PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Reviews on PubCrawler from
Other Reviews by this User
 
July 28, 2014 @ 01:16 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.

Reviews By

Beer Reviews
(329)

Restaurant Reviews
(0)






no
user
photo

329
Beer Reviews from
   

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ 4 ] [ 5 ] [ 6 ] [ 7 ] [ 8 ] [ 9 ] [ 10 ] [ 11 ] [ 12 ] [ 13 ] [ 14 ] [ ALL ]
Average Rating
Beer Quality
Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great
Great Great Great Great

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great

Establishment: Onion Creek, Houston, TX

I made my first visit to Onion Creek last week. I can echo previous reviewer comments regarding the enjoyable atmosphere of the place, with a few comfortable couches and other seating on the inside and plenty of outdoor deck seating ideal for when the weather is good. I counted 24 taps, including a very good but not outstanding selection of craft beer and imports. There are plenty of bottle choices as well. The keg of Saint Arnold Oktoberfest was new that week, and it really hit the spot. I look forward to returning here again.

(09/14/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Hobbit Cafe, Houston, TX

Nestled under a large tree off of Richmond Avenue, the Hobbit Café serves patrons in small rooms and outdoor patio areas, with maps of Middle Earth and Lord of the Rings pictures adorning the walls. This casual restaurant features a selection of burgers, sandwiches named after characters from Tolkien’s books, and a range of vegetarian, grilled, and southwestern menu items. My fish tacos and my wife’s chicken enchiladas were both excellent. The beer offerings are not overly extensive but are well chosen, including quality beers representing a range of styles. At the time of our late August visit, the six tap selections included Saint Arnold Elissa IPA, two ales from Real Ale Brewery of Blanco, Full Sail Amber, Pyramid Hefeweizen, and one of the fine ales from Quebec’s Unibroue. The bottle choices include other craft beers, such as offerings from Left Hand and Great Divide, and a good variety of imports including some interesting Belgian choices. Although this was just my first visit, I highly recommend the Hobbit for good food, great beer, a comfortable atmosphere, and friendly service.

(09/04/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A N/A Good

Establishment: Rams Head Tavern, Savage, MD

On July 1, I was part of a group that spent a little time at the Rams Head prior to a wedding reception in an adjacent facility at the Savage Mill complex. We all just had a beer or two each, so my comments will focus on the beer and the overall feel of the place. Draft beers include the Fordham Brewing Company beers and a variety of other choices. Several of us liked the Fordham Tavern Ale, an American-style pale ale with nice hops. Both the Fordham Copperhead Ale (light in body for an alt) and the Fordham Oyster Stout were considered to be underachievers for their styles. The Fordham Lager and the seasonal maibock were also sampled, but I did not hear significant comments on either of those. The tap selection includes a range of imports and other craft brews. This is a large place with a restaurant on the top floor, a middle floor with more of a pub atmosphere and a bar area, and a lower rathskeller area with its own separate bar. There is also a large outdoor deck. Note that the all the draft selections are not the same at both bars. For example, the rathskeller had Resurrection ale from Brewer’s Art, which was not available at the bar on the main floor.

(07/22/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Great Great

Establishment: Revere Tavern, Paradise, PA

This historic tavern is not your typical pubcrawler place. Built in 1740, this was a renowned stage coach stop between Philadelphia and Lancaster. Its storied history includes chapters related to President James Buchanan, and fabled song writer Stephen Foster. Diners gather in rooms with names like the “King George Room” and the “William Penn Room”, each with a working fireplace. The bar has its own room. The menu is upscale but not overly pretentious. We enjoyed our dinners (scallops for her, veal for me), and I was especially pleased to be able to quaff a couple of pints of Troegs Nut Brown (my favorite beer style, but first time for this brew), and even keep a souvenir Revere Tavern pint glass. They show their respect for good beer in that four of the five available drafts were quality choices - Troegs Nut Brown, Lancaster Strawberry Wheat, Hoegaarden, and Spaten Lager. Something with more hops would have been nice to see as well - perhaps there was something of that nature available in the bottle. Once I saw the Troegs Nut Brown, I was not motivated to inquire about bottle choices. This is a great place for dinner if staying in Lancaster County.

(07/12/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Appalachian Brewing Company, Harrisburg, PA

I had been here once before in the fall of 2000. My wife and I stopped here for dinner near the end of our rainy week in Pennsylvania, on the day the Susquehanna River crested and began to recede. There was a pretty good selection of beers to choose from. I started with a pint of the Celtic Irish Red, then enjoyed the Rockville Rye, and finished up with the Jolly Scott Scotch Ale. My wife opted for the more traditional Mountain Lager. No complaints on the food – my pasta dish was generous indeed, as our server had warned me. Several bottled selections are available for carry out.

(07/12/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good

Establishment: Bube's Brewery, Mount Joy, PA

This is a rather amazing place. We took the tour through the hisoric brewery building - catacombs, upstairs, etc. We ate in the Bottling Works section of the place. A lot of folks that evening were in the adjacent Biergarten. I was disappointed that there were only two house beers available at the time of our visit – kolsch and hefeweizen. Both were fairly good – the hefe was the cloudiest of this style that I have ever seen. The server says they go through a batch of the hefe about twice as fast as their other beer styles. I finished up with a Troegs Troegenator, one of several decent guest taps. We had a couple of pretty good sandwiches – mine was the Reuben. Stepping back into a fascinating example of American brewing history is the primary reason to visit Bube’s, but the beer and food should not leave you overly disappointed.

(07/12/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Lancaster Brewing Company, Lancaster, PA

My nephew has raved about this place for years, so I was happy that it fell along our Pennsylvania vacation route during the last week in June. Our dinners were quite good and service was attentive. I’d had the Amish Four Grain Pale Ale before in bottles, so I went with a pint of Franklinfest Vienna-style lager, then the Hop Hog IPA, and finally Milk Stout. All were solid beers, although the Hop Hog was not the best IPA I had on this trip. The Milk Stout, my nephew’s favorite, was a great finish to the meal. My wife and also a fellow at the next table enjoyed the Strawberry Wheat. Diners sit in full view of the fermenters, and our table was right next to the elevator used to bring kegs up from the lower level of the brewery.

(07/11/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Victory Brewing Company, Downingtown, PA

My wife and I had a couple of tasty pizzas and some beers at Victory on a rainy Sunday evening in late June. We get some of the bottled Victory beers in Texas, so I opted for ones I could not get at home. I started with Uncle Teddy’s Bitter on cask, then had a pint of the big and malty St. Boisterous Hellerbock, and finished up with the robust Storm King Stout. The cask ale was good, but did not quite compare with the Saint Arnold Amber on cask (same style of ale) that we get in Texas. The pale bock was quite nice, and the stout was a great choice at the end of the visit. My wife had the Victor Lager and the Throwback Lager, and preferred the former. It was a busy place with a lot of families there for dinner. We were too late in the day to check out the company store.

(07/10/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good

Establishment: General Lafayette Inn and Brewery, Lafayette Hill, PA

We stopped here for the Sunday brunch during that rainy week late in June. We were seated upstairs due to a private party on the first level. I had the beer sampler with our meal – blonde ale, raspberry mead, sunset red, pale ale, framboise and another that I don’t remember - six of the eight or so beers available. The brunch buffet was pretty good, set up in a first floor room next to the bar.

(07/10/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Great Great

Establishment: Moriarty's, Philadelphia, PA

This was the only place we visited twice during our two evenings in Philadelphia. My wife and I really liked the feel of this pub, although we never ate here. Our first visit was walking back to our hotel from Independence Park on a Friday afternoon. I had the Philadelphia Pale Ale from Yards and my wife enjoyed the summer seasonal from Flying Fish. On our second visit on Saturday evening, we found a couple of spots at the end of the bar. I had a Yards IPA and then finished with a properly served Leffe Brune (both were superb on draught!) Overall, there were about 25 taps with a very fine selection of regional craft beers (plus Dale’s Pale Ale from Oskar Blues) and imports. The inside is nicely appointed with dark wood, lots of beer signs, and Play Bills from the stage productions of the nearby theater. We enjoyed talking beer with some of the staff as they came by the end of the bar to pick up drink orders. Moriarty’s is definitely worth a visit.

(07/08/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A N/A Great

Establishment: McGillin's Olde Ale House, Philadelphia, PA

Cool place - we just had a beer here on a rainy Saturday evening after enjoying dinner at Monk’s. We saw the transition toward a younger crowd while we were there. I had the Stoudt’s Abbey Triple and my wife had a Troegs Sunshine Pils. The draft beer choices included beers from several regional craft brewers (but no Yards at this time) and a handful of imports, but seemed to underachieve on overall style variety – a few too many golden lagers and summer wheat beers for me. I’m sure I would have liked the draft choices better if I had visited when fall and winter seasonal beers were on tap.

(07/08/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome!

Establishment: Monk's Cafe, Philadelphia, PA

I started off with the Monk’s Café Flemish Sour Red Ale on draught, and then enjoyed a bottle of Abbaye du Val-Dieu Brown Ale. For dinner I had a wonderful Belgian-inspired rabbit dish, with the meat braised in Cantillon gueze. My wife had the steak frites salad, and like several previous reviewers, she loved the frites. We got to Monk’s early on a Saturday evening and watched the place get really crowded by the time we left. Our service was attentive and more than satisfactory. A great experience overall.

(07/08/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good

Establishment: Independence Brew Pub, Philadelphia, PA

I did the sampler - kolsch, summer ale, amber or red ale, IPA, & oatmeal stout, and then settled on a pint of the IPA. The beers were respectable and true to style but not outstanding, our dinners were pretty good, and the service was adequate. Compared to the ambiance of other Philadelphia pubs in old historic buildings, the big rather contemporary feel of this place comes up a bit lacking. Independence Brewpub has a great logo featuring an image of Ben Franklin, but misses the mark on its logo merchandise – T-shirts and pint glasses have only a one-color version of the logo, caps and other items don’t even feature the logo. I took a pass on any such items.

(07/08/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Good Great

Establishment: Nodding Head Brewery and Restaurant, Philadelphia, PA

We stopped here for a beer and an appetizer on a busy Friday evening. I enjoyed a pint of Grog, their award-winning brown ale. My wife was less impressed with the light lager flavored with lemongrass and ginger called Monkey Knife Fight. My ‘great’ rating for beer selection, is not because of the shear number of choices, but acknowledges the interesting variety within the number they offer. In hindsight, I wish we had also sampled their medal-winning Berliner Weisse, to compare to the real thing that we had in Berlin last year. Our chicken wings were pretty good – big full wings. Nice collection of bobbleheads in a display case near the bar.

(07/08/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great

Establishment: John Harvard's Brew House, Springfield, PA

I did the sampler – summer, pils, amber, IPA, brown ale, and stout. I thought the IPA was really quite excellent. We had a nice dinner with attentive service from our server Stacy (not very busy on a Thursday evening). The "Backwoods Louisiana Smothered Fried Chicken" was very good, although nothing like I ever saw during my years living in Louisiana.

(07/08/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good

Establishment: McKenzie Brew House, Glen Mills, PA

This was our first beer stop on a week-long visit to southeastern Pennsylvania. My wife and I each had a pint (mine was a reasonably good brown ale) and a quesadilla appetizer, after visiting the Wyeth museum and sampling wines at the nearby Chadds Ford winery. This was a busy, noisy place on a late Thursday afternoon.

(07/08/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: McKenzie River Partners, San Francisco, CA

This was a contract company only, which has sold its brands to Miller.

(07/04/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Onopa Brewing Company, Milwaukee, WI

This place has been remodeled and reopened under a new name - Stonefly Brewing Company. There is a separate listing under the new name.

(05/07/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Good Good

Establishment: Lengthwise Brewing Company, Bakersfield, CA

While in Bakersfield last week, several colleagues and I stopped for some beers at Lengthwise. Two of us got the sampler that consisted of seven beers. We agreed the first three beers, the golden ale, the wheat ale, and the raspberry wheat, were descent but did not overly impress (just too light in taste for us). The Triple Hop Red Ale was more complex with a nice malt-hop balance. The Centennial Ale was a superbly done IPA that we both thought was the best of the bunch. On the darker side, we enjoyed a fairly solid porter and the current seasonal offering, a malty Scottish ale. We just had a couple of ordinary appetizers, so I’ll leave the food assessment to other reviewers. After returning home I saw that the Centennial Ale was just awarded a silver medal in the English-style India Pale Ale category at the 2006 World Beer Cup in April (see the list of winners at www.beertown.org). No wonder we liked that beer the best!

(05/05/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Great Great

Establishment: Blackstone Restaurant and Brewery, Nashville, TN

I had popped into this brewpub once or twice before, but this was my first visit to sit down for a meal and really consider the beers. I ordered the six beer sampler, and I found all the beers to be quite drinkable. They were all generally true to style except for the nut brown ale, which was very dark with some porter-like coffee notes (unlike the contract-brewed Blackstone Nut Brown Ale that I tasted recently). The other beers: Chaser Pale – a typical kolsch, Red Springs Ale – an amber, Maris Otter – a British-style pale ale, St. Charles Porter – a dark brown ale with the body and flavor notes expected for this style, and a “Brewmaster’s Special” American Pale Ale. The Red Springs, Maris Otter, and American Pale Ale, although different, were similar enough to lessen the overall impact of a six beer sampler. Kudos for the sampler guide however, which contained some of the best info that I can recall for a sampler mat, including info on the beer style, the ingredients used, the gravity and the IBUs. Our lunch entrees, a Rueben sandwich and a salad topped with grilled tuna, were good, and our server Kyle was friendly and efficient. I noticed a cask conditioned ale mentioned on the chalk board as we were leaving – I might look for that next time.

(04/23/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Good Good

Establishment: Pub 261, Pelham, AL

My visit to this pub was a relatively brief one late on a Thursday night. I will avoid any commentary and just report what I observed. There are approximately 30 taps, dominated by American megalagers (mostly pale but also including a few amber lagers such as Shiner Bock, Yuengling, Sam Adams, and Killian’s). There were also a number of unsurprising imported pale lagers. True American craft beers that I noticed on draft seemed to be limited to Bridgeport IPA, Sweetwater 420, and Abita Purple Haze. There were also a few typical imported ales – Guinness, Bass, Newcastle, Hoegaarden, along with perhaps one or two German hefeweizens. There is a stage for live music and karaoke that is so close to the bar that I had to shout my beer request to the bartender. There is also a separate room with pool tables and a few arcade games. For a more thorough look at the beer list, including the bottle choices, take a look at the pub’s website.

(04/23/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Great Great

Establishment: Hofbrauhaus Newport, Newport, KY

Last Sunday I stopped for a quick lunch at this place, several years after my initial visit. For what it tries to be, I think the Hofbrauhaus does a pretty good job in terms of beer, food, and environment. The lady tending bar said that all the draft beer they serve is produced onsite (not the case when they opened as I recall, when some beer was being shipped from Germany). The menu shows four full-time beers (lager, weizen, light, and dunkel) and a different seasonal each month, all presumably traditional German recipes. Their March seasonal, a marzen, only lasted about half the month, so they were offering as a substitute an unfiltered zwickelbier based on the Hofbrau Premium Lager recipe. I started with the slightly sweet-tasting zwickelbier and then switched to the Hofbrau Dunkel, a tasty dark lager. I had a wurst platter with three kinds of sausage along with potatoes and kraut, and listened to the oompah band with a moderate-sized early afternoon crowd. I'd stop here again.

(03/30/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great

Establishment: The Chimes Restaurant and Tap Room, Baton Rouge, LA

Several of the previous reviews have pegged the tap selection fairly well – five Abita taps, a few other nationally available craft beers, and a decent variety of imports with few surprises. There are some pretty good choices among the bottle selection as well. The beer variety is shown on the website. I had a large bottle of a seasonal Christmas ale from England on our recent visit, which was our first trip back to the Chimes in a number of years. And as others have said, the food is quite good. We only had a light lunch on this visit, and found the gumbo and the corn & shrimp chowder to be excellent. We were fortunate with our timing, arriving early in the afternoon on a Saturday not long before the crowd from the 11:00 AM LSU women’s basketball game invaded the place. We were done and on the road in reasonable time. The Chimes is worth a stop.

(01/12/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Great Great

Establishment: Mellow Mushroom, Nashville, TN

I’m finally getting around to posting a review for a visit my wife and I made to the Nashville Mellow Mushroom back on August 31, just after Hurricane Katrina had hit the Gulf Coast and moved north, and at a time when Pubcrawler was down . This location is one of the larger Mellow Mushrooms that I have seen, with several areas of indoor seating, a good size bar, and an outdoor seating area where we found a table. Among the beer highlights here were two or three taps pouring beers from Nashville’s Yazoo Brewing Company. I enjoyed a pint of Yazoo’s Dos Perros, a dark, malty brew similar to a German-style altbier, along with a pretty good hoagie. This place is near Vanderbilt University and parking can be tough in this area.

(11/20/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Ceili's Irish Pub and Restaurant, Calgary, AB

Last month when I was in Calgary for a convention I attended a private, service company sponsored party on one of this pub’s rooftop patios. I can’t give this pub a full review, since we had a limited range of finger food appetizers (which were decent but not outstanding, and because my sense was that the beers on draft at both of the rooftop patio bars may not have been as extensive as what can be found on the main floors of the pub. But I saw enough of this large downtown Irish pub to believe that it seemingly deserves a listing in Pubcrawler. I will let other reviewers take it from here…

(07/14/2005)


Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ 4 ] [ 5 ] [ 6 ] [ 7 ] [ 8 ] [ 9 ] [ 10 ] [ 11 ] [ 12 ] [ 13 ] [ 14 ] [ ALL ]













(0.219 seconds) 01:16:17 54.80.100.90, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS