PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Reviews on PubCrawler from
Other Reviews by this User
 
April 16, 2014 @ 05:38 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.

Reviews By

Beer Reviews
(329)

Restaurant Reviews
(0)






no
user
photo

329
Beer Reviews from
   

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ 4 ] [ 5 ] [ 6 ] [ 7 ] [ 8 ] [ 9 ] [ 10 ] [ 11 ] [ 12 ] [ 13 ] [ 14 ] [ ALL ]
Average Rating
Beer Quality
Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great
Great Great Great Great

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So Great Good Good

Establishment: Icefiord Bryghus, Ilulissat,

The onsite brewery in the restaurant of the Hotel Icefiord produces two rather unique brews. Kvan Ale is a variation on a traditional pale ale that is made using a native Greenlandic plant known as angelica that has notable aromatic and flavor properties. This ale pours a bright amber color with herbal and floral notes and a mild bitterness. Sortebaer Ale is an adaptation of a brown ale, brewed with native Greenlandic crowberries. This ale pours a warm opaque brown color. The taste is malty with a tartness that brings to mind some of the flavors of a Belgian dubbel. The restaurant and the small outdoor deck have superb views of Disko Bay and the endless supply of icebergs that come from the remarkable Ilulissat Icefiord. The restaurant features traditional Greenlandic fare, such as reindeer, musk ox, and halibut. With Ilulissat's location well above the Arctic Circle at greater than 69 degrees north latitude, this is one of the most northern breweries in the world.

(08/09/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A N/A Good

Establishment: Greenland Brewhouse, Narsaq,

When the Greenland Brewhouse was first opened in 2006, their beers were not available in Greenland. A pale beer and a brown ale, plus seasonals were bottled in Germany and marketed in Denmark. I found a large bottle of Greenland Christmas Ale in Copenhagen in the Fall of 2007. However, more recently, this brewery's products are now available in Greenland. Our group found Greenland Mountain Ale and Greenland Iced Flower at the Hotel Uummannaq, in the standard returnable brown bottle used for all beers in Greenland. It is not clear to me if these bottled products are renamed versions of the original pale and brown ales that were packaged and sold in Europe, or are different beers all together. Greenland Mountain Ale, pours a dark amber color and has a malty taste with a nice balance of bitterness. Greenland Iced Flower is a light golden ale with a floral aroma. A third bottled beer variety, a pale lager called Cave Beer, is also reportedly available in the same standard Greenland bottle.

(08/09/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: 't Arendsnest, Amsterdam,

This pub resides on a quiet street and canal a few blocks from the busier central core of the city. It specializes in a wide assortment of Dutch beers both on draft and in the bottle, with at least one example from every brewery in the Netherlands. The beer menu is extensive and informative and the bartender seemed quite knowledgeable. I had two of their featured drafts: Jopen Extra Stout (a beautiful five-minute pour into a wide-rimmed stemmed glass), and Budels Meibock (bright gold with a full malty mouthfeel and an earthy, spicy hop finish). Seating is available inside the narrow building that houses the pub and at outdoor tables along the canal. A must stop.

(08/06/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great

Establishment: Cafe Studio, Haarlem,

Cafe Studio has a prime location on the square in this historic Dutch city, directly across from St. Bavo Cathedral, a Gothic basilica that dates from the 13th century. This pub has a long bar and two areas of indoor seating, plus a very large outdoor seating area overlooking the square. Among the beer choices are beers of the Jopen brand, which has revived a unique style of beer native to Haarlem.

(08/06/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: 't Arendsnest, Amsterdam,

This pub resides on a quiet street and canal a few blocks from the busier central core of the city. It specializes in a wide assortment of Dutch beers both on draft and in the bottle, with at least one example from every brewery in the Netherlands. The beer menu is extensive and informative and the bartender seemed quite knowledgeable. I had two of their featured drafts: Jopen Extra Stout (a beautiful five-minute pour into a wide-rimmed stemmed glass), and Budels Meibock (bright gold with a full malty mouthfeel and an earthy, spicy hop finish). Seating is available inside the narrow building that houses the pub and at outdoor tables along the canal. A must stop.

(07/18/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great

Establishment: Williamsburg AleWerks, Williamsburg, VA

We stopped here for the 3:00 PM tour on a Tuesday afternoon. We heard the story of the brewery and toured the small brewing facility in the building next to the tasting room. The $5 tour included an opportunity to sample six beers in a logo tasting glass that we got to keep. Our tour group sampled a new seasonal Heather Ale, along with Chesapeake Pale Ale, Drake's Tail IPA, Washington's Porter, Red Marker Ale, and one of their Brewmaster's Reserve series, a strong ale called Wolfe's Trap Ale. I brought home a bomber of the Rapadou Porter, another in the Reserve series, to cellar and later share with friends.

(06/15/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Great

Establishment: Green Leafe Cafe, Williamsburg, VA

We had lunch at the Green Leafe Café on a Tuesday, which was well-timed because ALL Virginia pints were priced at $1.50 for the entire day. Bypassing the choices from A-B’s Williamsburg brewery, we selected Legend Lager, Dominion Lager, and St. George IPA. Other Virginia options included Legend Brown Ale, Starr Hill Jomo Lager, Dominion Oak Barrel Stout and one or two beers from the local Williamsburg AleWerks. There were also plenty of other draft and bottled choices from around the US and the world. My wife said her reuben was top notch, and I enjoyed a good grilled tuna salad. Green Leafe is a must stop in Williamsburg.

(06/14/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Good Good Good

Establishment: Berret's Seafood Restaurant and Taphouse Grill, Williamsburg, VA

We had dinner in the Taphouse Grill portion of this dual restaurant establishment. There was not a huge beer selection, but there are some solid choices on draft and in the bottle, including a number of Virginia beers. Starr Hill Jomo Lager was specially priced at $2.00 a pint and that worked for me. The other folks in our group of four were generally pleased with their food choices, however I felt my jerk chicken entrée, a special of the day, fell a bit short of the mark. There is plenty of nice outdoor seating, but they had difficulty keeping some of the tables shielded from the late afternoon sun.

(06/14/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great

Establishment: Brouwerij 't Ij, Amsterdam,

Occupying a former public bath house, this brewery produced its first beers in 1985. The tap room was opened in 1987 at this distinctive canal-side location which also includes a large windmill that dominates the scene. The beers, seven-full year beers plus several seasonals, are available in draft and in bottles and possess a strong Belgian influence. I visited on a sunny Sunday afternoon (Mother's Day), and found the tap room, the outside seating area, and even the banks of the neighboring canal packed with beer drinkers. I enjoyed a dark abbey dubbel called "Natte". Located east of the central train station, this brewery is a recommended stop while in Amsterdam.

(05/26/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Great Awesome!

Establishment: In de Wildeman, Amsterdam,

Tucked away on a narrow pedestrian-only street in central Amsterdam, this beer connoisseurs’ haven has several different interior spaces to enjoy a brew, plus a few seats outside along the street. The beer selection, on draft and in bottles, is the reason this pub was recently listed as one of "125 places to have a beer before you die" in the May 2008 issue of 'All About Beer' magazine. The bartender recommended that I start with a beer called Johnny, a crisp and cloudy golden ale from a small Amsterdam brewery called Brouwerij de Prael. The bottle choices come from many different countries and even include some well-chosen beers from a few US craft breweries. I opted for one of the featured bottles, a tasty dark alt from Boltens of Germany. In de Wildeman is just a short walk from the Amsterdam Centraal railway station. This one is not to be missed.

(05/24/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Good Good

Establishment: Craft Microbrewery, Athens,

The Craft Microbrewery serves up food and house-brewed beers at its brewpub near the Greek national soccer stadium, and distributes its beers through other places. The selection of beers includes the golden Athens Lager, a mildly crisp pilsner, a hefeweizen, a smoked lager inspired by those of Bamberg, a red ale that is assertively hopped (with Cascades) and served in a stemmed glass, and a black lager fashioned after those of Bohemia. The brewpub is not within very easy walking distance of major tourist areas of Athens, but it is accessable by bus from various directions, and the blue subway line that runs east from the area of the Acropolis. A small group of us visited the brewpub for lunch (nice salads and such). We had some confusion/surprise about a seemingly high extra price for bread, so if you visit you might want to ask about the bread charge up front when you order. We also found the Craft lager and pilsner (the red ale tap was dry) at the Kavos Café in the harbor area on the Island of Mykonos.

(05/10/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Good Good

Establishment: Whiskey Creek, Bishop, CA

This is a moderately upscale restaurant right in the middle of town, with a separate attached bar. The menu includes steaks, fish, pasta, and a variety of other items. I was here with a group and we all seemed reasonably pleased with our entrees. Five draft beers are available in the restaurant and the bar, either by the glass or by the pitcher. All the draft choices are from the Mammoth Brewing Company in nearby Mammoth Lakes. The bartender indicated that Real McCoy Amber Ale, Double Nut Brown, a pale ale, and a golden ale are on all the time, with the fifth tap rotating between the hefeweizen and the IPA. During the week this place is closed by 10:00 PM.

(03/30/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A Good Good

Establishment: Corkscrew Saloon, Death Valley, CA

The beers at this bar at the Furnace Creek Resort in Death Valley National Park are available either at the bar itself or in either of the two adjoining restaurants. While not an extraordinary selection, it is not bad for being in this somewhat isolated location. Draft beer offerings included Samuel Adams Boston Lager, Newcastle Brown Ale, and Mohave Gold from Indian Wells Brewing Company. Bottle choices included Mohave Red (a malty red lager) and the incredible Lobotomy Bock (a 10% double bock), both also from Indian Wells, along with more commonly found craft beers like Sierra Nevada Pale Ale and New Belgium Fat Tire. There is a pool table and a great jukebox.

(03/25/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good

Establishment: Monte Carlo Pub and Brewery, Las Vegas, NV

This is now just a better than average beer bar. I had a Sin City Stout.

(03/13/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So N/A Good Good

Establishment: Sin City Brewing Company, Las Vegas, NV

Sin City Brewing Company occupies a small bar in the Miracle Mile Shops associated with the Planet Hollywood Casino. Four beers are offered: Light, Hefeweizen, Amber (a marzen lager), and a dry stout. There is also plenty of Sin City merchandise to purchase. These beers are also available elsewhere in Vegas. I tasted Sin City Amber at the Pour 24 bar at New York New York, and I had the Sin City Stout at the Monte Carlo brewpub as well as at the Sin City Bar. I thought the stout was pretty solid, but the marzen did not compare with the better examples of that style that I have found.

(03/11/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Good Great

Establishment: Gordon Biersch Brewing Company, Las Vegas, NV

I made several visits to the Gordon Biersch in Las Vegas while staying at a hotel just down the street. On a Sunday evening, I had a seasonal roggenbier, with a spicy, dry finish that went well with our mixed appetizer plate. Our service in the bar area was attentive. I later returned on a very busy Wednesday night and sat at the bar. Initially, service was indifferent and slow, but once I finally got my schwarzbier and ordered my food it was adequate for the remainder of the visit.

(03/10/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Great Great

Establishment: Pour 24, Las Vegas, NV

This is a somewhat strange new bar found near the top of the escalator, looking out over the casino floor at New York New York. 24 tap handles offer nothing but US craft beers from breweries like Sierra Nevada, Firestone Walker, Stone, Rogue, Anchor, Alaskan, Breckenridge, New Belgium, Kona, Big Sky, Abita, Sin City, and others. The styles offered were broadly inclusive, ranging from pale ales, IPAs and ESBs, to brown ales, porters, stouts, and seasonals. Many of the patrons were quaffing domestic longnecks and brightly colored icy drinks, so the appreciation of the beer offerings was clearly lost on a large number of the customers. The mall-like location and the look and feel of it (no doubt inherited from what was here before) make this place anything but a typical pubcrawler stop. Still, in what is largely a beer wasteland along the Vegas strip, this is a place to get a very good beer or two.

(03/09/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Good Good

Establishment: Boulder Dam Brewing Company, Boulder City, NV

After reading several negative reviews of the beers, we stopped here with limited expectations. I ordered the beer sampler and tried all six varieties on hand. Yes, as others have noted, and as the brewery itself explains, all the beers are unfiltered and quite cloudy in appearance. This in itself does not bother me. In fact, I found all the beers to be quite drinkable, with the Black Canyon Stout being fairly good and the High Scaler IPA appropriately citrusy and hoppy. Other choices, a hefeweizen, amber ale, and an interesting but thin blueberry bock were decent but unremarkable. My biggest problem was with the Powder Monkey Pilsner. A pilsner should be clear and bright, with a pale gold color and a crisp, clean taste. Boulder Dam's version of a pilsner, while drinkable, seems nothing like a real pilsner. The German's have a name for an unfiltered pale gold lager  kellerbier  and this is what Boulder Dam's pale lager appears to best resemble. If this brewpub chooses to produce nothing but unfiltered beers, that is fine. However, they should be honest with themselves and their customers and call a beer what it really is. We just had an appetizer so comments on the food would be inappropriate. One plus: they do start you off with a bowl of freshly popped popcorn. The outdoor beer garden would have been nice on a pleasant day, but we were there on a rainy afternoon.

(03/09/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Great Great

Establishment: Alamo Drafthouse Cinema, Katy, TX

The Alamo Drafthouse almost certainly has the best beer selection in Katy. 30 taps dominated by American craft beers and quality imports, with a number of rotating selections. Other quality beer choices, as well as mass-produced yellow lagers, are available by the bottle. In addition to enjoying a beer with some food in the movie theatres, one can also enjoy a pint in the Alamo Drafthouse beer garden, essentially an outdoor patio area in front of the theatre entrance.

(12/23/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A N/A Good

Establishment: Fox and Hound Pub and Grille, Shenandoah, TX

Although I cannot give this version of the Fox and Hound chain an especially strong beer endorsement, a true beer lover can find a quality beer at this location near The Woodlands. There are 36 taps and even more bottle choices offering a decent but far from stellar selection. The Red Fox Amber, a relatively new house beer brewed for the Fox and Hound pubs by Anheuser-Busch, has a nicely complex malt character thanks to the use of caramel and black malts and also offers a bit of a spicy hop finish. During my time at the bar, megabrewer light lagers were the most often pulled tap handles, with some of the more interesting beers seeing little or no action. This pub is fairly noisy and it had a moderately high smoke factor during my visit time.

(10/28/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Kassik's Kenai Brew Stop, Kenai , AK

I found Kassik's Roughneck Stout at Humpy's in Anchorage. This is a big, smooth oatmeal stout, with nice complexity.

(09/25/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Glacier Brewhouse, Anchorage, AK

In addition to our visit to the Glacier Brewhouse in Anchorage, we found this brewery’s beers on tap elsewhere in Alaska. Glacier Brewhouse IPA was seen in several places throughout the greater Denali area and they also produce a house beer for the Princess Lodges (we visited the Denali Princess Lodge and the McKinley Princess Lodge) called Denali Red Ale (it may be their normal amber ale).

(09/25/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Good Great

Establishment: West Rib Cafe and Pub, Talkeetna, AK

We had a very enjoyable lunch on the outdoor patio of this pub on a pleasant sunny afternoon in early September. The crowd seemed a mix of locals and tourists. Our server was a bit curt, perhaps fitting for this town in the Alaskan interior, but she was otherwise quite efficient in taking and delivering our beer and food orders. The beer selection is filled with worthy choices, featuring a nice variety of Alaskan and other West Coast craft beers, including their own house beer (a strong golden ale brewed by the Glacier Brewhouse in Anchorage). I opted for the Moose's Tooth Pale Ale. Our burgers and other lunch choices were top notch. We left the McKinley Princess Lodge early to spend some extra time exploring Talkeetna before boarding the train to Anchorage, and we were glad we did.

(09/23/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A N/A Great

Establishment: Midnight Sun Brewing Company, Anchorage, AK

While in the Denali area I had the chance to try several different beers from Midnight Sun. The Kodiak Brown Ale is dark and malty with a nice hop balance. We found this tap handle at the Lynx Pub and other restaurants at the Denali Princess Wilderness Lodge. The draft-only Oosik Amber Ale is a tasty German-style altbier, one of several Midnight Sun choices we found at the Salmon Bake Restaurant near the entrance to Denali National Park. We also enjoyed the bottled version of Sockeye Red IPA, one of several Midnight Sun beers available in the Denali area in 22 oz bombers.

(09/23/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So Good Good Good

Establishment: Red Dog Saloon, Juneau, AK

We stopped here for lunch and found one empty table. This place was not as bad as many have reported, but I would not call it a great experience either. At least we can say we we’ve been to this seemingly legendary place.

(09/17/2007)


Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ 4 ] [ 5 ] [ 6 ] [ 7 ] [ 8 ] [ 9 ] [ 10 ] [ 11 ] [ 12 ] [ 13 ] [ 14 ] [ ALL ]













(0.275 seconds) 05:38:00 54.196.196.72, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS