PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Reviews on PubCrawler from
Other Reviews by this User
 
August 30, 2014 @ 05:19 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.

Reviews By

Beer Reviews
(329)

Restaurant Reviews
(0)






no
user
photo

329
Beer Reviews from
   

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ 4 ] [ 5 ] [ 6 ] [ 7 ] [ 8 ] [ 9 ] [ 10 ] [ 11 ] [ 12 ] [ 13 ] [ 14 ] [ ALL ]
Average Rating
Beer Quality
Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great
Great Great Great Great

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Great Awesome!

Establishment: Alaskan Brewing and Bottling Company, Juneau, AK

Don't let talk of a high-priced cab ride keep you from visiting this fine brewery. The Juneau public bus system (routes 3 and 4) will take you to within a block or two of the brewery for $1.50 each way. We had a nice little tour (admittedly much of it looking through glass), and we were encouraged to try ALL seven available Alaskan beers on tap in the tasting room. There was not a bad one in the bunch, with the ESB, IPA, Stout and Smoked Porter all standouts in my view. The well known Alaskan Amber Ale and Alaskan Summer Ale were readily available throughout our cruise ship, the Sapphire Princess.

(09/17/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Good Good

Establishment: Skagway Brewing Company, Skagway, AK

The Skagway Brewing Company has been resurrected at a new downtown location. The brew system must be fairly small, as we were told it was located on the second floor above the brewpub. Two Skagway brews were available during our visit in late August  Chilkoot Trail IPA, and Boomtown Brown Ale, both solid versions of their respective styles. A beer sampler consisted of four tasters  the house IPA and three guest beers from Washington  Pike Kilt Lifter, Fish Tail Organic Pale Ale, and Leavenworth Whistling Pig Wheat. Other craft beers and imports were also available. The only food we sampled was a plate of tasty fries.

(09/17/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Good Good

Establishment: Granville Island Brewing Company, Limited, Vancouver, BC

On a Friday afternoon in late August, we found four Granville Island beers available on draft at the tap room. Other styles were available in bottles for take out in the adjacent retail store, along with apparel, glassware, and other brewery-related stuff.

(09/17/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Great Great

Establishment: Dockside Restaurant and Brewing Company, Vancouver, BC

I cannot help but echo parts of the previous reviews. Dockside's outside patio overlooking downtown Vancouver on a sunny afternoon in late August made for a great lunch spot. The beers we tried were decent but not outstanding. My favorite was Pelican Bay Brown Ale, followed by Old Bridge Dark Lager and Johnston Pilsener. A beer sampler comes in a wooden holder with sampler glasses of six different brews.

(09/17/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good

Establishment: Wild Wing Cafe, Katy, TX

Even though this is Katy, Texas, and even though this place promotes itself as a wing place, a true pubcrawler will find the beer selection at this Wild Wing Cafe somewhat disappointing. On our visit at the end of July we found 20 draft selections, and many more bottle choices, but the vast majority of the selections are pale lagers that are generally low on flavor and character. Local Texas breweries were not well represented - I saw only Saint Arnold Summer Pils among the tap handles, and Saint Arnold Amber Ale and Shiner Bock and Shiner Light on the bottle list. Dark beer drinkers are limited to the likes of Guinness and Newcastle on draft, and ZiegenBock, Michelob Amber Bock (why do you need both of these A-B clones?), Negra Modelo, and the aforementioned Shiner Bock. Looking for hops? Good luck - Sierra Nevada Pale Ale is available on draft, but there was not an IPA anywhere in sight. Wheat beer lovers would have found Widmer Hefeweizen, Leinenkugel Sunset Wheat, Blue Moon, and New Belgium Sunshine Wheat either bottled or on draft. I'll be curious to see what they do as the seasonal offerings such as Oktoberfest beers and winter ales begin to become available from distributors. The Wild Wing Cafe food menu is actually quite broad, which makes the stylistically limited beer choices that much more disappointing. This place is generally a welcome addition to the Katy scene, but in terms of beer they could have done much better.

(08/13/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good

Establishment: Wild Wing Cafe, Katy, TX

Even though this is Katy, Texas, and expectations might be lower because it calls itself a wing place, a true pubcrawler will still find the beer selection at this Wild Wing Café somewhat disappointing. There are 20 draft selections, and many more bottle choices, but the vast majority of the selections are pale lagers with minimal flavor and character. Local Texas breweries are not well represented - I found only Saint Arnold Summer Pils among the tap handles, and Saint Arnold Amber Ale and Shiner Bock and Shiner Light on the bottle list. Dark beer drinkers are limited to the likes of Guinness and Newcastle on draft, along with ZiegenBock, Michelob Amber Bock (why do you need both?), Negra Modelo, and the aforementioned Shiner Bock. Looking for hops? Sierra Nevada Pale Ale is available on draft, but there was not an IPA anywhere in sight. At the time of our recent visit, wheat beer lovers would have found Widmer Hefeweizen, Leinenkugel Sunset Wheat, Blue Moon, and New Belgium Sunshine Wheat in one form or another. I'll be curious to see what they do when seasonal offerings such as Oktoberfest beers and winter ales begin to become available from distributors. The Wild Wing Cafe food menu is actually quite broad, which makes the stylistically limited beer choices that much more disappointing. This place is generally a welcome addition to the Katy scene, but in terms of beer they could have done much better.

(08/05/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Good Good

Establishment: Gordon Biersch Brewery Restaurant, New Orleans, LA

This Gordon Biersch brewpub is one of several that features a schwarzbier instead of the Munich style dark lager or dunkels seen at many GB locations. It pours a dark nearly black color with the characteristic bittersweet flavors you would expect from this style. The schwarzbier was done well, which was no surprise as I knew that the brewer here is now James Hudec, who did a very nice black lager several years ago at the short-lived Brenham Brewery in Texas. The seasonal kolsch, which was raved about by our bartender, was bright and citrusy. This brewpub is right across from the Harrods Casino and not far from the New Orleans Convention Center.

(08/05/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Awesome! Great

Establishment: Columbus Brewing Company, Columbus, OH

This is a somewhat overdue review of a lunchtime visit to Columbus Brewing back on a Thursday in mid-May. Their lunch business was very strong that day, resulting in about a 10-15 minute wait for a table. We were seated in one of the booths in the back of the restaurant that looks out over the working brewery where we could see that bottling was going on that day. Our server was exceptionally enthusiastic and attentive (I'm sorry I have forgotten her name). Upon explaining that our visit there was part of the "Great American Beer Tour" associated with American Craft Beer Week, she sought out the manager so he could come by and visit with us. He had some honest comments about the beers in the sample tray in front of us, including one style where he noted that another brewery in town did a version that he actually preferred. I thought the beers were generally well done, with my favorites probably being the porter and the IPA. Our food, a BBQ chicken chopped salad and a roasted turkey wrap, was excellent as well. Many of the items on the menu have a suggested beer pairing. This is a recommended stop. Note - there are currently two different Columbus Brewing websites: www.columbusbrewing.com, which shows the bottled products, and www.columbusbrewingco.com, which is the brewpub website with menus and such.

(07/21/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Ellicottville Brewing Company, Fredonia, NY

My wife and I were here for a late lunch on a Wednesday afternoon in mid-May. We each enjoyed a large open-face Reuben sandwich. I started off with the nut brown ale, which was dark and roasty, and then went with a pint of the dark Vienna lager to accompany the rest of my sandwich. The bartender was kind of enough to offer me a taste of the seasonal maibock and the Vienna to help me decide on my second beer. Most of the beers are brewed at the original Ellicottville Brewing Company location in nearby Ellicottville, but the bartender mentioned that the small brewing facility in the front window of this Fredonia location was recently used to brew a special Canadiana Pale Ale with whole hops in the boil.

(06/11/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So N/A Great Great

Establishment: Taps Brewing Company, Virgil, ON

In the midst of a mid-May tour of several wineries in the Niagara region of Ontario, we stopped at this fairly new microbrewery on a Tuesday afternoon. Although they are not scheduled to be open on Monday or Tuesday, we found the taproom open as brewing was going on that day. Taps currently produces two full year beers - Premium Lager, brewed in the Dortmunder Export style with Cascade hops, and a malty Red Cream Ale. We also got to sample a still fermenting vanilla wheat ale, a soon to be released summer seasonal. We also heard about a once-a-year wine barrel lager, fermented in wine barrels from one of the local Niagara wineries. We had a great visit with Rob, who offered us samples and gave us a nice little tour of the brewery. Check out their website for exact directions.

(06/10/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Great Great

Establishment: Pearl Street Grill and Brewery, Buffalo, NY

As other reviewers have mentioned, the historic building that houses this brewpub is cool, and I enjoyed looking at the historic art and photos all around the pub. We had beef-on-weck sandwiches early in the evening on Mother's Day with the pub was not very crowded. I enjoyed a pint of the Trainwreck Alt and also the featured guest draft from Flying Bison.

(06/10/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Awesome! Great Awesome!

Establishment: Belmont Brewing Company, Long Beach, CA

My wife and I had a really wonderful dinner here on an early April evening, sitting on the deck overlooking the Pacific, with a nearby firepit to keep the chill away. Our meals were superb and the two beers that I had were quite good - the toasty and malty Top Sail Amber Ale, and Long Beach Crude, a rich and rather potent stout. My wife enjoyed the Strawberry Blonde Ale. For a brewpub, the beer choices are a bit limited, even with a seasonal (I think it was wit) and a guest tap or two available. All in all, it is highly recommended.

(06/05/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great

Establishment: San Pedro Brewing Company, San Pedro, CA

This is a pretty nice little brewpub in an old historic building in downtown San Pedro. We went with the daily specials of fish and shrimp tacos, which were quite good. The beers that I tried were solid. I opted for the Shanghai Red, an aromatic malty ale, and a special IPA that was on the chalkboard.

(06/05/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Good Great

Establishment: Yard House, Long Beach, CA

I made several stops here while in town for a convention. Plenty of good beer choices... I focused on several West Coast IPA's and other style ales that I had never tried before. Great deck seating looking out over the harbor. Lots of folks were drinking different colored martinis. Happy hour with half price appetizers is a good time to visit.

(05/29/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good

Establishment: Auld Dubliner Irish Pub and Restaurant, Long Beach, CA

Located in a touristy area right across from the convention center, this is one of those made in Ireland and assembled in America pubs. Typical atmosphere and such, beer selection is good at best. A short walk to Rock Bottom in one direction and the Yard House in the other direction.

(05/29/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Good Good

Establishment: Crown City Brewery, Pasadena, CA

Our visit here in April was my second, some nine years after my first stop. As other reviewers have noted, the emphasis here is definitely on others' beers rather than their own. Only the Crown City Amber was available the evening we visited. I had a pint of the house amber& satisfactory but not exceptional. I was much more pleased with my pint of Craftsman Smoked Black Lager. My "great" beer ratings are because of the availability of a few exceptional beers like this. Service was solid on a busy Friday evening.

(05/25/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Good Good

Establishment: Gordon Biersch Brewing Company, Pasadena, CA

We had a pretty good dinner here on a Thursday evening. Ive been to several Gordon Biersch locations over the years (second time at this Pasadena location), and this one has a similar feel to the others Ive seen. The outdoor patio seating was popular that evening.

(05/25/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A N/A Great

Establishment: Craftsman Brewing Company, Pasadena, CA

I had a chance to try a couple beers from this brewery during a visit to Pasadena in April. I found the tasty Smoked Black Lager on tap at Crown City Brewery and I found the wonderfully rich and smoky Roggen Rauch Bock at Lucky Baldwins, served in a stemmed glass. Lucky Baldwins had as many as five Craftsman beers on draft. I also saw a Craftsman tap or two at the Pasadena location of Barneys Beanery. I did not see any of these beers at the Pasadena Yard House.

(05/23/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Good Great

Establishment: Fredericksburg Brewing Company, Fredericksburg, TX

I finally got the opportunity to visit this place. My wife and I had dinner in the restaurant and we spent the night in the Admiral Room, one of 11 upstairs guest rooms. Overnight guests receive a free pint of beer, thus the “bed & brew” label. There were five house beers to choose from during our visit in late January. I had a pint each of three of them (it helps when you don’t have to drive afterward), and a taste of a fourth. All were flavorful and true to style: Peacepipe Pale Ale, Harper Valley IPA, Pioneer Porter, and Enchanted Rock Red Ale – I did not get to the hefe. First thing to note: not a German-style lager to be had on this visit, which seemed a bit odd in this German-themed tourist town. This brewpub does make them – pilsner, bock, a GABF medal-winning helles – maybe next time. Second thing to note: none of the beers on that evening would serve as an easy transition beer from the light mega-lagers so popular in Texas. A beer drinker would have to jump with both feet into whatever style he or she selected. Many pubcrawlers would say that was a good thing. Our food was good – I would definitely recommend the Schweineschnitzel. Our service on a fairly busy Friday evening was more than adequate. This place closes somewhat early by brewpub standards, so upstairs overnight guests can have some quiet.

(02/08/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Good Good Great

Establishment: Aiken Brewing Company, Aiken, SC

I and several others stopped here on the Thursday between Christmas and New Years. The pub was fairly busy on an early afternoon. The beers we tried were excellent. Two of us enjoyed a deliciously dark German-style bock, and also a pint of their GABF gold-medal winning Irish-style red ale called Thoroughbred Red. Our companions opted for the smooth and golden Jenny’s Cream Ale, recently released as the 500th batch of beer at Aiken, and named for one of the brewpub’s co-owners. We had to wait too long for our appetizer baskets of calamari, shrimp, clam strips, and chicken with onion rings. The delayed arrival of our food was seemingly not the fault of our server, but rather stemmed from issues or confusion in and around the kitchen. I liked the overall feel of this pub, with its brick interior walls and visible brewing equipment flanking the front door. The beers we tried were superb, although one might wish for more than five house brews to choose from. I would definitely visit again.

(12/31/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Great Great

Establishment: Athens Steam Company Pub, Athens, GA

A small group of us had dinner here on a very quiet Sunday evening. The adjoining Melting Point concert room, new since I last visited this pub, was silent. The variety of soups, salads, and sandwiches that our group of five had were all very good. A few of their taps were off line, but they did have several Terrapin brews including the wonderful Big Hoppy Monster and the Golden Ale and Rye Pale Ale. The medium-bodied red ale labeled especially for the Athen Steam Company Pub, brewed by Thomas Creek Brewing Company of Greenville, was available in a bottle this time around.

(11/26/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Good Good

Establishment: Wild Wing Cafe, Athens, GA

A group of us stopped here for lunch on a Sunday afternoon after confirming that Copper Creek Brewing was closed until later in the day. Upon our arrival, our server explained that this place had been having CO2 problems all weekend long, and that there was no draught beer or carbonated soft drinks available. We were forced to dip into their bottle selection, which fortunately included several from Sweetwater, notably the superb 2006 edition of Sweetwater Festive Ale. Later the taps were fixed allowing us to order a draft. Confusion ensued when we received Sweetwater Hummer pints instead of the Sweetwater 420 that we had ordered. Not sure where the mistake was made, but neither bartender nor server should mistake a pale ale for an unfiltered wheat beer. Our beers were corrected, but not as speedily as we might have liked. Our food, mainly sandwiches and some wings, were good. Our server was pleasant but not as beer knowledgeable as she should have been given the number of choices that Wild Wings offers. The beer selection rates a strong good - local Georgia beers from Terrapin and Sweetwater are available, and the bottled Festive Ale was a a plus, but much of the rest of the 20 plus tap handles seemed a bit uninspired. I believe I have seen a better beer selection here in the past.

(11/26/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great So So N/A N/A Good

Establishment: Copper Creek Brewing Company, Athens, GA

We just had some beers on this visit on a Friday evening. Only four house drafts available: kolsch, pale ale, oatmeal stout, and a seasonal pumpkin ale. All were well done and true to style. The pumpkin ale was actually quite nice, with a deep amber color and spiced to be strongly reminiscent of pumpkin pie. Other commercial beers are available in bottles but it would be nice to have a bit of a larger selection of house beers.

(11/26/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Good Good

Establishment: Mellow Mushroom, Athens, GA

This was return visit to this MM location. Three of us shared an excellent large pizza. I washed it down with a pint of Sweetwater Sweet Georgia Brown Ale. I'm not sure the overall draft selection was as great as I have seen at this location in the past. Lunch time service was adequate.

(11/26/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Great Great

Establishment: Five Seasons Brewing Company, Atlanta, GA

Our first visit to this brewpub was earlier this month - a fairly busy Thursday around lunchtime. The house drafts were limited to four (disappointing when you scan the long list of beers shown on their website). The Munich Helles did not interest me and they had run out of the listed IPA. I opted for a seasonal weizenbock, which turned out to be a good choice, a dark yet refreshing companion to my smoked brisket reuben. I finished up with a pint of porter which was also well done. The others with me did not have beer but they seemed to enjoy their turkey reuben sandwiches as well.

(11/25/2006)


Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ 4 ] [ 5 ] [ 6 ] [ 7 ] [ 8 ] [ 9 ] [ 10 ] [ 11 ] [ 12 ] [ 13 ] [ 14 ] [ ALL ]













(0.228 seconds) 05:19:54 184.72.82.126, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS