PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Reviews on PubCrawler from
Other Reviews by this User
 
October 25, 2014 @ 03:01 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.

Reviews By

Beer Reviews
(329)

Restaurant Reviews
(0)






no
user
photo

329
Beer Reviews from
   

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ 4 ] [ 5 ] [ 6 ] [ 7 ] [ 8 ] [ 9 ] [ 10 ] [ 11 ] [ 12 ] [ 13 ] [ 14 ] [ ALL ]
Average Rating
Beer Quality
Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great
Great Great Great Great

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy So So So So Good So So

Establishment: Barley's, Jackson, TN

I stopped in at Barley’s nearly four years after my first visit. It was relatively late on a Saturday evening and there was a good crowd and a band playing classic rock songs from Tom Petty, Cream, and others. Most people in the crowd were holding long neck bottles of megabrewers’ light beers. The server mentioned three house beers and I opted for the nut brown, one of my favorite styles when done well. This beer was a terrible attempt at the style, thin in body and sour in taste. I saw a few other people drinking one or another of two lighter beer styles (I forget what exactly), but I did not want to risk it. If all the house beers are now as bad as the brown ale, it is no wonder the majority of the patrons were sucking on long neck bottles.

(07/26/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Awesome! Great

Establishment: Iron Hill Brewery and Restaurant, Newark, DE

Iron Hill is located just a couple of blocks from the University of Delaware and is easily found via Exit 1 of I-95. Our server greeted us by immediately describing the two special beers not on the beer menu at our table – a West Coast Golden Ale and a Hefeweizen. When she brought the beer sampler, she described each of the eight offerings and even suggested a sequence for tasting them (which I varied a bit). The beers all seemed well done, although some of them seemed too close in style and taste, limiting the sense of variety that you might expect with eight beers. Standouts included the Raspberry Wheat – a subtle interpretation of the style, the Ironbound APA – a good balance of malt and hops, and the Pig Iron Porter. Our sandwiched were quite tasty. The Monday lunchtime crowd was a bit sparse, but then again it was a summer weekday in a college town. I would return to this or another Iron Hill location.

(07/12/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Awesome! Great

Establishment: Iron Hill Brewery and Restaurant, Newark, DE

Iron Hill is located just a couple blocks from the University of Delaware and is easily found via Exit 1 of I-95. Our server greeted us by describing the two special beers (a West Coast Golden Ale and a Hefeweizen) that were not featured on the regular beer menu at the table. When she brought the beer sampler, she described each of the eight beers in detail and even suggested a sequence for tasting them (which I varied to some degree). The beers were generally all well done, although some of them seemed a bit too similar to one another. Standouts were the Raspberry Wheat - a subtle interpretation of the style, the Ironbound APA, with a good balance of malt and hops, and the Pig Iron Porter. Our sandwiches were tasty. The Monday lunchtime crowd was not large, but it was summer in a college town. I'd return to this or other Iron Hill locations.

(07/11/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good

Establishment: Capitol City Brewing Company, Baltimore, MD

Capitol City has a great view of the inner harbor – well located to capture some of the tourist crowd. My nephew and I both really enjoyed the seasonal Nut Brown Ale. I found the Amber Waves Ale to be good but not exceptional, while he liked the Prohibition Porter. We just had a few appetizers – decent but not exceptional.

(07/11/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Great Awesome!

Establishment: Brewer's Art, Baltimore, MD

Like no other brewpub experience I have ever had, and that numbers well over 200! Our meals were exceptional and service was solid on a Monday evening. My nephew and I each had a 20 oz pint of the Proletary Ale, followed by their highly regarded Resurrection ale served in a stemmed 14 oz glass. Much has been said about Resurrection in previous reviews, but little has been offered about Proletary, a Belgian-style black ale that was very smooth and drinkable – an excellent beer. From what I read in the most recent Mid-Atlantic Brewing News, the Brewer’s Art ales have been showing up in pubs throughout Baltimore and now entering into Philadelphia and Washington DC as well.

(07/11/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Good Good

Establishment: DuClaw Brewing Company, Hanover, MD

This brewpub has a contemporary industrial feel with a separate bar area and restaurant. I ordered the sampler of eight beers. I thought it a bit odd that there were two different seasonal wheat beers. Another beer billed as an Australian style lager was fairly true to style and rather flavorless. Their most popular beer is called Bare Ass Blonde Ale, probably because of the name. Another offering was a kolsch. There were several more interesting ales: the Bad Moon Porter with prominent coffee notes, an American style pale ale called Venom that represented the only significantly hopped beer, and my favorite, Misfit Red, which had a somewhat complex malty taste. We just had an appetizer so I won't comment on the food. This place is just a few miles south of BWI airport.

(07/10/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Mighty Casey's Eatery and Brewhouse, Lebanon, OH

This location is now a non-brewing establishment called Wild Bill's New American Grille.

(07/10/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Great Awesome!

Establishment: Squatter's Pub Brewery was Salt Lake Brewing Company, Salt Lake City, UT

Last month I returned to Squatters for the first time since two visits in the same week bsck in 1998. This remains one of my favorite brewpub destinations. Lots of brick and wood in a historic downtown building, a long bar and the option of patio seating give Squatters a great pub feel. There is a wide range of beers to choose from. My wife really enjoyed the Provo Girl Pils. I went first for the cask conditioned English Mild, and then to the very tasty nitro pale ale. We saw several tables with something called a "tapper" (I think), which was a tall clear cylinder filled with one of the house brews, allowing the drinkers at the table to each pour and refill their own. Of course the problem there is getting three or four people to agree on one variety! For an appetizer, try the stout onion soup.

(06/22/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Good Great

Establishment: Moab Brewery, Moab, UT

I have long wanted to visit this brewpub and I finally did so for lunch on a not-so-busy Friday in early May. I ordered the sampler which came with nine beers, ranging from the Lizard Light Ale, the Elephant Hill Hefeweizen, and the Park City Pilsener through the Dead Horse Amber, the Scorpion Pale Ale and a seasonal amber, all the way to the Park City Steamer and the Black Raven Stout. My favorites were the Scorpion Pale Ale, the Park City Steamer - a California common style brew, and especially the Derailleur Ale - a complex red ale that I had to go back for later that night (after a visit to Eddie McStiff's for dinner). The menu offers plenty of food choices - I enjoyed a good burger with beer battered onion rings and my wife had the Jack Daniels chicken sandwich - both good. You can buy a logo pint glass filled with your choice of beers for $5. Three of Moab's beers are bottled and available in six packs. If you are passing through Moab, allow enough time to stop at both Moab Brewery and Eddie McStiff's, and I'd also allow a day to explore the fascinating Arches National Park as well.

(06/18/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Eddie McStiff's Micro-Brewery and Restaurant, Moab, UT

Eddie McStiff's is a large restaurant right in the center of Moab, with several different indoor and outside dining areas, a long bar, and a game area with pool tables, etc. The menu is very diverse, with pizzas being one of the specialities. As the restaurant has expanded, brewing is no longer done on site, having been moved to another facility in Moab. The beer menu features 13 selections, including a number of wheat beer variations. Other choices included a cream ale, an amber ale, a brown ale, an ESB, a porter, a Scottish ale, and a stout. My wife opted for the Moab Blueberry Wheat, with a nice but subtle fruity aroma and taste. I started with the Chestnut Brown Ale and followed it up with the Black & Blue Blueberry Stout - a rather pleasing mixture of blueberry wheat and Cisco Bend Stout that combined the nose and flavor of the fruit with the roastiness of the stout. Service was good on a very busy Friday evening in early May. Most of the Eddie McStiff beers are available bottled in either six packs or 22 oz bombers. With both Eddie McStiff's and the Moab Brewery, and two outstanding national parks nearby, Moab is a very good stop for a pubcrawler on a western states excursion.

(06/16/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Good Great

Establishment: Port O' Call, Salt Lake City, UT

Port O' Call occupies portions of four levels of a historic building in downtown Salt Lake City, originally built as an apartment hotel in 1912. The main restaurant and bar are at street level with a game area and another bar in the basement. Two more bars accompany the music venue on the second floor and the overlooking partial third floor, while a fifth bar serves an area of second floor outside seating. As is commonly found in Utah, Port O' Call is a private club, but temporary memberships are available at nominal cost - see the website for details. A large selection of bottled beer is available and there are a good many tap choices as well, including a variety of beers from Utah micros such as Wasatch, Uinta, Park City, and Moab. Its close proximity to Squatters and Red Rock would allow Port O' Call to be included in a downtown pubcrawl, but if you just have one or two nights in the city, you may just wish to stay with the many beer choices at those two brewpubs without buying a membership. When there is live music or a DJ (check the website's calendar), this place seems to really draw a crowd.

(06/16/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Good Good

Establishment: Groggs was Pinnacle Brewing Company, Helper, UT

We stopped here for a late Saturday lunch while traveling from Moab to Salt Lake City in early May. There were five house beers plus a selection of A-B products that I won't dwell on. The house amber ale was drinkable but unremarkable. The pale ale was a nice example of the style. I did not try the porter, the raspberry wheat or the apricot wheat. We had very tasty sandwiches, served with a choice of some interesting sides - fresh German potato salad and broccoli slaw among them. Take the Carbonville Road turn-off from the US 6 bypass between Helper and Price.

(06/15/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A N/A Good

Establishment: Park City Brewing Company, Moab, UT

Within the past couple of years, Park City Brewing was bought by Moab Brewery and beer production was moved from Heber City to the Moab Brewery. Several of the Park City beers are available at the Moab pub and at other establishments in Utah. The Park City Pilsner is a clean but unremarkable beer, while the Park City Steamer is a fine, well balanced amber, brewed in the California common style.

(06/09/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Uinta Brewing Company, Salt Lake City, UT

My wife and I stopped at the Uinta pub for lunch on our way to Moab. The new brewery is not far from the Salt Lake City airport. The lunch menu features deli-style sandwiches where you select the meats, cheeses, style of bread, and other goodies from a checklist. They also serve a soup of the day. I enjoyed two of the Uinta beers - a very tasty Bristlecone Brown Ale and the award-winning Cutthroat Pale Ale. The pub also has a pool table and a good view of the brewery - they were bottling while we were there. Highly recommended!

(06/09/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great

Establishment: JP Hops House, Houston, TX

Check out the new JP Hops House website. It includes a good example of the ever-changing beer list and the music calendar.

(06/08/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good

Establishment: Buffalo Wild Wings Grill and Bar, Slidell, LA

This is not a great beer destination. But for Slidell, Louisiana (I lived here for ten years), it is probably the best choice in town. In late May I found about 20 different tap handles, ranging from too many megabrewer light lagers to some unsurprising imports (Guinness, Bass, Newcastle, Heineken, Warsteiner, Beck's Dark, XX Amber) to a couple of craft brewer choices (Sierra Nevada Pale Ale, Abita Amber) to a few beers that fall in between (Sam Adams, Shiner Bock, Killian's). There was a draft cider and even a hard lemonade on tap as well. Other beers are available by bottle. Of course there is the standard BW3 menu. The restaurant has a large dining area in the front and a bar area behind it, with lots of TV's for sports and trivia games. This is not the easiest place for the traveler to find…….take the Highway 11 exit from I-12; take a left turn under the bridge if you are eastbound and then a right turn on Brownswitch Road, or go straight from the westbound off-ramp, and go east about a mile or two parallel to the interstate to a small retail center at the intersection of Robert Road. When passing through this area, I'd still prefer the Abita Brew Pub, some 15 miles or so further west along I-12, but this may appeal to some folks. It does seem to be popular place with the locals.

(06/06/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A Great Great

Establishment: Black Labrador, Houston, TX

My first visit to this pub. Other reviewers have praised the food and described the atmosphere, but nobody has offered specific info on the beer - so here goes. Ten taps, all European imports (i.e., Guinness, Bass, Newcastle, Old Speckled Hen, Fuller's ESB, Boddington's) except for New Belgium Fat Tire. Bottle choices are not extensive: more imports, a few US craft brews such as Saint Arnold Amber, Shiner Bock, Breckenridge Avalanche, and several cider choices. A variety of scotches are also available. It has a nice U-shaped bar area (where our group congregated, but this place is first and foremost a restaurant. Parking is extremely difficult in this area, so be prepared to walk some distance from your car to the pub.

(02/08/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Good Good

Establishment: C. B. and Potts Restaurants / Big Horn Breweries, Highlands Ranch, CO

This CB & Potts is similar to others I have been in, with a large bar area to the right with an adjacent pool table area, and an equally large dining room to the left. It was very busy with a 30 minute wait on a Monday evening, a result of a January “kids eat free” promotion to entice families, and some bar specials during Denver Avalanche games to entice hockey fans. Both seemed to be working. There are a number of house beers but a couple of them seem to trend toward the mass-produced styles – a blonde and a light. On top of that they also sell mega-lagers from A-B and Coors, so you can tell what kind of crowd they draw. More interesting house beers include a wheat beer, the Butthead Amber Ale, and their Total Disorder Porter. I only had one style on this visit – their seasonal Winter Solstice, which actually was described as a Belgian-style saison. It was interesting but not my favorite winter ale of the weekend. Our burgers and other food were quite good – there is a different food special each night of the week. Our service got off to a slow start but later improved once our server was able to focus on our table and was really pretty good considering the crowd. It is just south of C-470 at the Broadway exit.

(01/27/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A N/A Great

Establishment: Avery Brewing Company, Boulder, CO

Avery’s slogan is “Small Brewery, Big Beers” and after seeing this place I now understand why. It really is a pretty small brewing operation in terms of size. We were greeted by a brewer named Steve who showed us around the facility. They only produced about 4000 barrels in 2002, yet their styles are wide-ranging and their distribution is fairly broad. Steve said that they are at capacity and that distant distributors contact them wanting to represent their beers. Of the Avery brews that I have tried, my favorite is Ellie’s Brown Ale, which has a rich dark color and a malty, nutty flavor profile that I really enjoy. I have not tried most of Avery’s “big beers” that other reviews have raved about.

(01/25/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Good N/A

Establishment: Rockies Brewing Company, Boulder, CO

My companion and I had lunch at The Pub and then did the 2:00 PM brewery tour. The pub menu featured many typical items and there is a daily special. Our chicken sandwich, veggie burrito, and onion rings were quite good. On Monday and Tuesday your first mug of beer is a nickel with a lunch entrée. This was one of the better brewery tours I have experienced – very thorough as we were taken throughout the brewery to see everything from the mash tun to the cooling and brightening tanks to the bottling and kegging operations (which unfortunately was not active on that day). Following the tour, we sampled as many of the beers available as we wanted. Now to the beers: In addition to the usual Boulder ales (Pale, Amber, Porter, etc.), Buffalo Gold, and Singletrack Ale, there are some other relatively new brews. One is called Sulley’s Light Lager, and it is essentially an attempt to capture some of the Bud Light and Coors Light drinkers. Enough said. We sampled three ales that are part of Rockies’ new Looking Glass Series. Hazed and Infused Dry-Hopped Ale is indeed a hoppy delight and has apparently become quite popular on tap in the Denver/Boulder area. The other two were winter seasonals: Never Summer Ale is a flavorful dark and slightly spicy ale and was our favorite, while Killer Penguin Ale is a high gravity winter ale with an alcohol content approaching the barleywine level. There is also an unfiltered brew usually available at the pub – this time is was the Boulder Pale. All the people here, from our server to the tour guide to the charming lady at the bar were very personable. Highly recommended!

(01/25/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Tommyknocker Brewery and Pub, Idaho Springs, CO

A winter update – someone headed to or from the ski areas will find a fire in the pub side and as many as nine beers on tap, and most likely one on cask as well. I had a pint of the Maple Nut Brown Ale and the cask conditioned Pick Axe Pale Ale – yummy. Try the Jackleg Philly sandwich.

(01/25/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Oasis Brewery Annex, Boulder, CO

Bottled Oasis brews that were previously produced by this brewery are now produced by Rockies Brewing Co. under contract.

(01/21/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great N/A N/A N/A Great

Establishment: Terrapin Beer Company, Athens, GA

Just a quick update: Terrapin Rye P.A. won a gold medal in its first try at the 2002 Great American Beer Festival in Denver - pretty impressive. The new website indicates that there is an effort being made to raise money to build a brewery in Athens.

(12/20/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Great Great

Establishment: The Stag's Head, Houston, TX

T'is the season for holiday ales, and this pub has some great ones. On an early December visit, we enjoyed pints of Sam Adams Winter Lager (at a special promotional price), Sierra Nevada Celebration, Anchor Our Special Ale (excellent this year), and cask conditioned Saint Arnold Christmas Ale (absolutely superb on cask!). We never got to the Young's Winter Warmer.

(12/06/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A N/A Great

Establishment: Spoetzl Brewery, Shiner, TX

The Spoetzl Brewery (rhymes with "pretzel") tours are available Monday through Friday (check the website for hours) and start at the gift shop in a small house in front of the brewery. The tour focuses on the history of the brewery, which was established in 1909, and offers a good visit to the brewhouse and a view of the bottling line. A newly enlarged hospitality room offers samples (yes, they are a bit small) of the four available Shiner beers - Shiner Bock, Shiner Blonde, the fairly new unfiltered Hefeweizen, and either Shiner Summer Stock (a kolsch) in March through September or Shiner Winter Ale (a dunkelweizen) from October through February. Shiner Bock and Shiner Winter Ale have earned medals at the Great American Beer Fest in both 2001 and 2002, and the Hefeweizen and Summer Stock were medal winners at the 2002 World Beer Cup. By far, my favorite is the Winter Ale, a rich tasting dark ale that even had a bit of a smoky taste on tap at the hospitality room. The brewery is about 20 miles south of the Flatonia exit on I-10 between Houston and San Antonio.

(11/24/2002)


Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ 4 ] [ 5 ] [ 6 ] [ 7 ] [ 8 ] [ 9 ] [ 10 ] [ 11 ] [ 12 ] [ 13 ] [ 14 ] [ ALL ]













(0.406 seconds) 03:01:48 54.211.180.175, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS