PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Reviews on PubCrawler from
Other Reviews by this User
 
September 30, 2014 @ 11:11 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.

Reviews By

Beer Reviews
(148)

Restaurant Reviews
(0)






no
user
photo

148
Beer Reviews from
   

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ 4 ] [ 5 ] [ 6 ] [ ALL ]
Average Rating
Beer Quality
Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great
Great Great Great Great

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great

Establishment: John Harvard's Brew House, Cambridge, MA

Located off Harvard Square, John Harvard can be found below street level in a dark cavernous location that is a cross between the student union and a British pub. Usually offering at least 5 taps (at least during my recent visit) representative of most styles, such as a decent Pale Ale, a tasty and hearty Brown Ale and a deliciously hoppy (IBU 59) IPA. Great burgers and attentive service make this a worthwhile stop when in the Republic of Cambridge.

(05/14/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Duda's Tavern, Baltimore , MD

A famous Fells Point watering hole that defies a definitive describtion - although dive/sports bar with a combination of your grandfater's garage might fit. In any case, a comfortable corner bar (across the street from DuClaws (see my review)) that offers a decent selection of local micros along with very good wings. An atmospheric tavern for locals, though everyone is welcome. No FP pubcrawl could be completed without a stop at Dudas' Tavern.

(05/07/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Blind Tiger Ale House, New York, NY

Not a review but to report that Blind Tiger will soon rise again at the corner of Bleeker & Jones. (May 2006?)

(05/07/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Good So So

Establishment: Ale Mary's, Baltimore, MD

Either I misread the previous reviews ... or just came in on the wrong night, Ale Mary's, while having a decent selection, comes off as a crowded college bar crammed with drunken Bud drinkers trying to pick up women, when the latter's faces aren't stuck to a cell phone. Not a place I could honestly recommend to anyone seeking a place to relax and quaff a few ales - at least not if you're over 30 years old. (And especially if you have little time in Fells Point) Think of $1.00 Blatz night at the student union and ... well. Enjoy yourself and go to Wharf Rat, Max's or DuClaw's.

(04/29/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Great Awesome!

Establishment: Wharf Rat At Fells Point, Fells Point/Baltimore, MD

Wharf Rat is the definitive "waterfront tavern" even if it is a few blocks from the water - in fact it's a short stumble from John Stevens (see my review) and around the corner from the beloved Max's (see that review also). The Rat offers a veddy fine selection of Oliver's British ales and some good lagers, including several casks of the former. They range from Manchester Cream Ale (think Boddington's), a smooth pour stout, a bitter and an Old English Ale (think Old Peculiar) all served in room temperature in a bloody imperial pint glass. And ... if this isn't enough, the prices are very reasonable. Note: the Men's Room is literally at the end of the bar. A must for pubcralwers in the Baltimore/Fells Point area. There is another branch near the Inner Harbor across from Camden Yards, though to be avoided on game day when Bud drinkers are about mourning the loss of another O's game.

(04/29/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good So So Good

Establishment: Cambridge Brewing Company, Incorporated, Cambridge, MA

Located in Kendall Square, which appears to have once been an industrial area, CBC serves quaffably average beer - of course, this being the Boston area, one has many other choices - see my other reviews; however, I was visiting and thought to give it a try. As noted in previous reviews, this is not a very large establishment, but it is airy and well-lit with a heavy "former warehouse" decour (deliberate?) The large number of nerds and eggheads typing away on their laptops atop the bar must say something (in the square root) about nightlife in the MIT area. Say fellows, I don't drink in your office, so please don't work at my bar. The service was spotty, but I was in no hurry. The food, though very good, goes a tad beyond pub grub (Venison salsa! C'mon!) CBC did offer the gamut of beer styles (7-8) including a cask ESB, albeit a poor one. Others tried by moi: Cambridge Amber, Tall Tale Pale Ale (nice and hoppy with a crisp finish), and a great porter (Charles River). Check out the Yoda gargoyle above the bar - no doubt staring down among the adult virgins. If pubcrawling in Boston, stop by.

(04/29/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Great Great

Establishment: John Steven Limited, Fells Point/Baltimore, MD

As good as any place to begin a Fells Point pub crawl. Located on the Ann Street Wharf John Stevens looks like it might have looked 100 years ago. An historical tavern with a small dining area off a well-worn bar under an impressive ceiling of pressed tin, John Stevens, named after a teddy bear for some reason, provides pubcrawlers with an opportunity to fill up with delicious crab soup and a filling muffaleta before stumbling out into the cobbled streets of this wonderful old port. The beers were primarily local micros like Tupper's Hop Pocket and Yuengling Porter (on draft - a first for me having never found this one on tap anywhere ever). Unfortunately, they were out of several choices, so ordering your favorite beer might turn out to be a crap shoot. (But still ... Yuengling Porter on tap.) BTW, the hulking building you see as you leave was once home to Frank Pemberton, et.al of the late, and very lamented "Homicide" TV show, which was filmed in and around the area.

(04/02/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Great Great

Establishment: R.F.D. (Regional Food and Drink), Washington, DC

Under the ownership of Dave Alexander (of Brickskeller fame), RFD has the largest tap selection in DC, along with a very decent bottle selection. Having a rough begining service-wise, RFD has shown a remarkable improvement - particularly in knowledgable servers. They also have frequent beer-related events, such as tastings, etc. On my recent visit, I slaked my thirst with the following: North Coast's Rasputin Imperial Stout, Brooklyn Brown, Sussex Best Bitter (cask), Rogue Dead Guy, Flag Porter, Pinkus Munster Alt (bottle) and [drumroll, please]...Leffe Brown, which I have never seen on draught on this side of the Atlantic - outside of Gingerman NYC. The one downside is RFD's sports bar atmosphere, but it is up the street from the Verizon Center (FKA MCI Center), so such imperfections must be allowed. Worth a stop when in DC (I mean ... let's face it, DC is not what one would call a beer mecca. Without RFD, Brickskeller, Big Hunt or Dremo's (Arlington), I would be taking a lot more trips to Fells Point. (See my reviews for this area under "Baltimore.") Happy drinking!

(04/02/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Great Great

Establishment: Cornwall's, Boston, MA

A veddy British pub. Apparently some British decided to stay in Boston and make a go of it. (For those Bud drinkers who may be reading this: Boston was once ruled by the British). Cornwall's is roomy and dark with a cresecent-shaped bar and an excellent selection of UK beers on tap (My adventures included Fuller's, Tetley's Old Speckled Hen and Belhaven's. Also available is McEwan's and Old Peculiar, the latter being in bottles. Cornwall's puts out a hearty bangers and mash (Which for you Bud drinkers is sausages and mashed potatoes and not a sexual act while watching Alan Alda.) Cornwall's is right next to the Kenmore Square T stop (Green Line B,C or D). Cheers!

(04/02/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Good Great Great

Establishment: Bukowski's Tavern, Boston, MA

Bukowski's Tavern is the definitive "hole-in-the-wall" working class tavern. It has some historical significance given the parking garage apparently built around it (as opposed to just demolitioning it); one can understand this. Consisting of a dark, well-worn bar opposite several small windows overlooking I90, this tavern offers an excellent selection of beer (tap and bottle), including Otter Creek Stovepipe Porter and Fuller's. They also serve a pretty decent burger. In any case, a must-stop when in Boston. There is a newer location at Inman Square in Cambridge (though I did not visit, so I cannot review). Incidentally, Bukowski's is a cash only experience, or as the menu reads: "In God We Trust, Cash Only." (I think they meant to say: In God We Trust. All Others Pay In Cash.) But I digress....

(04/02/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Growlers was Summit Station Restaurant and Brewery, Gaithersburg, MD

Not a review, but to inform Pubcrawler that Summit Station is being sold - though I have heard nothing about a possible closing.

(03/13/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Gaslight Brewery and Restaurant, South Orange, NJ

Having a friend in the area allows me the opportunity to visit this always-reliable brewpub. Although I have made only 8 visits, including my most recent, the beers, food, service as always been beyond approach (the decor could use a little update, but pubcrawlers rarely venture into an establishment for reasons of asthetics (spelling?). On my last stop, I enjoyed: Prince of Darkness, a malty scotch ale, their seasonal Satan Claws, which weighs in at a potent 8% (kids, don't try this at home), a guest Cask ESB from Flying Fish and a sampling of the Governator, a marzen. GLB also offers a decent bottle selection and several tapping events throughout the year. To anyone visiting NYC, and not familiar with the area, Gaslight is accessible by NJ Transit, the South Orange station being located a 5 minute walk. FYI: they have an excellent german menu (iff you vant zuch tings.) Auf Wiedersehen!

(01/28/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Great Great

Establishment: Appalachian Brewing Company, Harrisburg, PA

ABC consists of a large warehouse-type dining room, with brewery on the right side (behind glass), and a smaller L-shaped bar area in the far corner; there is also a Belgian bar downstairs (it opens at 5pm). During my visit (last week), I enjoyed a cask version of their "Jolly Scot" Scotch Ale - with a strong hit of bourbon, and a very hoppy little number called "Hoppy Trails." ABC also offers 6-packs and growlers to go. Great food, efficient service and a worthwhile stop when, and if, you are swinging through Harrisburg.

(01/05/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Good Great

Establishment: Bridgeport Ale House, Portland, OR

With the original location closed until February 2006, this remains the only Bridgeport establishment in operation. It offers a great selection of Bridgeport ales (6 taps/3 casks) served in a modern, open and well-lit bar area. During my sojourn, I enjoyed their mild Blue Heron Pale Ale, an ESB on cask and an excellent IPA, a delicious cask served at the correct temperature. BAH is also convenient (20-minute walk) from the Horse Brass Pub (see my review).

(12/28/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Awesome!

Establishment: Rose and Raindrop, Portland, OR

An intriguing step back into time, in the case of the R&R, the Age of Queen Victoria. A very unique setting to enjoy some excellent NW micros (30 taps), such as: Rougue's " John Locke's Fresh Hop" and the very hoppy "Homo Erectus Imperial IPA." R&R is located in the historical Barber Block, which dates from the 1890s. Definitely worth checking out when wandering this neighborhood - incidentally, it's a short walk from the Lucky Labrador. Anyone familiar with the Portland transit system could also include the nearby Horse Brass and Bridgeport Ale House (see my reviews). The Rose and Raindrop is a perfect combination of comfortable atmosphere, good food, great service and some really wonderful brews.

(12/28/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Awesome!

Establishment: Horse Brass Pub, Portland, OR

A ten-minute bus ride (No. 15) brings you to the front door of this well-known beer bar, one of the best ever visited by me. You walk in and step into an English country pub, heavy wooded beams, uneven wooden floors, wobbly yet sturdy tables amid several dark rambling rooms. Charles Dickens would feel at home here. Any visit to the Horse Brass and something will surely turn up (to quote Mr. Micawber, who would also feel at home.)Every inch is covered with beer paraphanalia. The beer is selected with care and kept fresh, with rotating taps covering a myriad of styles and tastes. The menu features the traditional English breakfast and includes a very filling Bangers and Mash complete with requisite peas. Of course, cask-conditioned drafts are ready for tasting. (They offer about 40 taps total). So many beers and so little time; I had Blue Dot IPA from Portland's own Hair of the Dog Brewing Company, Mongoose IPA (Hale's - Seattle, WA), the always delicious Black Butte Porter (Deschutes Brewing Company) and - for the first time I saw it in the US, Bombadier Ale (Charles Wells), which was about as close to Theakston's Old Peculiar (and heaven) as one can get. This is one of the true beer meccas - and a must visit at least once. It deserves the rating of "Awesome."

(12/25/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Great Great

Establishment: Alameda Brewing Company, Portland, OR

Alameda Brewhouse is in a large warehouse-type space set up with a small bar area, several brewing tanks placed in a corner, and several tables, including a line set along the large windows looking out onto NE Fremont. Though located some distance from the downtown core - it's actually closer to the airport, it can be reached via Portland's excellent public transit system (Bus 33 goes right past the door.) I don't know what the previous pubcrawler did, but my service was fast and efficient. During my visit, I tasted: Klickitat Pale Ale, Turk's ESB and a nitro-pour stout, Black Bear XXX. I enjoyed my visit; twas a comfortable and relaxing beerhall that is well worth the trip. Two beer-covered thumbs up!

(12/25/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great

Establishment: McMenamins White Eagle Saloon, Portland, OR

This historic old tavern, another member of the McMenamin family, also serves as a music venue and a hotel. The tavern, really a funky saloon reminiscent of a Jack London story, is dominated by a long bar stretching along one side all the way to the back, where one can find the stage for the abovementioned music venue. Like all McMs, the White Eagle offers the same beers - I tried the "Black Rabbit" porter while here. If you're on a pubcrawl, this place is about a 2-minute walk (or stumble) from Widmers (see my review for that wonderful place). The White Eagle is interesting for the ambience and the local color.

(12/20/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Good Great

Establishment: Widmer Brothers Brewing Company, Portland, OR

One of the country's better micros - they have a national distribution; of course, this fact should'nt prevent any Pubcrawler from making the trip. Widmers is situated in an industrial looking area, but is accessible by MAX Light Rail (Yellow Line-Albina/Mississipi Station, which is about 2 or 3 blocks away - in fact, the MAX runs past the door). The small bar area is rather cramped and noisy, what with PDXers yammering on their cells all the live long day. The menu is heavy on sausages -very good and hearty. Widmers runs the gamut of styles, offering 8-9 taps to quench one's thirst (including nitro). Here is what I tried: Drop Top Amber, an Alt, IPA and the (nitro) Brown Ale, the latter being served to cold for my personal taste. Great Happy Hour prices and pretty pleasing ambience, makes Widmers worth the trip to Portland, AKA Beervana.

(12/18/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great

Establishment: McMenamins Blue Moon Tavern and Grill, Portland, OR

As noted below, McM is a local chain of micro offering the same (very good) beers in the Pacific NW - they have several pubs in Seattle, as well. During my recent visit in November, they had a "Sleepy Hollow Nut Brown," which was the current seasonal. They have other styles (see my other McMenamins reviews for Portland). This location is in the Nob Hill area of the city; it is a comfortable lounge/pool hall hybrid with a laidback, homey ambience and a small bar area way in the back. (Speaking of "homey," Portland is home to Simpsons creator Matt Groening, who named several characters after streets in this neighborhood, i.e. Rogues Ale House is located on Flanders Street; one can also find Lovejoy, Quimby and Kearny streets - pubcrawling is so educational.) And speaking of names: The Blue Moon is named after Carl "Blue Moon" Jenkins, a one-armed sea captain.

(12/16/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Rogue Ales Public House, Portland, OR

A must-see (or must drink-at?) when in Portland. This is an interesting establishment crammed with Rogue merchandise and paraphanalia; its restrooms labeled "Hops" (Men) and "Barley" (Women) Why? Don't know. Besides distilling their own rum, they have 20 Rogue products on tap and delicious Kobe beef burgers on the menu. If you are not driving - or not inclined to seek a parking spot in this trendy district, I suggest taking the Portland Streetcar as it runs right by. Here are the beers I tried: St. Rogue Red (abv44), American Amber (ibu 53) and a scrumptiously hoppy imperial IPA (ibu 75!)served in a special glass. Go to Rogue ...today!

(12/12/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So N/A Great Good

Establishment: Flanagan's Harp and Fiddle, Bethesda, MD

This is a brand new place (14 weeks old as of the review date)around the corner from Rock Bottom (see my review above). Harp and Fiddle offers the usual suspects (Guinness, Smithwick's, Stella Artois) and is festooned with the mandatory Irish pub paraphanalia: old "Guinness Is Good" ads, pictures of the Old Sod and, of course, portraits of JFK. The profuse number of blaring TVs makes this establishment more sports bar than Irish pub. Of course, the staff does have a bit of the wee brogue.

(12/08/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great N/A Great Good

Establishment: Rock Bottom Brewery, Portland, OR

Your typical RB: spacious, with many blaring TVs, offering 7 styles of decent beers (I tried their Sunny Day IPA and Multinomah Porter). This is right in the middle of downtown (the light rail passes in front); the service was attentive. FYI: each RB location has its' own brewer, so the quality will always differ. But, hey ... this is Portland, the Mecca of Microbrew.

(12/08/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great N/A Great Great

Establishment: Tugboat Brewing Company, Portland, OR

Tugboat,located in a street that seems like an afterthought (or an alley) is a very small (3 barrel capacity) brewpub offering a half-dozen house beers (I tasted their Pale Ale, ESB and Porter) and a good selection of guest taps, including Frankenheim Alt. In addition, they offer a decent tex-mex menu, the food looked to be freshly made on premises. A popular, friendly place for locals and visitors, Tugboat is one of those comfortable places that are without any semblance of pretention; only very cheap beer and food (Cash Only.)

(11/23/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Great Great

Establishment: Henry's 12th Street Tavern, Portland, OR

This establishment can be found in the old Blitz-Weinhardt Brewery Block, which is about 2 blocks up the street from Powell's Bookstore. It offers a very large two-level dining area and a smaller bar/lounge area, the latter having a very good happy hour deal on food. However the only reason for any Pubcrawler to stop by is to experience the extensive, well-organized draught beer listing (100, or so). I stopped by on Wednesday (4-6pm) and tried the following: Terminal Gravity IPA/Breakfast Porter(brewery located in Enterprise, OR), Mt. Hood Ice Axe IPA and Caldera Dry Hop Orange Pale Ale (brewery in Ashland, OR). The bar area was still rather packed for this period. Enjoying a visitation at Henry's will depend on the time of day - much like Gingerman in NYC, I would probably avoid it on weekends. Definitely worth a visit when in Portland, America's Microbrew Mecca.

(11/23/2005)


Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ 4 ] [ 5 ] [ 6 ] [ ALL ]













(0.073 seconds) 11:11:53 54.234.244.98, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS