PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Reviews on PubCrawler from
Other Reviews by this User
 
July 31, 2014 @ 04:44 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.

Reviews By

Beer Reviews
(148)

Restaurant Reviews
(0)






no
user
photo

148
Beer Reviews from
   

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ 4 ] [ 5 ] [ 6 ] [ ALL ]
Average Rating
Beer Quality
Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great
Great Great Great Great

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Good Good

Establishment: Elephant and Castle, Washington , DC

Looking at these recent reviews served to remind me that I visited this place in May and never entered my notes for E&C (My apologies for the late - yet honest review) Here goes: E&C is a Canadian chains of faux British pubs. I have visited several of their locations (Chicago, Philadelphia & Seattle, the latter of which I have a posted review); they are basically the same though do offer local micros dependent on the region of location, for example, this location, in addition to the aforementioned Fuller, offers 23 taps that include Old Dominion Hop Pocket and Allagash (Maine). This E&C sits in the middle of the DC Tourist Jungle on Pennsylvania Avenue. I am gratified for the fact that it does offer Fuller's, one of my personal favorites. Hope this helps....Cheers!

(11/04/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Great Awesome!

Establishment: Max's on Broadway, Fells Point/Baltimore, MD

I'm back, because I went back ...to Max's that is. Here is some of the current taps (those I tried): Rogue Schwartzbier (ABV 6.0), Blue Ridge Hopfest (ABV 6.2), and Whitemarsh Gunpoint Pale Ale on cask. BTW, Max's has an outstanding bottle selection, one that includes the magically delicious Three Floyds Alpha King. I am unable to stay away from here. Help! Please!

(10/23/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Great Good

Establishment: Union Jack's British Pub, Bethesda, MD

This is a new establishment located around the corner from Rock Bottom (see my review)in a below street level setting. It is more of a sports bar/pool hall than a pub - there is absolutely no resemblance to a British pub. However, they do have Fullers ESB and that's a good thing. The bar area is rather large and offers the ubiquitous TV with [Fill in] game ablaring amid an unfinished looking room. Anyway, it's a new place and worth checking out if you have a need to be in Bethesda - and who doesn't every now and then? You can't go wrong on any street named after the patron saint of sailors.

(10/23/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Good Good

Establishment: Rock Bottom Brewery, Bethesda, MD

As we all know by now, RB is a national chain, each franchise having its' own brewer. At Bethesda RB is Geoff Lively, who has always brewed some good quaffs (for any Bud drinker who may have stumbled upon this site, "quaff" means to leisurly drink with pleasure.) Currently on tap, Geoff has his seasonal ESB (extra scary beer - though not as scary as Blatz Lite), which is also offered on cask - this was delicious. To really enjoy this place, one must pretend it is not located in one of DCs' most pretentious DC suburbs: home of folks named Kyle, Kelli and Kandi, and enjoy the beer and food, of which their pizza is great (IMHO, of course). If the fermenting tank is to be believed, and who distrusts that, Geoff's next seasonal is an IPA. BTW, RB Bethesda offers great tapping events for Mug Club Members (of which I am one). However it being Bethesda, perhaps Smug Club would be more appropriate. How do you like that Karla and Kenny?

(10/23/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A Good Good

Establishment: The Barking Dog, Bethesda, MD

I visited the Barking Dog (though thinking it was the "Thirsty Dog), which is more of a pick-up bar than a beer bar. The selection was good, though I didn't get an indication that beer was a priority. I had a Red Hook ESB; did not realize they offered Caffrey's - have not seen it in the states since Guinness bought Smithwick's. Still, the menu was extensive, although I did not go there to eat. It makes part of a good Bethesda pubcrawl - along with Rock Bottom, Union Jack and Ri-Ra, a nearby faux Irish pub.

(10/23/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Stout NYC, New York, NY

From the folks who brought St. Andrews to Times Square comes this new addition; it is a huge airy establishment with high ceilings, a long bar and several plasma TV screens (Beer bar? Sports bar? You decide!) Stout offers 19 taps and a very extensive selection of bottled stout (i.e. the delicious Rasputin Imperial Stout) Check it out - they're open until 4am.

(10/21/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Good Good

Establishment: Crescent Moon Ale House, Omaha, NE

Terrific beer bar, if homey and unpretentious and extremely comfortable, a place to spend a few hours. CM offers a fine choice of regional Nebraska micros, such as Upstream BC (Omaha), Empryean BC (Lincoln)and Thunderhead (Kearney); also has Boulevard BC (Kansas City, MO) and New Belgium (Ft. Collins, CO.) A great place to go when (and if) you visit Omaha.

(10/19/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Great Good

Establishment: Raccoon River Brewing Company, Des Moines, IA

Dropped by in order to compare with Court Avenue (see my review). RRBC is a few blocks away in a 2-level warehouse type of buidling - unsure of any historical significance. I visited here on a Saturday night and found it relatively empty (I suppose DSM locals don't come downtown.)There was a band - the usual degree of talent, but not to bad. Sat at the U-shaped bar and tried the Octoberfest (not bad, no Spaten, of course), the Homestead Red (drinkable but cannot compare to the red served at Court Avenue) and the Bandit IPA, this one I did enjoy (over CABC's)in that the hops were on board and pleasantly balanced. Still, I enjoyed the experience - after all, this sits in the middle of Budweiser Country. If I lived in DSM, I would be very greatful for RRBC - and Court Avenue. Think of the alternative: nothing but macroswill. Brrrr!

(10/17/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Court Avenue Brewing Company, Des Moines, IA

Court Avenue BC is situated in the historical (1881) Saddlery Building, which is in the "Court Avenue Entertainment District." A spacious and comfortable pub with 8 beers on tap (during my visit)and a popular hangout that plays R&B Music, they offered a very fiery Jambalaya. The service was enthusiastic and efficient. The beers: Topping Pale Ale; it was good but not as hoppy as I prefer; O'Leary's Irish Red, which was my favorite; Pointer Brown Ale, which did nothing for me (the weakest beer I tried); and a Black Hawk Stout on cask, which was a great "dessert beer." All in all, a great place to hang out when in Des Moines, or part of a pubcrawl that includes Racoon River (see my review). PS: They also offered a seasonal Octoberfest - did not try.

(10/17/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great

Establishment: DuClaw Brewing Company, Baltimore, MD

An overall rating of "Great" for this recent addition to the Fells Point pubcrawl scene. Located on the water, and across the street from Dudas Tavern, the bar area is surrounded by large windows looking out onto Thames Street (the Main drag in Fells Point). It consists of a large oval shaped bar in a slightly industrial looking ambience. Now, for the beer: on tap, during my recent visit (Columbus Day 2005) DuClaws offered Misfit Amber Ale (ABV 5, IBU 23), Twisted Kilt Scotch Ale (ABV 7), Venom Pale Ale (ABV 5.6 and a very hoppy IBU 36) and Bad Moon Porter (ABV 5.1, IBU 32). Note: the Venom was also offerd as a "nitro pour." This was my initial visit - and will not be the last.

(10/12/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Great Great Good

Establishment: Walnut Brewery, Boulder, CO

This is the original "Walnut" Brewery and part of the much-criticized Rock Bottom chain. Wide selection of good (not great) beers; however, the atmosphere, the food and the attractive, friendly bartender (female) made up for this. The styles run the gamut: Amber, Pale Ale, Copper Ale, Irish Red, Bitter, Brown Ale and a stout. Perhaps, the brewer is over-extended in terms of capacity and might want to try brewing less variety and shoot for quality, instead. Some of the best beers I've had came from micros with limited capacity. PS: I don't really understand why the aforementioned Rock Bottom gets a bad rap? Each location has its own individual brewer - perhaps, it's a subjective opine centered on the fact that it's a "chain." My question to these folks: "If you dislike chains, then I assume you hate Starbucks? Never eat at McDonalds or refuse to order pizza from Dominos's? (Hmmm? Maybe a bad example.)

(10/09/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Great Awesome!

Establishment: Falling Rock Tap House, Denver, CO

A true beervana - worth a trip to The Mile High City alone (and not just for GABF!) It ranks up there with Horse Brass (Portland, OR), Great Lost Bear (Portland, ME) Map Room (Chicago) and Ginger Man (NYC). Frequent rotation and always clean lines only improves the experience. A Rocky Mountain pub crawl under a single roof. Here is what I had: Bridgeport IPA (yes it's from NW), Bull & Bush IPA, Odells 90 Schilling and the always delicious Avery IPA - wish I could get this back East.

(10/09/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Great Great

Establishment: Wynkoop Brewing Company, Denver, CO

I visited Wynkoop again (see my review for May 2003) while in Denver for ... well, you know ... a certain festival. Even though the founder is now the current mayor of Denver, Wynkoop still provides adventurious beer drinkers with a wide selection of uniques brews (though not as unique for folks from the Buckeye State, apparently.) Here is what I tasted: Railyard Ale (their staple), Imperial IPA, a porter (Name?) and B3K schwartzbier (how many BPs offer black lagers?) and a Brown Ale called "Flying Artillery." Too bad those guys from Ohio did'nt enjoy it - but everyone has his or her own likes. Question: other than Great Lakes BC - does Ohio have any decent microbrews? Killian's does not count (Coors).

(10/09/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Collins Pub, Seattle, WA

Offering 22 (mostly) NW micros and an extensive listing of area wines, this recently opened upscale pub can be found right off Pioneer Square (next door to the Smith Tower, which you cannot miss). The Collins introduced me to the excellent Boundary Bay Brewing Company (Bellingham, WA), who brews a very hoppy and likewise tasty IPA and another micro from nearby Redmond called Far West Ireland Brewery. If you seek a great place to hang out over a few brews or wines, this is the place to do it.

(10/09/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Great Awesome!

Establishment: Bell's Brewery / Eccentric Cafe, Kalamazoo, MI

A visit here is a must to any true beer geek! Living on the East Coas, I can only wistfully dream of putting my hands around a pint of a Bell's - and what beer! During my short (alas) visit here, I lost count of all the styles offered - although, I did count at least 6 different stout. What a place!

(10/07/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Olde Peninsula Brewpub and Restaurant, Kalamazoo, MI

I visited OP for dinner prior to hitting Bell's (Tell me Gabriel, why don't you like Bell's?). This was a very pleasant place: great, though not overwhelming, beers (OP IPA, Sunset Red Ale, 123 Ale and Midnight Stout). A very wide selection, something for everyone and anyone that enjoys delicious beer. OP is OK!

(10/07/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Good N/A So So N/A

Establishment: Syracuse Suds Factory, Syracuse, NY

The reason for my rating is obvious: there are so many good places in town (Blue Tusk & Clark's) where a thirsty traveler can parch their lips, so why come here? Maybe, my mistake was coming here AFTER Blue Tusk? While, Syracuse Suds (SS - how appropriate) is not the worst beer I've had, given the environment, it could be better - particularly since the demise of the great Empire Brewing Company. Syracuse Suds? More like Syracuse Duds. Keep trying guys! By the way, porter should be dark color.

(10/07/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Great Good

Establishment: Flying Scotsman, Washington, DC

I have been here thrice, with the first time (see below review) being the best. This was the last time, they actually had scottish beer available. Maybe it's me or what ... I could enjoy it more if they had Belhaven's on draft. Once agin, while the beer selection is good, FS still seems to cater (as do many DC establishments) to Bud Swillers. BTW,they still offer Red Hook ESB. It still located next to the DOL. The Scotch Eggs are good.

(10/07/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Great Awesome!

Establishment: Max's on Broadway, Fells Point/Baltimore, MD

The word "Awesome" pretty much defines this gift from the beer gods. Rotating taps, clean lines, excellent bottle selections (though honestly I have yet to venture beyond the extensive draft list. Having pubcrawled all over the world, back and forth across this grea land, and up and down the East Coast, I can sincerly consider Max's one of the greatest beer bars in the world. Here is what I had on my last visit: Belhaven's Wee Heavy, Coniston's Blue Bird Bitter, Monty Python's Holy Grail Ale, Troeg's Dead Reckoning and the indomintable Victory Storm Imperial Stout. Whew!

(10/07/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Buckley's on Queen Anne, Seattle, WA

A very casual smoke-free pub in the Queen Anne neighborhood, a few blocks east of the Space Needle. Buckley's offers a great selection of NW micros, such as Maritime Pacific Imperial IPA (very tasty), Bridgeport IPA (from Portland, OR) and the always orgasmic Deschutes Black Butte Porter. Try to make Happy Hour for their really cheap pints.

(10/07/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Good Good

Establishment: Pike Brewery and Pub, Seattle, WA

Pike Brewery gets an overall "Good" simply because it is in Seattle, where there are simply too many other "great" purveyors of malted beverages. Any other city (with the obvious exceptions) it would be great. It is located in the famous Pike Place Market amid tourists and an occasional local. During my visit I enjoyed:Naughty Nellies (IBU 22), Pike Pale Ale (IBU 32) and Pike IPA (IBU 60!) In that PBP is owned by distributor Merchant du Vin, they also offer some great bottled selections, such as Ayinger, Samuel Smith and Westmalle. In fact they had an almost complete style selection of Ayinger.

(10/07/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Great Great

Establishment: Porter's Taproom, Erie, PA

Located in a former train station, Porter's serves some excellent upscale cuisine with an impressive selection (24) of drafts, including local brews produced by the Erie Brewing Company. They also stock a wide selection of German lagers.

(10/07/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Molly Brannigan's, Erie, PA

Attractive faux pub in the heart of Erie offers great food and an interesting selection of lagers and ale. Definitely worth a stop when in town.

(10/07/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Good Good Good

Establishment: Elysian Brewing Company - Capitol Hill, Seattle, WA

Located in the Capital Hill, this is a local hangout (not being a "local", one can just assume, I guess) with a large windows overlooking Pine (Pike?) Street. The decor is funky minimalist, but the beer was tasty and offered in a wide variety of styles: maibock, IPA (very hoppy), EsB, an Immortal IPA and a Dragonstooth Stout. A good choice for the hopheads. They also serve a great dish of bangers and mash. Great hangout for that rare rainy day.

(10/02/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great

Establishment: Two Bells Tavern, Seattle , WA

Located in the Belltown area, this is a venerable working class tavern that takes you back to the 1950s. Offering many excellent NW micros, such as Deschutes, Maritime Pacific and Big Time, Two Bells provides a relaxing atmosphere where one can hang out. Includes jazz music and great happy hour deals.

(10/02/2005)


Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ 4 ] [ 5 ] [ 6 ] [ ALL ]













(0.143 seconds) 04:44:32 23.20.30.63, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS