PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Reviews on PubCrawler from
Other Reviews by this User
 
November 23, 2014 @ 04:29 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.

Reviews By

Beer Reviews
(129)

Restaurant Reviews
(0)






no
user
photo

129
Beer Reviews from
   

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ 4 ] [ 5 ] [ 6 ] [ ALL ]
Average Rating
Beer Quality
Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great
Good Great Good Great

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Good Good

Establishment: Chelsea Brewing Company, New York, NY

We stopped in for a lunch-time appetizer and a few beers. The Henry Hudson IPA was a good, hoppy, bitter, American style IPA. The Solstice Wheat was a pretty decent unfiltered American style wheat beer. My wife had a Raspberry Wheat Ale that was just OK; it really was just a bit of raspberry flavoring added to the Solstice Wheat. The Sunset Red Ale was a very good, nicely balanced amber ale. We ordered some hot wings that were just alright. They had several flavors. We tried the hot buffalo and the Cajun. Neither were very hot; they were rather small and not nearly saucy enough; a bit too dry. If I don't go through at least a dozen napkins they are just not saucy enough.

(06/09/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A Great Great

Establishment: Santa Fe Brewing Company, Santa Fe, NM

The brewery is in a building that looks like just a large house. They have a small tasting room; a nice cozy place with a small bar, a couch and a fireplace. We stopped in on a very cold, damp day and really appreciated the fireplace. I was surprised at what a small operation this really is. They distribute beer all over New Mexico, yet still bottle by hand. We tried three beers, the three they had that you can’t get in bottles throughout New Mexico. They had an IPA that was very good; not overly hoppy, but very tasty. I also tried a porter that had a nice roasted taste. The Chicken Killer Barleywine was good and strong; amber colored, sweet and malty.

(12/16/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Good Good So So Lousy

Establishment: Taylor Brewing Company, Lombard, IL

We visited in July and the beers here were absolutely awful. I was nervous as soon as we entered the place and saw the abundance of Rolling Rock signs (I think that Rolling Rock is one of the absolute worst beers out there). My suspicions were confirmed upon trying the IPA, which had a very buttery taste. I decided to give them another chance even though I suspected they may have some contamination in their system. I ordered the Weiss, which smelled good when the waitress brought it out. Before I tasted it she told me that this wasn’t the Weiss they brew here because theirs was “really bad today.” I made the mistake of ordering another one of their beers. My wife drank the Weiss, which I believe was a Paulanner (one of my favorites). My next beer was the Pale Ale, which was also dominated by buttery off flavors. I don’t normally leave a beer behind, but this was absolutely undrinkable. I only hope that this was an isolated contamination event and their beers are usually better than this, otherwise I can’t see how they possibly stay in business.

(10/18/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Good Good Awesome!

Establishment: Rock Bottom Brewery, Chicago, IL

I was very surprised by the quality of the beer here. We weren’t even planning on going to this brewery since I am not usually very impressed with Rock Bottoms. We came across it by accident as we were bar hopping all around the north side one evening. We decided to give it a try and were really glad that we did. All of the beers were great. We stopped back a couple of nights later to try the ones we missed the first night. There was not a bad beer in the batch. The brewer here really knows what he is doing.

(10/18/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A So So Great

Establishment: Piece, Chicago, IL

They had a great, nicely hopped IPA. Unfortunately it was getting late when we got there and I was really full from dinner, so I only tried the one beer. The regulars there all seemed to really like all of their beers.

(10/18/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Great Good

Establishment: Onion Pub and Brewery, Lake Barrington, IL

The beers were all alright, but none of them were really much above average. I tried a Hefeweizen and a cask conditioned Pale Ale. The food was very good.

(10/18/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A Good Great

Establishment: Lunar Brewing, Villa Park, IL

We had a hell of a time getting to the place as we visited on July 4th and the parade was just beginning outside. The place really looked like an ordinary bar, however we were pleasantly surprised to find some really good beers. The IPA was fantastic. My wife had some kind of fruit beer - I can't remember which, but she really liked it.

(10/18/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Good Good

Establishment: Harrison's Brewing Company, Orland Park, IL

We just made a quick stop here to try a beer. I only had one (the IPA), which was quite good. Unfortunately we had just eaten a huge Lithuanian dinner on the south side and I was really too full to try any more beer.

(10/18/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Good Great Great Awesome!

Establishment: The Dodging Duck Brewhaus, Boerne, TX

My wife and I just stopped in for a second visit. This is an outstanding brewery. The brewer definitely knows what he is doing. They have a fantastic ESB, which I've reviewed before (a deep red English style bitter; a perfect blend of maltiness and hoppiness). On this last visit I tried two great seasonal beers; a really smooth Ducktoberfest, and an exceptional Pale Ale brewed with rye malt (the Quacker in the Rye). The food is also very good.

(10/13/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy So So N/A Good Lousy

Establishment: Streets of New York Brewery was Uptown Brewery, Tempe, AZ

I had two beers there a few months back. Both had some really off tastes.

(06/10/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy So So Good Good Lousy

Establishment: Mudshark Brewing Company, Lake Havasu City, AZ

My wife and I stopped in a few months back. I was at first excited to see that they had a "cask-conditioned ESB" - one of my all time favorite beers. I got a bit sceptical when the beer arrived and it looked like a Coors Lite. I tasted it and it pretty well tasted like a really flat Coors Lite - I can try that anytime here in West Texas. We then tried the IPA and found it to have some buttery off flavors. You are much better off going across the road to Barley Brothers.

(06/10/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Coopersmith's Pub and Brewing, Fort Collins, CO

I enjoyed all of the beers I tried here. I especially liked the Bitter Ale - a great traditional style hand drawn bitter. Food was also great.

(06/10/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great

Establishment: New Belgium Brewing Company, Fort Collins, CO

I've been drinking New Belgian beers for a while now - they are one of the few good microbrews I can get living in the middle of nowhere in West Texas. My wife and I finally got to visit the brewery this weekend. It was my first taste of the La Folie - fantastic - a great Lambic style beer. Although we tried all the others many times before our visit, it was nice to sample them all at once with the sampler tray - and really great that it was free. My wife loves the new TransAtlantic Kriek. The staff were all friendly (I can see why with all the great beer and awesome fringe benefits). I liked the beer a lot before finding out how environmentally concious this company was. That makes me enjoy the beer even more (I like to say "I'm not just getting drunk - I'm helping to save the planet").

(06/10/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great

Establishment: Estes Park Brewing Company, Estes Park, CO

My wife and I stopped by on Saturday for the Rocky Mountain Brew Fest. It was a great festival. After a while we got tired of drinking beer out of tiny sampler glasses, so we went upstairs in the brewery and had a couple of big beers. I really liked the IPA. My wife loves the Raspberry. We'll be back.

(06/10/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A N/A Great

Establishment: Flying Dog Brewery, Denver, CO

I really liked the new heller hound. I wish I was able to have a few more, but after visiting the Rocky Mtn brew festival and then 3 more breweries after that, I was about done for the evening - maybe just one more at Breakenridge.

(06/10/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Good Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Amicas Pizza and Microbrews, Salida, CO

Fantastic beer. The IPA was good and hoppy; the porter was really smooth - one of the best I've tried. I really liked the Vienna Lager - I'm not usually a big fan of the lighter lagers, but this one was full of flavor and a great beer - we took a growler to go. The pizza was some of the best I've had.

(06/10/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great

Establishment: Rio Salado Brewing Company, Tempe, AZ

Tried the Pale Ale, Shwarz beer (both great), the Hefe, and the Wit (both good). My wife loved the Cherry Weiss. We unfortunately arrived one day late for the pig roast and homebrew fest.

(11/19/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Great Great

Establishment: Prescott Brewing Company, Prescott, AZ

Great beer, good appetizers. We tried the Porter, IPA, and Nutbrown Ale. All were great and true to style.

(11/17/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Great Good

Establishment: Oak Creek Brewing Company, Sedona, AZ

Tried all of the beers, and they were all good. Although the food is great at the brewpub grill, I definitely enjoyed drinking here better.

(11/17/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! N/A Great Great

Establishment: Papago Brewing, Scottsdale, AZ

Great beer selection, although only three were brewed there. We tried the nut brown and the porter - both were very good. A great selection of beer to go. The girl at the bar knew more about beer than just about anyone I've met bartending at a brewpub. We'll be back next time we're in town.

(11/17/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Good Good

Establishment: Oak Creek Brewery And Grill, Sedona, AZ

We tried just about all of the beers here and were not dissappointed. The sausage platter was great - so much food, we had leftovers for the rest of our trip.

(11/17/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Lousy Great Good So So

Establishment: Jerome Brewery, Jerome, AZ

Great food, weak beer. My wife had the raspberry - it tasted like Coors Light with raspberry flavoring. I tried the dark wheat - it was weak and rather tasteless.

(11/17/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Good Awesome!

Establishment: Four Peaks Brewing Company, Tempe, AZ

The best of the 10 Arizona breweries we visited on this trip. The cask conditioned IPA was outstanding. The Pale Ale was great - smooth and hoppy. The Hefe was one of the best we've tried. The Oatmeal Stout was a great nitro stout. My wife thought the Peach was great. A large college crowd on Saturday night.

(11/17/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A Great Great

Establishment: Flagstaff Brewing Company, Flagstaff, AZ

The Bitter Ale and the Pale Ale were both fantastic. Unfortunately they don't make cask conditioned ales any longer. The stout was a bit too sweet for my tastes. Overall a great brewery. We will be back.

(11/17/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A Good Great

Establishment: The Green Room was Mogollon Brewing, Flagstaff, AZ

Although the waiter at Beaver Street told us not to go, we found Mogollon's beer to be far superior to Beaver Street (which was a good brewery). I loved the Horny Toad IPA - a great, super hoppy IPA. A sign over the bar says "there are no strong beers, only weak men". Perhaps the weak men all work at Beaver Street. The Oktober Fest was a bit darker, and quite a bit hoppier than Oktoberfests usually are, but there's nothing wrong with dark and hoppy. Although it was not really true to style, it was a damn good beer. The Hefe was also pretty darn good.

(11/17/2003)


Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ 4 ] [ 5 ] [ 6 ] [ ALL ]













(0.414 seconds) 16:29:32 54.166.53.169, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS