PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Reviews on PubCrawler from
Other Reviews by this User
 
November 26, 2014 @ 11:45 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.

Reviews By

Beer Reviews
(167)

Restaurant Reviews
(0)






no
user
photo

167
Beer Reviews from
   

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ 4 ] [ 5 ] [ 6 ] [ 7 ] [ ALL ]
Average Rating
Beer Quality
Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great
Great Good Good Good

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome!

Establishment: Barley Creek Brewing Company, Tannersville, PA

It is tradition for me to stop here on my way to NYC for Thanksgiving. I have never been disapointed. Consistently they serve up excellent beer, food, and service. The Black Spider--I believe it is called--is just excellent (maybe Black Widow?). If you travelint on I-80 it is WELL worth the stop. The instructions on the web page are very good--and they are not as far off the interstate as the directions may leave you to believe.

(05/04/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Victory Brewing Company, Downingtown, PA

This place always reminds me of an old Baptist hymn, "Victory in Jesus." Well, VIJ this place exists. I've been a fan of their beer since I first tried Hopdevil at the Flour City Brew Festival in Rochester, NY. For my 39th Birthday I actually made it down to the brewpub for dinner (I had been at Stoudt's brewfest in Adamstown). I don't care where you live, if you love good, hoppy, well-brewed beer and excellent knowledgable service (to say nothing about the food) you owe it to yourself to go.

(05/04/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A Lousy Lousy

Establishment: Ya Ya Bayou Brewhouse, Buffalo, NY

I was browsing Pubcrawler and saw that YaYa was here so I thought I'd see what others had written. And....nothing..no reviews. Maybe they had the same experience I did. I attempted to have lunch on their second day in business. I arrived at 11:30 thinking that they would be open for lunch. The door was locked so I waited thinking they would open soon, by noon at least. Many people walked up, tried the door and walked away. Finally after about 10 or 15 minutes of this, someone came out of the kitchen and opened the door. He looked 'down his nose' at me and asked in a condescending way if he could help me. I said I was hoping to have lunch. He said "We don't do lunch." I looked at him and said, "exucse me?" He said again, "We don't do lunch." I said, "you have a pub in downtown Buffalo and you don't do lunch? Do you plan on doing payroll?" And to that, he slamed the door in my face and locked it. So that's been about 2 years and from what I hear they're still open. I hear Custom Brewhouse does their beer. Yet with no reivews here...makes me wonder...maybe they don't really cater to the beer-lover audience.

(05/04/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Good Great Awesome! Good

Establishment: Big Tree Inn, Geneseo, NY

The service and food were excellent. I was just there on Saturday (24 April 2004) and the bartender was friendly and knew a lot about the beers on tap. There weren't however, a huge variety on tap. Bonus points though for no Coors or Bud on tap. They have an extensive bottle choice--although most seemed to be Belgian style (not my favorite style). If you're in the area this is a great place to stop in. I'm not so sure it's worth a special trip though.

(04/27/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So So So Good So So

Establishment: Chelsea Brewing Company, New York, NY

The view here is great. The beer on the other hand--not so much. It's not awful..but it's not worth a special trip. If you're over on the west side, stop in and watch the sun set with a brew..but don't expect the likes of Heartland to be in your glass.

(04/13/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Awesome! Great Good Good

Establishment: Buffalo Brew Pub / Brewing Company, Williamsville, NY

I have been to the BBP several times and the service has run the gambit--never bad, though. The food has always been good. The selection of beer is great...but the quality of their own beer is really poor. I keep trying it hoping that it will get better. It doesn't. It's a big space with tv's, games etc. and a great variety of taps. If they were relying on the sale of their own brew, they'd be gone by now.

(04/13/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A Awesome! Great

Establishment: Brewery Ommegang, Cooperstown, NY

I am not a fan of this style of beer, but even if you don't like beer you should stop in and take the tour. They do good work and put on a good beer "show." While this isn't my 'style of choice' you can tell it is well made. The reputation they've built in such a short period of times speaks well for the quality of the product and the organization.

(04/13/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great

Establishment: Ithaca Beer Company, Ithaca, NY

Some friends and I stoped in on a Saturday morning for a tour and taste. We were treated like royalty! Since there was only 5 of us I thought we'd get the 25 cent tour and sent on our way. NOPE! They let us taste all they had and gave a complete, informative friendly tour. An excellent product. Luckily I can pick it up at will at Wegmans in Hornell.

(04/13/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Good Good So So Lousy

Establishment: Distillery, Rochester, NY

The beer here is just bad. Nasty. So bad I actually let them throw it away--and I'd rather see a church burn than to throw away beer but it was not good. The food and service was just ok. Thank God they did have Saranac so I didn't have to drink iced tea.

(04/13/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A Awesome! So So Lousy So So

Establishment: MacGregor's Grill and Tap Room, Rochester, NY

I want to change my vote! I have been to the Jefferson Rd location 5 times since I re-discovered McGregor's in January 2004. The service for each of those 5 visits has just been horrible! My last visit on March 18th was just the last straw. I don't think a gun fight would have gotten this guy's attention. God knows putting your empty glass at the end of the bar, waving your empty glass, whistleing (I really mean that!), waving, none of it worked. Yelling--that was it. The horrible service takes most of the joy out of the incredible beer selection. It doesn't do much good if you can't get someone to serve it to you!

(04/01/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great

Establishment: BrĂ¼, Rochester, NY

Praise be to the Beer Gods that another brewery has opened in the old Empire space on State or Exchange or what ever the street is called there. I visited on March 18th and was very pleased. There is a lot of 'Empire' still there but that's ok. Best physical improvement is the flat screen TV right above the bar. I have no complaints about the beer, service, or food. I'm anxious to return--especially since service has gotten so bad at the McGreggors on Jefferson--but that's for another review. On tap that day were: blond, Stout, IPA, Hefeweizin, Czech Pilsner, scotch ale, Custom BH Pale Ale, Wolavers Brown, Ithaca's Double IPA, and Kipling light. I tried the IPA (was really nice, not as bitter as Victory or Ellicottville 2 brothers but a great IPA that is drinkable waaaaay into summer) the stout (thick rich and sweet. I'm not a fan of sweet stouts but this was ok.), the Hefeweitzen (Not a fan of this style but it was good, very true to style). Just as I was about to leave they changed the beer menue to add their porter: Double Chocolate Porter. PEOPLE OF ROCHESTER--RUN DON'T WALK to get some of this. It is not sweet nor is it dry but it is excellent. Since I stayed for a porter I got then to give me a sample of the scotch ale--again, not one of my favorites but this was very good. It had almost a nutty flavor. Thanks to the new owners for taking a chance on a brewpub in Rochester!

(04/01/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Lousy So So

Establishment: Southern Tier Brewing Company, Lakewood, NY

I thought I would offer a "Part 2" to my review of January. I sent a copy of the review I put here to their offical web site ATT: the director of marketing. I never heard a single word back from them. Southern Tier was at the Syracuse Brew Festival so I stopped by there. The people 'manning' the booth were rude and aloof--a rarity at brew festivals. Foolishly bought a shirt. 1 sleeve fell off in the first wash. Since the Syracuse Brew-fest I have discovered at least one bar that has stopped carrying Southern Tier because of the rude, inappropriate behavior of their delevery people (the delivery people are ST emplyees). I hope for their sake that my continued bad luck is the exception rather than the rule.

(04/01/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Lousy So So

Establishment: Malt River Brewing Company, Latham, NY

If I lived closer, I would probably give them another try-but since I am 4 hours away and the traffic around this mall is just nuts to navigate, I doubt I will. Once you walk in, you quickly forget that you are in a mall. Very cool. I managed to get the bartender's attention twice so I was able to have two beers. I had the pale ale and stout. Both were good--not spectacular or anything out of the ordinary, but good. The awful service probably affected the workmanship of my taste buds. The bartender was horrid. He spent the entire time I was there standing at the far end of the bar--as far from paying patrons as possible--complaining to his buddy about how bad tips were on Sundays so he was dropping his Sunday shifts (there's the good news folks--go on Sunday and you are bound to avoid this guy). Three times I tried to order food and finally gave up, finished the second beer and got the hell out. I'll give the bartender one thing--it was amazing how he could quickly find out what beer you wanted and never loose a beat in the conversation with this buddy at the far end of the bar. Something tells me that the day of the week has little to do with the tips this guy gets.

(03/14/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Brown's Brewing Company was Troy Pub and Brewery, Troy, NY

I stopped in for lunch on Friday, 12 March 2004. I had just gotten out of the ditch from an exciting adventure on black ice in I88. The staff were very helpful with phone numbers and directions and served up great beer, food and service. The black colla stout was especially good. This place is definatly worth a stop.

(03/14/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Great Great

Establishment: MacGregor's Grill and Tap Room, Rochester, NY

I was thrilled to find the Jefferson Road location. Now that Empire is closed this is a great stop. One side of the bar alone has over 60 taps. I'm anxious to try the Gregory Street location.

(01/16/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy N/A So So Lousy Lousy

Establishment: Eddie's Brewery and Grille, Orchard Park, NY

I respect Lew Bryson's oppinion--both of his books are exellent--but I really think he got it wrong on this place. I didn't know Eddie's existed till I read Bryon's book, NEW YORK BREWERIES so I decided to give it a try. Mistake. I had three beers; Cameron's Bitter, Beckster's Red Nose Ale, and Razberri Wheat. All three were very bad. I mean REALLY bad. The bitter was so fizzy I thought I was going to take flight after just one sip. The flavor was well, like some strange bacteria had gotten in the tank or lines. It reminded me of an IPA I made at home-a bad one. The Red Nose ale was black as pitch--but pretty much tasted like the bitter except it was flat. The Raz wheat is just their wheat beer and they add Chambord to it--after they pour it in the glass--not during the brewing process. This was so odd, and the other beers were so bad, I figured that I had nothing to loose by giving it a try--well, it was the best of the three but not great. I ordered a beef on weck. It came with fries...nasty frozen fries that had been baked--at least partially. The beef on the sandwich was piled high--but it was the driest beef I've ever had. The bar tender--I hope--was in training. He knew nothing about the beer on tap and really didn't want to get you anthing. At the most there were six of us at the bar that seated 10-12. You had to ask for another beer. He would stand there see your empty glass, or notice that you had put the menue down but would do nothing till you said something to him. None of the beers that Bryson mentions in his book were on tap so I can hope that those are better than the ones that I tried yesterday (1-3-04). But I would much rather go to a corner bar and drink a Saranac or (gasp) a LaBatts than experience the beers I tried there yesterday.

(01/04/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Lousy Good

Establishment: Southern Tier Brewing Company, Lakewood, NY

The quality of the beer at Southern Tier can not be denied. It is excellent. This is one reason why I made a special trip from Hornell, NY to Lakewood just to try the beer fresh, do the brewery tour, get a glass, t-shirt--the entire beer-geek experience. I planned to go on Jan 3 so I called the day before to be sure they would be open (being the hollidays and all). The assured me that they would be open. So, I make the 70 mile journey, arrive at 1PM--when the first tour is to start--and the place is all locked up. I decided to drive around a little and was back at 1:20. The door was open this time. I walked in and down the hall to the tasting room. No one was around anywhere. I waited a bit. Walked back down the hall to the receiption area and rang the bell. And boy did it ring--again and again and again. I waited a bit and then walked back down to the tasting room. The phone rang. I'm assuming someone somewhere answered it as it rang only once. I waited and looked through some of the magazines. Finally at 1:45 I said forget it and left. What a disapointment to drive that far and no one ever show up. As I drove back home I started to wonder how many t-shirts and beer they loose if this is a regular occurance.

Their beer is excellent and their shirts a cool as well, and if you live in the area I'd say stop by--but if you live farther away--don't make a special trip, you'll be left--well, beer-less.

(01/04/2004)


Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ 4 ] [ 5 ] [ 6 ] [ 7 ] [ ALL ]













(0.277 seconds) 11:45:46 54.163.168.15, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS