PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Reviews on PubCrawler from
Other Reviews by this User
 
December 20, 2014 @ 12:53 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.

Reviews By

Beer Reviews
(329)

Restaurant Reviews
(0)






no
user
photo

329
Beer Reviews from
   

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ 4 ] [ 5 ] [ 6 ] [ 7 ] [ 8 ] [ 9 ] [ 10 ] [ 11 ] [ 12 ] [ 13 ] [ 14 ] [ ALL ]
Average Rating
Beer Quality
Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great
Great Great Great Great

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Mercantile Brewery and Pub, Houston, TX

This place was an offshoot of the Bank Draft Brewing Co near Rice U. (which is also closed. The Mercantile was open for only a short period of time during 2000. For a good beer selection in downtown Houston, try the Flying Saucer on Main Street.

(09/17/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Alltech's Lexington Brewing and Distilling Company, Lexington, KY

Now owned by Alltech (ww.alltech-bio.com), this brewery is producing one product called Kentucky Ale. It is described as a marriage between two beer styles, Irish Red Ale and English Pale Ale. It appears to be widely distributed across Kentucky. The website does not indicate that the brewery is generally open to the public.

(09/10/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Wisconsin Brewing Company, Wauwatosa, WI

The Wisonsin Brewing beers are now being produced by Pioneer Brewing of Black River Falls. These include Rainbow Red Ale, Whitetail Cream Ale, and Badger Porter, as well as a wheat and a stout.

(09/07/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Jarre Creek Ranch Brewery, Castle Rock, CO

The Jarre Creek Ranch brewpub in Castle Rock is now open. I have not been there, so I will leave it to others to review the beer, food and service. According to an article in the online Denver Post, they offer four beers plus seasonals. The folks who are running the restaurant formerly owned the Old Stone Church Restaurant, a Castle Rock landmark. The article also says that the brewery at the ranch is now closed and that bottled versions of the Jarre Creek Ranch beers are now being produced through Breckenridge Brewery.

(09/04/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Good Great

Establishment: Richmond Arms, Houston, TX

Other reviewers have described the atmosphere of the Richmond Arms, and nothing has changed in that regard. I thought I would say a little more about the beer. They claim to have over 80 taps (I did not count them). The beer menu does not identify 80 different beers, but there are likely new arrivals and others that are not listed. Imports seem to represent at least half of the taps, with many from the UK, Ireland, and Germany, a few from Belgium, and other European choices like Carlsberg, Moretti and Pilsner Urquell available. Taps featuring US micros are numerous as well. Houston's St. Arnold Brewing, Blanco's Real Ale Brewery, and Shiner each have multiple selections on draught. Other widely distributed craft breweries, including Sierra Nevada, Full Sail, Pyramid, Anchor, New Belgium, Redhook, North Coast, and Sam Adams, are also well represented.

(08/29/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Great Good

Establishment: Hops Restaurant and Brewery, Lafayette, LA

It is located in a major retail area in the western part of the city and is not very close to I-10. For those traveling I-10 and looking for a good meal along with a great beer selection, I'd suggest the Chimes in Baton Rouge near the LSU campus.

(08/27/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great

Establishment: JP Hops House, Houston, TX

Since my review a year ago, the Hops House has remodeled and spruced up a bit. There is now a small stage where musicians can play, and a darts area. An impressive tap handle collection (in excess of 200) is on display in the bar area, all representing beers once poured at the Hops House. I counted 26 active taps on my last visit, all served in imperial pints. Microbrew draught selections included Red Seal Ale from California, Flying Dog, Singletrack Ale, and New Belgium's Fat Tire and Sunshine Wheat from Colorado, and two taps each devoted to beers from St. Arnold Brewing and Real Ale Brewery in Texas. There is also a pair of draft ciders avaialble, and a draft rootbeer (sometimes Thomas Kemper, but most recently Abita). The Hops House is an unpretentious and comfortable place for good beer on the west side of Houston.

(08/27/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Good Great Good

Establishment: Flying Saucer, Houston, TX

This is the newest of the Flying Saucer Draught Emporiums, which began in the Dallas-Ft. WOrth area and have spread to a few other southern cities. Like the others that I have visited, this location in downtown Houston features a long wall of taps pouring a great variety of beers, and plates decorating the entire place. Since the Flying Saucer is within walking distance of Enron Field, we stopped in before an Astros game. Our server told us that we could exchange our Astros ticket stubs for a free pint after the game, so we did just that.

(08/23/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Great Great

Establishment: Draught House Pub and Brewery, Austin, TX

Somewhere along the way this brewpub/ale house in Austin underwent a name change from "Draught Horse" to "Draught House". The beer selection is outstanding, including quality imports and micros on tap plus a number of the beers brewed on site. The website does a good job of describing the great variety of beers they create at the pub. I have not been there for awhile, but I do indeed recall how much I enjoyed the vanilla porter.

(08/22/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: The Nomad World Pub, Milwaukee, WI

I have not been to this place, but a fellow I know, who used to live near Milwaukee and who travels there still, says the Nomad "is very cool with a really nice beer selection". Nomad Red Lager (www.redlager.com) is produced by Lakefront Brewery.

(08/21/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Castaway Island Grill and Brewery, Little Rock, AR

The former River Rock, former Chit's is now the Castawawy Island Grille & Brewery. I have not been there since its most recent reincarnation, so I cannot comment on food or service. The brewer remains the same as before. The atmosphere is supposedly Carribean of sorts. The menu is available online at http://www.rivermarketdistrict.com/castawaymenu.html.

(08/16/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good

Establishment: Fado Irish Pub, Austin, TX

This is one of about ten Fado pubs scattered across the country. I have had a beer at the Austin location on several occasions, and tried some appetizers once I believe. The outdoor patio is a nice place to enjoy a pint when the weather is good. In addition to the emphasis on beers from the UK and Ireland, I have also seen taps from Austin's Live Oak Brewing in the past.

(08/10/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Great Good

Establishment: Olde Auburn Ale House, Auburn, AL

From the name of the place, I was expecting Olde Auburn to be a bit different than what I found. It is a comfortable, unpretentious college town kind of place, with typical pub fare. We took advantage of the Monday two for one pizza special. I had a pint of the amber, which had more the look and taste of a malty brown ale, and a pint of the IPA, which was reasonably well hopped. There were four house beers available, plus a few additional taps for imports and perhaps another micro brew.

(08/04/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A N/A Great

Establishment: Jarre Creek Ranch Brewery, Castle Rock, CO

Jarre Creek Ranch Brewery began as a small brewing operation on a working ranch near Sedalia in Douglas County. At first there were two products: Heffer Wizzen Golden Ale, which is not a wheat beer as the name would suggest, and an excellent amber ale. They have since begun producing a brown ale, which I have not sampled. A Jarre Creek Ranch brewpub is being constructed in Castle Rock, not far from the Rockyard Brewing Co.

(08/02/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Great Good

Establishment: Hops Restaurant and Brewery, Columbia, SC

I've never had a complaint about the food or service at any of the Hops establishments that I have visited in several different states. My recent visit here was no exception. Our food was good and the service attentive. The character - or lack of it - of the Hops line-up of beers has been discussed often enough. I opted for the darker Alligator Ale as I usually do, which has some flavor to it. I am pleased to see the Hops brewpubs offering a seasonal brew now, although I did not try the summer wheat available this time around.

(07/31/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Good Good

Establishment: Bloomington Brewing Company, Bloomington, IN

The strombolis and sandwiches were big and tasty. Our server said they were out of the summer seasonal beer as well as the blonde ale. That did not bother me, as I opted for the Ruby Bloom Amber, which looked and tasted more like a malty brown ale, and the Quarrymen Pale Ale, which was appropriately well hopped. My wife had the Vision Weiss and said the clove taste was dominant. There is a pub which is adjacent yet separate from the main restaurant.

(07/29/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good So So Good

Establishment: Mellow Mushroom, Baton Rouge, LA

This is the newest of the Mellow Mushroom chain, which inhabit college towns in the southeastern US. They make good pizzas, calzones, and hoagies, and generally have a good beer selection. They have been open only three weeks, perhaps explaining why some confusion in the kitchen resulted in a longer wait than expected for our calzones. Our server tried to compensate by offering us some complimentary garlic cheese bread while we waited. This location near LSU has a retro '60's feel about it. There are 40 + bottled beers available and 24 taps. Although there are more taps for beers from the big three than one might hope, this location does have three taps for beers from Abita Brewing (just a little more than an hour down the road) plus Sierra Nevada Pale Ale, Redhook ESB and Anchor Steam, along with some good import choices and a cider.

(07/28/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Great Great

Establishment: Abita Brewing Company, Abita Springs, LA

The best place to enjoy a pint or two of Abita Turbodog. The light tan head stayed on my beers all the way to the end of the glass. They told me at the pub that Abita is now being distributed to 41 states, with California being the latest.

(07/28/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Keith Street Pub and Grille, Clemson, SC

This place has a restaurant menu with plenty of appetizers, salads, burgers and other pub items, and some interesting entrees and other choices. The separate pub section has long bar, a couple of pool tables, sports on TV, and an abundance of beer signs and other breweriana. The bartender said they had the most extensive beer selection in Clemson and I believe it. In bottles were selected brews from Palmetto Brewing, Thomas Creek Brewing, Highland Brewing and the Carolina Beer Co., plus other craft brewers and plenty of imports. The dozen or so draught choices included two from Highland Brewing. The daily beer special was $1.99 pints of Highland's Kashmere IPA, so my choice was easy.

(07/28/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great N/A N/A N/A Great

Establishment: Highland Brewing Company, Asheville, NC

I had a couple of pints of Highland Kashmere IPA at the Keith Street Pub & Grill in Clemson SC. It is an excellent brew. Now in hindsight, I wish I had also tried Highland's Oatmeal Porter, which was also on tap at Keith Street and at the Mellow Mushroom locations in Clemson and Chapel Hill.

(07/26/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Mellow Mushroom, Athens, GA

As part of a recent college town tour, I ran into Mellow Mushrooms in Auburn AL, Athens GA, Clemson SC, and Chapel Hill NC. I especially liked the feel of the place in Athens, with a nice bar and plenty of booth tables and a small dart area. There was an extensive bottle selection of imports and US craft beers. The 14 or so taps included imports and several choices from Georgia micros Sweetwater Brewing and Dogwood Brewing. The hoagie sandwiches were quite good.

(07/26/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good

Establishment: Rosie's Brewpub, Leadville, CO

Boomtown Brewpub, opened in 2000 in the mountain town of Leadville and at over 10,000 feet in elevation, claims to be the highest brewery in the US. The brewpub occupies both floors of a building that has served as a church and several businesses in this historic mining town. I have visited Boomtown twice while passing through Leadville, in September 2000 and in June 2001. My visits have been brief and I cannot comment on the food other than a nice large salad that I had the first time. As I recall, the menu is not extensive and features many typical pub type items. The beers selection is decent. I can especially endorse a tasty Scottish ale from the first visit and their amber ale from the more recent stop. The brewer (at least when the first opened) had previously brewed at Wynkoop in Denver. If you are checking out brewpubs in the mountains of Colorado, this is one to keep in mind.

(06/22/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Great Great

Establishment: Zea Rotisserie and Brewery, Metairie, LA

This was my second visit to Zea, having first stopped in shortly after it opened in early 2000. This is a 250 seat high energy restaurant with an eclectic, somewhat international sort of menu. On my visits my companions and I have focused on several different appetizers, all of which were quite enjoyable. Many of the entrees on the menu, including rotisserie meats, seafood and pasta also look intriguing. On this recent second visit I had the beer sampler that included a light beer (for those in Louisiana who believe that beer should taste like Bud Light), a deep gold lager, a pale ale that I wish had been a bit hoppier, a porter that was tasty but seemed a little thin to me, and the brewer's special which was a black lager (our favorite). The beers at Zea are the work of Jim Patton, the original brewer at the Abita Brewing Co. After about 18 months of operation, this brewpub seems to be successful. There was a waiting list on a Thursday night.

(06/22/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Great Great

Establishment: Pint's Pub, Denver, CO

I'm not an English ale expert, but I enjoyed my pint of Dark Star Ale and my companion enjoyed his Phone Box Ale. There is a webpage: www.pintspub.com, but I also recommend this website to view the food menu at Pints Pub: www.westword.com/priducts/248/index.html The "New World Fish & Chips" is a grilled salmon filet with fries and a small salad and was as good as we had heard.

(06/12/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Bank Draft Brewing Company, Houston, TX

This location now houses a Scottish Pub called the Kelvin Arms. I have yet to visit so I cannot offer any first-hand comments. A review in the Houston Chronicle indicated that there were more than 20 taps still available, including US micros and European beers. Apparently, some remodeling was done, notably where the brewing equipment used to be.

(01/11/2001)


Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ 4 ] [ 5 ] [ 6 ] [ 7 ] [ 8 ] [ 9 ] [ 10 ] [ 11 ] [ 12 ] [ 13 ] [ 14 ] [ ALL ]













(0.141 seconds) 12:53:38 54.211.113.223, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS