PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Reviews on PubCrawler from
Other Reviews by this User
 
October 01, 2014 @ 03:21 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.

Reviews By

Beer Reviews
(329)

Restaurant Reviews
(0)






no
user
photo

329
Beer Reviews from
   

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ 4 ] [ 5 ] [ 6 ] [ 7 ] [ 8 ] [ 9 ] [ 10 ] [ 11 ] [ 12 ] [ 13 ] [ 14 ] [ ALL ]
Average Rating
Beer Quality
Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great
Great Great Great Great

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A N/A Great

Establishment: Snowshoe Brewing Company, Arnold, CA

I have not been to either of the Snowshow brewpubs, but I have had the opportunity to enjoy Snowshoe beers on two separate visits to the Hop Yard in Pleasanton. On the first visit earlier this year it was the Grizzly Brown Ale, at the suggestion of the bartender. What I fine tasting brown ale! On this recent second visit, the brown was not on tap but a very enjoyable IPA and their exceptionally tasty ESB were available during Snowshoe Brewing night at the pub. I could tell that the ESB was very popular that evening with the Hop Yard crowd.

(09/01/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great So So N/A N/A Great

Establishment: Terrapin Beer Company, Athens, GA

This is a new contract brewery, so don't go looking for a brewing facility. The brewer is currently using Dogwood Brewing to produce his first beer. There is apparently talk of building a brewery, but you know how that often goes with these contract companies. The first offering is Terrapin Rye P. A., an assertively hopped version with an American Pale Ale with the rye grain adding to the distinctiveness of the flavor. It is available on draft at a number of locations in the Athens area, including the Mellow Mushroom. Reportedly, other brews are planned. Definitely worth a try if in Athens.

(08/25/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good N/A Great

Establishment: Mellow Mushroom, Destin, FL

This is one of the newer Mellow Mushroom locations. The "great" rating for beer quality and selection is based on the fact that, other than the McGuire's brewpub just down the highway, Destin is a destination where most places seem to offer little besides taps and longnecks of the megabrewer lagers and bottles of Corona and the like. At the Mellow Mushroom, the 20 or so taps are prominant behind a portion of the extensive bar. The draft selections on 8/16 included four taps from Abita Brewing (including their root beer), four taps from Atlanta's Sweetwater Brewing (including one of my regional favorites - Sweet Georgia Brown Ale), Sierra Nevada Pale Ale, and Yuengling Lager. There were varied imports as well, although nothing highly unusual that I recall.

(08/19/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great

Establishment: McGuire's Irish Pub and Brewery #2, Destin, FL

Happiness is sipping a Dewey Destin Dark Porter on a summer evening, on the second floor, open-air Sunset Deck, seated at the bar next to the one you love, while listening to a fellow with a guitar sing classic songs from the 70's.

(08/19/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Good Good

Establishment: Santa Rosa Bay Brewery, Fort Walton Beach, FL

My third visit to this brewpub, but first in about four years. Four beers on tap - A light lager that tasted like a typical European offering, an amber ale that I did not try (32 IBU's according to the sign at the bar), a brown ale that was good but not spectacular, and a strong Belgian style ale that I did not try but I heard others at the bar say was good. We did not order food on this visit. One especially nice feature is the outdoor deck seating that overlooks Santa Rosa Bay and the some of the boat docks on the western end of Okaloosa Island.

(08/19/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Good Good

Establishment: Little Woodrow's on West Alabama, Houston, TX

One of the first things I noticed about Little Woodrow's was the fact that many of the customers were gathered around happy hour buckets of icy Bud Light, Miller Lite, and Shiner Bock longnecks (hey, this is Texas). But they do have about 25 draft selections and 100 or so bottle choices. The draft choices included many of the expected imports like Newcastle and Boddington's, and the US craft beers included choices from Saint Arnold, Brenham, New Belgium and a couple of others. There is a large deck area with plenty of picnic tables and there are a couple of pool tables inside. While not an outstanding beer destination compared to nearby places like the Ginger Man, the Timber Wolf or the Mucky Duck, it was still a pleasant evening with a group of friends.

(08/02/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great So So Good Good Good

Establishment: Copper Creek Brewing Company, Athens, GA

The chalk board only listed three house brews and I tried two of them. The pale ale was flavorful and hopped just right, and was true in color as well. The nitrogen dispensed porter was quite smooth with just a hint of a smoky or burnt flavor – quite tasty. I did not try the Belgian Wit. The menu listed a number of “guest” beers (mostly imports) but I did not see other taps…..perhaps they were bottles only. The menu is not extensive but it did offer a variety of choices in terms of both ingredients and price. I was pleased with my steak special of the day (which included the first pint in the price), but my wife was less impressed with the baby back ribs that she ordered. The brew tanks are prominent in the front of this otherwise modest-sized pub. It is located a couple of blocks north of Broad Street where the University of Georgia campus meets downtown Athens.

(07/12/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Good Great

Establishment: Taco Mac was Summits Wayside Tavern, Snellville, GA

I had read about this place during its years as a Taco Mac, in particular the huge tap and bottle selection. Indeed the beer selection is impressive, especially visually so, as one scans one entire restaurant wall lined with taps (plus others at the bar itself). Still, it seemed like there were too many mainstream lagers, both domestic and imported among the choices. The imports included several quality Belgians, a good variety from Germany and the UK, and others from different countries. In terms of American craft brewers, Rogue, Harpoon, and Flying Dog each had a number of taps, while others including Abita, Carolina Beer Co., Three Floyds, North Coast, and Georgia breweries Atlanta, Dogwood, and Sweetwater each had a couple of choices on draft. Being limited to two pints, I opted for a Dogwood Pale Ale and the superb Robert the Bruce Scottish Ale from Three Floyds. Our table ordered from the burrito and quesadilla portions of the extensive and varied menu, and the food was excellent. Our server was attentive, but the kitchen was slow and reportedly understaffed on a Sunday evening. The pub is heavy on sports memorabilia, including a large display showcasing major league players' bats with corresponding baseball cards, and plenty of beer signs. I do believe I will return when I have the opportunity.

(07/11/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Old Chicago, Denver, CO

This Old Chicago location is in the very popular LoDo section of downtown Denver. I have seen it packed on a weekend evening, especially when there is a major sporting event in the area. I have also enjoyed a lunch there on a rather quiet Sunday afternoon. On that day the pizza was good and I enjoyed pints of a couple of different Colorado micros.

(06/19/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Fox and Hound English Pub and Grille, Houston, TX

I cannot speak to more than the beer at Fox and Hound, as I have not yet ordered food here. There are a good number of taps (20 or so) but too many of them are devoted to the major brewers and more common imports. I only recall seeing several US craft beers on draught: Saint Arnold Amber, Fat Tire, and Anchor Steam. There is a good bottle selection with many other choices. The place has pool tables, big TV's for sports, an outdoor deck, and generally seems to attract a younger crowd. Despite the name, you will not believe you are in an English pub. It is on the west side of Houston, a mile or so west of Beltway 8 on Westheimer.

(05/11/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Left Hand Tap House, Longmont, CO

I stopped in here once years ago during the Overland Stage Stop Brewery days, but I have not been back since it evolved into the Left Hand Tap House. As you would guess, they feature brews from the Left Hand Brewing Co. There is a good review of this place from Oct. '99 on the Left Hand Brewing review page. It is just down the street from the Pumphouse brewpub.

(04/08/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Good Good

Establishment: Broken Drum Brewery and Wood Grill, San Rafael, CA

This was only a quick visit. I had a brown ale that was good but not outstanding. The brewing equipment, which seemed small, is located toward the back and above the main restaurant level. It is just a few blocks west of Willow Street Brewery on San Rafael's Fourth Street.

(04/06/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Hop Yard Alehouse and Grill, San Ramon, CA

This is a correction to my previous review. The Hop yard can be found by taking the Bollinger Canyon exit off of I-680, and then heading eastbound. Directions and a map to both Hop Yard locations can be found at the website, along with a calendar indicating breweries featured during future Tuesday "Brewery Nights".

(04/03/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Moylan's Brewery and Restaurant, Novato, CA

I really enjoyed my visit to Moylan's. It just has a good brewpub feel about it. My visit was on a busy Saturday evening and service (at the bar) was great. The corned beef and cabbage with potatoes and carrots, accompanied by Moylan's Irish Red Ale, really hit the spot. I'll be back when I travel that way again.

(04/02/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great

Establishment: Hop Yard Alehouse and Grill, Pleasanton, CA

After two evenings at the Hop Yard in San Ramon, I wanted to visit the original location in Pleasanton. A good bar atmosphere with about 30 taps, including a number that were different than those seen at the sister pub. The bar manager asked about the beer styles that I prefer and he suggested the Grizzly Brown Ale from Snowshoe Brewing....a superb choice. Both Hop Yards are highly recommended.

(04/02/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A Good Good

Establishment: Pleasanton Main Street Brewery, Pleasanton, CA

I was disappointed to only find three house brewed beers (light lager, pale ale and porter), but somewhat impressed with the quality of some of the dozen or so guest beers. The guest taps included Sierra Nevada Big Foot, Alaskan Smoked Porter, Hoptown DUIPA (on nitrogen), Lagunitas Czech Pils, Hook and Ladder Grass Fire Wheat and several others. I had a house porter and a Alaskan Smoked Porter. I did not eat here and the crowd was so light on a Wednesday night that a comment on the service is not appropriate either. This brewpub is on the north end of historic Main Street just across from the Pleasanton Hotel. If I was only making one stop in Pleasanton, it would be at the Hop Yard, but this place would be OK as well.

(04/01/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Hop Yard Alehouse and Grill, San Ramon, CA

This place is worth finding. Like the original Hop Yard in nearby Pleasanton, there are about 30 taps, mostly devoted to well-chosen California and other West Coast craft beers. I made two visits during a recent business trip to San Ramon, the second visit during Tuesday "Brewery Night" when several beers from a particular brewery are featured with a pint glass to keep and a refill special after the initial purchase. Take the Bollinger Canyon exit off of I-510 and head east to either Market Place or Alcosta Avenue. Turn right and you will find the Hop Yard next to the drug store.

(04/01/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great So So N/A N/A Good

Establishment: Brenham Brewery, Brenham, TX

After some delays, Brenham Brewery has begun distributing two beers in kegs to accounts in Houston, and they may be available in Austin and/or San Antonio as well. The first two beers are light in color, a pilsner and a helles lager. I found them both on tap at the Flying Saucer in Houston. Brewer James Hudec has some additional recipes for darker lagers which may be available in the future. I had an opportunity to taste his four test brews, including a tasty dark lager and another recipe (perhaps an Oktoberfest style - I can't recall for sure), when I visited the brewery nearly a year ago after renovation had begun on the building that houses the brewery. The location is not far from the center of the historic town of Brenham. A beergarten adjacent to the brewery was in the plans as well. I hope to visit Brenham soon and see if the beergarten is open.

(03/16/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Strand Brewery, Galveston, TX

The continuing demise of brewpubs in southeastern Texas...The Strand closed in 2001. This location now houses a Fuddrucker's restaurant.

(03/08/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Great Great

Establishment: Oaken Barrel Brewing Company, Greenwood, IN

I stopped here recently with some old college buddys - first time for all of us. I started with the beer sampler, which was comprised of five choices: Meridian Street Lager, Indiana Amber, Razz-Wheat, Gnaw Bone Pale Ale, and Snake Pit Porter. All were descent for their style, although the pale ale did not seem as hopped as I would have expected from the description. I followed with a pint of the amber, which was excellent. The food menu was typical yet interesting, with items like Idaho nachos (waffle fries instead of chips), and a cheezy variation of shepherd's pie. Service was better than good on a late Saturday afernoon. Recommended.

(02/22/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Good Good

Establishment: Hops Restaurant and Brewery, Lone Pine, CO

This Hops location is just south of C-470 where it connects with I-25 south of the Park Meadows Mall in south suburban Denver. A serious pubcrawler might not normally make a point of stopping at one of the Hops locations, when there are so many outstanding brewpubs in metro Denver. However I was in the area around lunch time and I was interested in tasting their new seasonal Oatmeal Stout (Available in Hops locations in northern states - a nut brown is the winter seasonal at southern locations). While this Hops version of a stout may not win any big time awards, it was drinkable and satisfying, and at least marks an attempt on the part of this chain to add a more flavorful beer style to its line-up, even if only as a seasonal.

(02/08/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great

Establishment: Golden City Brewery, Golden, CO

As previously noted, this is a very small place, but they make some big beers. The brewery is right behind the taproom. During the tour inside the brewery facility, we could see all that there was to see by just standing in one spot in the middle of the building. There is now an outdoor patio area set up for when the weather allows. Worth finding.

(02/03/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Hops Grill and Brewery, Golden, CO

I have not eaten at this Hops location, which is just east of I-70 in west suburban Denver. The usual four Hops brews, plus a seasonal beer. The bar area seems smaller than some of the other Hops brewpubs that I have been in.

(02/03/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great

Establishment: New Belgium Brewing Company, Fort Collins, CO

We arrived at New Belgium following earlier visits to ODell and H.C. Berger. This is a much larger brewery by comparison, contrasting significantly with the other Fort Collins breweries. We took the scheduled 2:00 PM tour, which included a good look at the brewhouse, celler area, and the kegging/bottling area. There were eight ales to sample following the tour, but we had to take it easy after our previous samplings at the other two breweries. The 1554 Black Ale is still my favorite New Belgium Brew.

(02/02/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Awesome! Great

Establishment: H.C. Berger Brewing Company, Fort Collins, CO

Stop two of our Fort Collins brewery tour...H.C. Berger is not as fancy as ODell or New Belgium, but they brew some great beer. We got a complete tour of the brewery from one of the brewery employees, and then sampled a full line of the beers, including cracking open a bottle of the doppelbock (yum). Berger's line includes a pilsner and a dunkelweiss, and a variety of ales - golden, red, amber, pale and a chocolate stout. An interesting note: we were told that H.C. Berger's biggest seller is their variety six-pack. It was our favorite stop of the day. Thanks, Dan, for your superb hospitality!

(02/02/2002)


Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ 4 ] [ 5 ] [ 6 ] [ 7 ] [ 8 ] [ 9 ] [ 10 ] [ 11 ] [ 12 ] [ 13 ] [ 14 ] [ ALL ]













(0.23 seconds) 15:21:27 54.234.244.98, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS