PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Reviews on PubCrawler from franklin
Other Reviews by this User
 
October 01, 2014 @ 03:47 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.

Reviews By
franklin

Beer Reviews
(10)

Restaurant Reviews
(0)






no
user
photo

10
Beer Reviews from franklin
   
Average Rating
Beer Quality
Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good
Good Good So So So So

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Lousy Lousy Lousy

Establishment: Amnesia Brewing, Portland, OR

I've been to Amnesia a few times. Weekdays are ok at Amnesia, but on my last visit a on Saturday afternoon, my entire experience was lousy. Yeah, the beer's good, and yeah, these a good selection of beer, but what good is that when the service is so lousy?

After waiting in line 5 minutes (there is service only at the bar and when I went, there were only two servers), a male bartender took my order. But then someone came up to close out, and instead of getting the drinks I ordered, he helped the other customer. Right after the bartender took my order, a second bartender asked if I needed help. I said no, but after it was obvious that the first bartender wasn't returning with drinks any time soon, I asked the second bartender if he could get my drinks after all. I got attitude back. "That's why I asked."

We ordered two sausages and watched as everyone who walked in after us got food. Order screwed up. Right down to the kraut on the dogs, which were poorly cooked.

Had to wait 10 minutes in line if I wanted another beer. What good is good beer if it takes so long to get it?

Bottom line: Food's lousy. Service is awful. Amnesia either needs to drop the food menu or hire more help. With dozens of full service breweries in Portland, I won't be going back to Amnesia.

(04/12/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great So So Good Good

Establishment: Full Sail Brewing Company, Hood River, OR

First, the atmosphere is lousy. The furniture is plastic and the floors look fake. It's all too mall-ish, too new looking. Soulless. View of Columbia is good, but I overheard someone say they should have built it higher in the town so you could have a view of Mt. Hood and Mt. Adams.

The service was ok, but you have to order at the bar for food and drinks, so that's not really service so much, is it?

I chose not to eat there because the food menu was the typical pub-fare of fried food and was pretty sparse.

The beer selection is good, and I liked the IPA a lot actually. I found it hoppy enough for my hop-headed cravings. The Amber used to be a favorite before I turned to less malty and more bitter beers.

My advice: go for a flight and hurry on to Portland.

(09/10/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Great Lousy So So

Establishment: Big Horse Brewing, Hood River, OR

Maybe I'm just a bad-service magnet, but here's what happened today, September 10, 2006 at the Big Horse Pub:

Got to the pub and loved the inside. The atmosphere was awesome and the view of the Columbia was spectacular. But I waited for a bit to get seated. Not a big deal. Finally got seated and then waited for someone to acknowledge me and my girlfriend. Waited 15 minutes for my first drink, an IPA. It arrived flat. No head. No bubbles. Went to the bar because I knew I wasn't going to get service at my table and switched for the English-style IPA. Much better, but not my favorite style.

The menu is pretty extensive, but a bit pricy, especially for a smaller town in Oregon. The food quality is great.

I ordered clam chowder, but it never arrived. When my meal showed up, I told my server she could cancel the order of chowder because I wasn't feeling that hungry any more. When the bill arrived, it was still on the tab. Asked the waitress to split the bill, and she changed the same card twice.

The service was horrible, and there wasn't a real reason for it to be as it wasn't very busy. I overheard my waitress tell someone she just moved to Oregon from Hawaii, so maybe she's still on an island way of doing things, but the service was so bad, I'll never go back. And there is no excuse for flat beer.

(09/10/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Great Great So So Good

Establishment: Captain Ankeny's Well, Portland, OR

I lived a block away for three years and went a lot. The taps are consistently flat. Maybe dirty lines? The beer (20 on tap) is pretty inexpensive, though, and the pizza is some of the best in town. It's smoky inside and the help isn't always very friendly or helpful.

(09/05/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Good So So Good

Establishment: Rogue Ales Public House, Portland, OR

I like this place, but don't go because it's more expensive than other places, and they didn't have the stuff to satisfy my hop cravings. Service is usually a little slow and the staff not that friendly. Worth a visit, though, if you're with friends and want to get a beer flight.

(09/02/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy So So So So Lousy Lousy

Establishment: Rock Bottom Brewery, Portland, OR

The beer I tried was not tasty. The atmosphere isn't great either. The staff was unfriendly.

(09/02/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So So So So So So So

Establishment: McMenamins Kennedy School, Portland, OR

Great atmosphere, but lacking in every other respect. Service is good on weekdays before 5, but if you go later or on weekends, forget about it. The beer selection is slightly better here than at other McMenamins, but it is the same tired line-up including the Ruby and Terminator Stout. If you're looking for atmosphere, this is the place. If you're looking for good beer, head down the street to Concordia Ale House.

(09/02/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So Good Lousy So So

Establishment: Kells Irish Restaurant and Pub, Portland, OR

There are much cheaper places in Portland with far better beer selections. Most beer is around $5 a pint with no happy hour breaks on drinks. For Hop Heads, this pub has nothing to offer. The only IPA is Mt. Hood Ice Axe, which is too malty for my taste. They stopped carrying Bridgeport IPA, a far superior beer. The service is lousy, and I have noticed the staff giving prompt attention to young, scantly clad female patrons while ignoring others.

(09/02/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Lousy So So Lousy Lousy

Establishment: McMenamins Edgefield, Troutdale, OR

After two trips to this place, I am boycotting McMenamins. On the first trip, I waited 45 minutes for my sandwich while my date had her meal and ate it. On my second trip, our group was told we'd have a table in 20 minutes. 20 minutes later, we were told it would be 20 more minutes. After an hour and a half we were told our table was being cleared, but the kitchen was backed up and it would be 30 to 45 minutes to get our food. McMenamin's beer is lousy, often feeling unfinished and unrefined, like my first few batches of home brew. There are usually only 5 beers, and I had to walk all over the complex to find a tap with IPA (as I don't like the frity-tasting Ruby). There are plenty of good places in Portland to go. Avoid bad service and bad beer found at most McMenamins.

(09/02/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Bridgeport Brewing Company and Public House, Portland, OR

I went to the brewery before it was redone and it was not pleasant. It was run down and dingy. The seating was horrible. Yes, the atmosphere now might seem a little sterile, but it is balanced with the historical warehouse it's in. The food and service are amazing. The atmosphere will improve with time, especially after the construction on the building next door is over. Food quality is awesome, but the lunch menu is a on the basic side. Bridgeport IPA is the best IPA anywhere.

(09/02/2006)














(0.077 seconds) 03:47:52 54.196.199.117, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS