PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Reviews on PubCrawler from
Other Reviews by this User
 
April 20, 2014 @ 11:45 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.

Reviews By

Beer Reviews
(129)

Restaurant Reviews
(0)






no
user
photo

129
Beer Reviews from
   

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ 4 ] [ 5 ] [ 6 ] [ ALL ]
Average Rating
Beer Quality
Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great
Good Great Good Great

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Great Great

Establishment: River City Brewing Company, Wichita, KS

I spent a week staying at the Hyatt for a training event in Wichita and was glad that this place was just a short walk away. I stopped in twice and had a great time both nights. The beers were good, the food was great, and the staff, as well as the people at the bar, were friendly. The brewpub is located in the Old Town area in a brick building with a wrap around porch. I never ventured upstairs, but there apparently is a bar called Loft 150 upstairs. Downstairs there is a long wood bar with windows behind it overlooking the brewing vessels.

The first night that I stopped in was a Wednesday which happened to be “Big Ass Beer Night.” They were serving all of their beers in large 22 ounce glasses for the same price as a pint. I started with the Tornado IPA, which was my favorite of the evening. It had an amber color and a crisp, dry, bitter, citrusy hop flavor. I next tried the Emerald City Stout, which was also quite good; black with ruby highlights, smooth with a slightly nutty roasted malt flavor. I had a great buffalo burger with BBQ sauce for dinner. As I was eating and enjoying my beers the brewer was in the process of mashing a batch behind the bar. For dessert I tried the seasonal Honey Rye, which was thankfully served in a smaller pilsner glass. This was a strong (12%) amber colored beer; sweet up front but with a bitter, rye finish. I normally don’t like honey beers because they are often too sweet, but I think the dry rye malt really made this beer quite drinkable. I fully intended to end the evening at this point, but the two people who had sat next to me at the bar were very into beer and as we all talked, I found myself ordering another. By the end of the evening I had tried all six beers that they offered; quite a feat considering it was Big Ass Beer Night. I also tried the Rock Island Red, which was a deep amber, almost red colored beer; well balanced but a bit light in body – not my favorite of the evening (but at this point it was getting hard to tell). I also tried the wheat and the brown ale.

Two days later, after I had finally recovered from Big Ass Beer night, I went back for a second visit. I was really happy that I did because it turned out to be “Randal Night.” They were serving a “randalized” version of their IPA using “Randal the Enamel Animal,” an invention created by Sam Calagione of Dogfish Head Craft Brewery. Randal is a contraption that is used to infuse more hop aroma and flavor into the beer. The IPA flowed from the keg through the device, which was filled with Cascade hop flowers, then through a cooler (and I assume a copper coil buried in ice to chill the beer) and then into the glass. I had read about this device many times, but never seen one in action before. I thought that the IPA was even better this way. It was just slightly cold (as a good IPA should be) and had a nice fresh hop aroma and flavor. I had some great fish and chips with a couple of IPAs. I also tried the Old Town Brown, which I had tried the previous night but really didn’t remember all that well. It was a decent reddish-brown colored ale; a bit bitter with a malty background. They had some good live music at the bar (a guy who said he used to play for Tommy Two-Tone [867-5309] in the 80’s but now just plays hippy music), and I had another great evening here.

(11/19/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Railroad Blues, Alpine, TX

In my opinion this is the perfect bar. They have an amazing selection of bottled beers as well as two beers on tap from Live Oak Brewing in Austin. They have everything from domestic megaswill to Chimay, Dogfishhead, and Arrogant Bastard Ale - a great selection of microbrews and imports, and they always seem to have something new. In addition to a great beer selection, they also have great live music. The owner gets some great bands (usually from the Austin area) to come down to Alpine. My wife and I stop here on a monthly basis throughout the cooler months on our way down to Big Bend. We always spend Saturday evening here listening to some great music, drinking great beer, and hanging out at the fire outside and talking with the locals- a really friendly crowd (a mix of college students, artists, old hippies, and cowboys).

(02/13/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Awesome! Great Great

Establishment: Padre Island Brewing Company, South Padre Island, TX

My wife and I have spent Columbus Day weekend on South Padre Island for the last 3 years, and visited this brewpub on each trip. I gave it a so-so rating after our first visit, but had to write a new review after out last visit, because things had vastly improved.

The first two times we visited I thought the beers are all alright, but I found many of them to be a little on the weak side. Still, they were far better than the domestic beers served in any of the other bars on the island. None of the beers were really bad, just not quite as good as they really could be. The food here has always been excellent; another good reason to visit. And really, after sitting out in the sun all day, perhaps lighter, weaker beers are a bit more acceptable.

However on our third visit in 2005 I was pleased to find that the quality of the beers had greatly improved. They were all good, true to style beers. The Speckled Trout Stout was a good, fairly light bodied stout with a slightly roasted flavor. The Padre Island Pale Ale was a very good, nice and hoppy American style pale ale. The Tidal Wave Wheat was a good, refreshing Hefeweizen style wheat with a rather subdued banana-clove flavor. My wife liked the Raspberry Wheat, which was a refreshing light wheat beer with a nice raspberry flavor. They also added NTN trivia to the bar, which is a great way to spend an evening. The food was excellent as always.

(02/13/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Good Good

Establishment: Edelweiss Brewery and Restaurant, Alpine, TX

My wife and I were extremely excited when this brewery opened since Alpine is our favorite town in Texas and we spend quite a bit of time there. It is the perfect place to go for a beer before heading to Railroad Blues for some live music. The best part is that you can stay in the hotel in the same building. The brewery is located inside the Holland Hotel. It’s a small place with a great atmosphere and fun crowd. They serve great German food, and open early for a fantastic breakfast (free [except for beer]) when you stay at the hotel– great food for hangovers.

We were there for their grand opening/Oktoberfest celebration on Columbus Day weekend 2005, which involved like polka music and beer games. We have been back several times since, and certainly plan to make it a regular stop on our excursions to Alpine. The Texas Gold Black Bavarian Lager is my favorite beer. It is smooth and malty with a slight smoky flavor and just a hint of hop bitterness. The Pale Ale, a mildly hopped English style ale, was also excellent. They’ve also had a good refreshing Kolsch and a decent Oktoberfest.

(02/13/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Great Awesome!

Establishment: Southampton Publick House, Southampton, NY

This is a great restaurant and brewery. We ate lunch there with my parents while on a Long Island road trip and we all really enjoyed our meals and the beers (except my mom who hates beer). I started with a seasonal porter that was excellent; a dark, very smooth, medium bodied ale with a nice roasty flavor. My wife had the Southampton Pale Ale which was a nice hoppy, well balanced American style IPA; assertively hopped, but not overpowering. My dad had the Southampton Golden Lager; a light but flavorful Munich style lager. I also had a pint of the Secret Ale; an excellent alt style copper colored, well balanced, hoppy ale with a nice malty background. In addition to several draught beers, they also had several of their beers that they bottled available to go in 22 oz bombers. I got a saison and an imperial porter to go. (I later found the imperial porter in a liquor store in New Jersey for a bit cheaper).

The food was very good. My wife and I both had one of the daily specials; Cajun spiced bay scallops on a Caesar salad. My parents both had chicken burgers that were quite good and came with some excellent sweet potato fries.

(02/13/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Good Great

Establishment: Brickhouse Brewery and Restaurant, Patchogue, NY

The beers are brewed on premises by the brewer from Blue Point Brewery, which is located just down the road. In addition to their own beers, they also have a couple of Blue Point beers on tap. My wife had a pint of Blueberry Ale from Blue Point that she really enjoyed. I decided to try the sampler, which consisted of seven beers, including two from Blue Point; the blueberry and Blue Point Toasted Lager. The toasted lager was quite good; a smooth, full-bodied lager. We picked up a six pack in a gas station nearby to bring home with us. The first Brick House beer in the sampler was a decent Light Ale, followed by a winter seasonal called Blitzen, which was a strong, amber colored bitter ale. The Brick House Boys Red was a nicely hopped amber ale. The Hurricane Kitty Pale Ale was an outstanding American style pale ale; nice and hoppy with a strong, malty background. I began to get nervous when I saw that the next beer in the sampler was a pumpkin ale with pumpkin spices floating on top. I still think that pumpkin and beer should NEVER be mixed together. However, this was better than expected – it was actually drinkable, though I still wouldn’t ever want to drink a whole pint.

(02/13/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Great Great

Establishment: Black Forest Brew Haus, Farmingdale, NY

A nice German style brewpub. The beers were all very good, although quite pricey; $5.00 to $7.00 for a pint. I started with the Big Rye Doppelbock, which had a nice malty flavor with a good deal of bitterness. It was rather strong (8.3%), but quite smooth. The rye adds a nice depth of flavor. My wife had the Black Forest Amber, an excellent, well balanced märzen/Oktoberfest style lager (GABF gold medal winner). I also had the Hefe-Weizen, which was excellent; a traditional Hefeweizen with a nice though not overpowering banana-clove flavor. The food was also quite good. They had a decent menu consisting of typical pub fare as well as some German specialties. We had some killer home-made pretzels that came with a great honey mustard. My wife and I split a great wing sampler that consisted of 30 huge wings (hot, BBQ, and Thai peanut). They were so big we had to take about 10 of them home with us.

(02/13/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A So So Good

Establishment: Independence Brew Pub, Philadelphia, PA

The brewpub is located inside the Reading Terminal. There is a large bar and restaurant downstairs and a pool room and bar upstairs. We had just eaten a Philly cheese steak, so we just tried a couple of beers. We both had the IPA. My wife had the regular IPA, which was a pretty decent crisp, bitter IPA. I had the cask-conditioned version of the same IPA, which I thought was quite a bit better. It was a somewhat mellow hopped bitter ale that was well suited to cask conditioning. We also tried the Kolsch, which was light and crisp. All decent beers, but nothing really out of the ordinary.

(02/13/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good N/A So So So So

Establishment: Nodding Head Brewery and Restaurant, Philadelphia, PA

The brewery, bar and small restaurant are located on the second floor of the building. It’s a rather small place, but they have a great bobblehead collection at the top of the stairs. I was really disappointed in this brewery. I had heard good reviews and had been reading about all the awards they had won at the latest Great American Beer Festival. The place had a rather unpleasant sewage-like smell that we noticed upon entering. That can immediately turn you off of wanting to eat or drink anything. My wife tried the Grog, which had just won some awards at the GABF. It was a very good, dark brown English style ale with a slight chocolaty flavor. I tried the sampler, which ended up being very pricy - $2.00 per sample (they were slightly larger than normal samples – maybe 5 or 6 ounces). In addition to the Grog were four other beers. The 700 Level was a good light golden ale with a slightly bitter finish. The second beer I tried was the 60 Shilling, a Scottish style ale that had recently won a silver medal at the GABF. It seemed like this batch had gotten seriously contaminated. It had an awful sulphury smell that my wife thought smelled like a wet fart. It’s probably not a good idea to ever actually try a beer that smells like a wet fart, but I ventured a taste. It had a really strange off taste and was absolutely undrinkable. I really wish that the brewer would take a beer off line when these sorts of problems occur; it can’t be good for business (there’s always going to be some jerk like me telling everyone how terrible it was). The next beer I tried was a holiday beer called the Sled Wrecker. It was a spiced ale with a bit of fruit and molasses. I don’t care much for spiced holiday beers, but this one was fairly smooth and drinkable, though I still don’t think I’d want to drink a whole pint. The best beer in the bunch was the BPA (Bill Payer Pale Ale); a very good, hoppy, West Coast style pale ale.

Overall, most of the beers here were actually quite good, but the smell of the place and that one awful skunky beer really ruined the whole experience for me.

(02/13/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Stewart's Brewing Company, Bear, DE

The brewery is located in a strip mall not far from the interstate, which made it a nice place to stop at on our way from New Jersey down to Baltimore. There’s a nice large bar area and they have steel tipped darts and NTN trivia. This would have been a great place to hang out for a while if we didn’t have another hour to drive to Baltimore. All of the beers we tried here were quite good. I started with a good hoppy, slightly fruity IPA. They also had a double IPA I would have loved to try, but I still had a ways to drive. My wife had a beer called the Cherry Bourbathalon, which was a great strong (13%) oak aged beer brewed with cherries and flavored with bourbon. It had a great cherry-oaky-bourbon flavor. I also had an Irish Red Ale which was very good; deep amber color with a nice balance of hops and malt. My wife had a nice tasting amber called the Big Bear Amber Ale. We played a game of NTN trivia and enjoyed some really good crab quesadillas. The bartender was very knowledgeable about the beers and the brewing process, and he talked in a cool DJ voice.

(02/13/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Iron Hill Brewery and Restaurant, Wilmington, DE

The brewery is located in a big place just off the interstate and right on the riverfront. My wife and I stopped in on our way from Baltimore to New Jersey. We had a very knowledgeable waitress who could describe each beer in great detail. I started with an Ironbound Pale Ale and my wife had a Raspberry Wheat, then we split a sampler. This brewery has won a good deal of awards including best large brewpub at the 2005 Great American Beer Festival, and I can see why; all of the beers they had were excellent.

The Ironbound Ale was an awesome, hoppy American style pale ale. Although I am not a fan of fruit beers, my wife really enjoyed the Raspberry Wheat. The Sasquatch Barley Wine was an excellent seasonal; strong, bitter, and quite hoppy for a barleywine. They also had a seasonal stout which I think was my favorite of the batch; an outstanding, extremely smooth nitro stout with a slight coffee flavor. The Pig Iron Porter was also excellent; light bodied and very smooth with a roasty flavor. The Lodestone Lager was fairly light with a nice malty flavor. The Anvil Ale was described as a British pub ale. I thought it was a very good English style pale ale; hopped much more mildly that the Ironbound (a great session beer). And finally the Light Lager was a nice crisp, bitter, pilsner style lager. We each had a cup of crab soup that was quite good and we split a calamari appetizer that was excellent. They serve their food with corn bread that was also quite good. I’d love to go back again when we have some more time (and a hotel nearby).

(02/13/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Awesome! Great Good Great

Establishment: Wharf Rat At Camden Yards / Oliver Breweries, Baltimore, MD

My wife and I had dinner here on New Years Eve. They have a really large selection of beers, mainly English style ales. I started with the Black Friar Stout; an excellent, slightly chocolaty nitro stout. My wife had a cask conditioned ESB; a nice mild English style ESB. I later had the Oliver Old English Ale; a good, malty, slightly bitter English brown ale. My wife's second beer was the Oliver SW1 (Southwest One); a very good, well balanced amber ale. The food was very good. I had a platter of fried oysters and fries. The oysters and the nitro stout went really well together. My wife had an excellent dish called the Old Ben; beef with a great gravy, mashed potatoes, and bread. After dinner we went to the bar where I tried the Oliver Pagan Porter. This was the only beer I really didn’t care a whole lot for. It was a mediocre, dark, roasty porter.

(02/13/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So N/A So So Good

Establishment: Ryleigh's Oyster, Baltimore, MD

here is a bar downstairs and another smaller bar and restaurant area upstairs. It was very loud with a mostly young college crowd. We had a couple of beers at the bar upstairs, since it was not quite so loud up there. They had four house beers and an assortment of domestic beers, which most of the people here seemed to be drinking. I had the Ryleigh’s Revenge IPA; a very good, nicely hopped (though not overpowering) nitro IPA. My wife had the amber, which was a mediocre hoppy, amber colored ale.

(02/13/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Great So So Great

Establishment: Red Brick Station / White Marsh Brewing Company, Baltimore, MD

The brewery is located in a mall near Interstate 95. We visited just before Christmas, so there was tons of traffic all around the place. We stopped in to escape the traffic on our way from Baltimore to New Jersey and had some appetizers and some beers. The waiter was a bit of a dumbass. He didn’t know what the seasonal beers were, and didn’t bother to check when we asked him. My wife ordered the sampler and the guy brought out all the beers and then had no idea which was which. Other than that, the place was great. I thoroughly enjoyed all of the beers in the sampler. I started with a pint of Something Red, which was a very good, nicely balanced red ale; malty with a good deal of bitterness. The sampler also included Spooner’s Stout (an excellent nitro stout; very smooth; nice roasty flavor), Daily Crisis IPA (a decent hoppy IPA – could have had a better malt balance), HoneyGo Light (a decent, smooth light beer), Avenue Ale (a light ale with a hoppy bitterness), Spiced Winter Ale (seasonal; not overly spiced; the spices complimented the beer rather than detracted from it), and Highlander Heavy (another seasonal; a decent strong ale). We also enjoyed a great order of beer boiled mussels and some good hot wings.

(02/13/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Great Great

Establishment: DuClaw Brewing Company, Baltimore, MD

We visited this brewpub for lunch on New Years day, still feeling a bit woozy from the night before. Both the food and the beers here were very good. I started with the Misfit Red, a really good, deep amber colored beer with a nice malty flavor and a decent amount of hoppiness. My wife had the Venom Pale Ale, a very good hoppy American style pale ale. I later had the bare Ass Blonde, which was quite good; a mildly hopped ale with a decent malt character. Seasonals included a barleywine and an Imperial Stout. Both looked good, but my stomach was still slightly queasy from the previous night’s festivities, so I stuck to the lighter beers. We both had an excellent lunch. I had some outstanding crab cakes; generously portioned with fries on the side. My wife had a very good tuna steak with rice and a broccoli salad.

(02/13/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Capitol City Brewing Company, Baltimore, MD

This brewery is located right on the harbor in a large food mall. Glass walls look out over the harbor; a very nice place to drink a few. We stopped in on New Years day and had a couple of beers and appetizers. I started with the seasonal Saison, which was a decent Belgian farmhouse style ale with a deep amber color and a fairly bitter, hoppy flavor. My wife started with a seasonal Strawberry Tart, a sour tasting strawberry flavored ale; not a real strong strawberry flavor. We also tried the Amber Waves Ale, a very good, deep amber colored, medium-bodied ale; fairly hoppy with a nice bitter finish. The Pale Rider Ale was a light-bodied, mildly hopped pale ale with a nice bitter finish. We each had an excellent cup of shrimp bisque; thick and creamy with small pieces of shrimp. We also had some excellent duck quesadillas. All food orders come with soft pretzels and a nice, spicy horseradish mustard.

(02/13/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Great Awesome!

Establishment: Brewer's Art, Baltimore, MD

This was my favorite brewpub of an 18 brewpub tour of the East Coast (and one of my favorite nationwide). It is located in an old townhouse. There’s a small bar up front with windows overlooking the street, another small bar and wine cellar downstairs, and a restaurant in back. We sat at the bar and just had a couple of beers. The other customers at the bar were all friendly and seemed very knowledgable about the local beer scene, and knew this was the place to be. They specialize in Belgian style ales, and in addition to their house brews, they also have a great selection of bottled Belgian beers. I started with a beer called Resurrection, which was a fantastic brown Abbey style ale. I thoroughly enjoyed this beer and would have loved to spend the afternoon drinking a few more. My wife had the Ozzy; a great, light, golden Belgian Ale similar to a Duvel. I next had the St Festivus; a really good brown winter Belgian ale spiced with orange peel and ginger. My wife's second beer was the House Pale Ale, an excellent mild, English style pale ale. All in all, a fantastic drinking experience.

(02/13/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Great Awesome!

Establishment: Trap Rock Restaurant and Brewery, Berkeley Heights, NJ

My wife and I stopped in once for lunch with my parents while we were visiting them in New Jersey. This is a really fancy, though somewhat expensive, restaurant. The food and the beer were fantastic; definitely worth the visit, and the price. There is a bar and a nice restaurant with a fireplace and huge windows downstairs, and a neat little drinking room with couches and a fireplace upstairs.

I started with the Steam Engine, a great amber colored steam beer; very smooth, slightly bitter, and nicely balanced. My wife had the Kestral’s Joy IPA; an excellent, hoppy American style IPA. My dad had the Ghost Pony Helles Lager; an excellent, crisp, bitter lager. My second beer was the Hathor Red Lager, which was also excellent; deep amber color, hoppy up front with a nice balance of maltiness.

I had a great sesame seared tuna salad. It was a bit small, but there was plenty of great bread to help absorb the alcohol. My wife had excellent crab cakes, although also a bit on the small side.

(02/13/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Great Great

Establishment: Long Valley Pub and Brewery, Long Valley, NJ

We stopped here for dinner with my parents on the way back from Delaware Water Gap. The brewery is in a really cool stone building that apparently is a restored two story barn. Both the food and the beers here were excellent. I started with the Cask Conditioned Best Bitter which was excellent; smooth with a nice amber color and bitter flavor. My wife had the German Valley Amber; an amber colored ale with a nice citrusy hop finish. My dad had the Hookerman’s Light; a bitter light beer with a decent hop flavor. I next ordered the Nut Brown Ale, which I really wanted to try since it was a 2005 GABF winner. The waiter brought a beer that was light amber in color and I immediately asked if this was really the nut brown. He assured me it was. The nut brown was described as having a nutty sweetness with toffee and caramel flavors. This beer, while very good, was more of a hoppy beer with no noticeable toffee or caramel flavors; perhaps a slightly nutty finish. It did have a malty aroma. To me it tasted very much like the amber my wife just had, though she had finished it so we couldn’t compare them side by side. I asked the waiter a second time if this really was the nut brown ale. He said maybe he had made a mistake and brought me a new beer (I had pretty well finished the other already). The beer he brought back was the same as the one I’d just drank, so either he screwed up again, or this really was the nut brown. Whatever it was, it really was an excellent beer, and I thoroughly enjoyed it (especially the second one since it was free).

I had an excellent fish and chips dinner made with really good, battered cod. My wife had mussels on linguini that was also very good. We all enjoyed everything we ate and drank here.

(02/13/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good

Establishment: Krogh's Restaurant and Brew Pub, Sparta, NJ

The brewpub is in downtown Sparta on the lake in a collection of Bavarian style buildings. Inside the place looks like a log cabin. They have a restaurant that served decent food; basic pub fare. We stopped in for lunch with my parents on our way to Delaware Water Gap. I started with the Log Cabin Nut Brown Ale, which was a dark brown ale with a good head on it and a good, malty, slightly nutty flavor; smooth and quite good. My wife ordered the Brogden Meadow Pale Ale; a decent pale ale – hoppy with a malty background. My dad had the Krogh’s Gold; a decent amber colored golden ale with a good deal of malt and a nice amount of hoppiness to it. I also tried the Alpine Glow Red Ale, which was my favorite; a fantastic malty, slightly hoppy red ale with a deep amber color and a nice malty aroma.

(02/13/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great N/A Great Good

Establishment: Gaslight Brewery and Restaurant, South Orange, NJ

My wife and I stopped in here with my parents after having lunch at Trap Rock, just a few miles away. We ordered the sampler, which came with eight different beers. The Prince of Darkness was a mediocre dark ale with a slightly oily taste. The Dunkelweizen was quite good; fairly dark with a slight banana-clove flavor. One of my favorites was the really smooth oatmeal stout. The Governator was a very good bock beer; amber colored, not real strong. The Satan Claws was a strong (8.7%) amber colored beer that was very smooth, somewhat bitter with a good deal of malt to back it up. The only beer we could not finish was the pumpkin ale; way too much pumpkin flavor for me. I truly believe that pumpkin and beer should NEVER be mixed together. Next came the Bison Brown; just what I needed to get that pumpkin taste out of my mouth. This was a good, dark brown, light-bodied ale with a nice nutty flavor. Finally we finished off the sampler with the Big Dog Blonde; a mediocre blonde with a medium body and a slightly sour taste. All in all it was a pretty good sampler (except the pumpkin). I’d like to come back sometime in the evening and play some darts while knocking down a few pints.

(02/13/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Good Great

Establishment: Basil T's Brew Pub and Italian Grill, Red Bank, NJ

This is another great NJ brewery. It’s a really good, somewhat pricy Italian restaurant that also brews some great beers. They have a large assortment of pizzas and panninis, as well as many other Italian dishes. All of the food we tried was great. We stopped in for dinner with my parents and my brother and sister-in-law and their kids while we were visiting for Christmas. Although it’s a bit pricy, the pizzas are big enough to feed two people each, so that can make things a bit more affordable.

I started with the seasonal Big Vic’s Short Order Porter, which was a very good, medium-bodied porter with a nice chocolaty flavor. My wife had the Rosie’s Pale; an excellent, hoppy pale ale. My brother got the Weimaraner Wheat; a good, slightly sweet American style wheat beer. I had a pale ale for my second, since it was so good. My wife had the Red Ribbon seasonal beer, which was a spiced Christmas beer. I’m usually not a huge fan of spiced Christmas beers; too many brewers tend to overdo it on the spices. This beer however was fantastic. It was a very dark, stout-like beer with a serious licorice (anise) aroma and flavor. I’ve heard of brewers putting anise in Christmas beers before, but I never imagined it would be this good. I think I’ll try to brew one myself next Christmas.

(02/13/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So Good Good So So

Establishment: Times Square Brewery, New York, NY

The brewery is located right near Times Square. There is a restaurant on the bottom two floors and the brewery and bar on the 3rd floor. The beers I felt were mostly average, as was the food. I first tried a seasonal Northern English Brown Ale, which tasted much like a Newcastle; not bad. The Pale Ale was a decent English-style pale ale. The Pilsner was really just a step above the typical American megabrew.

(06/13/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Good Great

Establishment: Hyde Park Brewing Company, Hyde Park, NY

I thoroughly enjoyed this brewery. I started with the SOB (Special Old Bitter), which I found to be excellent; nice and bitter with a nice balance of malt and hops. The Winkle Lager was a rather flavorful pilsner (not normally my favorite style, but this one was quite good). The Rough Rider Red Lager was also very good; a nice malty red-colored ale. I really enjoyed the Von Schtupp’s Black Lager; a dark (although light-bodied) lager with a slight roasted flavor. The seasonal Hefeweizen was also quite good; a traditional hefe; a little light on the banana/clove flavor (I thought) – my wife thought it was one of the best she’d ever had. The food was also very good.

(06/10/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Awesome!

Establishment: Gilded Otter, New Paltz, NY

This was one of the best brew pubs I’ve been to (and I’ve been to a lot of them). I used to hike and mountain bike all over the “Gunks”, and was happy to revisit the area to stop by the Gilded Otter on my last trip back to New Jersey. All of the beers we tried were fantastic. I started with the Three Pines IPA, which was outstanding; very smooth, lots of hops, but not overwhelming; very nicely balanced. My wife started with the Back Porch American Lager, which was actually a beer brewed with fresh berries. It had locally grown blueberries added to the glass. Being a big fan of fruit beers, loved it. The Belgian Spring Wit was excellent; very smooth with a light Belgian flavor. The Rail Trail Pale was also great; good and hoppy; nicely balanced. The May Day Maibock was very good; a nice balance of hops and malt. We finished with the Centennial Barley Wine, which was fantastic; strong, but very smooth. The food was also great. I had a really good grilled salmon entree with rice, black beans, and veggies.

(06/10/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Good Good

Establishment: Chelsea Brewing Company, New York, NY

We stopped in for a lunch-time appetizer and a few beers. The Henry Hudson IPA was a good, hoppy, bitter, American style IPA. The Solstice Wheat was a pretty decent unfiltered American style wheat beer. My wife had a Raspberry Wheat Ale that was just OK; it really was just a bit of raspberry flavoring added to the Solstice Wheat. The Sunset Red Ale was a very good, nicely balanced amber ale. We ordered some hot wings that were just alright. They had several flavors. We tried the hot buffalo and the Cajun. Neither were very hot; they were rather small and not nearly saucy enough; a bit too dry. If I don't go through at least a dozen napkins they are just not saucy enough.

(06/09/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A Great Great

Establishment: Santa Fe Brewing Company, Santa Fe, NM

The brewery is in a building that looks like just a large house. They have a small tasting room; a nice cozy place with a small bar, a couch and a fireplace. We stopped in on a very cold, damp day and really appreciated the fireplace. I was surprised at what a small operation this really is. They distribute beer all over New Mexico, yet still bottle by hand. We tried three beers, the three they had that you can’t get in bottles throughout New Mexico. They had an IPA that was very good; not overly hoppy, but very tasty. I also tried a porter that had a nice roasted taste. The Chicken Killer Barleywine was good and strong; amber colored, sweet and malty.

(12/16/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Good Good So So Lousy

Establishment: Taylor Brewing Company, Lombard, IL

We visited in July and the beers here were absolutely awful. I was nervous as soon as we entered the place and saw the abundance of Rolling Rock signs (I think that Rolling Rock is one of the absolute worst beers out there). My suspicions were confirmed upon trying the IPA, which had a very buttery taste. I decided to give them another chance even though I suspected they may have some contamination in their system. I ordered the Weiss, which smelled good when the waitress brought it out. Before I tasted it she told me that this wasn’t the Weiss they brew here because theirs was “really bad today.” I made the mistake of ordering another one of their beers. My wife drank the Weiss, which I believe was a Paulanner (one of my favorites). My next beer was the Pale Ale, which was also dominated by buttery off flavors. I don’t normally leave a beer behind, but this was absolutely undrinkable. I only hope that this was an isolated contamination event and their beers are usually better than this, otherwise I can’t see how they possibly stay in business.

(10/18/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Good Good Awesome!

Establishment: Rock Bottom Brewery, Chicago, IL

I was very surprised by the quality of the beer here. We weren’t even planning on going to this brewery since I am not usually very impressed with Rock Bottoms. We came across it by accident as we were bar hopping all around the north side one evening. We decided to give it a try and were really glad that we did. All of the beers were great. We stopped back a couple of nights later to try the ones we missed the first night. There was not a bad beer in the batch. The brewer here really knows what he is doing.

(10/18/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A So So Great

Establishment: Piece, Chicago, IL

They had a great, nicely hopped IPA. Unfortunately it was getting late when we got there and I was really full from dinner, so I only tried the one beer. The regulars there all seemed to really like all of their beers.

(10/18/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Great Good

Establishment: Onion Pub and Brewery, Lake Barrington, IL

The beers were all alright, but none of them were really much above average. I tried a Hefeweizen and a cask conditioned Pale Ale. The food was very good.

(10/18/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A Good Great

Establishment: Lunar Brewing, Villa Park, IL

We had a hell of a time getting to the place as we visited on July 4th and the parade was just beginning outside. The place really looked like an ordinary bar, however we were pleasantly surprised to find some really good beers. The IPA was fantastic. My wife had some kind of fruit beer - I can't remember which, but she really liked it.

(10/18/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Good Good

Establishment: Harrison's Brewing Company, Orland Park, IL

We just made a quick stop here to try a beer. I only had one (the IPA), which was quite good. Unfortunately we had just eaten a huge Lithuanian dinner on the south side and I was really too full to try any more beer.

(10/18/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Good Great Great Awesome!

Establishment: The Dodging Duck Brewhaus, Boerne, TX

My wife and I just stopped in for a second visit. This is an outstanding brewery. The brewer definitely knows what he is doing. They have a fantastic ESB, which I've reviewed before (a deep red English style bitter; a perfect blend of maltiness and hoppiness). On this last visit I tried two great seasonal beers; a really smooth Ducktoberfest, and an exceptional Pale Ale brewed with rye malt (the Quacker in the Rye). The food is also very good.

(10/13/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy So So N/A Good Lousy

Establishment: Streets of New York Brewery was Uptown Brewery, Tempe, AZ

I had two beers there a few months back. Both had some really off tastes.

(06/10/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy So So Good Good Lousy

Establishment: Mudshark Brewing Company, Lake Havasu City, AZ

My wife and I stopped in a few months back. I was at first excited to see that they had a "cask-conditioned ESB" - one of my all time favorite beers. I got a bit sceptical when the beer arrived and it looked like a Coors Lite. I tasted it and it pretty well tasted like a really flat Coors Lite - I can try that anytime here in West Texas. We then tried the IPA and found it to have some buttery off flavors. You are much better off going across the road to Barley Brothers.

(06/10/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Coopersmith's Pub and Brewing, Fort Collins, CO

I enjoyed all of the beers I tried here. I especially liked the Bitter Ale - a great traditional style hand drawn bitter. Food was also great.

(06/10/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great

Establishment: New Belgium Brewing Company, Fort Collins, CO

I've been drinking New Belgian beers for a while now - they are one of the few good microbrews I can get living in the middle of nowhere in West Texas. My wife and I finally got to visit the brewery this weekend. It was my first taste of the La Folie - fantastic - a great Lambic style beer. Although we tried all the others many times before our visit, it was nice to sample them all at once with the sampler tray - and really great that it was free. My wife loves the new TransAtlantic Kriek. The staff were all friendly (I can see why with all the great beer and awesome fringe benefits). I liked the beer a lot before finding out how environmentally concious this company was. That makes me enjoy the beer even more (I like to say "I'm not just getting drunk - I'm helping to save the planet").

(06/10/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great

Establishment: Estes Park Brewing Company, Estes Park, CO

My wife and I stopped by on Saturday for the Rocky Mountain Brew Fest. It was a great festival. After a while we got tired of drinking beer out of tiny sampler glasses, so we went upstairs in the brewery and had a couple of big beers. I really liked the IPA. My wife loves the Raspberry. We'll be back.

(06/10/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A N/A Great

Establishment: Flying Dog Brewery, Denver, CO

I really liked the new heller hound. I wish I was able to have a few more, but after visiting the Rocky Mtn brew festival and then 3 more breweries after that, I was about done for the evening - maybe just one more at Breakenridge.

(06/10/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Good Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Amicas Pizza and Microbrews, Salida, CO

Fantastic beer. The IPA was good and hoppy; the porter was really smooth - one of the best I've tried. I really liked the Vienna Lager - I'm not usually a big fan of the lighter lagers, but this one was full of flavor and a great beer - we took a growler to go. The pizza was some of the best I've had.

(06/10/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great

Establishment: Rio Salado Brewing Company, Tempe, AZ

Tried the Pale Ale, Shwarz beer (both great), the Hefe, and the Wit (both good). My wife loved the Cherry Weiss. We unfortunately arrived one day late for the pig roast and homebrew fest.

(11/19/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Great Great

Establishment: Prescott Brewing Company, Prescott, AZ

Great beer, good appetizers. We tried the Porter, IPA, and Nutbrown Ale. All were great and true to style.

(11/17/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Great Good

Establishment: Oak Creek Brewing Company, Sedona, AZ

Tried all of the beers, and they were all good. Although the food is great at the brewpub grill, I definitely enjoyed drinking here better.

(11/17/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! N/A Great Great

Establishment: Papago Brewing, Scottsdale, AZ

Great beer selection, although only three were brewed there. We tried the nut brown and the porter - both were very good. A great selection of beer to go. The girl at the bar knew more about beer than just about anyone I've met bartending at a brewpub. We'll be back next time we're in town.

(11/17/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Good Good

Establishment: Oak Creek Brewery And Grill, Sedona, AZ

We tried just about all of the beers here and were not dissappointed. The sausage platter was great - so much food, we had leftovers for the rest of our trip.

(11/17/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Lousy Great Good So So

Establishment: Jerome Brewery, Jerome, AZ

Great food, weak beer. My wife had the raspberry - it tasted like Coors Light with raspberry flavoring. I tried the dark wheat - it was weak and rather tasteless.

(11/17/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Good Awesome!

Establishment: Four Peaks Brewing Company, Tempe, AZ

The best of the 10 Arizona breweries we visited on this trip. The cask conditioned IPA was outstanding. The Pale Ale was great - smooth and hoppy. The Hefe was one of the best we've tried. The Oatmeal Stout was a great nitro stout. My wife thought the Peach was great. A large college crowd on Saturday night.

(11/17/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A Great Great

Establishment: Flagstaff Brewing Company, Flagstaff, AZ

The Bitter Ale and the Pale Ale were both fantastic. Unfortunately they don't make cask conditioned ales any longer. The stout was a bit too sweet for my tastes. Overall a great brewery. We will be back.

(11/17/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A Good Great

Establishment: The Green Room was Mogollon Brewing, Flagstaff, AZ

Although the waiter at Beaver Street told us not to go, we found Mogollon's beer to be far superior to Beaver Street (which was a good brewery). I loved the Horny Toad IPA - a great, super hoppy IPA. A sign over the bar says "there are no strong beers, only weak men". Perhaps the weak men all work at Beaver Street. The Oktober Fest was a bit darker, and quite a bit hoppier than Oktoberfests usually are, but there's nothing wrong with dark and hoppy. Although it was not really true to style, it was a damn good beer. The Hefe was also pretty darn good.

(11/17/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good

Establishment: Beaver Street Brewery and Whistle Stop Cafe, Flagstaff, AZ

The beers were all good and true to style. We tried the Railroad Red, IPA, Brambleberry, and the seasonal nutbrown. Our thanks to the bartender at the Brews and Cues. My wife left behind her purse with most of our beer money in it, and he was great about holding on to it until we could drive back from Sedona. When we asked our waiter (not the bartender) how to get to Mogollon Brewing, he said it wasn't worth going to. He said their beers weren't good and that they did not clean their lines between batches. I have tried their beer before and knew this could not be true. It is a shame that some breweries feel the need to downplay others in the area. Flafstaff is lucky to have 3 good breweies in town. To be continued at Mogollon Brewing review...

(11/17/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Good Good So So

Establishment: Alcatraz Brewing Company, Tempe, AZ

Pretty typical chain brewery. The Pale Ale was just ok. The brown was actually pretty good. My wife tried the fruit beer - a raspberry and peach mix - she thought it was just ok. It was the only brewery in the Tempe area that opened before noon on a Sunday morning, so for serious drinkers that can't wait until noon for a brew, it's worth stopping by.

(11/17/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Good Great

Establishment: Blue Star Brewing Company, San Antonio, TX

Great beers, especially the cask conditioned pale ale. Any brewpub with a cask conditioned ale is ok by me.

(10/29/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Good Good So So

Establishment: Padre Island Brewing Company, South Padre Island, TX

The beers were all rather weak with the exception of the seasonal Oktoberfest, which was a decent beer.

(10/29/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good So So Great

Establishment: Grizzly Paw Pub and Brewing Company, Canmore, AB

I tried the Big Head Nut Brown, the Rutting Elk Red, and a seasonal IPA. They were all tasty, well balanced beers. The red was a good hoppy beer, not what I would have expected from a red ale. I also brought home a six pack of the Beavertail Raspberry for my wife - she thought they were great.

(09/22/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great N/A Good Good

Establishment: Brewsters Brewing Company and Restaurant, Calgary, AB

A good selection of beers. I tried the Bighorn Bitter and the Pallister Pale Ale. Both were good beers - nothing exceptional. The guy next to me at the bar was really enjoying the Blue Monk Barley Wine, although he couldn't figure out why he was hammered after only two beers (obviously an ameteur).

(09/22/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Good Great

Establishment: Brew Brothers Restaurant Brewery and Taproom, Calgary, AB

My favorite of the Calgary Breweries. I enjoyed every beer I tried - and I tried them all. I brought home a bottle of the Prairie Berry Saskatoon Berry Ale for my wife. I'm not much for fruit beers, but she really liked it.

(09/22/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good

Establishment: Big Rock Brewery, Calgary, AB

All decent beers. I especially enjoyed the Traditional and the warthog.

(09/22/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A Good Great

Establishment: Second Street Brewery, Santa Fe, NM

Unfortunately we got there just before closing. The IPA was great - good and hoppy. I also enjoyed the bitter and the Wit beer.

(09/04/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Eske's Brew Pub and Eatery, Taos, NM

The IPA was a good, English style IPA. Very good stout; great Rye beer. I'm not much for fruit beers, but my wife loved the Peach.

(09/04/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Great Great

Establishment: Milagro Grill and Brewery, Bernalillo, NM

Just stopped by for a second visit this weekend. They've got a great Belgian style seasonal beer - the Diablo del oro - the waitress couldn't tell me what kind of beer it was other than it tasted sort of like bananas. They've also got a real good Hefeweizen on tap. The Pale Ale and Porter was as good as I remember them being last time. The Pale Ale is not too hoppy, but it has a good, clean taste.

(07/22/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Awesome! Good Great

Establishment: Socorro Springs Brewing Company, Socorro, NM

Well worth the detour from I25. I tried an IPA, ESB, and Pale Ale. All were good, smooth, tasty beers. The IPA was great - I tried to get a growler to go, but when I got home I found that they gave me the ESB instead. The ESB was very good too, so it wasn't a problem. The calzones are outstanding.

(07/22/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So N/A Good So So

Establishment: The Brew Pub was Ramapo Valley Brewery, Suffern, NY

The beers were all just OK, I didn't really think any of them were worth going back for.

(07/17/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Good Great

Establishment: Heartland Brewery-Midtown, New York, NY

We tried every beer they had on tap - the only dissappointment was the Old Red Nose Christmas beer (but to be fair, I usually don't care much for the spiced Christmas beers). All of the other beers were great, as was the food.

(07/17/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Good Great

Establishment: JJ Bitting Brewing Company, Woodbridge, NJ

I grew up in NJ, but unfortunately did not learn to appreciate good beer until I moved away. This was the first NJ brewpub I visited on a trip home over Christams. We had to drive through the aftereffects of the Christmas day snowstorm to get there, but it was well worth it. Great beers, great food.

(07/17/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Great Great

Establishment: Weeping Radish, Manteo, NC

I used to drink these beers a lot when I lived on the NC Coast. It was one of the few good beers you could find (without going to Howard's Pub). We finally got to visit the brewery on a New Years trip to Ocracoke. We were not disappointed. They had a great Christmas beer.

(07/17/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Good N/A Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Outer Banks Brewing Station, Kill Devil Hills, NC

Both beers I tried here were great. I believe I had a stout and an IPA. My wife tried the Hefeweizen and it was so good we got a growler to go.

(07/17/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A Good Great

Establishment: BandO Station Brewery and Restaurant, Youngstown, OH

The Stout was good, but I really loved the IPA - good and hoppy - the way an IPA should be.

(07/17/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So N/A So So So So

Establishment: Valhalla Microbrewery and Restaurant, Pittsburgh , PA

I didn't really care for the beer here - seemed kind of weak and watery. Maybe it was just because this was the third brewery of the day, but I don't think I'd go back. Way too yuppy-trendy for my tastes.

(07/17/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A So So Good

Establishment: Rock Bottom Brewery, Homestead, PA

Pretty typical Rock Bottom - decent beer, but nothing I'd go out of my way for.

(07/17/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A Good Great

Establishment: Red Star Brewery and Grille, Greensburg, PA

Great beer, cool building. A good place to stop if your heading west and just too thirsty to wait until Pittsburgh.

(07/17/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Great Great

Establishment: Pennsylvania Brewing Company aka Penn Brewery, Pittsburgh , PA

Gretat German style beers and food. One of the better breweries we visited on a 17 brewpub tour of Ohio and west PA.

(07/17/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Great Great

Establishment: John Harvard's Brew House, Wilkins Township, PA

Great beer, esp for a chain brewery. My wife loved the pulpy Apricot.

(07/17/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Good Great

Establishment: Foundry Ale Works, Pittsburgh , PA

I'm sorry to here that this place closed. My wife and I visited in April as part of a 6 day beer tour of Ohio and western PA. Unfortunately we just filled up on food and beer at the Church, so we only tried a couple here. I remember that they had a great ESB.

(07/17/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Awesome! Good Great

Establishment: The Church Brew Works, Pittsburgh , PA

My wife and I planned our 6 day, 17 brewpub vacation around this place after seeing it on Al Roker's brewpub tour. I am happy to say it was worth the trip. The beers were all great, the food was fantastic, and the atmosphere was unbelievable. A truly religious experience.

(07/17/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Awesome!

Establishment: Dogfish Head Brewings and Eats, Rehoboth Beach, DE

I've loved their beers for a while now and it was great to finally visit the brewery. This is one of the best breweries out there - they make some really diverse and unique beers. My only problem was that I ended up being the driver and their beers all contain an overwelming amount of alcohol (which would ordinarily be a good thing). I would definitely suggest finding a DD who doesn't like good beer to get you home. I did bring home a bottle of the 24% ABV World Wide Stout and tried it on New Years Eve - WOW!

(07/16/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Good N/A Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: The Dodging Duck Brewhaus, Boerne, TX

By far our favorite of the brewpubs in the Austin-San Antonio region. Very friendly staff and excellent beer. They had a fantastic ESB. Although I would not normally even consider mixing beers together, the black and tan (ESB and Stout) was fantastic. We didn't try any food, although it looked great - they have a really diverse menu.

(07/16/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Good Good

Establishment: Humperdink's Restaurant and Brewery, Dallas, TX

The beers were all pretty good. They had a seasonal Boubon Brown that was pretty good. I also liked the IPA. My wife and I enjoyed playing the trivia games while drinking a few pints.

(07/16/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good

Establishment: Two Rows Restaurant and Brewery, Dallas, TX

I tried an IPA amd an Amber. They were both good beers, nothing outstanding, but definitely drinkable. The IPA was actually quite tasty.

(07/16/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Awesome! Awesome! Great

Establishment: Big Buck Brewery and Steakhouse, Grapevine, TX

I tried the seasonal Hefeweizen and the ESB. The ESB was good, but I really enjoyed the Hefeweizen. Went great with a smoked venison rueben. The food was outstanding. My wife really liked the raspberry wheat, which seemed to be made with real fruit, not just an additive.

(07/16/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great So So Great

Establishment: Thunder Canyon Brewery, Tucson, AZ

I really liked the fact that they had a stout and an Imperial Stout - both of which were great. My wife loved the Apricot Breeze.

(07/16/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Good Good So So

Establishment: Gentle Ben's Brewing Company, Tucson, AZ

The beers were OK, but they all seemed rather watered down to me - perhaps for the college crowd. After a couple of beers we went across the street to the Nimbus tasting bar - much better beer there.

(07/16/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A So So Awesome!

Establishment: Nimbus Brewing Company, Tucson, AZ

All of the beers I tried were great. My only complaint was that the bartender couldn't tell a Belgian from a Brown. I tried to leave with a growler of the seasonal Belgian style ale and when I got home I found it to be the Brown Ale. The Brown Ale was also extremely good, so I guess I can't really complain.

(07/16/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good N/A So So So So

Establishment: Cleveland Chophouse and Brewery, Cleveland, OH

The two beers I tried were just OK - the Nut Brown really was rather bland and watery. The stout was alright, but definitely not as good as would be expected.

(07/16/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Good Great Great

Establishment: Thirsty Dog Brewing Company, Canton, OH

A fantastic selection. My wife and I tried a sampler that included 13 different beers. My favorite was the Hoppus Maximus, followed by the Leg Humper. The hot wings were also pretty good. Hot wings and beer - it doesn't get much better.

(07/16/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Good Great

Establishment: Willoughby Brewing Company, Willoughby, OH

I really liked the cask-conditioned ESB. My wife and our friend liked the Raspberry. The train going around in circles over our heads was really messing with my alcohol saturated brain.

(07/16/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Rocky River Brewing Company, Rocky River, OH

I remeber trying a really good IPA (in a nice large glass). This was the fourth of five brewpubs for the day, so I can't really remember the other two beers I tried here. I left feeling rather ill after eating an appetizer and then a bucket of burgers. Thank God there was only one more brewery to go for the evening.

(07/16/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A Good Great

Establishment: The Quarryman Taverne and Church Street Brewery, Berea, OH

This was the fifth brewpub of the day, so my memory of it is pretty fuzzy. I believe I had a SoDog IPA - it was really good, but I couldn't finish it it after hurting myself trying to eat a bucket of burgers at the Rocky River Brewery. They have a really cool goat over the bar - or was that a drunken hallucination?

(07/16/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Good Good

Establishment: Rock Bottom Brewery, Cleveland, OH

Typical Rock Bottom beers. They were all good, but nothing really memorable.

(07/16/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy So So N/A Good Lousy

Establishment: Northfield Park Microbrewery, Northfield, OH

I think they put the brewery a little too close to the race track because the beers tasted like horse piss. My wife and I both left behind beers that were still half full - and I always finish my beer.

(07/16/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Great Lakes Brewing Company, Cleveland, OH

Our favorite of the 17 breweries we visited in the Cleveland to Pittsburgh region. All of the beers were great, but the Holy Moses Belgian style ale was our favorite.

(07/16/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Buckeye Beer Engine was Buckeye Brewing, Lakewood, OH

Outstanding beer. My friends from Cleveland that we were visiting had never heard of the place and almost didn't want to go in when we found it - it doesn't look like much from the outside. Inside it smelled just like my garage on a Monday night - they were brewing several small batches in what appeared to be a brewing class. They had a really nice selection of beers - even a Lambic.

(07/16/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A So So Awesome!

Establishment: Turtle Mountain Brewing Company, Rio Rancho, NM

I loved their IPA. A great brewery - I plan to return.

(07/16/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A Awesome! Great

Establishment: Tractor Brewing Company / Ribs Bar-B-Q, Los Lunas, NM

It was real slow when my wife and I got there (Sunday afternoon). Mike (the brewer) gave us a great brewery tour. The IPA and the Oatmeal Stout were both great. It was a little early in the day to get plowed, but we plan to return.

(07/16/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Good Awesome!

Establishment: High Desert Brewing Company, Las Cruces, NM

I've stopped in several times now and I've never been disappointed. They always have a great selection, and different beers each time I've been in. Last time I picked up a growler of the newly tapped Rye and found it to be a really smooth, great beer. They also had a nice hoppy IPA. My wife loves the Peach Wheat. Well worth the stop whenever we happen to be driving through Las Cruces.

(07/16/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Good Good

Establishment: Blue Corn Cafe and Brewery, Santa Fe, NM

Decent beer, but nothing outstanding. The food is always good.

(07/16/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So Good Good So So

Establishment: Assets Grille Brewing Company, Albuquerque, NM

Can't remember what I tried, but I don't remember any of them being very good.

(07/16/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Good Great Great Awesome!

Establishment: Milagro Grill and Brewery, Bernalillo, NM

Had a great ESB. All of the beers I tried were great.

(07/16/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So Good Great Good

Establishment: Fredericksburg Brewing Company, Fredericksburg, TX

Good beers - the best part is that you can stay in the bed and brewery upstairs so you don't have far to stumble afterwards; although they close rather early on Sundays.

(06/29/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A Good Great

Establishment: North by Northwest Restaurant and Brewery, Austin, TX

My wife and I visited on Valentines Day so it was pretty packed. We each tried two beers (had to save room for the other breweries in town). The Black Ale was extremely tasty - we stopped back here on the way out of town and bought a growler of it (a very fancy and overpriced growler - but it looks great on the shelf in my garage brewery and brings back good memories of drinking it).

(06/29/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Good Great

Establishment: Sunset Brewery, El Paso, TX

John brews some really great beers. The IPA is outstanding - it keeps getting hoppier every time I try it. The new Pale Bock is a pretty darn good beer. My favorite after the IPA is the Bunker Buster Brown that is currently on tap - a really good blend of malt and hops. I'm looking forward to a nitro stout like John used to brew at Jaxon's.

(06/29/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Good Good

Establishment: Jaxon's Restaurant and Brewing Company, El Paso, TX

A year ago I would have said this place was great, but the beer isn't nearly as good since John (the brewer) left (luckily he's just over the other side of town at Sunset Brewery which is far superior). The nitro stout is a great beer. I'm surprised to see people praise the IPA - it seemed pretty weak the last time I tried it.

(06/29/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Good Good Great Awesome!

Establishment: Hub City Brewing Company, Lubbock, TX

This brewery is the only reason I can imagine anyone would ever want to go to Lubbuck.

(06/29/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Great Good

Establishment: Breckenridge Brewery and BBQ, Denver, CO

The Pale Ale was good and hoppy. The Hefe Proper was also really good - I bought a six pack to take back to West Texas (where the Coors Light drinkers consider Lonestar to be one of them fancy micro brewed beers).

(06/29/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Awesome! Great

Establishment: Bristol Brewing Company, Colorado Springs, CO

I only tried one beer here as it was the third brewery of the afternoon and I still had a really long drive -it's really hard to get out of Colorado with all these breweries. The Red Rocket was a really good, hoppy beer. I also sampled a Laughing Lab, which was good enough to buy a sixpack of to take home.

(06/29/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good

Establishment: C.B. and Potts Restaurants / Big Horn Breweries, Englewood, CO

The IPA and the Hefeweizen were both good - pretty typical selection and pretty typical beers for a chain - nothing really creative.

(06/29/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good

Establishment: C.B. and Potts Restaurants / Big Horn Breweries, Broomfield, CO

The IPA and the Hefeweizen were both good. Pretty typical selection. They were playing some really crappy music so I left after 2 beers.

(Did the last reviewer really ask if they sold alcoholic bevereges here???)

(06/29/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Carver Brewing Company, Durango, CO

Stopped in twice while on a firefighting detail in Durango. Great beers and the food was great as well.

(06/29/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Good Good

Establishment: Flying Dog Brewery, Denver, CO

I've been drinking Flying Dog Ales for some time now and it was good to stop by the brewery at Blake Steet (just a short stumble from Breakenridge Brewing). The beers here are all good, nothing really outstanding about any of them, although I do really like the Road Dog Ale and the Horny Dog Barlywine. Where I live (in the middle of Cers Light country where the best beer selection is in Walgreens and that's an hour drive from here) the Flying Dog Ales along with New Belgian are about the only good beers you can find.

(06/29/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Good Good So So

Establishment: Denver ChopHouse and Brewery, Denver, CO

This was the 4th brewery of the evening, so I can't remember which beers I tried here. I had a good calamari appetizer, but nothing about the beers stands out in my mind.

(06/29/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Good Great

Establishment: Steamworks Brewing Company, Durango, CO

Stopped in two nights while in Durango on a wildfire fighting detail - I think I tried just about all of the beers here and don't remember a bad one in the batch. The seafood boil was great.

(06/29/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good

Establishment: Ironworks Brewery and Pub, Lakewood, CO

This was the 4th brewpub of the day, so I only had 2. The IPA was good, the wheat was just ok (being the forth brewery of the day my taste buds may have been damaged and slightly off). They did have some outstanding hot wings.

(06/29/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Awesome! Great

Establishment: Jarre Creek Ranch Brewery, Castle Rock, CO

The pale ale was good and hoppy. Also enjoyed the Hefeweizen. Awesome growlers - I took one home full of the pale ale.

(06/29/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So So So Good Good

Establishment: Moffat Station Restaurant and Brewery, Winter Park, CO

The beer was just ok. The best part about the place is that when your done drinking you just need to stumble to the elevator and your back to your room.

(06/29/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A Great Great

Establishment: Rockyard Brewing Company, Castle Rock, CO

The Rockyard IPA was my favorite - good and hoppy. An added bonus is that Jarre Creek Ranch is just across the strret.

(06/29/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A So So Great

Establishment: Wynkoop Brewing Company, Denver, CO

I only had one beer here this trip. I'd been here before, so I wanted to sample more of the brewpubs that I had not tried. The ESB on the handpump was great.

(06/29/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good N/A So So So So

Establishment: Walnut Brewery, Boulder, CO

I didn't expect this place to be great, being a Rock Bottom chain. Most Rock Bottom Breweries I've been to have at least been OK - the two beers I had here were really not very good at all. The Pale Ale was really light and not very hoppy at all. The Brown ale was just OK. Better than drinking Coors, but not by much.

(06/27/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Lousy N/A Great Great

Establishment: Trinidad Brewing Company, Trinidad, CO

Although the selection was lousy when I was there, the quality of the beers made up for it. I had a real good stout, and the IPA was excellent - full bodied and hoppy like an IPA should be. Unfortunately the only other beer they had was a rasberry. My wife would have probably enjoyed it, but I'm not a huge fan of fruit beers so I didn't try it. The other 2 beers on their beer list were mixing the stout and the rasberry, and mixing the stout with the IPA, so there were really only 3 beers on tap. I don't know if this is the norm or if they were just behind in their brewing. I gave the place a great rating because the 2 beers I did try were great and I'd rather have only 2 great beers that a bunch of lousy beers.

(06/27/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Good Great

Establishment: Rockies Brewing Company, Boulder, CO

I tried 2 beers - the Nitro Porter was real good. The Hazed and Infused was probably my favorite beer of the trip (I sampled 2 or 3 beers in 21 different brewpubs over the week). I could tell it was going to be a great beer just by smelling it - smelled like pure hops. This is the hoppiest beer I've tried since Stone Brewing's Ruination IPA. It might not be for everyone, but for true hopheads, this beer is Nirvana - like drinking liquid hops. I also brought home a Killer Penguin, which I am looking forward to trying real soon.

(06/27/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Redfish New Orleans Brewhouse, Boulder, CO

I don't know what Nick was talking about either - the place seemed pretty casual to me. If he was a real "Beertrekker" he should have reviewed the great beers that they serve here instead of just complaining about the atmosphere - after all, that's why we go to brewpubs. I found the ESB and the Nutbrown to both be excellent beers. The jambalaya was also great - good and spicy - luckily there was plenty of cold beer to was it down with. I'll definitely come back next time I'm in Boulder.

(06/27/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Pint's Pub, Denver, CO

This was probably my favorite of the 21 brewpubs I visited in the Denver-Boulder area. The Alchemy ale was an outstanding Nitro ESB. The IPA on the hand pump was also outstanding. Great atmosphere, friendly bartender, and friendly folks at the bar. I didn't try the food, although I liked the chips at the bar. I truly enjoyed my visit and plan to return to sample a few more.

(06/27/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Phantom Canyon Brewing Company, Colorado Springs, CO

I only wish I had the time to try a few more beers. The Phantom IPA on the hand pump was fantastic. The Hefeweizen was also a great beer. I unfortunately made the mistake of going across the street to try a beer at Judge Baldwins. That was a huge mistake - the beers at Phantom Canyon are far superior.

(06/27/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Good Great

Establishment: Mountain Sun Pub and Brewery, Boulder, CO

Unfortunately this was my third brewpub of the evening and I still had to drive to a friend's house, so I was only able to try one beer. I chose the amber which was a great, hoppy beer - more like an IPA. I got a growler to go. The mason jar growlers look pretty cool, but they don't seem to hold a good seal - the beer was getting flat by the time I got it home. I guess I'll just have to trek back to Boulder again to try the other beers there. In my opinion, the amber was one of the best beers I tried in Boulder (and I tried quite a few).

(06/27/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Good Great Good

Establishment: Heavenly Daze, Denver, CO

The IPA was great - good and hoppy. I also tried the Scotch Ale and the amber, which were both decent beers. I had built up quite a thirst just trying to find the place, but it was well worth it. Any place with the slogan "F*@K Milk-Drink Beer" is OK with me.

(06/27/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Golden City Brewery, Golden, CO

Where the hell are you guys located? I wasted about 1 hour of quality beer drinking time trying to find Golden City. After driving up and down and around the block many times, I found a liquor store and asked the guy there where Golden City Brewing was. He told me to look in a garage by the hardware store. I cicled the hardware store several more times until I was getting worried about getting picked up for cruising. I ended up going back to Denver dry and thirsty.

(06/16/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A Good Great

Establishment: Bull and Bush Pub and Brewery, Denver, CO

The ESB was fantastic. I also tried a Belgian Dubbel - it was decent but not one of the better Belgian styles I've tried. Great atmosphere.

(06/16/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Good Good

Establishment: Breckenridge Brewery and Pub, Denver, CO

The Pale Ale was good and hoppy, Hefe was pretty good as well.

(06/16/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Great Good

Establishment: BJ's Pizza, Grill and Brewery, Boulder, CO

The Piranha Pale Ale was good, I think I also had a hefeweizen (This was not the first brewery I was at that evening and my memory is a little cloudy). I remember that the pizza was excellent.

(06/16/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good N/A N/A Great Good

Establishment: 5280 Roadhouse and Brewery, Littleton, CO

They were having problems with their system when I visited and only had two beers on tap. I tried the brown - it was good, but a little light for a brown ale - tasted more like an amber to me. I didn't try the lager - they are usually to light for me and there were many more breweries to visit.

(06/16/2003)


Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ 4 ] [ 5 ] [ 6 ] [ ALL ]













(0.538 seconds) 11:45:08 54.82.122.194, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS