PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Reviews on PubCrawler from
Other Reviews by this User
 
July 25, 2014 @ 09:01 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.

Reviews By

Beer Reviews
(329)

Restaurant Reviews
(0)






no
user
photo

329
Beer Reviews from
   

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ 4 ] [ 5 ] [ 6 ] [ 7 ] [ 8 ] [ 9 ] [ 10 ] [ 11 ] [ 12 ] [ 13 ] [ 14 ] [ ALL ]
Average Rating
Beer Quality
Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great
Great Great Great Great

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great N/A

Establishment: No Label Brewing Company, Katy, TX

After a couple of years doing draft only, the first No Label beers in 12 ounce bottles hit the shelves this week... amber ale, pale ale, and hefe. We hear that seasonals will start being bottled in the Fall with the milk stout. Other seasonal beers of note include their Black-Wit-O, jalapeno ale, and Mint IPA. They have an open house/yard party/brewery tour every Saturday afternoon.

(08/11/2012)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Good Good

Establishment: Archipelago Brewery, Singapore,

This is not the actual brewery, which is outside of the city core, and is related to the major Singapore brewery that brews its international brand Tiger. This location is a small taproom in the touristy Boat Quay area. I think there were four Archipelago brews on tap and four or five other European brands plus Tiger. I opted for the Archipelago Irish Ale, their darkest offering. It was a solid brew. I did not eat here. This place is worth a brief stop on a Singapore brewpub crawl.

(08/11/2012)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A Good Good

Establishment: Avondale Brewing Company, Birmingham, AL

This new brewery occupies a historic building in Birmingham's Avondale neighborhood. The brewing and fermenting equipment share space with a taproom serving Avondale beers by the pint or in multi-beer samplers. We did the four beer sampler before opting for a pint of our favorite. On tap on December 19th were the following: Spring Street Saison, Belgian Brown Ale, Vanillaphant Porter, and Battlefield IPA. All were solid, with the porter being (as my son put it) a bit "young" and still perhaps a work in progress. Interestingly, the IPA was the lowest strength of the four beers on offer at 5.8% ABV, with the most potent being the saison weighing in at 7.2%. A more sessionable kolsch-style ale is reportedly coming soon. One of the Avondale guys indicated that more fermenters were on the way that will double or even triple capacity in the near future. It is evident that Avondale is off to a good start with the promise of some early growth.

(12/24/2011)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Great

Establishment: Flying Saucer, Sugar Land, TX

I've been to the new Sugar Land Saucer twice in its opening weeks. The first was a very memorable beer dinner with Brooklyn brewmaster Garrett Oliver, held in a nicely appointed private room, with a very special lineup of Brooklyn beers paired with some nice (not on the menu) food offerings. On our second visit on a Wednesday evening, we joined some friends for a quick dinner and a beer or two before attending the America concert at the nearby Stafford Centre. We each had a nice sandwich of one sort of another with some tasty hot fries. Our beer choices that evening included Saint Arnold Santo, 512 Bruin, Karbach Yule Shoot Your Eye Out, Brooklyn The Companion (a repeat of one of the beer dinner offerings), and Boulevard Dark Truth Stout. This new Flying Saucer is a keeper.

(12/10/2011)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Great Good

Establishment: The Generous Squire, Perth,

This is essentially a tied-house for the James Squire line of beers produced by the Malt Shovel Brewery. In addition to five James Squire beers (IPA, Amber Ale, Golden Ale, Sundown Lager, and Porter), we found a draft cider and a guest tap pouring Kosciuszko Pale Ale from a relatively new pub brewery in the mountains of New South Wales. The food menu at the Squire has pub items and full meals. We visited in early November, and our dinner choices were indeed nicely done. This is a popular place after work in downtown Perth. A small brewing system prominently displayed near the front entrance, along with a sign, indicated a plan to begin brewing small batches of beer to offer at the pub. I don’t know if brewing onsite has commenced yet, and if not when it might.

(01/19/2011)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great

Establishment: The Monk Brewery and Kitchen, Fremantle, Western Australia,

Formerly named the "Mad Monk" (the coasters still showed that name), this brewpub features a largely tapas type menu and a modest selection of house beers. On tap were kolsch, wheat, pale ale, rauch, and porter. Seasonal brews are also done. I opted for the pale ale with a Sunday afternoon special of paella cooked right outside amongst the diners. I followed that with the porter. Both beers were solid in their interpretations. The brewing equipment is not readily apparent to the casual eye. With luck, you may be able to secure an outdoor seat overlooking the busy pedestrian traffic along South Terrace Street.

(01/05/2011)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Good Good

Establishment: Mash Brewing, Henley Brook, Western Australia,

This contemporary styled brewpub lies in the middle of the popular Swan Valley wine country, very close to the Duckstein Brewery. There is plenty of indoor and outside deck seating. We did not eat here and I only had one pint, a tasty special release black IPA called Black Knight. Several Mash beers are available in the bottle. Freo Doctor, named for the westerly winds that blow off of the Indian Ocean onto the Southwestern Australia coast, is a golden lager that I had with a seafood dinner in a restaurant near the harbor in Fremantle. I found it to be rather ordinary. An additional Mash location is found in the town of Bunbury south of Perth, and another is planned for the town of Rockingham, also to the south.

(01/01/2011)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good

Establishment: Ironbark Brewery, Caversham, Western Australia,

This brewpub features a large "alfresco", yet covered, casual dining area, with live music sometimes playing during weekends. Try the warm garlic prawn salad or a wood-fired pizza. The beer range on our mid-November visit included a pilsner, red ale, brown ale, bitter, cherry ale, plus a couple of ciders and even a non-alcoholic ginger beer. The website indicates that this little brewery produces more than 20 beer styles throughout the year. Ironbark is located in a complex called Valencia Centre, along with the Lilac Hill Estate winery.

(12/22/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Great Awesome!

Establishment: Sail & Anchor Pub Brewery, Fremantle, Western Australia,

The Sail & Anchor Brewery Pub, near the historic Fremantle Market, is truly a beer lovers' pub. Their own house-brewed beers, such as IPA, ESB, and stout, are complimented by a wide-ranging and ever-changing line-up of Australian craft beer guest taps. The bartender will set you up with a beer sampler of six choices for $10. This pub is listed in Rick Lyke's original "125 places to have a beer before you die" list, and after one visit, you will understand why.

(12/22/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A Great Great

Establishment: Duckstein Brewery, Henley Brook, Western Australia,

This is the original Duckstein brewpub, centered in the picturesque Swan Valley, just northeast of Perth. The beers are traditional German styles, and the food menu has a strong German influence as well. There is a large beer garden which sometimes features live music. I only sampled the dunkel during our brief stop (there are lots of wineries and several other breweries in this region), which was quite true to the style of a nice Munich dunkel. Other beers styles include pilsner, hefeweiss, alt, and seasonals such as festbier and maibock.

(12/17/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Bootleg Brewery, Margaret River,

This was one of my favorite of the 15 breweries/brewpubs I visited in Western Australia. Bootleg has a fantastic, lakeside setting in the Margaret River wine country. Like most of the wine country brewpubs, one can order a sampler of the Bootleg beers. Settler's Pale and Tom's Amber Ale were both tasty session beers. Bootleg brews an unusually strong ale (for Australia) called Raging Bull that is big and malty. Warning: the burger really is a steak burger! One can the brewing facility from a second floor brewing area along with Bootleg and other brewing memorabilia. Bootleg's slogan is no joke.... "An oasis of beer in a desert of wine".

(12/17/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Good Good

Establishment: Indian Ocean Brewing Company, Mindarie, Western Australia,

This is an expansive and modern feeling brewpub, with plenty of indoor and outdoor seating looking out over the Mindarie boat harbor. Our visit was a short one, late on a Sunday afternoon. I passed on the regular beer line up (Pilsner, White, Pale, Mid) and opted for a pint of a special release brown ale. I seem to recall it being labeled a nut brown, but it seemed more like a Belgian-style brown ale to me. Our garlic prawn and mushroom pizza was superb.

(12/08/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Awesome! Great Great

Establishment: The Old Brewery, Perth, Western Australia,

This is an upscale steak house with an imbedded microbrewery that occupies part of the old Swan Brewery that is perched along a portion of the Swan River just outside of downtown Perth. The steaks are outstanding (and pricey). The beers include Riverside Reserve Lager, Angus Pale Ale, Mounts Bay Brown Ale, and Heritage Wheat. A stout has also been produced, but it was not on during our visit in late October of this year. I had the pale ale with our appetizer sampler tray, and the brown ale with my steak, smothered in mushrooms. Both beers that I had were excellent.

(12/05/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A N/A Good

Establishment: Ranger Creek Brewing and Distilling, San Antonio, TX

I enjoyed a pint of Ranger Creek OPA (Oatmeal Pale Ale) this week at the Flying Saucer in Houston. It made a very good first impression.

(12/02/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A N/A Good

Establishment: Elmar's in the Valley, Henley Brook, Western Australia,

Elmar's is a large restaurant/brewpub right in the middle of the Swan Valley wine country. There is plenty of indoor seating and a large open-air veranda. The beer range is all German styles. Our samplers in early November featured a traditonal German style pilsner, a Bavarian style wheat beer, a smokey rauchbier in the Bamberg style, a Dusseldorf type altbier, and a Bohemian inspired schwarzbier (my favorite). The rauch and the schwarz are identified as seasonals on the Elmar's website, along with a few others we did not see: an unfiltered kellerbier, a marzen, and a traditional bock. We were just drinking on this stop so no comments on the food. The menu, as you might expect, as a strong German influence to it.

(12/02/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great N/A

Establishment: Feral Brewing Company, Baskerville, Western Australia,

This award-winning brewery occupies a rustic location near the north end of the winery-rich Swan Valley, just northeast of Perth. A wide range of beers is offered, with some permanent and some rotating styles. Feral White and Hop Hog IPA are the stalwarts, found on tap at pubs in the region as well as in bottles. The Feral brewpub features plenty of outdoor seating, under the sheltered deck and under umbrellas in the grassy areas beyond. On our visit on a sunny Saturday afternoon in early November, our beer sampler included a pilsner, Belgian-style pale ale, double IPA, and a porter, in addition to the Feral White and Hop Hog. Feral was named champion small brewery and Hop Hog was named champion ale at the 2009 Australian International Beer Awards. Highly recommended.

(11/27/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A N/A Great

Establishment: Kelburn Brewing Company, Barrhead, Scotland,

I very much enjoyed a pint of Kelburn's delicious Dark Moor ale, drawn from a handpump and paired with a bowl of mussels at the Cafe Royal, an Edinburgh pub renown for its beautiful Victorian interior. I kind of wish I had tried another Kelburn ale or two at other pubs we visited, but there were just too many other choices.....

(07/25/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Cooperstown Brewing Company, Milford, NY

This small brewery south of Cooperstown brews a family of British-inspired ales with baseball-inspired names. $3 buys you a tasting of all six ales and a tour by someone who truly loves to brew fine beer. In our instance, we were guided through the brewhouse, fermentation tanks, and bottling room by the assistant brewer, who described each step with the detail that comes from an individual who indeed does all of that work on a regular basis. The beers are well made, with the Benchwarmer Porter and the Pride of Milford Special Ale (similar to an English strong ale) being my favorites. Their tasty flagship beer, Old Slugger Pale Ale is the beer most readily found in pubs and restaurants in this area. Cooperstown Brewing beers are apparently difficult to find on draft. As we were tasting the beers, the brewer was describing the difficulty of getting and keeping tap handles, competing against the larger brewers and distributors. He indicated that they had lost all of their previous draft accounts in Albany due to big brewer/distributor pressure. If you are in the Cooperstown area, do yourself a favor and visit this fine little brewery.

(07/24/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Good Great

Establishment: Brewery Ommegang, Cooperstown, NY

We did the Ommegang tour on a very hot Wednesday afternoon in early July. Because brewing was going on, we were somewhat limited in what we could see in the brewhouse itself. The bottling line was inactive late in the afternoon, so that part of the operation was included on the tour. The tasting room is small. The beer tasting includes a range of Ommegang beers: Witte, Ommegang Abbey, BPA, Rare Vos, Hennepin, and Three Philosophers. Considering the alcohol content of some of these Belgian-style ales, we felt that the tasting, while informative, was too hurried. The gift shop has both Ommegang beers and a range of souvenirs available. In fairness, this brewery’s popularity has outgrown the capacity of their facilities (expansion projects are planned or underway). As a result, some aspects of a tour and tasting experience may be less than ideal, especially if a lot of visitors are present.

(07/24/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Great Great

Establishment: Cave Mountain Brewing Company, Windham, NY

I was impressed with the beers at this cozy little brewpub in the northern Catskills town of Windham. The beer sampler includes generous tastes of the six standard house beers: American Blonde, Irish Red, English Nut Brown, German Hefe, Centennial IPA, and Oatmeal Stout. All were solid, with the brown ale and IPA being most noteworthy. I followed the sampler up with a pint of a very tasty nitro-dispensed Black IPA. My wife enjoyed pints of the American Blonde and a seasonal Blueberry Wheat ale. The brewpub opens at 4:0 PM with happy hour half-priced appetizers and discounted beer prices. Cask-conditioned ales are coming soon on the first Friday of each month. This place is definitely worth a stop, but note that they did not have lunchtime hours when we visited in early July.

(07/18/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good

Establishment: Montgomery Brewing Company, Montgomery, AL

We stopped at Montgomery Brewing for lunch on a Monday afternoon in June. The lunchtime business was fairly brisk. With further travel ahead of us that afternoon, we only tried the beers via the sampler, which included Montgomery Blonde (2008 GABF silver medal winner), Riverboat Red, Goat Hill Pale Ale, and Wipe Out Stout, along with a seasonal raspberry wheat beer and a high gravity Belgian-style farmhouse ale. Our sandwiches and fries were good and tasty. There is some parking available in the brewpub’s adjacent lot, something that was not made especially clear on the brewpub's website. From this brief visit, I would say that "The Brewpub", as it is known locally, seems a good beer stop in a state with still limited options.

(07/18/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A N/A Great

Establishment: Inveralmond Brewery Limited, Perth, Scotland,

I have become familiar with several different Inveralmond ales during two different visits to Scotland in recent years, including a rather extended visit this past May. The popular Ossian is a golden ale named for a legendary Gaelic heroic figure of the 3rd century. This was the 2001 CAMRA Champion Beer of Scotland. Lia Fail, which means "Stone of Destiny" in Gaelic, is a very fine dark ale with a complex malty flavor balanced by a spicy hop aroma and moderate hop bitterness. Lia Fail is named for the centuries-old coronation stone of the Kings of Scots. Inveralmond also brews some nice house session ales. Examples of these that I have sampled include Prince of Wales Ale for the acclaimed Prince of Wales Pub in Aberdeen and Dunnattor Ale for the Marine Hotel in Stonehaven.

(06/25/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A N/A Great

Establishment: Cairngorm Brewery Company Limited, Aviemore, Scotland,

I found a variety of Cairngorm ales in reputable pubs in different parts of Scotland. Each beer I sampled was flavorful and distinctive. Notables: Trade Winds (multiple CAMRA awards) and Wildcat on cask at the Prince of Wales in Aberdeen, Sheepshagger Gold on cask at the Rose Street Brewery in Edinburgh, and Nessie's Monster Mash from a bottle at McNabb's in Portree. The Cairngorm beers are worth seeking out when traveling in Scotland.

(06/20/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Good Great

Establishment: Isle of Skye Brewing Company, Isle of Skye, Scotland,

This brewery is located in the village of Uig on the northern coast of the Isle of Skye, opposite the ferry terminal that takes passengers to the islands of the Outer Hebrides. The brewery’s retail shop (open Easter through mid-October) offers logo items and other Scottish souvenirs, and bottles of the brewery’s line of beers (some refrigerated and ready to enjoy immediately). Several of the Isle of Skye beers are available on cask at the bar across the road from the brewery and at the Uig Hotel. I also found cask Isle of Skye ales in pubs throughout Scotland (Prince of Wales in Aberdeen, Castle Tavern in Inverness, and Applecross Inn in Applecross are notable examples). Actual brewery tours seem to require making previous arrangements. During my Scotland visit, I had the opportunity to sample a number of Isle of Skye ales. Red Cuillin (a malty red ale) and Black Cuillin (a rich and roasty dark ale) are each named for different portions of the famous Cuillin mountains of Skye. Hebridean Gold is a smooth blonde ale brewed with the inclusion of porridge oats. Young Pretender is a dry, hoppy golden ale. I also had a house ale brewed by this brewery at The Isles pub in Portree. Isle of Skye beers are worth seeking out, as is the brewery when visiting the island.

(06/03/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So N/A N/A Good

Establishment: Lao Brewery Company Limited, Vientiane,

Beerlao Lager and Beerlao Dark are now available in parts of the US. I tried the dark lager at the Classic City Brewfest last weekend in Athens, Georgia. Not quite as dark as the familiar dark lagers of Europe, this all-malt beer is deep reddish amber, medium-bodied, with a malty sweet, slightly nutty flavor profile. I did not try the pale lager, which is brewed with European barley and hops, Laotian jasmine rice, and Himalayian spring water. I would not mind running into these again in an Asian-themed restaurant.

(04/16/2010)


Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ 4 ] [ 5 ] [ 6 ] [ 7 ] [ 8 ] [ 9 ] [ 10 ] [ 11 ] [ 12 ] [ 13 ] [ 14 ] [ ALL ]













(0.235 seconds) 09:01:20 54.83.241.88, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS