PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Reviews on PubCrawler from g. michael yingling
Other Reviews by this User
 
July 22, 2014 @ 06:45 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.

Reviews By
g. michael yingling

Beer Reviews
(42)

Restaurant Reviews
(0)






no
user
photo

42
Beer Reviews from g. michael yingling
   

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ ALL ]
Average Rating
Beer Quality
Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great
Great Great Great Great

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Great Great

Establishment: Sapphire's Lounge, Canonsburg, PA

Not a great selection of drafts (only 2 non-macro's), but a growing bottle selection. Prices are fair, both on the food and beer. Food is good with generous portions.

(11/27/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Good Good Good

Establishment: Rail House Brewing Company, Marinette, WI

This was one strange place for beer. The sampler had eight beers. There were two fruit induced beers (peach & cherry), a Steam Beer that was very hoppy, a Stout (so called) that was really a Schwarzbier (black lager), a so-so scottish, a Pale Ale, and a Pilsner.

The Schwarzbier was actually pretty good, and eventhough it wasnt' to style, I liked the hoppy steam beer. The Pilsner puzzled me. It strangely tasted more like a weak Belgium Triple, with the Saaz hops and a slightly malty sweet taste. Everything else was so-so to weak.

(07/08/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A N/A Good

Establishment: Magic Hat Brewing Company, South Burlington, VT

I visited Magic Hat on last fall's beer trip. After everything i've heard from friends, i was a bit let down by the beers. I'm not saying that anything was particularly bad, but nothing was outstanding.

(04/18/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Fourquet Fourchette, Chambly, QC

A great stop on our Labor day trip. We wanted to visit the brewery (tours were already over for the day) but i'm glad they had this place. Most of the entrees used Unibroue's beers in the recipe. I wish i had the recipe for the Trois Pistoles sorbet. If only you could find a place like this in the U.S.

(01/17/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Empire Brewing Company, Syracuse, NY

Visited Empire on the tail end of our labor day New England beer trip. It had the best selection of the eight stops we made. All of their 12 beers were very good although they didn't offer anything overly hoppy at the time. I was very impressed with their diverse selection including a Berliner Weisse (not nearly as tart as the german imports that i tasted, but still good) and Shwartz (which was of my favorites, and i'm happy to note that it did get the Gold at GABF 2002). Definately a must visit.

(01/17/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great So So Great Great

Establishment: McNeill's Brewery, Brattleboro, VT

I visited McNeill's twice over Labor Day weekend. It's definately a place for the locals. It's not much to look at, but has great beer all the same. They don't take credit card OR run tabs, so make sure you bring lots cash.

(12/18/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Good N/A Good So So

Establishment: Jackie O's was O'Hooley's Pub and Brewery, Athens, OH

I keep on expecting them to improve, unfortunately they don't. They tried serving a barley wine style that was sugary sweet this visit(not malty... but sugary like coffee after adding 20 packets of sugar to a cup). It's a real shame that they can't make decent beer here.

(12/11/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Awesome! Good

Establishment: Bethlehem Brew Works, Bethlehem, PA

After talking with the Head brewer at the PennState Beerfest, i decided to give BBW another try. Unfortunately, i didn't think the beer was much improved (although it was better). The owner was extremely friendly and helpful, and i'd recommend the place because of that alone, but their staple beers still aren't in the great catagory. I enjoyed the two seasonals they brought to the beerfest much better. I'll still go back when i'm in the area, hopefully they'll continue to improve.

(12/11/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Rocky River Brewing Company, Rocky River, OH

It's one of the better establishments that i've visited. Their selection of beers rotates very frequently, but they still manage to produce very good beers. They had 6 beers when i visited last Kolsh (to style), Hefe (one of the best American Hefe's i've had), Zeus Juice (belgium strong ale, excellent), Saison (Took Gold at WBC 2002), American Pale Ale (to style), Java porter (heavy coffee flavor), and a Fruity Wheat (although i don't remember which fruit or collection of fruits it was). It's well worth the trip if you live in Cleveland or are just passing through.

(08/07/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good N/A Good Good

Establishment: Jackie O's was O'Hooley's Pub and Brewery, Athens, OH

It has the best beer in town. Unfortunately, that's because almost everywhere else has only macro-swill. Every once in a while they'll make a decent beer, but often their attempts aren't worth having more than once. They either need a new brewer or a more beer savy student body to demand better.

(08/05/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Great Great

Establishment: Free State Brewing Company, Lawrence, KS

Our first stop on our Memorial Day, Colorado trip. We stopped a bit by accident but lucky for us. All of their beers were good to very good. It wasn't the best brewpub i've ever visited but i wouldn't argue with other people telling me it was.

(07/24/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good So So So So So So

Establishment: C.B. and Potts Restaurants / Big Horn Brewing, Fort Collins, CO

Our last stop in Ft Collins, perhaps as an afterthought, we probably should of gone back to Lindens for dinner. Everything was underwhelming. No beer stood out as even being a solid product.

(07/24/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Odell Brewing Company, Fort Collins, CO

Our fifth stop which followed immediately after the H.C. Berger stop. I was somewhat dissapointed with the quality of their beers. Nothing really stood out except for their Porter. After everything i've heard about the 90 shilling, i would say it is very overrated.

(07/24/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Linden's Brewing Company, Fort Collins, CO

We stopped after visiting New Belgium, for lunch. Suprisingly good beer (maybe their's just something in the water). Their Barleywine was great and their Weizenbock was probably the best i've had. I was happy to see them get a silver in this years World Beer Cup for it. It would be easy to overlook this place, but you'll be kicking yourself if you do.

(07/24/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: New Belgium Brewing Company, Fort Collins, CO

Our second stop on our Memorial Day Colorado trip. It's an amazing tour and a great place to visit. I've never seen a company be so friendly and helpful. Oh and their beers are outstanding each one better than the next, although the La Folie was the best (see Rodenbach Grand Cru).

(07/24/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Awesome! Great

Establishment: H.C. Berger Brewing Company, Fort Collins, CO

Our forth stop on our Memorial Day Colorado tour. We got to meet the brewmaster and have a taste of a couple of items that they weren't giving samples of. They make some very good beers, especially their Chocolate Stout and their Maibock.

(07/24/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Good Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Flossmoor Station Brewing Company, Flossmoor, IL

This was the last stop on our memorial day trip to Colorado. All of the beers were very good to excellent although they were out of two of the ones i wanted to try. Since they're only 8 hours away, it's well worth the drive for me to pick up a keg or two some

(07/24/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Sharp Edge Creekhouse, Pittsburgh , PA

Apparently the cracks about them not having a beer engine worked. The Creekhouse now offers real ale! Plus the menu has been completely revamped (not just the specials). This place isn't just for beer-lovers anymore.

(02/04/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Awesome! Great

Establishment: Weyerbacher Brewing Company, Easton, PA

It's unfortunate that the brewpub (brewpub ONLY) won't be around after Dec 31. I thoroughly enjoyed the taster and the brewery tour. The move should help business as their current brewing facilities were very cramped. I heard the bartender speculate that they're hoping to reopen (brewpub) in six months. Until then i'll enjoy my big beer variety case.

(12/10/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Sharp Edge Creekhouse, Pittsburgh , PA

They've expanded the bar area so it isn't as crowded on friday nights and have started changing around their menu. The food has definately improved and should continue to get better. The only thing they're missing is a beer engine. Hopefully that will come shortly.

(12/10/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Drafting Room Tap Room and Grille, Exton, PA

It was pretty much how the previous reviewers said. It is a great beer bar that serves very good food. There aren't many non-standard (the usual suspects as they put it) drafts but the bottle selection more than picked up the slack.

(12/10/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Good Great

Establishment: Max's on Broadway, Fells Point/Baltimore, MD

A very extensive bottle and draft selection, although they had more than a couple macro-brews, and only a few Belgiums. Still worth visiting if you are in the area. Unfortunately they were out of the two beers i wanted most, Old Rasputin and some local Porter.

(10/23/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Great So So Great

Establishment: Great Lakes Brewing Company, Cleveland, OH

The porter was very good (much better than at my local bar and beerfests). Brown Ale was very good (i haven't had a good american brown ale since Neversink went under). Their Dunkel-Weiss wasn't to style although it would make a great Hefe-Weiss. The rest were good to okay (their Highlander Scottish was probably their worst, i couldn't taste any malt). I was a little put off by the server. My taster rack had some of the beers less full than others (half full or less on others) and she promptly told me which beer was which. I think she named 3 of the eight beers correctly. How can anyone mistake their porter for a bock?

(10/15/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Latrobe Brewing Company, Latrobe, PA

I would of never guessed so many people who think Rolling Rock is the best beer out there would actually visit a site dedicated to rating breweries, brewpubs, and beer bars. It's sort of like a Priest rating birth control devices. What's next, Motel 6 being listed as a 5 star hotel?

(10/02/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good So So Great

Establishment: Last Chance Saloon, Columbia, MD

A great selection of micro's with some imports, and a few belgiums (but i won't hold that against them, they did have Old Rasputin and Golden Monkey on draft). I was a bit put off by the bartender's recommendations of beers "I tend to like Budweiser and the lighter beers, if i can't drink 10 or 12 of them, they aren't that good". Should he even be working there? I ignored him and ordered my Old Rasputin just to prove a point.

(10/02/2001)


Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ ALL ]













(0.133 seconds) 06:45:31 54.81.52.32, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS