PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Reviews on PubCrawler from gregg bieri
Other Reviews by this User
 
August 22, 2014 @ 06:50 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.

Reviews By
gregg bieri

Beer Reviews
(67)

Restaurant Reviews
(0)






no
user
photo

67
Beer Reviews from gregg bieri
   

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ ALL ]
Average Rating
Beer Quality
Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good
Great Great Good Good

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Great Good Good

Establishment: Rock Bottom Brewery, San Diego, CA

Typical of the chain, but this one has probably the best location of the ones I've been to. As usual the food was very good (a Rock Bottom tradition), and the beer selection was very good too. Good place to start the evening in the Gas Lamp Quarter.

(08/14/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Great Great

Establishment: Oggi's Pizza and Brewing Company was Stuft Pizza, San Diego, CA

I usually don't rate brewpubs this highly, but this place deserves it! The reason I gave it an overall great rating is it's location - very out of the way. Other then that the place and overall atmophere is excellent. It does not have the look, or have the feel, of a typical brewpub - it is more along the lines of a neighborhood sports/pizza place, which it basically is. The calzones are great, so through extrapolation the pizzas must be great too. They had an Amber that was very good. And both their IPA and Stout were excellent, with the IPA being an excellent example of that style. And the service, which makes or breaks any visit, was very good. It is worth the drive to visit this place!!

(08/14/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Great Great

Establishment: Callahan's Pub and Brewery, San Diego, CA

Very good atmosphere with excellent service. They have many other beers on tap beside their own, which makes for a great drinking experience. Lot's of TV screens for sports viewing also. Their Nut Brown Ale was very good. The Porter was good, though a little tangy. The food was excellent - had the Pub Steak. Would definitely visit again when in the area. Problem for vacationers getting here is that it is inland quite a way.

(08/14/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Great Good

Establishment: Taylors was Terrific Pacific Brewery and Grill, San Diego, CA

It's been three years since my last visit, and the name has changed to Taylor's. The service was much improved over my last visit, and everyone was friendly. The all you could eat crab legs were fantastic, and kept coming. As others have stated the view is incredible. Now the beer - still nothing to write home about. Very drinkable, and it beats Bud or Coors, but it is not enough to keep people coming back. I believe us tourists and our one visit per trip keep this place open.

(08/05/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Lousy N/A Good Lousy

Establishment: Mill Creek Brewery and Restaurant, Kansas City, MO

Went there recently after going to McCoy's across the street. I should have stayed at McCoy's! They only had 3 beers on tap so I ordered the Brown. It was equivalent to watered down piss. The service was good because on this WEdnesday evening (while the rest of the area was hopping) the place was dead - I was the only customer. Don't bother going here!!!

(08/05/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Great Great Great

Establishment: McCoy's Public House and Brewkitchen, Kansas City, MO

The beer was very drinkable, but not outstanding - so only the good rating. However, I will definitely come back. The Brown Ale was tasty and the IPA very strong. The Stout was good with a cigar. Food and service were outstanding!

(08/05/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Great Good Good

Establishment: BrewZZi Microbrewery, Bakery and Pizza, Boca Raton, FL

Strange place, it is like two different establishments depending on the time of day you visit. The dinner crowd is very reserved and older. Then after 9pm the crowd takes on a younger tone. The food was very good, especially the fish. Their beers, though plentiful when I visited recently, did not stand out. They were very drinkable, but in my opinion a typical indistinguishable Florida brew. At least it's better then a Hops! I would visit again for the food.

(04/08/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Great Great Good

Establishment: E and O Trading Company, San Francisco, CA

I gave this place an overall rating of good, only because it is a far cry from a typical brewpub. Though I must admit I liked the decor, and thought it was definitely unique, it just doesn't fit in with a typical brewpub atmosphere. The food was very good and the service was great. I would definitely visit again.

(04/08/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Good So So So So

Establishment: Steelhead Brewing Company, San Francisco, CA

Definite tourist trap. The attitude of the staff is really poor and the service suffers because of this. Food was typical pub fare. Worst place in the chain I've been to. If at Fisherman's Wharf, don't waste your time visiting this establishment.

(04/08/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Great Good Good

Establishment: ThirstyBear Brewing Company, San Francisco, CA

Definitely very upscale and trendy atmosphere. Food is different for a brewpub, but very tasty. Appear to have pool table, etc upstairs. Nothing here to make me want to visit again next time in town.

(04/08/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Good Lousy Good

Establishment: Hoppers Grille and Brewery, Palm Harbor, FL

This place is out of the way from all of the other sites to see in the Tampa Bay area. I have to admit that the drive was worth it from the point of view of the beers they had on tap. They were definitely some of the finest beers I've sampled, though I would still rate TBBC the best in the area. The down side to this place was the service. It sucked!!! I literally sat at the bar for 14 minutes while upteen staff walked right by me without asking for an order. This was especially true for a blonde overweight barman who appeared more interested in doing everything else, but serve beer. When one patron asked him for something he totally ignored them even though it was evident that he heard them. Finally a nice young lady, who was obviously waiting on tables, took my beer and food order. Unfortunately, because she was primarily waiting tables, she got back to me too infrequently. The entire staff was more concerned about counting tips, smoking cigs, and chatting then taking care of business. AS I said above the beer was excellent, kudos to the brewmaster, and the variety of styles was impressive, BUT get some new help. I doubt I will return. At TBBC they are friendly, service/customer oriented, and the beer is the best in the Tampa Bay area.

(02/27/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Great Good Good

Establishment: River Market Brewing Company, Kansas City, MO

Visited on a Wednesday night, and it was dead. Usually that is dead give-away that this may not be a very spot. However, they had an excellent selection of beers that weren't too bad (though nothing special). The food was very good also, but the waitress acted as though we were infringing on her time. After visiting the 75th St Brewery, this was a bit of a letdown. However, that said, I would still visit this establishment again, though I won't go out of my way.

(02/06/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Great Great

Establishment: 75th Street Brewery, Kansas City, MO

Had an excellent time when I visited, which was probably helped by spending the time here with two old friends. Though there was not a huge selection of beers t he night I went, the quality was very good. I also have to commend the service and food, both were very good. My visit was on a Tuesday night and the place was packed, another sign that the ratings for this place are well deserved.

(02/06/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Great Great

Establishment: Tampa Bay Brewing Company, Tampa, FL

Thought I rated this place several months ago, oh well. This was my second visit to this establishment in as many business trips. And as long as I have to come to this area, I'll be sure to stop by here. The food, especially the pizza, is excellent. It is matched by the service and the friendliness of the patrons. Finally, the beer. Each time I've been here (twice and counting) there has been an excellent selection to choose from. And the quality of this beer is great. Anyone who comes to the Tampa Bay area must stop here.

(01/13/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Good Awesome! Great

Establishment: Big Time Brewery and Alehouse, Seattle, WA

I give this place a great rating because of the atmosphere. A true college town establishment that cateres to a wide selection of people. The service on the night I was there was outstanding. The menu id very limited however, and the food is fair. Beers: Coal Creek Porter - very decent representation of a Porter; Yule Tide Christmas Ale - very tasty, bit malty with trace of spice; Redemption Nitrogen Ale - extremely hoppy/bitter; Liberty Hops Hopfest - sweet and hoppy; Atlas Amber Ale - too hoppy; Bhagwhans Best IPA - excellent!! Does have a smoking section.

(12/08/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Good Great

Establishment: Hale's Ales Brewery and Pub, Seattle, WA

Very nice place! There was a new barkeep on duty during my visit, so that impacted the service. The food was excellent, and the crowd was friendly. Their Porter was excellent!

(12/08/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Awesome! Great

Establishment: Maritime Pacific Brewing, Seattle, WA

Small out of the way place. The service was excellent and so was the service. However they were out of the Porter when I visited, so popular they were only bottling it at the time. The Nightwatch was very, very good. No smoking establishment.

(12/08/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great N/A So So Good

Establishment: Redhook Forecasters, Woodinville, WA

Typicaal Redhook beers, only on tap. I was made to feel that I was putting the bartender out, so I had only one and went elsewhere. The place was too bright though there was a sizable dining crowd. No smoking establishment.

(12/08/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great

Establishment: Northwest Brewhouse and Grill / Bear Creek Brewing Company, Redmond, WA

They had six beers on tap the night I visited. Unfortunately I tried my favorite style first, Porter, and never tried another. The Porter was very tasty!! However, I was in there for MNF and it was dead. No smoking inside either.

(12/08/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good

Establishment: Issaquah Brew House, Issaquah, WA

Overall I would rate this place very good (not quite great). The Dark Belgian was very good, a high alcohol content. However, that was the only beer brewed on premise they had the evening I was there. Food is typical pub fare, but very good. Service was also very good. Small smoking section in the back.

(12/08/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Good Great

Establishment: Steelhead Brewing Company, Irvine, CA

The food was excellent. The Porter was very tasty and the Blond and Red were also good. Excellent place to come to.

(06/28/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great N/A Good Good

Establishment: Back Street Brewery / Lamppost Pizza, Irvine, CA

This is truly a neighborhood style bar, but the locals are friendly. They had an ESB on tap that was very tasty. The Red wasn't bad either, but nothing special.

(06/28/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Lousy Great So So Good

Establishment: Ocean Brewing Company, Laguna Beach, CA

The help act as if this is a seen and be seen place. There were only two beers on tap when I visited - the Blonde was not very good, but the Red was excellent. The best pizza I've ever had in California also.

(06/28/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Awesome! Great

Establishment: Tustin Brewing Company, Tustin, CA

Upon arriving outside of this establishment I wasn't quite sure what to expect, except that this might be a snooty brewpub. First impressions can be so wrong. Great atmosphere, great beer and food, and the service was tops. Their Porter was good, and the Pale Ale and Red were very good. This is definitely worth a return trip, and a must stop for anyone in the area because it is truly the best brewpub in these parts.

(06/28/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good

Establishment: Huntington Beach Beer Company, Huntington Beach, CA

Only one block from the beach. That is the best thing about this place. Otherwise the beers are good (nothing exceptional), and the food is normal pub fare. Both the Nut Brown and Blonde were tasty and good for a quick one at lunch.

(06/28/2001)


Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ ALL ]













(0.192 seconds) 18:50:21 54.91.255.151, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS