PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Reviews on PubCrawler from
Other Reviews by this User
 
April 18, 2014 @ 02:02 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.

Reviews By

Beer Reviews
(167)

Restaurant Reviews
(0)






no
user
photo

167
Beer Reviews from
   

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ 4 ] [ 5 ] [ 6 ] [ 7 ] [ ALL ]
Average Rating
Beer Quality
Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great
Great Good Good Good

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Harmon Pub and Brewery, Tacoma, WA

I loved this place. It could be just my infatuation with the NW but the space is so cool and the beer, food, and service were great. Be sure to check out the Chihuly glass display at the Union Station down the street. On tap the day I was there: Plae ale, brown's point bitter, puget sound porter, Wollochet (sp?) bay wheat, and one that I can't read in my notes. The bitter had abit of a sweet note to it but there was a bitter aftertaste--intereseting. The porter was delicious! There was a coffee/malt flavor that was very nice. The pale ale was indeed pale-not too bitter--a good way to start. This place does a lot for it's patrons--organizes all sorts of trips, hikes, etc. If I lived in the area, I would be a regular.

(08/01/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Lousy Good

Establishment: O'Blarney's Pub, Olympia, WA

I've been to this place twice. In 1996--my first visit to the NW it was great. More recently, the beer is still good but the service has suffered. They have something for everyone on tap, even Bud. Of note (to me) were: Morror Pond Pale Ale, Widmer Hefe, Fat Tire Ameber, Redhook Blond, Mac & Jack's African Amber, T. Kemper Marzen, Full Sail Golden. Hopefully things are better now. Not any recent reviews so the jury must still be out.

(08/01/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! N/A Awesome! Great

Establishment: East Side Club, Olympia, WA

I didn't know that this place existed, but the bartender at Fishbowl recommended the place--glad he did. When I was there there were 31 taps. 5 from Deschutes (mirror pond, black butte, obsidian stout, cascade, bachelor ESP), 4 from Snowqualmie (sp?) ( copperhead, wildcat IPA--yummy!!!!, flack frog stout--also yummy!!, special dark, 24 Karat gold) 4 from Dick's (pale, danger, cream stout, best bitter) along with the traditionals of Bud, miller, carona, grolsch. This was a hoot and a great place to taste beers of the NW!!!

(08/01/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Awesome! Great

Establishment: Fish Brewing Company / Fish Bowl Pub, Olympia, WA

I must admit that it has been a while since I was at Fish Tale but the current reviews tell me that things have not changed. I can not say enough good things about this place--from the food, to the service, to the beer and even recommended another bar near by that served a lot of microcrews (East Side Club, 410 4th Ave, if they are still open). First the food--I had the key lime wings--since I'm from near Buffalo, NY, I had to try them. My God, they were excellent. I've tried to recreate the recipe since I've been home but can't. They were excellent. On tap the day I was there: fish eye IPA, red snaper, mudshark porter, winter fish, barley wine, (something--can't read my notes) salmon. I had the fish eye (exellent, clean and hoppy), the barley wine (not sweet buy not really my thing), and the porter (execellent--bought a 6 pack to drag back to NY--and it made it!!!!). They even kept my 6 pack in the cooler while I went to the other bar they recommended. My understanding is that when I was there, the restraraunt was not owned by the same people who did the brewing although they were all under one roof. That may have changed since then...but you must stop here. Even the pint glasses are a hoot! I wish I'd bought a whole set!

(08/01/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: MacGregor's Grill and Tap Room, Rochester, NY

In April 2004 I swore off the Jefferson Rd. location forever. What good are all those taps if no one will fill your glass? Yesterday (7-31) I finally made it to the Greggory Street location. What a difference. This one is friendly and had much more of a neighborhood feeling. I could feel the difference when I walked in the door! I had lunch out at Rohrbachs so I can't comment on the food, but the beer and service were excellent! There wr 78 taps, 9 IPA's, 5 porters, 8 stouts, 16 ales, and 6 wheat beers--and those are just the styles that I prefer! The bartender was friendly and very willing to let you taste --and no screaming, yelling, clapping, sending up a flare, etc that is necessary to get service at the Jefferson Road location. They have Ithaca brewing do some house brews for them. The porter (Big Man Porter) is quite good. They have Middle ages do one for them, but I don't recall what it was. Those of us who are out of towners might find the Jefferson Rd location more convenient, but skip it--go into the Greggory street location!!!

(08/01/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Good Great

Establishment: Rohrbach Brewing Company, Rochester, NY

It had been several years since I had been to this location. I always went to the Gregory Street location but when it closed I substituted Empire. Then Empire closed and I went to MacGreggors on Jefferson (Big Mistake!) Then I tried Four City--even bigger mistake, or they didn't have those just opened kinks worked out so yesterday (7-31) I decided to take the treck out on Buffalo Road and see what was up with Rohrbacks. It is a little out of the way, but having refreshed my memory--it is worth it. The owner is such a friendly guy--and was even in on a Saturday morning. The bartneder was a little cold at first but once she got going (and she saw the owner talking to me) she warmed up. The rueben sandwich was the best -- with a name like Rohrbach's it better be good, and it is!! On tap yesterday were: highland, scotch ale, hefe, pilsner, american, bluebeary, summer ale, and the guest tap of Otter Creek Amber. I started with the summer ale and it was really good. I'm not sure what the style was, but it tasted a bit pilser-ish but there was a finsh to it that I can't put my finger on. Although it wasn't bitter, I really liked it. The hefe was very good as well. Nice and tart. The bluebeary was realy good as well--and this is from one who doesn't like fruit flavored beer. Although R's is a bit off the beaten track, it's not that far off of 390--maybe 10 minutes and well worth it. They do a great brewer's fest the first weekend in August (this year the 6th and 7th). It's a great gathering of good NY brewers and well done.

(08/01/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great N/A

Establishment: Lewiston Brew House, Lewiston, NY

Lewiston is a beautiful little town on high on the banks of the Niagara River. The food, sercie and variety of taps makes this a great stop. Get away from all the tourons at Niagara Falls, drive up the road and stop in. If you're from out of state, some of Western NY's best are on tap--Ommegan, Custom Brewhouse, etc.

(07/30/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Good Great

Establishment: Market Street Brewing Company and Restaurant, Corning, NY

Bar service is far better than table service--but the bar is so small that many times you have to set at a table. I live about 40 minutes away so I've been here many times. Bartendeers are consistently friendly and knowledgable about the beers. Table service has never been bad--but has varied dramatically especially as far as knowledge about their beers is concerned. Their best is the Pot Belly Pale Ale. It is very bitter and no metalic taste that tends to crop up when beers get bitter. The red ale is a bit bland. I'm not a fan of fruit beers but their blackberry is very nice. D'Artagnan Dark Ale is really good. It is not as bitter as the IBU's would indicate. The variety of malts add a unique flavor that the decrning beer drinker will appreciate.

(07/30/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Awesome! Great Good

Establishment: King Arthur's Steak House and Brew Pub, Oswego, NY

I have been to King Arthur's four times and was surprisded to see that I hadn't put in a review yet. I noticed that when I was checking Lew Bryson's reviews to see if he had visited some places I'd been to on Long Island. When I saw his review I had to check out the pub crawler page. While I have to admit that the beer here is not exceptional--when I have been there it was certainly not "undrinkable." To put my comments in perspective, I visited in Jan. 2002, January 2003, July 2003 and Sept. 2003--so things may have changed and Lew's unfortuate comments may be accurate. My largest complaint was the use of plastic cups Harborfest weekend--for indoor service. The Sunday brunch is just great!!!! But, to the beer. The oatmeal stout had a really good flavor, but was a bit flat for my liking. The porter had a good nutty flavor, but did not taste like a porter--it tasted like a nut brown. When I tasted it and thought 'nut brown' I really liked it...but it's no porter. The IPA was ok, nothing spectactular--but certaily drinkable. I have friends that live in Hannibal so I hope to get back to King Arthur's soon. Their location, space, and food are really good and I want their beer to keep pace!

(07/30/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Good Great

Establishment: Southampton Publick House, Southampton, NY

I've been to Southampton Publick House twice--most recently on July 16th. Both times I had excellent experiences although I must admit that the service was a bit better at the bar than outside. The foreign extra stout was excellent--chocolate and coffee flavor (had 11/2002--don't think it was on tap in July). The IPA was very good. With friends on the south fork, this can be a regular stop for me. I look forward to the next time!

(07/30/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Heartland Brewery at Union Square, New York, NY

This is the original Heartland and to date, the best (we'll see what happens in the fall when the Empire State location opens). My only complaint is that the music is too loud--god that makes me feel old to say that. But when ever I go with friends we can barely hear ourselves think, much less talk. I have been there several times and each time had good food and service--I've sat at the bar and at a table and have always been treated well. The food and beer do cost a lot more than I pay up in western New York, but then that is something I've come to expect when I go to NY. Those of you from NYC that have complained about the price the beer--look at what you pay for rent!!! Good God Gerty--and you expect beer to be cheap? Farmer Jon's Stout and the Indiana Pale Ale are consistently great! For seasonal be sure to try the apricot--a fruit beer I actually like--and the Smmiling Pumpkin.

(07/29/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A So So N/A Awesome! So So

Establishment: Ellicott Mills Brewing Company, Ellicott City, MD

This is a beautiful place in a beautiful historic village that is a nightmare to navigate and even more difficult to find parking. But, for those who love lager, it will be worth your trouble. I--unfortunatly--don't like lager. I knew that they dealt primarily with lager before I went but I thought maybe they'd have an ale or two. After the traffic trauma I needed alcohol--lager or not. I had the porter and it was far to sweet for my liking. The serivce was incredible. The bartender was very friendly and wait staff appeared to be as well.

(07/29/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good N/A So So So So

Establishment: Wharf Rat At Camden Yards / Oliver Breweries, Baltimore, MD

I was thoroughly disapointed in my visit. On tap the day I was there was: Irish style red, Golden Jubulee, old English, pagan Porter, Iron man pale Ale, Summer light ale, Olivery Blackfriar Stout. The porter was all I tried. That and the service and the atmostphere had me out the door. I've not heard that it has been sold, but if so, let's hope that it is to someone who will make a go of a brewpub in that area.

(07/29/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good So So Great Great

Establishment: Red Brick Station / White Marsh Brewing Company, Baltimore, MD

Although I gave more "good" scores I belive that RBS deserves a "great" overall. It's in a mall area--don't let that scare you away--or the IKEA across the street. (I saw that as a bonus). Lots of indoor and outdoor seating as well as a large circular bar. My service was friendly and swift, although I should note that ony 2 other people were at the bar. My first beer was the Daily Crisis IPA. It is hoppy but not as hoppy as they claim, "Loaded with hops" it ain't. But it had a good clean, bitter taste. In my notes I wrote "just excellent" about the spooners stout. It was bitter and tasty. The brown ale was very clear and amber in color. It was a good ale but it wasn't a brown ale. It tasted more like and ESB. They Made Me Do It Blueberry Ale--again, I am a sucker to try a fruit beer despite so many disapointments. This one was not bad--I didn't want to spit it out--but it really didn't have much of a blueberry flavor either. I ordered the Red Brick Burger well done--and it came well done--dry as a bone. I know that can happen, but so many places don't let it happen that I am still disapointed when it does. I simply ordered another stout to wash it down. Maybe that was part of their plan.

(07/29/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great

Establishment: C.H. Evans Brewing - The Albany Pump Station, Albany, NY

Well, the reviews for this place are all over the spectrum--mine goes on the good side. I was there for lunch and was surprised at the crowd. Even had to wait for a seat at the bar--but there were appologies all around and the patrons were friendly. This is a really cool space and conveniently located--you can see it from the freeway and find your way--it's as close as it looks! On tap the day I was there: Scotish light, Quackenbash blond, state street porter, Kick-ass brown, American Amber, candy apple red, pump station pale, and braggot (? my notes are a bit sloppy). The Pump Station Pale was very good. Not only was it bitter but you could actually taste the hops--any home brewer who has stuck his/her nose in the bag of hops and sniffed knows what I am talking about. The porter was smoky and succulent! The description in the menue made it sound like it was going to be sweet but it wasn't. The kick ass brown was great--a bitter brown--can it get much better? Although I am not a fan of heffe, the patrons next to be kept raving about it so I tried it--it was actually quite good. Since I typically don't like that style, I'm not sure what that says to those of you who do. I loved this place and will certainly make it a regular stop each time I'm in Albany.

(07/29/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Great Good

Establishment: Appalachian Brewing Company, Harrisburg, PA

This is a fun place with OK beer. Service was great and friendly people all around. But the beer was just ok. I had the Susquehana (sp?) stout, the Purist Pale Ale, and the Kiponic (? my notes are hard to read) Fest. All were ok just nothing spectacular.

(07/29/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Awesome! Great

Establishment: Cooperstown Brewing Company, Milford, NY

Cooperstown Brewing is a great microbrew experience. They charge you about 2 bucks but you get pints samples (most of the time), small tour but they chat and answer questions. The pint glass is a hoot with the 3-D baseball in the bottom.

(07/29/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Bullfrog Brewery, Williamsport, PA

Every beer I've had here has been great. My only complaint is the one-way street outside and parking..but there's not much they can do about that. The Williamsporter was by far my favorite. I wish it was just a little bit closer--2 hours makes it just far enough that you have to plan. Thank God they do growlers.

(07/28/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Good Good Good

Establishment: Pearl Street Grill and Brewery, Buffalo, NY

I have been to Pear street several times--especially since Empire closed. Each time I go I think I am really going to like the place..but I leave disapointed. I'm not sure why. The beer isn't bad--but it's not great. The good isn't bad, but it's nothing exceptional. The service is even ok. I guess I just expect more from the space and location. The lake effect IPA has never been hoppy enough to really justify calling it an IPA. They had 6 of their own on tap the last time I was their as well as one of Flying Bison's. To my knowledge, Pearl is the only brew pub in Buffalo proper now.

(07/27/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So N/A So So So So

Establishment: Niagara Falls Brewing Company, Niagara Falls, ON

I went to NB hoping for more of a microbrewery experience. I got a 5 minute tour and a 25 minute sales pitch. They were far more interested in selling their product than developing customer loyalty. I understand that all breweries want to sell their beer, but the ones that I have been to sell their beer by tasting and telling about the beer and how it is made and let their product and hospitality sell it. I did try their Pale ale. It was ok. Olde Jack was dark like a stout but lighter and more flavorful. I probably would have a better attitude about the place if I'd not be rushed out the door. I thought buying a 6 pack would help. It didn't. They were working for foot traffic.

(07/27/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Good Good

Establishment: Ram Restaurant and Brewery, Schaumburg, IL

When you've had all of IKEA you can stand, run across the parking lot and have a beer. My experience was a lot more positive than many who wrote here. On tap the day I was there--blond, buttface amber, bighorn light, big red IPA, total disorder porter, and Ram premium pilsner. I thought the IPA was very good--in my notes I have that it was very hoppy and a great hoppy finish--I'll admit that it has been a while since my visit and things may have changed but I certainly wouldn't characterize it as others have here. The porter was smoky and not sweet...I find that good. Others like their porter sweet. Didn't eat and could only have time for 2 beers--had to go back and meet the IKEA shoppers.

(07/27/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! So So Good Great

Establishment: Stoudt's Brewing Company, Adamstown, PA

I used to love coming down to Adamstown in October for their brewfest--that is, until they started selling as many tickets as possible to each session. The last one I was at was so crowded you couldn't move or breath. My buddy and I left and dove down to Victory. This is a shame because Stoudt's makes excellent beer and with the exception of selling as many tickets as possible, the festivals are well run. They have a manageable number of breweries there, meal included, a band (which plays the same songs with the same jokes at each festival--but you've been drinking so you don't mind it as much). I've only eaten in the restaraunt once. I thought the food was a bit pricy and not that good. But any place can have a bad night. Their Fat Dog Stout and American Pale ale are some of the best in that style. Rumor has it that they are contracting out a lot of their brewing to a place in Scranton. I hear that a lot but so far no one is willing to say for sure.

(07/27/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Waterfront Ale House, New York, NY

On the day I stopped in (7/22) it was hotter than 2 mice fornicating in a wool sock! I was looking for a place to set down, cool off, and have a few brews with lunch. I found all that and more. This is a great place. The bartender that afternoon was great, friendly patrons, excellent food and a great variety of beer. On tap the day I was there--Redhook rye, Dogfish Head 90 min., Guiness, Stella, Anchor, Avery IPA, Weinstephaner Hefe, Bealy scotch ale, Sierra Nevada pale ale, Wyerbacher, Fulers ESB, Plue Point blueberry, South Hampton, Avery white, Hoegarden, Magic Hat #9, Smutty Nose brown. This will become a regular stop each time I'm in NYC.

(07/27/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Great Great

Establishment: House Of Brews, New York City, NY

I had a great time here! I was there on 7/20--the bartender was John. He was great and knew a lot about most of the beer on tap. We ordered several munchies and sat at the bar. The food was good. Beers of note (to me) that were available--Victory Hop Devil, Redhook IPA, Chemay. Many taps, many bottles, good service, good food--just far enough down 46th--be sure to stop in. They've only been open since March 2004, so flood in and keep John company and keep this place open!

(07/27/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Awesome! Good

Establishment: Kinsale Tavern, New York, NY

When I stepped in this place, I felt like I had walked into my own neighborhood bar. The bartender and the customers were all so friendly. They have many taps--suposedly 35 although I couldn't count them all. Some I could see were Molson, Smithwicks (newly imported to US from Ireland--really good!), Worsteiner's, Magner's, Harp, Bass, Guiness, Anchor Steam, Stella, Sierra Nevada, Coors, Pilsern Urquell, Bud. A lot of beers, but none that really make me scream. Although, if I'm back in the neighborhood, the friendly atomosphere alone would be enough to get me to stop in again.

(07/27/2004)


Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ 4 ] [ 5 ] [ 6 ] [ 7 ] [ ALL ]













(0.178 seconds) 14:02:27 54.197.189.165, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS