PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Reviews on PubCrawler from
Other Reviews by this User
 
August 23, 2014 @ 02:12 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.

Reviews By

Beer Reviews
(129)

Restaurant Reviews
(0)






no
user
photo

129
Beer Reviews from
   

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ 4 ] [ 5 ] [ 6 ] [ ALL ]
Average Rating
Beer Quality
Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great
Good Great Good Great

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Good Great

Establishment: Sunset Brewery, El Paso, TX

John brews some really great beers. The IPA is outstanding - it keeps getting hoppier every time I try it. The new Pale Bock is a pretty darn good beer. My favorite after the IPA is the Bunker Buster Brown that is currently on tap - a really good blend of malt and hops. I'm looking forward to a nitro stout like John used to brew at Jaxon's.

(06/29/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Good Good

Establishment: Jaxon's Restaurant and Brewing Company, El Paso, TX

A year ago I would have said this place was great, but the beer isn't nearly as good since John (the brewer) left (luckily he's just over the other side of town at Sunset Brewery which is far superior). The nitro stout is a great beer. I'm surprised to see people praise the IPA - it seemed pretty weak the last time I tried it.

(06/29/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Good Good Great Awesome!

Establishment: Hub City Brewing Company, Lubbock, TX

This brewery is the only reason I can imagine anyone would ever want to go to Lubbuck.

(06/29/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Great Good

Establishment: Breckenridge Brewery and BBQ, Denver, CO

The Pale Ale was good and hoppy. The Hefe Proper was also really good - I bought a six pack to take back to West Texas (where the Coors Light drinkers consider Lonestar to be one of them fancy micro brewed beers).

(06/29/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Awesome! Great

Establishment: Bristol Brewing Company, Colorado Springs, CO

I only tried one beer here as it was the third brewery of the afternoon and I still had a really long drive -it's really hard to get out of Colorado with all these breweries. The Red Rocket was a really good, hoppy beer. I also sampled a Laughing Lab, which was good enough to buy a sixpack of to take home.

(06/29/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good

Establishment: C.B. and Potts Restaurants / Big Horn Breweries, Englewood, CO

The IPA and the Hefeweizen were both good - pretty typical selection and pretty typical beers for a chain - nothing really creative.

(06/29/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good

Establishment: C.B. and Potts Restaurants / Big Horn Breweries, Broomfield, CO

The IPA and the Hefeweizen were both good. Pretty typical selection. They were playing some really crappy music so I left after 2 beers.

(Did the last reviewer really ask if they sold alcoholic bevereges here???)

(06/29/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Carver Brewing Company, Durango, CO

Stopped in twice while on a firefighting detail in Durango. Great beers and the food was great as well.

(06/29/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Good Good

Establishment: Flying Dog Brewery, Denver, CO

I've been drinking Flying Dog Ales for some time now and it was good to stop by the brewery at Blake Steet (just a short stumble from Breakenridge Brewing). The beers here are all good, nothing really outstanding about any of them, although I do really like the Road Dog Ale and the Horny Dog Barlywine. Where I live (in the middle of Cers Light country where the best beer selection is in Walgreens and that's an hour drive from here) the Flying Dog Ales along with New Belgian are about the only good beers you can find.

(06/29/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Good Good So So

Establishment: Denver ChopHouse and Brewery, Denver, CO

This was the 4th brewery of the evening, so I can't remember which beers I tried here. I had a good calamari appetizer, but nothing about the beers stands out in my mind.

(06/29/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Good Great

Establishment: Steamworks Brewing Company, Durango, CO

Stopped in two nights while in Durango on a wildfire fighting detail - I think I tried just about all of the beers here and don't remember a bad one in the batch. The seafood boil was great.

(06/29/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good

Establishment: Ironworks Brewery and Pub, Lakewood, CO

This was the 4th brewpub of the day, so I only had 2. The IPA was good, the wheat was just ok (being the forth brewery of the day my taste buds may have been damaged and slightly off). They did have some outstanding hot wings.

(06/29/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Awesome! Great

Establishment: Jarre Creek Ranch Brewery, Castle Rock, CO

The pale ale was good and hoppy. Also enjoyed the Hefeweizen. Awesome growlers - I took one home full of the pale ale.

(06/29/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So So So Good Good

Establishment: Moffat Station Restaurant and Brewery, Winter Park, CO

The beer was just ok. The best part about the place is that when your done drinking you just need to stumble to the elevator and your back to your room.

(06/29/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A Great Great

Establishment: Rockyard Brewing Company, Castle Rock, CO

The Rockyard IPA was my favorite - good and hoppy. An added bonus is that Jarre Creek Ranch is just across the strret.

(06/29/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A So So Great

Establishment: Wynkoop Brewing Company, Denver, CO

I only had one beer here this trip. I'd been here before, so I wanted to sample more of the brewpubs that I had not tried. The ESB on the handpump was great.

(06/29/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good N/A So So So So

Establishment: Walnut Brewery, Boulder, CO

I didn't expect this place to be great, being a Rock Bottom chain. Most Rock Bottom Breweries I've been to have at least been OK - the two beers I had here were really not very good at all. The Pale Ale was really light and not very hoppy at all. The Brown ale was just OK. Better than drinking Coors, but not by much.

(06/27/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Lousy N/A Great Great

Establishment: Trinidad Brewing Company, Trinidad, CO

Although the selection was lousy when I was there, the quality of the beers made up for it. I had a real good stout, and the IPA was excellent - full bodied and hoppy like an IPA should be. Unfortunately the only other beer they had was a rasberry. My wife would have probably enjoyed it, but I'm not a huge fan of fruit beers so I didn't try it. The other 2 beers on their beer list were mixing the stout and the rasberry, and mixing the stout with the IPA, so there were really only 3 beers on tap. I don't know if this is the norm or if they were just behind in their brewing. I gave the place a great rating because the 2 beers I did try were great and I'd rather have only 2 great beers that a bunch of lousy beers.

(06/27/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Good Great

Establishment: Rockies Brewing Company, Boulder, CO

I tried 2 beers - the Nitro Porter was real good. The Hazed and Infused was probably my favorite beer of the trip (I sampled 2 or 3 beers in 21 different brewpubs over the week). I could tell it was going to be a great beer just by smelling it - smelled like pure hops. This is the hoppiest beer I've tried since Stone Brewing's Ruination IPA. It might not be for everyone, but for true hopheads, this beer is Nirvana - like drinking liquid hops. I also brought home a Killer Penguin, which I am looking forward to trying real soon.

(06/27/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Redfish New Orleans Brewhouse, Boulder, CO

I don't know what Nick was talking about either - the place seemed pretty casual to me. If he was a real "Beertrekker" he should have reviewed the great beers that they serve here instead of just complaining about the atmosphere - after all, that's why we go to brewpubs. I found the ESB and the Nutbrown to both be excellent beers. The jambalaya was also great - good and spicy - luckily there was plenty of cold beer to was it down with. I'll definitely come back next time I'm in Boulder.

(06/27/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Pint's Pub, Denver, CO

This was probably my favorite of the 21 brewpubs I visited in the Denver-Boulder area. The Alchemy ale was an outstanding Nitro ESB. The IPA on the hand pump was also outstanding. Great atmosphere, friendly bartender, and friendly folks at the bar. I didn't try the food, although I liked the chips at the bar. I truly enjoyed my visit and plan to return to sample a few more.

(06/27/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Phantom Canyon Brewing Company, Colorado Springs, CO

I only wish I had the time to try a few more beers. The Phantom IPA on the hand pump was fantastic. The Hefeweizen was also a great beer. I unfortunately made the mistake of going across the street to try a beer at Judge Baldwins. That was a huge mistake - the beers at Phantom Canyon are far superior.

(06/27/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Good Great

Establishment: Mountain Sun Pub and Brewery, Boulder, CO

Unfortunately this was my third brewpub of the evening and I still had to drive to a friend's house, so I was only able to try one beer. I chose the amber which was a great, hoppy beer - more like an IPA. I got a growler to go. The mason jar growlers look pretty cool, but they don't seem to hold a good seal - the beer was getting flat by the time I got it home. I guess I'll just have to trek back to Boulder again to try the other beers there. In my opinion, the amber was one of the best beers I tried in Boulder (and I tried quite a few).

(06/27/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Good Great Good

Establishment: Heavenly Daze, Denver, CO

The IPA was great - good and hoppy. I also tried the Scotch Ale and the amber, which were both decent beers. I had built up quite a thirst just trying to find the place, but it was well worth it. Any place with the slogan "F*@K Milk-Drink Beer" is OK with me.

(06/27/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Golden City Brewery, Golden, CO

Where the hell are you guys located? I wasted about 1 hour of quality beer drinking time trying to find Golden City. After driving up and down and around the block many times, I found a liquor store and asked the guy there where Golden City Brewing was. He told me to look in a garage by the hardware store. I cicled the hardware store several more times until I was getting worried about getting picked up for cruising. I ended up going back to Denver dry and thirsty.

(06/16/2003)


Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ 4 ] [ 5 ] [ 6 ] [ ALL ]













(0.172 seconds) 14:12:50 54.221.145.122, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS