the restaurant. The brewery tasting room has picnic tables outside with the same great view of the lake. You can buy their beer to go in bottles (though only 2 kinds were available when we were there) or get a growler to go. They were out of growlers at the time but they filled one I had in the car from another brewpub.

(10/27/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Good Good So So

Establishment: Market Street Brewing Company and Restaurant, Corning, NY

This brewpub has uncovered tables outside plus a large covered area with an open garage-type door (that I assume is closed up in winter). The bar area is small. It is in the downtown area of Corning, which is quite nice. The beers were below average by brewpub standards. The Pot Belly Pale Ale was too mild and was not the hoppy ale that most of us now expect from the pale ale style at U.S. brewpubs. I don't know if they use an extract system or not but the beers reminded me of the mild beers you often get at brewpubs that use an extract system and try to get by without a full-time brewmaster.

(10/27/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Good Great

Establishment: Otto's Pub and Brewery, State College, PA

This place has a fairly typical brewpub decor with mostly a restaurant atmosphere. There are a few outside tables. It is on a busy highway in the northwest part of town and is not in the campus town area. They have a full menu and the food is good. The pale ale and other beers were good but, if you love hoppy beers, order the Double D IPA. It is fantastic. If you don't like sour Belgian style beers, avoid the Flanders Style Red Ale.

(10/27/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Good Great

Establishment: Market Cross Pub, Carlisle, PA

This brewpub has a pub type atmosphere, which is a nice contrast to the Bennigan's/Applebee's atmopshere at so many brewpubs. The British style pub food is very good. My wife and I tried a sampler of their own beers and all 4 beers were good. The Old Yeller IPA is excellent, especially the cask conditioned version. They also have quite a few other taps and microbrewery beers in bottles. This brewpub is worth going out of the way to.

(10/27/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Good Good Good

Establishment: Appalachian Brewing Company, Gettysburg, PA

This is a small restaurant at the same location as the Quality Inn, west of downtown. They had about 10 brewpub beers on tap when I was there in September. Possibly these are still made in Harrisburg but they tasted good, so who cares? The pale ale and hefeweizen were the best ones I tried. This brewpub is worth a visit. Regarding Gettysburg, I want to thank all of the people who sent in comments to pubcrawler about how bad the other brewpub in town is. I took your word for it and didn't go there. I learned my lesson after having some very strange beers at a brewpub in Jerome AZ (that had similarly bad pubcrawler reviews).

(10/27/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So Great Good Good

Establishment: Northwoods at Pokegama, Chetek, WI

This place has a great location on a lake with pine trees. There are picnic tables on the lake plus a patio and inside seating that both have lake views. The food is excellent. I'm not sure if they brew beers here or get them from the Eau Claire Northwoods. I loved the location and will go back but I wish they would make a truly hoppy ale and a full-flavored dark beer. There is nothing wrong with having some mild beers at a brewpub but all of the beers should not be mild, as they are here. The Pale Ale is not the hoppy, strongly-flavored brew that brewpub regulars expect when a beer is labeled a pale ale. The Red Cedar Red and the stout were a bit better but were still on the mild side. I'm sure the owners would say, "These beers are the kind of beers our customers like." But you can keep some mild beers for those customers and add a couple of more flavorful beers that will get you NEW CUSTOMERS!

(08/23/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Lousy Good Good

Establishment: Carlyle Brewing Company, Rockford, IL

This is an unusual brewpub in that it is more like a neighborhood bar than the usual brewpub/restaurant type. The beers are very good. I especially liked the APA and Hefeweizen. I liked the bar feel of the place compared to the many upscale or Bennigans type brewpubs. But the menu is very limited. Go for the beers and the atmosphere not the food. Another drawback is that Rockford is a town of 150,000 and there is no interstate to downtown. So, it takes awhile to get to the brewpub, which is just east of the river downtown

(08/23/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Appalachian Brewing Company, Gettysburg, PA

I called this brewpub and found out that they have re-opened. They are open 11-10 daily and currently have 10 of their own beers on tap.

(05/19/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! So So Good Good

Establishment: Paradise Alley on the Ocean, Jacksonville Beach, FL

This place has a pretty good draft selection and some great happy hour deals on the drafts (happy hour tends to last most of the day at this place). They have an extremely large bottle selection but the printed lists are not kept up to date. Lots of beers on the lists are no longer available plus there are other beers they have now that are not on the list. I don't know how anyone is supposed to order them. Still, you should be able to find lots of great beers here and it is a fun, relaxed place. The beer garden is huge but does not have an ocean view. They also rent 4 motels rooms on the ocean front (the rest of the rooms in this old motel building seem to be taken up by the bartenders). My wife and I stayed in the Lighthouse Room. It had very neat old furnishings and lots of lighthouse knicknacks. It had a frig and a wet bar. The place is right on the beach, the ocean view from the rooms and the yard in front of them is obstructed somewhat by the sand dunes but you are only steps from the beach. The rooms are expensive: $120 for a small room and $140 for a larger room. Plus, you have to pay in cash. Though the motel looks slightly seedy from the outside, the rooms are clean and nice (but odd) inside. It's a good place to stay if you plan to spend your time at their bar and the beach.

(05/12/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Stevens Point Brewery, Stevens Point, WI

This brewery is now making Augsburger. It is much more like a German lager than the previous versions of Augsburger by Stroh's and Huber. It is better than Labatt's version of Lowenbrau also. It's a good choice if you like German lagers.

(05/07/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good

Establishment: Crescent City Brewhouse, New Orleans, LA

I went to this place in April 2004. The special beer was an IPA. I've been attending the French Quarter Festival in April for 10 years and this is the first time the brewpub had an IPA as the seasonal. The other beers they serve are fine but the IPA is by far the best beer I've had at this brewpub. It is much better than Abita Amber, which is the micro they serve everywhere else in the Quarter. It's a bit too sweet and probably should be labeled a pale ale but please go there and order it. Encourage them to keep making beers like this.

(05/07/2004)


Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ ALL ]













(0.15 seconds) 07:09:40 54.89.138.238, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS