PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Reviews on PubCrawler from greg lyons
Other Reviews by this User
 
July 23, 2014 @ 07:02 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.

Reviews By
greg lyons

Beer Reviews
(10)

Restaurant Reviews
(0)






no
user
photo

10
Beer Reviews from greg lyons
   
Average Rating
Beer Quality
Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good
Great Good Good Good

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Broad Ripple Brewing Company, Indianapolis, IN

What a bunch of irresponsible a-holes. To reiterate my earlier post, while you may not be the same PERSON, you're the same pathetic GROUP, and you're doing a disservice to pubcrawlers everywhere by trying to run down a quality establishment because of your own immature behavior. Grow up!

(03/06/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Broad Ripple Brewing Company, Indianapolis, IN

Michael Helman, Roger Holt, "Patrick", Sofa King, Kristen Gentry, Amanda Zimmerman, and Tom McGinnis. All first-time reviewers on Pubcrawler who have never reviewed another establishment. All posting the same lame review about the wait staff at Broad Ripple. All obviously the SAME PERSON with an axe to grind for some reason.

This is one of the things that I hate about pubcrawler - the spineless ballot stuffing. My recommendation to anyone inclined to visit Broad Ripple for the first time - trust the opinions of those who have posted numerous reviews at establishments around the country, instead of reading the mindless trash that's been numbingly posted by the same guy for the last month or two.

(02/16/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Broad Ripple Brewing Company, Indianapolis, IN

Swept up in the atmosphere? Out-of-Town euphoria? Hmm...we must be talking about New York, London, Madrid, or maybe even Amsterdam? Wait...you're talking about Indianapolis? Indiana?

Look, I've never been to Broad Ripple, so I can't comment on the polarized reviews of late, but I have been to Indy several times in recent years. A fine midwestern town, but a far cry from a place that would bring an "out-of-towner" euphoria. That had to be one of the funniest things I've read in a while...Give me a break guys!

(01/25/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Lousy Good Good

Establishment: Ashley's, Ann Arbor, MI

Food: I ordered the Artichoke Dip, which was cold and tasteless. The tortilla chips that accompanied the dip were stale. Just awful.

Beer: The selection is mesmerizing, and I had a fairly fresh pint of Anchor Steam, followed by a very good sampler of four Michigan beers.

Service: Not bad.

Atmosphere: I agree with some previous reviews that this place does feel a little cramped, otherwise it's a good place to go.

(09/01/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great

Establishment: Michigan Brewing Company, Webberville, MI

Beer: Definitely above average. The Celis White and Grand Cru were pretty close to what I remember. The Amber was fresh and tasty. The Porter was my favorite of the bunch, and the IPA was also very good.

Service: The bartender was very friendly and knowledgeable. He was flying solo and doing a pretty good job of keeping up with a decent crowd.

Atmosphere: No-frills but relaxing. Plus, the "Things Beer" store next door is very interesting.

(09/01/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy So So N/A So So So So

Establishment: Leopold Brothers of Ann Arbor Brewery, Ann Arbor, MI

Beer: Horrible. The Hefe was poor, and the Dunkel had a strange sour taste. The Red wasn't any better.

Service: Quick, but crabby.

Atmosphere: It's got potential - a nice german-style bier hall.

I'd rate this as one of the worst brewpubs I've visited, simply because of the beer.

(09/01/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Lousy Good Good

Establishment: Grand Rapids Brewing Company, Grand Rapids, MI

Food: Awful. The cheddar beer soup wasn't good, and the chicken tenders tasted like they came right out of the microwave. I imagine prison food might be better.

Beer: Not bad. The Pale Ale was about average, but I really liked the Dark (smoky, rich).

Service: Pretty decent.

Atmosphere: The best part of the place - great bar atmosphere.

(09/01/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! N/A Great Great

Establishment: Buckeye Beer Engine was Buckeye Brewing, Lakewood, OH

This place is great. The selection was great, the quality was great (I totally agree with the previous review - the Hippie IPA is awesome), and the atmosphere is totally laid back. No stuffed shirts here - just guys who love great beer. Go out of your way to get here.

(06/10/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good So So So So

Establishment: Rocky River Brewing Company, Rocky River, OH

So, the hostess tells me that my wife and I can't be seated for 15 minutes, because of a problem with the kitchen. Huh. Instead, we went to the bar - where we were basically ignored for 10 minutes, and eventually wound up with an average Hefe. We tried the Amber Ale as well - again, ok, but nothing special. Just a bad vibe about this place...

(06/10/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So Great Great So So

Establishment: The Quarryman Taverne and Church Street Brewery, Berea, OH

A mild disappointment. Beer Selection was poor, with only four on tap yesterday - Sodog IPA was ok, Stout was drinkable, Barleywine was tasty but out of place on a warm June afternoon, and the Saison was unique. Food was definitely above average, and the service was friendly and competent. Maybe it was just me, but the focus didn't seem to be on the beer in this place.

(06/10/2003)














(0.075 seconds) 07:02:15 54.196.168.78, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS