PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Reviews on PubCrawler from
Other Reviews by this User
 
October 23, 2014 @ 06:19 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.

Reviews By

Beer Reviews
(329)

Restaurant Reviews
(0)






no
user
photo

329
Beer Reviews from
   

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ 4 ] [ 5 ] [ 6 ] [ 7 ] [ 8 ] [ 9 ] [ 10 ] [ 11 ] [ 12 ] [ 13 ] [ 14 ] [ ALL ]
Average Rating
Beer Quality
Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great
Great Great Great Great

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! N/A Great Great

Establishment: Odell Brewing Company, Fort Collins, CO

This was the first stop on our Fort Collins brewery tour. We got a private tour of the brewery and an opportunity to sample as many beers as we liked. In addition to 90 Shilling and Cutthroat Porter, I also enjoyed several of the beers available only at the brewery's taproom, produced in the small onsite experiental system, which included a tasty Scottish ale and a brown ale.

(02/02/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Good Great

Establishment: Old Chicago, Wheat Ridge, CO

This Old Chicago location is right near the Youngfield Street/32nd Street exit of I-70 in west surburban Denver. It is really best accessed from 32nd street. There is a restaurant to one side and a bar section with a nice patio area on the other side. There are about 30 taps, with an excellent representation of craft beer from Colorado and the Pacific Northwest. In mid-January, the drafts included Buffalo Gold, Boulder Igloo and Singletrack from Rockies Brewing, 90 Shilling, Easy Street Wheat and Isolation Ale from Odell, Fat Tire and 1554 from New Belgium, Lefthand Blackjack Porter, Railyard Ale, one from the Denver Chop House, Oasis Tut Brown, Blue Moon, Sierra Nevada Pale Ale, Pyramid Apricot Ale, Red Hook IPA,and Widmer Brothers Winternacht. Additiona taps represent a variety of typical imports and a couple of the standard Coors and A-B choices. Then there are the bottle choices. I stuck with a couple of the winter seasonals, had a great calzone, and watched some playoff football.

(01/28/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So Good Good Good

Establishment: Bradley's Steakhouse and Brewery, Webster, TX

I've never had a full meal at Bradley's so I can't truly rate the restaurant. I visited again recently, a couple of years since my last visit. The beer selection was a bit limited, with a freshly tapped hefeweizen, a European style lager, a pale ale, and a porter available. I went with the porter and a generous chicken tenders and fries appetizer that was half price during happy hour. The porter was tasty enough and the chicken was quite good. Sometime I hope to actually go there and have a complete meal.

(01/28/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Good Good

Establishment: Jarre Creek Ranch Brewery, Castle Rock, CO

I stopped by Jarre Creek Ranch and had the sampler...five regular beers and a seasonal wheat beer (which seemed like an odd choice for winter in Colorado). The beers were decent but not overly outstanding. The pale ale and the porter, two brews that were not part of the original brewery in Sedalia were solid offerings. I did not order food, as I was off to meet some friends for dinner elsewhere. The restaurant is a newly constructed two-story building with lots of warm wood in the interior and stone both inside and out. The somewhat contemporary bar area is upstairs with the main restaurant and the brewing facility on the first floor. It is right off I-25 near the Castle Rock Factory Outlet Stores (same exit as Rockyard Brewing). I suggest visiting both brewpubs if you have the time and drawing your own conclusions.

(01/27/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Good Good

Establishment: Hops Restaurant and Brewery, Lone Tree, CO

This Hops is located just south of C-470 where it intersects I-25 in south suburban Denver. It is south of the Park Meadows Mall (Alcatraz Brewing Co.) and Rock Bottom Brewery location across from the mall. Wih all the great brewpub choices around Denver, I might not normally choose to stop at one of the several Hops locations in this area. However, I was curious to see how the seasonal stout was, that is being offered at Hops locations in northern states (the website says a nut brown ale is being offered at Hops locations in southern states). While not likely to be an award winner, the Lumberjack Oatmeal Stout was appropriately dark and drinkable. I had a pint and a tasty chicken salad for lunch and I was on my way.

(01/26/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A N/A Good

Establishment: Parker Station Grill and Brewery, Parker, CO

I stopped at this place only briefly on a late weekday afternoon, and I came away with mixed impressions as to what Parker Station is or wants to be. It is a nicely appointed restaurant in a new building complex in downtown Parker. I did not order food, but the menu looked solid with items ranging from sandwiches and pizzas to steaks and seafood. In effect Parker Station is an outpost of the Breckenridge Brewery. The taps represented a number of the Breckenridge brews, produced in their Denver location I presume. The small brewing facility in one corner of the restaurant produces one Parker Station brew called "Twenty Mile Red" and other special brews on occasion. Several of the patrons at the bar were drinking bottles of various mega-lagers, and I think there may have also been mega-brewer taps as well (can't remember for sure). There is a pool table or two on the far side of the restaurant, and I think they feature live entertainment at times as well. A serious pubcrawler man not want to go far out of his way to visit this place, but it seems to be a good recent addition to the town of Parker.

(01/26/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Red River, Woodbridge, VA

This location is now part of the Famous Dave's BBQ chain (www.famousdaves.com).

(01/15/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So Good Good Good

Establishment: Dostal Alley Brew Pub and Casino, Central City, CO

I have been to this place twice over the years, mainly just to sample the beer. Central City is a historic mining town, now a mountain town gambling destination, no more than a half hour's drive up Clear Creek Canyon from Golden. Dostal Alley occupies a old brick building on a corner in Central City's historic district. The brewpub occupies two levels with the main bar/restaurant on the main floor with a small bar and a slot machine area on a lower floor that opens to the back of the building. The brewing facilities are small and the selection somewhat limited, as I recall. My favorite of those I tried was a brown ale. The only food I had there was a pizza from a pizza kitchen on the lower floor by the slots. Dostal Alley is certainly not a "don't miss" stop on a Colorado pubcrawl, but Central City and its sister gambling town of Black Hawk make for an intriguing destination not far from Denver.

(01/09/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Woody's Wood Fired Pizza and Watering Hole, Golden, CO

Woody's is a popular spot with the students at Colorado School of Mines. Although this place sits in the shadow of the giant Coors brewery, Woody's has a nice variety of taps featuring a number of Colorado micros and imports. The pizza is quite good, and there is a separate room with pool tables and other diversions.

(12/14/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Houston Street Ale House, San Antonio, TX

This place is now called "Atlantis". I'll defer to the previous reviewer for comments regarding the change.

(11/26/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A N/A Great

Establishment: Saint Arnold Brewing Company, Houston, TX

The Saturday afternoon tour is still a great time. In addition to an entertaining "tour" and some wonderful free beer, there is often live music (you never know what kind) during the afternoon or other special things going on. During a recent tour, Brock mentioned that sales are up about 25% this year. The Fancy Lawnmower beer seems to be a big hit, and their seasonals never seem to last long on the shelves. The Christmas Ale is out now and is as tasty as ever. Check out Saint Arnold's newly redesigned website.

(11/19/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! N/A Great Great

Establishment: The Ginger Man, Houston, TX

One of the interesting things about enjoying a pint at the bar at a place like the Ginger Man is seeing what other people order when they come up to the bar. On my most recent visit to the Ginger Man, I was totally dismayed at three fellows who approached the bar and ordered two Bud Lights and a Miller Light. If that is their choice, why come to this place?! My faith was restored, however, when the next fellow who came up to the bar ordered two pints of Saint Arnold's Cask Conditioned Amber Ale for he and his friend.

(11/09/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! N/A Good Great

Establishment: Timber Wolf, Houston, TX

Huge tap selection, a nice deck out in front, and peanuts in the shell.

(11/09/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Oldenberg Brewery, Fort Mitchell, KY

This place is closed. The Oldenberg beers are reportedly being produced at Miami Trail Brewing in Xenia OH.

(11/04/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Trout Creek Brewing Company, Fairplay, CO

The Trout Creek brews are now being produced at the Oasis Brewery Anex in Boulder. They are available at the tasting room there and in bottles.

(11/02/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Red Oak Brew Pub, Greensboro, NC

This place is now called Red Oak Brewpub, instead of the former Spring Garden Brewing Co. Brewer and beers are the same.

(11/02/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Huey's Restaurant and Brewery, Houston, TX

This location now is home to a place called "Dixie's House of Creole".

(10/29/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Good Good

Establishment: Bitter End Bistro and Brewery, Austin, TX

I have had a beer or two at the Bitter End on several occasions while visiting Austin over the years, but I only had my first full dinner there last week. The menu is more on the upscale side of things for a brewpub, and even a bit inventive - this is not pub grub. Our meals were well prepared and presented, and our server was attentive without being obtrusive. I'm not going to get into a debate with the previous reviewer about the Bitter End's brews. I have always found them solid while not spectacular. Over the years I have sampled Scottish and Belgian style ales and other beers tending toward the darker side. On this most recent visit I had the seasonal Oktoberfest and the porter. Both were enjoyable, although I agree with the previous comment that the porter was a bit thin in body. With the Waterloo now closed (and I think the Copper Tank defunct as well), the Bitter End remains a decent place to get a beer and a bite in downtown Austin.

(10/29/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A N/A Good

Establishment: Jack Quinn's, Colorado Springs, CO

This is an Irish Pub in downtown Colorado Springs. It has a good selection of beer on tap and the appropriate pub atmosphere. I have not eaten here so I will leave the reviews of the food and service to others. Jack Quinn's proximity to Il Vicino (in the same block) and Phantom Canyon and Judge Baldwin's (a block or so away) makes it part of a nice downtown Colorado Springs pubcrawl.

(10/26/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Good Good

Establishment: Victoria Tavern, Salida , CO

"The Vic", as it is known among the locals, is an example of the classic saloon found in an old western mountain town. It occupies a street corner in downtown Salida in the historic Victoria Hotel, overlooking the Arkansas River. Here you will find a beautiful old wood bar and the original tin ceiling designed to deflect the sounds of the saloon from the guests staying in the hotel rooms above. The beer selection includes imports and a number of Colorado micros. My recomendation is to enjoy a pizza and a pint or two at Il Vincino, and then walk the few blocks to the Victoria.

(10/21/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good

Establishment: Mellow Mushroom, Chapel Hill, NC

One of a chain found in many college towns in the southeast. This location is east of the downtown area in a shopping complex. Taps include several from regional craft brewers like Highland and Carolina.

(10/21/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Good Good

Establishment: Victoria Tavern, Salida, CO

It has been a couple of years since I was at the Victoria Tavern, so I hope that others can offer a more current review in the near future. "The Vic", as it is known locally, resides in a historic hotel building on a corner in downtown Salida right near the river. It is one of those classic old western saloons with the wood bar and a tin covered ceiling (to deflect the sound away from the hotel rooms above). On my visit I found a fair variety of taps featuring Colorado microbrews as well as some imports and a few pouring beers from the big three. The tavern has many of the typical bar games and diversions and also features live music several nights a week. I'd recommend this as the place to go in Salida after you have had a pizza and a couple of pints at Il Vicino, which is just a few blocks away.

(10/08/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Old River Brewhouse, Madisonville, LA

This brewpub, a sister establishment of the Crescent City Brew House in New Orleans, has been closed for several years. It was a great location right on the Tchefuncte River. I don't know anything about the restaurant that occupies the building now.

(09/25/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Good Great

Establishment: McGonigal's Mucky Duck, Houston, TX

McGonigel's Mucky Duck is well regarded for its good pub food and fine beer selection, and is recognized as an excellent venue for live acoustic music. The McGonigel's website contains a copy of the food menu, including their highly recommended scotch eggs, and it showcases the many musicians scheduled to perform on their stage in upcoming weeks and months. I could not find any discussion of the Mucky Duck's beer selection on the website, so I thought I would say a little more about that here. There are close to 30 taps, dominated by UK and other imports. On this September visit, these included Fuller's ESB & Porter, MacEwans, Belhaven Scottish Ale, Whitbread, Young's Double Chocolate Stout, and more commonly found brands such as Harp, Guinness, Murphy's Stout, Newcastle, and Boddington's. German beers included oktoberfests from Spaten and Paulaner, and a Paulaner Hefe. American craft beers were also represented, including Fat Tire, Red Seal, Sierra Nevada Pale Ale, Abita Amber, Anchor Steam, Full Sail Pale Ale, and Sam Adams Octoberfest. The few remaining taps featured several ciders, a major brewer's light beer, and Texas' favorite Shiner Bock. A good place to enjoy a pint is on the patio. If you are just interested in beer and some pub fare, come early before the music crowd arrives later in the evening, when there is usually a cover charge.

(09/21/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Yellow Rose Brewing, San Antonio, TX

The Yellow Rose line of beers is now being produced in 12 oz bottle six packs by Great Grains Brewery in Dallas.

(09/17/2001)


Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ 4 ] [ 5 ] [ 6 ] [ 7 ] [ 8 ] [ 9 ] [ 10 ] [ 11 ] [ 12 ] [ 13 ] [ 14 ] [ ALL ]













(0.48 seconds) 06:19:16 54.167.185.110, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS