PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Reviews on PubCrawler from
Other Reviews by this User
 
July 24, 2014 @ 10:53 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.

Reviews By

Beer Reviews
(167)

Restaurant Reviews
(0)






no
user
photo

167
Beer Reviews from
   

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ 4 ] [ 5 ] [ 6 ] [ 7 ] [ ALL ]
Average Rating
Beer Quality
Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great
Great Good Good Good

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Sly Fox Brewhouse and Eatery, Phoenixville, PA

I just had the O'Reilly's Stout again tonight at a bar in Alfred, New York; Cafe Za. It was better than I remembered. It is a light stout--good for summer. In the dark of winter I would probably be disapointed but great for summer--a nice mild coffee flavor.

(07/25/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good

Establishment: Broad Ripple Brewing Company, Indianapolis, IN

This is in a great location to wait for the gates to open at the Indiana Microbrewer's Festival--which is exactly what I did. On tap the day I was there were: lawn mower pale, black heartlager, IPA, wheat, pilsner, ESB, cask lager, replic ale. All the beers lean toward the British style--which is a little mild for me--but the quality of their beer was very good nonetheless. The IPA was indeed a British IPA--not as hoppy as I would like but a nice flavor and very refreshing after the 'hotter than hell' weather Indy had that weekend. The wheat was very nice--mostly a clove flavor with just a hint of banana. The ESB was amazingly hoppy for an ESB, I thought. The bar is small--only seats 8. There are a few small tables in the bar area but these have traditional 'british syle' service--meaning no table service. There are signs up--but they are really small so be forewarned.

(07/25/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Ram Restaurant and Brewhouse, Fishers, IN

I get the feeling that this place--along with all the development in this area hasn't been there long. I have been to the RAM in Shaumberg, IL. This one had a lot the same feeling--high ceiling, big screen TVs, but also good service, food, and beer. The bourbon BBQ meatloaf sandwich is incredible--but let's get to the beer:

IPA: cloudy, amber, with a nice critris nose. The taste is nice but not as hoppy as the nose would suggest. It was good, though.

Blond: Looks like InBevBud. No nose but had sort of a vanilla malty taste. Better than I expected from a blond.

Hefe: A strong banana nose with equally strong bananna/clove taste.

Butt Face: Love the name! No nose--a malty nondescript taste--the taste doesn't live up to the name.

Total Disorder Porter: No head or nose but a very nice porter flavor.

71 Pale Ale: On their board it said "hoppy"--my thoughts? Not so much. Really malty and nice but not hoppy at all.

I don't mind a beer chain as long as it doesn't get a "mc brewpub" feel and I think RAM does a pretty good job.

(07/23/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A Good Good

Establishment: Barley Island Brewing Company, Noblesville, IN

Don't judge a book by its cover. The exterior and the area just inside the door made me wonder if I had made a mistake....I made my way to the back and found the bar. Ahhhh. It was a little smokey and the music too loud (God, I feel old typing that) but the beer and the service were great. I had the IPA, Java Sout and the Wheat Ale. I had just driven from Cleveland and the IPA was my first--delicous. Java Stout is available only in bottles--it is really good. It tastes more like coffee than beer. I loved it! The Wheat Ale was a bit flat--I don't mean that in a bad way--although I was concerned when it didn't look like it had much fizz--it didn't but it was very good

(07/23/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Rocky River Brewing Company, Rocky River, OH

I can't say enough good things about this place. This was the first stop on my way to the Indiana Brewers Festival in Indianapolis. It was a little tricky to find but that could have been due to my lack of familiarity with the area. The bar tender was a little ditzy but she was very pleasant. The food was good too. On tap were: golden blond, blueberry ale, li'l warrior pale, hefe, oatmeal brown, back stout, marzen, and kolsch.

Li'l Warrior Pale: 4.4 abv; 60 IBU. This had a luscious clean hoppy flavor--not cloying. It is really bitter but a nice summer drink.

Oatmeal Brown: 5.2 abv; 40 IBU. Has a thick creamy head with a truly unique flavor. It almost turns sweet, but doesn't and finishes dry. You'll have to try it for what I've written to make sense.

Black Rye Stout: 5.8 abv; 33 IBU. This was "motor oil" black. No head, chocolaty nose, and a malty bitter flavor. Probably one of the best stouts I've even had. I had to go out to my car to get my phone and ran into the brewer. I told him how much I enjoyed this stout. After I got back to my seat, he brought me a sample of a stout that is about to be tapped: he made it with Reeces Peatnut Butter Cups. Now, I don't like peanut butter so I was a bit hesitant to try it--but it was delicous! It had a very chocolaty/malty flavor, but finished dry and nutty like a nice nut brown. I wouldn't have expected it to be that dry given the sugar in the peanut butter cups. If you live in the area or are passing though, give them a call and see if this has been tapped. It was really delicous.

The stout and the IPA were some of the best I had in all my travels.

(07/23/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Good Good Good

Establishment: Wagner Vineyards and Brewing Company, Lodi, NY

I drove over to Lodi for lunch one day near the end of June. I sat on the deck of the restaurant and enjoyed the view while enjoying lunch and a sampler of Wagner Valley beer. 6 4-oz. samples will set you back only $7. I had the hefe, maple porter, IPA, oatmeal stout, dopple bock, and lager. The IPA was by far the best--but then I am a bit partial to hops. the dopple bock has won several awards--not my favorite style but it wasn't as sweet as I remember. The lager tasted a lot like the dopple. The maple porter was more smoky than anything else--I liked that. I was concerned that it would be sweet, but it wasn't.

This place is worth the stop--a beautiful drive from anywhere-and you can also hit Rooster Fish in Watkins Glenn, and Market Street in Corning--an nice pub crawl for a summer day or an autumn afternoon.

(07/23/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Empire Brewing Company, Syracuse, NY

The fact that Emipre is open again has reaffirmed my faith in a higher power! Empire consistently had great beer in Buffalo, Rochester, and Syracuse. Now that they are back in Syracuse only, they have maintined their consistency. The day I stopped in I had the IPA, Hefe, and the Blueberry Wheat--all were great. They told me that they were not planning to reopen in Rochester--but a boy can dream.

(07/23/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Great Great

Establishment: Gilded Otter, New Paltz, NY

A buddy and I stopped in on April 10th. I was pleased to see that the beer variety and quality as well as the service was as good as the last time I was there over three years ago. If the place were closer, I'd be a regular

(04/22/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Crooked Rooster / Roosterfish Brewing, Watkins Glen, NY

I went to Roosterfish back in 2005--I think, not long after they began serving their own beer. My comment was, "I think this place will get better with age." Well, I haven't been to the place, but on 8/17/07 I had all three of their offerings at the Four City Brewfest in Rochester--all three were excellent. Of the three the only one I am certain of was the heffe--probably because I'm usually not too thrilled about wheat beer--theirs was excellent! I am looking forward to getting back to Watkins Glen and having their beer in more than 2 oz. samples!!!

(08/19/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Davidson Brothers Restaurant and Brewery, Glens Falls, NY

I've not been to Davidson's since 2001 but I am hoping to get into that area in October so I was reviewing the comments. Apparently the place has lived up to my experience 6 years ago and it will certainly be on my list for this trip. It speaks well of the owners that they check and comment on this site. Other brew pubs/breweries could take a lesson.

(06/20/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A Great Great

Establishment: Bullfrog Brewery, Williamsport, PA

I hadn't been to Bullfrog in 6 years but I was on my way home from Philly and decided to stop in. On tap were Edgar IPA, Alternative ale, old treehugger, diabolique, Billtown blond, Williamsporter, inspiration red, and the guest was Church Brew works honey nut. Since I had many about 100 miles yet to drive I only had th IPA and thw Williamsporter. Both were as great as I remembered. Luckly, before I left Hornell, I thought about stopping here so I tossed my growler in the car and cold take some IPA home. 6 years is too long!

(06/15/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A Great Great

Establishment: Nodding Head Brewery and Restaurant, Philadelphia, PA

I had a great time here on the afternoon of 11 June 2007. I had just come from the King Tut display and fought 3 buses of 10-year olds the entire way through the show--I was in DIRE need of beer. The bartender on duty was great. He knew his beer and had a great sarcastic wit. None of the beers on tap were your run of the mill type beers. My favorite was the Berliner Weisse. They squirt this green goo into the glass and then fill it with weisse--just incredible. Not a style I typically like but this was great. I sat there and had 3 or 4 pints of it (in addition to the others I tried) but all is fine because a) didn't have to drive and b) alcohol is so low on this I could have sat there the rest of the night and drank it. The hoptimus Prime was very hoppy--but one of those that was so hoppy that it was almost sweet. This place is great fun and good beer.

(06/15/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So Good Lousy So So

Establishment: Independence Brew Pub, Philadelphia, PA

The bar at this place is huge. There was one bartender. There were about 8 of us scattered around the bar. The bartender would just disapear to one side of the bar. I waited about 10 minutes before my presence was achnowledged. I only had two beers--I would have had more but it wasn't that great and I couldn't get the bartender to come and fill my glass. I asked for a glass of water and that's what I got--A glass. Such a nice location and tons of space, what a shame to be so dispointed.

(06/15/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good So So Good Good

Establishment: Rock Bottom Restaurant and Brewery, King of Prussia, PA

Don't go on a Sunday after 8PM. They are in a mall and keep mall hours. Only bar menue avaiable. The order of wings had 6 of the tiniest wings I've seen. The Prussia's Pride was pretty good, though. The others were nondescript.

(06/15/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Good So So So So So So

Establishment: General Lafayette Inn and Brewery, Lafayette Hill, PA

I was there on Tuesday 12 June 2007--what a disapointment. The beer was just awful. The IPA tasted like ferminted green been juice--I know as I had a batch of homebrew IPA go bad and it tasted exactly the same way. The nose was fine but the first taste was alcohol and then it went to that icky flavor. I choked it down hoping for an improvemtn with the Pacific pale ale--no such luck. It tasted like the IPA only not quite the harsh alcohol taste. For the third, I had the churchill mild. It was more malty and had a bit of a nutty taste. However, it too had that nasty ferminted green bean taste to it. They must have the nastiest set of pipes coming from their kegs or have gotten bacteria in their yeast cause that beer was awful!

To east I had the Pesto Chicken wrap which came with fries and cole slaw. Well, the wrap was fine. There was one (1) fork full of slaw in the little plastic cup and about 8 french fries on the plates. What a rip off. Pint glass was $6!! It was printed on 2 sides but come on!

(06/14/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A So So Good

Establishment: Sly Fox Brewhouse and Eatery, Phoenixville, PA

Sly Fox is in a strip mall just before Kimberton Rd. splits. Look at the back end of the parking lot. Here sample trays were 5 for $6. Not sure of size. I was there on Sunday June 10, 2007. On tap that day were Helles goldern lager, Phoenix Pale Ale, O'Reilly's stout, Ral weisse, Pikeland (?) pils, Rold rush lager, Slacker bock, Hellesboch 2006, Sundae Maibock, Chinuch IPA, Belgian Duble. In my sampler I had the golden lager, hellesbock, slacker bock, phoenix pale ale, and O'Reilly's stout. My favorite was the stout--had a bit of a smoky taste that seemed more like a porter but it was good. The pale ale was nice--a little hoppy like a pale should bee. I had a pint of the IPA. It was succulent.

The wait staff was efficient, but not that friendly--not rude, but not that friendly.

(06/14/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Great Good

Establishment: Iron Hill Brewery and Restaurant, Phoenixville, PA

I stopped in here for a sampler after having lunch at Bethlehem brewing. You get 10 4 oz samples for $6. Thats a sample of everything on tap. On tap that day were Belgian Pale Ale, Roggenbier, Maiboch, Belgian Wit, Rasperry Wheat, Pig Iron Porter, Iron Blound Ale, Lodestone Lager, Anvil Ale, and Iron Hill Light Lager. Their beers are ,pre tpward tje sweeter/lager/Belgian style--not my favorite but they seemed to be true to style. There were two bartenders. Both seemed pleasant and knowlegeable. The male bartender went through each beer with me and talked about ingredients and style and was pleasant and helpful. I didn't have any food, but what the others were getting sure looked good. The Iron Bound Ale was my favorite. It is "Coors yellow" with a foamy head and no nose to speak of but a nice bitter flavor--starts bitter, ends bitter but no after taste.

(06/14/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Good Good

Establishment: Bethlehem Brew Works, Bethlehem, PA

I visited on Sunday June 10th. I started with the sampler. $8 for 6, 5 1/2 oz. samples is a good deal. I had the Golden, Hefe, Berlinerweise, Framboise, ESP, Imperial Stout and Oatmeal stout. I had a pint of the HopExplosion. The HopExplosion, Oatmeal Stout and ESB were my favorites--in that order. The Framboise tasted like raspberry vinegar.

Had the Brew Melter sandwich--it was good. All in all a nice experience. Probably wouldn't go out of my way to go back but if I were in the neck of the woods, I'd stop in.

(06/14/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Good Good

Establishment: Croxley Ales, New York, NY

This is a nice bar with a nice variety of beer and pleasant helpful staff. If you are in this part of the city it is worth a stop. If you are a true beer lover you won't find any mass-produced swill but you won't find anything out on the fringe of the micro world either. If you're in north of the Village you can probably do as well at a few places in that area or a bit more north.

(01/21/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good

Establishment: Waterfront Ale House, Brooklyn, NY

I hear that this is the original, but I prefer the one in Manhattan. Over Thanksgiving 2006 I made the treck out to try this location. 17 taps--nice. Service was friendly, but it was hard to get them to refill the beer.

(01/21/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great

Establishment: Ginger Man, New York, NY

Over Thanksgiving 2006 I stopped in for the 2nd time. The first time it was so busy I swore I would never return. This time I was in the neighborhood so I thought I would see how busy it looked. I got there about 4:30 and I was one of only 3 at the bar. The bartender was very knowledgeable and attentive. I think I've figured it out--get to the Gingerman while everyone else is at work.

(01/21/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So Great Great Good

Establishment: Stout NYC, New York, NY

They have one of the coolest web pages I've seen for a bar. I've been checking the web page since they have been open and have steadily seen their acutal selection of "stout" beers dwendle. I finally made it there while in NYC for Thanksgiving. Service, food, and space was great. But, the name is misleading. There were very few Stouts on tap and very few local--no Stout, Southern Tier etc.

(01/13/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A Great Great

Establishment: Flying Bison Brewing Company, Buffalo, NY

I finally stopped at the brewery in June of 2006. It's in the back of an old Factory in sort of a creepy part of town. Bill gave me the tour and sample everything. If you get to Buffalo, it's worth a stop.

(01/13/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great

Establishment: The BREW Kettle Taproom and Smokehouse / Ringneck, Strongsville, OH

I was there in March of 2006--I'm a little slow getting my reviews posted. I arrived at 4PM and the bar was packed--I thought this spoke well of the place. Paul was the bartender and he was great. I sat at the end of the bar--unfortunately where the wait staff lingered waiting for someone to set at the tables. They were obnoxious. They were very concerened about what I was writing down, they coughed and hacked and talked about how sick they were and how they should have stayed home, and called each other faggot. "How lucky for the people setting at the tables," I thought. But I was at the bar being tended to by Paul who kept the bar patrons with beer and food all by himself!

I'm sure that the taps have changed so I won't list what was there in March, but I will say that they had 7 of their own and 13 guest taps. I had a stout, Impereal IPA, and 4C's Plae ale. All of them were excellent!

I'd stop in again but I will only set at the bar

(12/31/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good

Establishment: Yippie-ie-O Grille, O'Fallon, MO

On 18 December 2006 I drove past and saw the place empty and for sale. I always hate to see the life of a brew pub cut short. I was there in March of 2006 in the afternoon. I was the only person there the entire time. I was afraid this spelled doom for them. I had the porter while I was there and it was nice but nothing exceptional. That may have been the problem. As an earlier reviewer commented, the beer was good but took no chances.

(12/31/2006)


Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ 4 ] [ 5 ] [ 6 ] [ 7 ] [ ALL ]













(0.12 seconds) 22:53:24 54.226.188.142, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS