PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Reviews on PubCrawler from
Other Reviews by this User
 
October 22, 2014 @ 07:57 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.

Reviews By

Beer Reviews
(167)

Restaurant Reviews
(0)






no
user
photo

167
Beer Reviews from
   

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ 4 ] [ 5 ] [ 6 ] [ 7 ] [ ALL ]
Average Rating
Beer Quality
Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great
Great Good Good Good

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Lousy N/A Good Lousy

Establishment: Whale Tail Brewing Company, Old Orchard Beach, ME

I'm not sure that I'd rather drink from a urinal, but the beer here is pretty bad. The first clue shoul have been that all the locals were drinking Bud. They had three of their own beers on tap and like trooper I suffered through all three. The Pale tasted like iced tea. What they called a "golden" didn't taste that much different from the pale--there was a slight hing to nutmeg or cinnamin at the end--could have been wishful thinking. And the last one was a strawberry--yep--a strawberry. It wasn't as bad as it sounds, but I think they put strawberry extract in the golden. The service was friendly and the locals were pleasant so I didn't have a horrible time but the beer was pretty unremarkable.

(07/05/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Great Great

Establishment: Federal Jack's Restaurant and Brewpub, Kennebunk, ME

On tap the day I was there (6-17-05) were: Goat island light, export ale, tainttown brown, old thumper, fuggles IPA, Blue fin stout, raspberry wheat, and summer wheat. The IPA was not as hoppy as a lot of IPAs but there was a really nice mix of malt and hops. My favorite was the stout. It had a nice creamy haed with hints of chocolate and coffee. It had that nice "majic window" effect. This place is a "child" or "sibling" of Shipyard thus some of the beer is Shipyard's. Below is a store that sells their beer, shirts, etc. and coffee. A nice respite out of the bustle of touris traffic. Friendly service and nice view.

(07/05/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Portsmouth Brewery, Portsmouth, NH

This was my second visit. I'd been here about 7 years ago. On tap the day I was there were: IPA, wheat wine, oak aged stout, lager, bock, pilsner, pale, hefe, cream ale, and old brown dog. I htad the stout, IPA, and brown dog. All three were very nice--especially the stout--hints of chocolate yet not heavy.

(07/05/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Good Good

Establishment: Redhook Brewery, Portsmouth, NH

I still miss the Doubleblack Stout...I asked if they would ever brew it again and not a definate "no." Anyone know why? All of their beers taste better here than in bottle--I don't know if they are "fresher" or if they are just better on tap. I didn't take the tour this time, but it's usually a good show. You can get a coupon at their web site for a free tour.

(07/05/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Northampton Brewery / Brewster Court Pub, Northampton, MA

On tap the day I was there (6-16-05) were: Northampton Pale ale, Weitzenheimer, Raspberry Weitzenheimer, Daniel Shay's bitter, Black Cat Stout, Hoover's Porter. Guest taps were:Sierra Nevada pale, BBC Steel Rail Pale, Smuttynose IPA, and Majic Hat number 9. I had the porter, stout, bitter, pale, weizen and raspberry weizen. All were solid in their style but nothing exceptional. Service was friendly and efficient with a great atmosphere.

(07/05/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Augusta Brewing Company, Augusta, MO

I visited Augusta in March. It took some searching but it was worth it. The beer, food, and service were all great! It was almost warm enough to set out on the deck--although the god-awful summers of MO would keep me inside. Hike the Kady trail and stop here for refreshment!

(06/14/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Good Good

Establishment: Flour City Brewing, Incorporated, Rochester, NY

I said that I would give them another try--and I have--twice. I am happy to report that these two experiences were far better than the first one. In many respcects, it was hard to believe that it was the same place. Both visits were for lunch. I sat at the bar and had very good, friendly service. The beer was significantly better. I agree with those who have written below, the Magnum 44 and Pumpkin were great. The food was ok. It's not spectacular but certainly not as nasty as it was during my first visit. I didn't have to send anything back and I was't accused of being "fussy." Between my two recent visits, a friend went to Flour City. She agreed that the food was ok, she said that her fiancee liked the beer--but their service was just awful. Based on her experience and some of the reviews here, the service is improving but looks to be spotty.

(01/28/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Good Great

Establishment: Heartland Brewery and Rotisserie, New York, NY

The latest member of the NYC Heartland family. Opened 16 November 2004

I visited this location twice while I was in NYC for Thanksgiving. This space may have improved on the original at Union Square. The beer and food are pretty much the same as other locations--with the exception of the snooty Times Square location. My first visit was on Tuesday November 23, 2004. They had been open a week and were still working out a few kinks but the service was excellent. I sat at the street level bar and received excellent service. I returned on Saturday the 27th with a friend. Again, we sat at the street level bar. Service was not so great this time. We were there from about 8:30-10:00 PM. The bar was not busy but the dinning room was. The bartender pretty much ignored us till we flagged them down to get a drink. When we got our bill we understood why the service was so bad--they were adding a 17% tip to the bill--so the bartender was getting a 17% tip regardless of how bad the service was. In his defense, he did tell us that the tip had been added. HOWEVER, he took it upon himself to charge the 17% tip on the pint glasses I bought too. This crappy practice (and one I had not encountered at the other Heartlands--including those nasty servers at the Times Square location)is what brought my service rating down to good. The noon time bartender was soooo much better--his high rating is what kept the servcie ratting from a 'so-so.' Both visits the place was not run over with tourists. This will undoubltably change. If you go and the street level is busy, go on down the stairs. The bottom level is huge! Another bar and almost twice as much seating is one level down--along with the men's/ladies room.

(01/03/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So Lousy Lousy So So

Establishment: Bull Rock Brewery, Jefferson City, MO

This brewery/winery is located high on a hill deep in the sticks north of Jefferson City. It is a beautiful location--even in December. Having grown up in this area, I can't tell you how badly I wanted to like this place. In their defense, it was their the last day they were to be open for the holidays. I arrived about 5 minutes after they opened for lunch. While I was there--I was the ONLY one there. Thus, the service should have been annoyingly good. It wasn't. One couple did show up. They walked around and left--I should have taken that as a sign. I sat at the bar--at least it looked like the bar. There was seating but only one tap. The bar-like structure that you walked past to get to the dining area and bar had more taps but no seating. The server would appear, take an order, disapear, and then reappear later. The food was reasonably priced--but what I had was pretty awful. I ordered a quelsidilla (how ever that is spelled). It arrived burned on the edges and dry as a bone. I choked it down without beer because the server was gone somewhere or talking on the phone. The first beer I ordered was the pale ale. Almost 1/2 of the glass was foam. He didn't wait for the beer to settle before he brought it to me and didn't not offer to fill it after it did settle--he DID however charge me full price. The next one I ordered was the stout. It wasn't a stout. It was amber in color and tasted like an amber. There was no stout taste at all. The next beer was an Irish Red. It looked differnt from the stout, but tasted exactly like it. The only beer I didn't try was the raspberry. I'm not fond of fruit beer but will usually try them at a new place just to see what they are like. Since the first three were so poor I didn't want to waste my money on the raspberry. This place was a disapointment all the way around. I may give them another try in warmer weather--the wine people should be out and that may improve service. I try to avoid Missouri in the summer so I may not get the chance to give them another try.

(01/03/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Great Great

Establishment: Schlafly (aka The Saint Louis Brewery Tap Room), Saint Louis, MO

I was at this location 8 or 9 years ago and swore I'd never go back. After reading the positive reveiws as of late, I thought I would give them another try while in Missouri for the holidays. I was there on 23 December 2004. The first thing I noticed was how knowledgeable the bartender was about their beer, the beer brewing process, and the difference in beer style--a nice thing to find at a brew pub!! I could overhear here discussions with the couple a few stools over and she spoke with wisdom and enthusiasm. That knowledge and the good service was a STARK change from my last visit there. I found the service to be attentive and pleasant (with the possible exception of the bartender on the bar side--in his defense he was doing the bar and the tables there). There were 12 beers on tap the day I was there: American Lager, hefewitzen, pilsner, pale ale, ESB, Belgian triple, schwartzbeir, porter, oatmeal stout (tap and cask, coffee stout, and Imperial stout. I found the porter to be especially nice. It had a very robust flavor yet was not sweet or particulary dry. The finish almost had a bourbon flavor.

(01/03/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Great Good Good

Establishment: Barley's Smokehouse and Brewpub, Columbus, OH

The previous reviewer was correct--the sourkraut balls are great! The brisket sandwich was good as well. This place has a real neighborhood feel-and I got the feeling that the regulars didn't take kindly to outsiders--particularly those that asked a lot of questions about the beer. 7 of their own brews were on tap the day I was there (12-19-04): scotch ale, plae ale, Russian imperial stout, Christmas ale, St. Nick's winter warmer, IPA, pint o Joe. I tried all of them except the scotch ale and St. Nicks. No small feat since they will serve nothing less than a pint. All the beers were good, solid beer--but nothing exceptional. The pint O'Joe was my favorite. It had a nice coffee flavor but didn't have much body. The Imperial stout was my least favorite. It looked great-very dark--but the taste was pretty nondescript. All this sounds pretty negative and I don't mean it to be. If I lived near by, I'd be a regular (and probably feel more welcome).

(01/03/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great So So Great Great

Establishment: Old Toad, Rochester, NY

The Old Toad is as close to an 'authentic British pub' as your going to get in the US--and still get Americans to go to it. I was there yesterday (8/6/04) for the first time. Parking is a "royal" pain but once I found a spot and got in the pub I forgot all about the parking. The service is very friendly. On tap: XX Bitter, Dogfish Head 60 min, Custom Brewhouse Raspberry, Old Thumper, Wolavers Witt, Strongbow, Custom Brewhouse Ale, CB Nut Brown, Old Specled Hen, Guiness, Heiniken (how ever that is spelled). Hand pumped--Flying Bison aviator red and pale ale as well as CB Cream Porter. There were a few others on the other side of the bar that I couldn't see. There seemed to be a variety of bottled beer available but I didn't see a list or a beer menu. When you go, you must try the XX Bitter. It is from Belgium and very hoppy by Eurpean standards. It has a really nice combo of the traditional Belgian style but loaded with hops. It's a bit pricey for western NY ($6 glass) but well worth it. The only thing that disapointed was the food. I ordered a sandwich--roast beef--they're named after subway stops in London and I don't remember what mine was called. Anyway, It came with chips. There was a layer of chips on the plate with a sandwich that had one thin piece of roast beef. I wasn't too impressed. I will certainly go back for the beer, service and atmosphere, but I'll dine elsewhere.

(08/07/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Awesome! Awesome! Great

Establishment: Leavenworth Brewery, Leavenworth, WA

The bartender at the Bell Town Pub in Seattle recommended I make the trip over to Leavenworth--great recommendation. It was a spectacular dive--breathtaking in some places. The town is--unique, with beautiful surroundings. I can agree with the earlier review that you should stay in town for a day or two. I couldn't and regret it. The bartender was amazing. I was there for lunch and he had the bar plus at least 5 tables. He kept up and was friendly all the while. On tap the day I was there: Mia Bock, Blind Pig, Escape Alt bier, Hodgson's IPA, Whistling Pig Heffe, Friesian Pilsner, and Bulls tooth porter. The IPA was very tasty, although not as bitter as I like. The porter was dark and creamy with a nice full flavor but a bit too sweet for my liking.

(08/04/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Great Good Good

Establishment: Big Time Brewery and Alehouse, Seattle, WA

When I was in college, I would have killed to have had a place like this near by--but then I went to Southwest Baptist U so that would have never happened. Anyway, they certainly cater to the college crowd--and it depresses me to admit this, but I guess I'm too old for that anymore. Servers were very pleasant--but when I was there, no table service so for each beer or food, you're standing in line at the counter--that way you do know how your beer is affecting you when you stand up! The beers were ok but tended to be sweeter than I like and the reviews that I read. It has been a while since I was there so some things may have changed--future visitors please take that into consideration. On tap the day I was there: cask conditioned IPA, ESB, Coal Creek Porter, Summerbreak blond, Bhagwana Best IPA, Prime Time Pale Ale, Mie Bock (there's more to the name but I can't read my notes), Old Rip Oatmeal stout and Amber. I liked the porter best as it was the least sweet of those I tried. The IPA had a floral aftertaste that gave it a sweet flavor to me. The oatmeal stout was smokey with a full hearty flavor--that I like--but it too was too sweet for my taste.

(08/04/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Pyramid Alehouse, Brewery and Restaurant, Seattle, WA

A great place to start the day--maybe even a bit overwhelming. The day I was there they had 10 Pyramid's on tap and 7 Thomas Kemper's. This place is worthy of several visits so you can thoroughly enjoy them all. The food and service is excellent so you can pleasantly visit several times. The best one I had was the espresso stout on nitro. Very very fine. I was facinated to learn on the tour that there was no coffee in the recipe--they simply roast the barley to that flavor. The apricot ale is one of the few fruit beers I like--what a treat to taste it fresh at the brewery as opposed to out of a bottle like I do in NYS. I must agree with the earlier comment about Snowcap--always great. Not on tap while I was there and I've not had it at the brewery, but even out of a bottle it is very nice. This is a great place--I've visited both times I've been in Seattle and will when I go back. I'm guessing that you would want to avoid game days since it is right across from the stadium--unless you're going to the game--then I'd make it part of my game day ritual!

(08/04/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Belltown Pub, Seattle, WA

I love this place.

Let me say that again.

I LOVE THIS PLACE!!! I have been here on two different visits to Seattle and both times were just exceptional. I didn't eat either time so I can't comment on the food, but the beer, beer variety, servcie, atmosphere--are all just excellent!!!! The bartender each time was friendly and knowledgable about the beers on tap--as well as those not on tap. He recommended a trip out to Leavenworth and other fine places. An incredible beer choice. The day I was there, available in bottle were: Bud, Bud light, Coors, Coors light, Amstel, Corona, Das Equis, New Castle brown (so your friends that like mainstream beer will be happy). And....on tap: Redhook ESB, Guiness, Hales ESB, Rogue Shakespear Stout, a Mai Bock but I couldn't tell from who, Bass, Maritime Pacific's Salmon Bay ESB, Tomas Kemper Root Beer, Black Bute Porter, Leavenworth Whistling Pig Heffe, Walover's Organic IPA, Pike's Scotch Ale, Alaskan Ale, Mac and Jack's African Amber, Mt. Vernon Brewery Nut Brown, Orchard Street Brewing Pale.

Need I say more? You can do a Seattle area pub crawl and not leave the bar stool--but you should still visit the breweries. If you are visiting Seattle this could be a great place to start. Come here early in your trip. You'll want to come back before you leave. You'll want to come back even after you've left!!

(08/04/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good So So Awesome! Good

Establishment: Maritime Pacific Brewing, Seattle, WA

On tap the day I was there: Flagship Red Ale, Flagship Red Ae Dry hopped, clipper Heffe, Islander Plae Ale, Islander Pale Ale Dry hopped, Nightwatch Dark Ale, bosum's black porter (and on nitro) Salmon Bay ESB nitro, and IPA. The nightwatch tasted nondiscript. It had sort of a woody flavor and was very heavy, sweet, and dark. THe IPA was not very bitter but it had a good flavor. Saslmon Bay bitter nitro was very bitter but it disapated quickly. THe porter nitro was nice, but not exceptional

(08/03/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Great Awesome! Great Good

Establishment: Hale's Ales Brewery and Pub, Seattle, WA

Very cool space, succulent ribs and garlic mashed potatos. I didn't find the beer to be that great though. On tap the day I was there: Pale Ale, Special bitter, porter, IPA, cream ale, amber ale, and moss bay extra. The special bitter wasn't that special and it certainly wasn't bitter. The IPA was nice. The cream ale tasted like budwiser.

(08/03/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Good Good

Establishment: Dad Watsons, Seattle, WA

The same McMinamin's beer as 6 Arms but a much more sedate verstion--atmosphere is much more sedate. In my notes I wrote "cavernouse and without atmosphere." I tried the Fat Rat Porter and it was not very good. Celebration ale was excellent--again!

(08/03/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Redhook Brewery, Portsmouth, NH

I have been to the Seattle location more recently than the NH location but I can't seem to find the review page in WA state.

There is a special place in my beer-loving heart for Redhook as they were my baptism into the world of microbrewed beer about 10 years ago. While I can't say that the quality has been maintained over the years I am still a fan. I have seen the involvment of AB dabated in a number of beer publications--I don't know what the truth is, but I do know that since AB has had their finger in the the Redhook pie some of my favorites are no longer available (the original rye, Double Black stout). One bartender told me that they were no longer available because AB refused to distribute them for Redhook--true? I don't know. This location and the Seattle are great. They put on a good show (tour) although the NH location actually has a real restaraunt--the one in Seattle closed down tours at the old streetcar place--what a shame, sooooo cool. I'm always pleased to see a Redhook on tap when I go in a bar--had the IPA at House of Brews in NYC about a week ago and it was very find.

(08/03/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good So So So So

Establishment: Pike Brewery and Pub, Seattle, WA

The location does lend itself to tons of tourist but I tried it--several times--once on my first trip and twice on my last trip--each time desperatly wanting to like it. But it just never really did much for me. The beer isn't bad--very drinkable, after all the awards and comments from others I expected something really great and it didn't happen. Service was poor. Even setting at the bar you had to send up a flare to get your glass filled. The IPA really isn't. It's an ESB--at best. The Nut brown was pretty wattery. Don't avoid this place--it's a great place to get out of the traffic and have a seat--just don't expect too much.

(08/03/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Awesome! Great

Establishment: Elysian Brewing Company - TangleTown, Seattle, WA

What a fun place. I had been to several pubs before I got there so--in reality it may not be quite as much fun as I remember but I encourage everyone to go. The horseradish wings were really great. With a name like Satan Stout, I couldn't let that one pass--unfortunatly it was sweet--which I couldn't figure with a name like "satan." Imortal IPA was truly great. The Perseus Porter was probably my favorite. It was a bit heavy--maybe too heavy for most but I really liked it.

(08/03/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Awesome! Great

Establishment: McMenamins / Six Arms Pub, Seattle, WA

The atmosphere is the real reason to come to 6 Arms--not that the beer is bad, I thought it was actually quite good--but this is another McMinamins. You can get the beer all over Portland and Seattle. The design of the space and all the cool stuff all over the walls will never leave you wanting for something to look at or a topic of discussion. The most unique beer I had there was the Nebraska bitter. To me, it seemed to be almost a bitter and heffe combo--strange sounding, but I liked it. The Celebration Ale was excellent. They make their own salsa which is also quite good.

(08/03/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Ale House Pub and Eatery, Tacoma, WA

63 taps! If I counted correctly..things did blur at times so I might be wrong but there are a lot of them--of that I am certain. Lots of bar seating...lots of taps...lots of friendly good service and a great Reuben sandwich to boot! I could have spent my entire vaction here just trying all the beers. Of note on tap the day I was there: Guiness, Harp, Hales, Petes, Labatt, Molson, Moosehead, Fosters, Blind Pig, Alaskan, Pyramid, Full Sail, Snowqualmie, Bud, Miller, Deschutes--so there is something there for everyone.

(08/02/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Engine House Number 9, Tacoma, WA

I didn't know about this place till the people at Harmon told me to check it out. Just great. The old fire House is so cool and the variety of beer--in additon to their own--is wonderful. The 4 alarm stout and the outrageously bitte were very good. As was the Enginehouse porter. The bartender was very friendly. Other beers on tap (or in bottle) of note were: Fish Tale, Red Sea, Pyramid, Hales, Pike Widmer, Skullsplitter, Red Tail, Redhook. This place is a little out of the way but well worth the search. Go when you have time to set and enjoy. I was there in the afternoon and found the place not crowded.

(08/02/2004)


Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ 4 ] [ 5 ] [ 6 ] [ 7 ] [ ALL ]













(0.459 seconds) 07:57:45 54.167.171.186, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS