PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Reviews on PubCrawler from g. l. averill
Other Reviews by this User
 
October 20, 2014 @ 04:05 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.

Reviews By
g. l. averill

Beer Reviews
(210)

Restaurant Reviews
(0)






no
user
photo

210
Beer Reviews from g. l. averill
   

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ 4 ] [ 5 ] [ 6 ] [ 7 ] [ 8 ] [ 9 ] [ ALL ]
Average Rating
Beer Quality
Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good
Great Good Good Good

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Browning's Brewery, Louisville, KY

Brownings is closed, Brownings is closed, Brownings is closed.

(05/08/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A N/A Great

Establishment: (512) Brewing Company, Austin, TX

I was able to get a tour of this microbrewery on 11/9/08 and had the following brews; Wit 5.1%, Pale Ale 5.6%, IPA 6.8% and Pecan Porter6.5%. Brewer and owner Kevin Brand has a very nice facility in South Austin. Currently he has 3 30 barrel fermenters with plenty of room for more. Eventually he plans on bottling his brews with the help of assistant brewer Nate Seale. But they don't have a bottling line at this time. Currently this is a two man system with Nate handling many of the deliveries to local beer bars. So far they are not delivering outside of the 512 area code, but we can expect that within a year or so depending on how the business does. Pint glasses are available for $5 along with hats and t-shirts for $10. No plans for organized tours at this time, but you can call and schedule an appointment. Tours are preferably during normal business hours of 9 - 5 Monday through Friday. Good luck to Austin's newest brewery

(11/10/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Great Good

Establishment: Southern Star Brewing Company, Conroe, TX

I visited this microbrewery during their Oktoberfest party on 10/25/08. They are currently canning in 16oz tall boys their pale ale. Available in Kegs is a Blonde and a Rauchbier. While I am not a fan of blondes this was a very drinkable version. The Rauchbier was smoky but not in an over powering way. They have a nice variety of glassware for the collector and T-Shirts too. Check their website for tours which are generally only on Saturdays.

(10/29/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Edelweiss Brewery and Restaurant, Alpine, TX

It was reported in the Oct/Nov 08 issue of SW Brewing News that the brewery and hotel have been sold. The article indicates that the brewery will not reopen, but will be replaced by Gillary's Hay Maker Saloon.

(10/22/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Lousy Good Good

Establishment: Grand Lake Brewing Company, Grand Lake, CO

I visited this brewpub on 7/15/08 and had the following beers; Grand Lager, White Cap Wheat, Trail Ridge Red, Wooly Booger Nut Brown Ale, Stump Jumper IPA, Plaid Bastard, Super Chicken Barley Wine, and Shadow Mountain Nitro Stout. While the beer was excellent the food was just awful. I am not sure but I think that there was only one person working there that day. Service was slow but courteous. I was so impressed with the IPA and the barley wine that I bought a couple bottles to go home.

(08/14/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Good Good Good

Establishment: Rock Bottom Brewery, Colorado Springs, CO

I visited this brewpub on 7/14/08 and had two sampler rounds. The first consisted of their standard fair; 719 Light Lager, Peaked Wheat, Blue Line Pale Ale, Class V Amber Ale, Tank Buster Brown, & Smoky Porter. My visit started out shaky when the hostess would not let me sit at a table of my choosing. The place was almost empty as the lunch crowd had already come and gone. Normally I like to sit at a table with good lighting to view the beer and be able to have a view of the “Beer Board”. After a little cajoling I was able to get “double seated” at another table.

When I got up the view the beer board I found that they had another six beers available to sample. So I went to the bar and had my second sample round which consisted of; Goat Toppler Helles Bock 7%, Barrel Bock 6.5%, Hockey Hair Malt Liquor Cask 6.3%, Silver Mullet Malt Liquor 6.6%, American Dream IPA 6.6%, and Cask Buster American Brown 5.15%. Why anyone would make two different Malt Liquors is beyond me. I am not sure I have had it in a brewpub before. But at least this Rock Bottom allows the brewer to experiment.

The brew master and his assistant were indifferent to me and appeared to not be interested in talking to a traveling beer geek. While the beers were good I did not get a warm fuzzy feeling from this brewpub.

(07/23/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Great Good

Establishment: The Wild Creek Brewing Company, Winter Park, CO

I visited this brewpub on 7/15/08 and had the following beers; Breakaway Blonde, Hard Tail Hefe, and Three Pin Jack Organic Pale Ale. This brewpub is not yet a year old but appears to be doing very well. If only they sold a logo pint glass of their Hard Tail Hefe I would have bought a case. Check out their logo artwork on the entry way.

(07/23/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Great Good

Establishment: Triple J Chop House, Lubbock, TX

I visited this brewpub on 7/19/08 and had the following beers; Sandstorm Stout 4.8%, Windmill Wheat 5.0%, White Gold Cream Ale 5.0%, APA 5.6%, IPA 5.4%, Raider Red 4.9% and Barley Wine. With the exception of the Barley Wine all the beers were too thin. I would not have had the Barley Wine except that they were pouring it out so they could sell me an empty growler. The food was OK but it was not up to standard of the old Hub City that this place used to be. However since they are in a dry county, their growler sales are tremendous. That is quite an advantage for a local brewpub.

(07/23/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A Awesome! Great

Establishment: Trinidad Brewing Company, Trinidad, CO

I visited this brewpub on 7/18/08 and had the following beers; La Fiesta Mexican Lager 5.5%, Purgatory Pale Ale 5.5%, Drop City IPA 6.9% and Imperial Red 8%. I hit this place in hopes of having lunch only to find them closed. They are located in the old Trinidad train station, which is a gorgeously refurbished building. The brewpub does not open until 4:30pm. I managed to weasel my way in by mentioning pubcrawler.com. The brewer Brian Horton was very glad to see me, but was in the middle of filtering and did not have a lot of time to talk. I am not a Mexican Lager fan, but this beer was outstanding. With the addition of the other styles that are my favorites, I will have to find my way back here sometime. Unfortunately they may not be in the same facility as they are beginning to outgrow it.

(07/23/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Great Great

Establishment: San Luis Valley Brewing Company, Alamosa, CO

I visited this brewpub on 7/17/08 and had the following beers; Valle Special(served w/ lime), Hefe Sauve (served w/lemon), Grand River IPA, Alamosa Amber, “Ol 169” Oatmeal Stout, Scenic Rail Pale Ale, and Summerfest Scottish Ale. Angie and Scott Graeber are the proprietors of this establishment and their 7 barrel system. Apparently Scott’s home brewing hobby got out of hand and grew into this thriving brewpub. The menu tried to use local produce and meat, thus reducing their carbon footprint. I will have to say that the local sausage was excellent. This place warrants another stop when I come through again.

(07/23/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Great Great

Establishment: Shamrock Brewing Company, Pueblo, CO

I visited this brewpub on 7/17/08 and had the following beers; American Blonde Lager 4.7%, English Pale 5.1%, Rye Pale Ale and their 2005 Barley Wine. Don’t expect to get a sample of the Barley Wine unless you get a chance to talk to the brewer Alan Stiles. He was disappointed with the carbonation of the barley wine, but I found it to be very tasty if a little under carbonated. TV’s are located on many of the booths of this obviously Irish brewpub. An excellent fair of Irish foods were served that made this lunch outstanding. This brewpub has a hard time keeping up with the demand for their beers. An expansion will be necessary to keep the locals happy.

(07/23/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Great Good Good

Establishment: Estes Park Brewing Company, Estes Park, CO

I visited this brewpub on 7/16/08 and had the following beers; Raspberry Wheat, Stinger Honey Wheat 6.2%, Gold, Trail Ridge Red, Staggering Elk Lager, Porter, Blueberry, Hefeweizen, and Pale Ale. The last two beers were only served in the restaurant upstairs, but the others were served for free downstairs. Bottle beer was sold to go downstairs. But the real find was the liquor store a block away that sold me a six of six different Estes Park beers. Now that was a treat to take home. There were plenty of souvenirs to take home as well since the brewpub stocks a full line of brewery merchandise.

(07/23/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Lousy Good Good

Establishment: Grand Lake Brewing Company, Grand Lake, CO

I visited this brewpub on 7/15/08 and had the following beers; Grand Lager, White Cap Wheat, Trail Ridge Red, Wooly Booger Nut Brown Ale, Stump Jumper IPA, Plaid Bastard, Super Chicken Barley Wine, and Shadow Mountain Nitro Stout. While the beer was excellent the food was just awful. I am not sure but I think that there was only one person working there that day. Service was slow but courteous. I was so impressed with the IPA and the barley wine that I bought a couple bottles to go home.

(07/23/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Wynkoop Brewing Company, Denver, CO

I visited this brewpub on 7/15/08 and had the following beers; Light Rail Ale 4.2%, Wixa Weiss Beer 5.5%, Two Guns Pilsner 5.6%, Railyard Ale 5.2%, Monkey’s Fist IPA 5.7%, St. Charles ESB 4.5%, Cascade Cream Ale 6.5%, B3K Schwarz Beer, 5.3%, Sage Brush Stout 5.1%, Silver Back Porter 7.2% and Patty’s Chili Beer. Normally I am not a fan of chili beers but this one was very good. It had the flavor but not the heat. I just don’t care to drink a beer that burns, which is the normal fair for chili beers. What can one say about the headquarters for the Beer Drinker of the Year award? If I ever make it to the GABF I will be certain to stop in here.

(07/23/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Awesome! Good So So So So

Establishment: Rock Bottom Brewery, Colorado Springs, CO

I visited this brewpub on 7/14/08 and had two sampler rounds. The first consisted of their standard fair; 719 Light Lager, Peaked Wheat, Blue Line Pale Ale, Class V Amber Ale, Tank Buster Brown, & Smoky Porter. My visit started out shaky when the hostess would not let me sit at a table of my choosing. The place was almost empty as the lunch crowd had already come and gone. Normally I like to sit at a table with good lighting to view the beer and be able to have a view of the “Beer Board”. After a little cajoling I was able to get “double seated” at another table.

When I got up the view the beer board I found that they had another six beers available to sample. So I went to the bar and had my second sample round which consisted of; Goat Toppler Helles Bock 7%, Barrel Bock 6.5%, Hockey Hair Malt Liquor Cask 6.3%, Silver Mullet Malt Liquor 6.6%, American Dream IPA 6.6%, and Cask Buster American Brown 5.15%. Why anyone would make two different Malt Liquors is beyond me. I am not sure I have had it in a brewpub before. But at least this Rock Bottom allows the brewer to experiment.

The brew master and his assistant were indifferent to me and appeared to not be interested in talking to a traveling beer geek. While the beers were good I did not get a warm fuzzy feeling from this brewpub.

(07/23/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Good Great

Establishment: Gella's Diner and Lb. Brewing Company, Hayes, KS

I visited this brewpub on 7/13/08 and had the following beers; Pale Ale, American Wheat Ale, Amber Ale, American Brown, Oatmeal Stout, Raspberry Wheat, IPA, and American Hefeweizen. If I had come on the 17th I would have been able to sample their Double IPA. This brewpub is an oasis in the Sunflower Field of Kansas. I was pleasantly surprised at the quality of beer at this brewpub. The pub has won two GABF medals a bronze in 2007 for their American Hefeweizen and a silver for their Oatmeal Stout in 2005. They serve a local favorite “Grebble” which is fried bread served with maple syrup or a sunflower seed infused pesto. Our meal was excellent and I will certainly return when I get a chance.

(07/23/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Great N/A Good Good

Establishment: Coach's at the Bricktown Ballpark, Oklahoma City, OK

I visited this brewpub on 7/12/08 and had the following beers; Harvester Wheat, Rail Yard Amber Ale, Red River Pale Ale, India Pale Ale, Downtown Brown, Sooner Stout, High Country Hefeweizen and Irish Ale. The view of the ball park was excellent from my seat although I could not make out third base. The sampler was served in 4oz plastic cups which I find very distasteful. I called this place prior to walking over from Bricktown Brewery to get directions. Even though I was two blocks away the person on the phone had no idea that another brewpub was two blocks away and could not give me directions. Luckily the city has a group of volunteer ambassadors that are happy to give directions to visitors. The tables were sticky which made my visit unpleasant. I also found out that the beer is not actually brewed on location. It is brewed at their Norman, OK facility.

(07/23/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Good Good Good

Establishment: Bricktown Brewery, Oklahoma City, OK

I visited this brewpub on 7/12/08 and had the following beers; Copperhead, Red Brick, Dark Horse Brown, & Bison Hefeweizen. All the beers were very thin and the hefe had a sour quality to it that was unpleasant. The sampler round was served in 2oz plastic cups. In my opinion there is nothing worse that drinking beer from plastic cups. The pub did have a nice atmosphere with good parking nearby. I walked to Coach’s a block and a half away at the ballpark after my tasting.

(07/23/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Triple J Chop House, Lubbock, TX

This is the former Hub City Brewery which had great food and brew.

(07/11/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Awesome!

Establishment: Pacific Coast Brewing Company, Oakland, CA

I visited this brewpub on 5/3/08 and had the following brews; Gray Whale Pale Ale 5.0%, Mariners Mild 3.8%, Old Oakland Ale 8.0%, Blue Whale Amber Ale 7.0%, Luck 'O the Irish Stout 4.5%, Leviathan Imperial Stout 10.0%, Mariners Mild Cask, & Columbus IPA 7.0%. This brewpub was my first stop after picking up a rental car from the airport. We had lunch and brews on the patio. What a great first stop for a tour of the Bay Area. We visited 17 brewpubs in 5 days and this one was definitely in the top 5. It just may become a permanent stop for me after flying in to Oakland.

(06/05/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Great Great Lousy Good

Establishment: Beach Chalet Brewery and Restaurant, San Francisco, CA

I visited this brewpub on 5/3/08 and had the following brews; Dees Bitter Ale, Saison du Chalet, VFW Light, Park Chalet Amber Ale, Presidio IPA, Riptide Red, Ocean Beach Oktoberfest, and Play Land Pale. Our server had no idea which beer was which and was unwilling to find out for us. We then asked a second server and he was clueless as well. Since I had to guess which beer was which I am not sure they got a fair rating but none of them was outstanding. Usually you get one beer that is great out of a selection this size. The view of course was spectacular and the prawns were great. If you want seafood with a view then this place is great. If you want great beer then you will have to go somewhere else.

(06/05/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Good Good Good

Establishment: Wunder Brewing Company, San Francisco, CA

I visited this brewpub on 5/3/08 and had the following brews; SF Common 4.5%, Wheat 3.9%, Pilsner 5.5%, Porter 6.0%, IPA 6.0%, Brown 4.25%, Stout 5.0%, Chili 5.5%. This place had a great neighborhood bar feeling. My server was friendly but could have been a bit more knowledgeable about their beers. While this was not my favorite brewpub for this trip it was not the worst either. The Magnolia nearby had better food, brew and atmosphere.

(06/05/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Good Great Good

Establishment: E.J. Phair Brewing Company, Concord, CA

I visited this brewpub on 5/4/08 and had the following brews; Marzen 6.5%, English IPA 6.9%, Stouter 5.0%, Pilsner 4.5%, Phat Quail 6.5%, American Wheat 4.5%, Shorty's 7.75%. The address on this listing is for the brewery. The Ale House is actually located at 2151 Salvio St. with a phone number of 925-691-4253. We visited the brewery on a Sunday and they were closed, but the home brew shop next door gave us the directions to the Ale House. No beer is brewed at the Ale House. I was also somewhat disappointed in that they do not sell sampler rounds. We finally weaseled our way into a sample round, although the other servers were giving us curious looks. After getting around the sampler we had a good experience, but the beers were not outstanding.

(06/05/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Jupiter, Berkeley, CA

I visited this brewpub twice on my brew tour of the Bay Area on 5/4/08 and again on 5/6/08. The first trip I had the house brews; Hefeweizen 5.5%, Pilsner 5.3%, Helles Lager 5.1% and Red Spot 6.6%. On my second trip my brew travelers and I had a number of local brews that were available. We had a table inside on the first trip which was right next to the pizza oven. We were overpowered by the delightful smells of the wood oven pizza. We sat on the patio for the next trip. The food was very good and I will stop in again when I get another chance. My one complaint is that they have displayed about a dozen pint glasses with their logo in a case near the patio entrance. However they do not sell these logo glasses. If they are not going to sell them then they should not have them on display to tease pint glass collecting fools that wander in off the streets. Even still I highly recommend a trip to Jupiter and perhaps a night cap at the Triple Rock just down the street.

(06/05/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Good Great

Establishment: Jupiter, Berkeley, CA

I visited this brewpub twice on my quest for beer on 5/4/08 and again on 5/6/08. On the first visit I sampled the house beers; Hefeweizen 5.5%, Pilsner 5.3%, Helles Lager 5.1%, Red Spot 6.6%. On the second visit my cohorts and I shared pints of their guest beers, which for the most part we enjoyed. Obviously since I visted this place twice I enjoyed my visits. I do have one grip though. In a display case they have about a dozen pint glasses with their logo on them. But they don't sell the glasses. If they are not going to sell them then get them out of that case. It was not a very nice case any way.

(05/28/2008)


Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ 4 ] [ 5 ] [ 6 ] [ 7 ] [ 8 ] [ 9 ] [ ALL ]













(0.341 seconds) 04:05:53 54.167.185.110, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS