PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Reviews on PubCrawler from
Other Reviews by this User
 
September 30, 2014 @ 07:18 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.

Reviews By

Beer Reviews
(148)

Restaurant Reviews
(0)






no
user
photo

148
Beer Reviews from
   

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ 4 ] [ 5 ] [ 6 ] [ ALL ]
Average Rating
Beer Quality
Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great
Great Great Great Great

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Good Good

Establishment: Pyramid Alehouse, Brewery and Restaurant, Seattle, WA

This is an open, warehouse-type BP across Safeco Field (I guess this is fact is pretty much established?) with an interesting selection of beers - this brewer is not afraid to experiment. Some examples: the IPA, a DPA (draught pale ale), the delicious Snow Cap and MacTarnahan's Cream Porter. I think Pyramid owns this Portland BC brand. Great beer in a decent BP - although, I have always been reluctant to visit BPs located across from sports complexes in that there is the terrible potential of attracting Bud drinkers. Yuch!

(10/02/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Good Good

Establishment: Elephant and Castle, Seattle, WA

This faux British pub, part of a Canadian chain, is actually located below street level of the Red Lion Inn; it offers a pretty good selection of NW beers, including a Boundary Bay (Bellingham, WA) Scotch Ale. Having been to several E&Cs, I have always considered this to be reliable for decent British - sometimes cask - beers.

(10/02/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Great Great

Establishment: Mountain Sun Pub and Brewery, Boulder, CO

A very ecclectic establishment that combines funky, hippy, family, laid back along with the ubiquitious self-absorbed yuppy; it serves some interesting beer styles especially IPAs and a very tasty porter. It could be a little bigger. A nice stop if in the Denver area. Nice little college town - if you enjoy left wing environmentalists who drive gas guzzling SUVs.

(06/20/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Great Awesome!

Establishment: Great Lost Bear, Portland, ME

One of the best beer bars I have ever visited (including Brickskeller in DC, Gingerman and Blind Tiger in NYC, Map Room in Chicago), GBC is a true mecca for beer afficianados and a real haven for seekers of regional microbrews, such as: Andrew's St. Nick, Geary's, Allagash, Shipyard, Casco Bay and Sheepscot - brewer of the superb Pemaquid Scottish Ale. The food menu was great as well. If only GLB was located closer to downtown rather than the ugly industrial area it is currently sited. It is worth the cab ride though. What a wonderful place!

(06/20/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Good Good Great

Establishment: Sebago Brewing Company, Portland, ME

SBC can be found a few blocks (uphill) from the Old Port - and an easy stumble from Gritty McDuff's and Three Dollar Dewey's. Located in an historical building that looked as if it had some utilitarian purpose, SBC proffers a maritime theme in several areas including a nice bar area with large windows. Now for the beers: Frye's Leap IPA, an American-style pale ale (5.2%), which was mildly hopped with a full body; Runabout Red Ale, a malty amber (5.0%); Boathouse Brown, a stoutish ale with a rich body (4.8%); Lake Trout Stout, a very good quaff with a great body/finish laced with coffee; and the seasonal, Slick Nick Winter Ale. Great Beer, Great Place. Highly Recommended.

(06/20/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Great Great

Establishment: Gritty McDuff's, Portland, ME

Supposedly Maine's first brewpub, Gritty's is located in the Old Port in a convivial warehouse type of structure with several rooms all brick-lined. Offering a wide variety of English-style ales (see below), GM is a pretty nice place to relax and quaff some great ales such as: Pub Style Pale Ale, a malty, dry-hopped Scottish Ale and a delicious cask bitter. Also available on cask: Uncle Andy's IPA a smooth, medium-hopped beer that tastes better if you let it attain room temperature. The food was rather eclectic; I tasted my first lamb burger, probably not as good as the one Mary had...

(06/20/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Good Good

Establishment: Ri Ra Irish Pub and Restaurant, Portland, ME

Part of a chain (as mentioned in the previous review), Ri-Ra (gaelic for fake pub)is located in the Old Port amid swarms of tourists in search of Bud. They had the usual suspects - I had Geary's Winter Ale, a copper-colored yet mild pint. Maine beers are just not very hoppy at all? Still, when in Portland, I suggest trying Sebago's and Gritty McDuff's nearby - and of course, the indominatable Great Lost Bear (see my reviews)

(06/20/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Great So So Good

Establishment: Great Basin Brewing Company, Sparks, NV

Located across the street from the Nugget, this brewpub serves OK beer - the IPA somewhat unexciting, although the porter seemed somewhat palatable. Much of this could have been the temperature. The waitress was indifferent, putting my friend & I in a dark corner in front of the door. I guess she noticed my own indifference by the fact that she gave us the tab without even asking if we wanted anything else. The food was enjoyable - although bruschetta should be more than toasted french bread with a dollop of canned tomatoes. I would go around the corner and get some reliable Sierra Nevada...

(06/20/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Good Great

Establishment: Titanic Brewing Company, Coral Gables, FL

There is at least some refuge for beer geeks in the Miami area. Located across the street form the Metrorail tracks - though the nearest station is about 10 minutes away, I found the beers to be reliable and consistent, though may be too complex for the Bud Lovers that have been giving the "Lousy" reviews. And to the Miami-area beer geeks, you should be thankful that this establishment exists. The selection is varied and includes most styles: White Star IPA, made with Cascade hops, has a mildly hoppy, clean finish (7%abv); Brittanic Best Bitter, a traditional English-style fermented eith British yeast - not as hoppy and rather light (%5.5 abv); Captain Smith's Rye, a German-style amber (altbier?) with malted rye (%6.00 abv); Boiler Room Nut Brown, an unfiltered British-style nut brown with roasted malts and toffee (%5.00 abv.) TBC also offers a wheat a light beer (It is Florida, afterall) If I lived in Miami, I would come here often.

(04/12/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Great Awesome!

Establishment: Blind Tiger Ale House, New York, NY

Awesome does not describe how superlative this Garden of Beerden is. I live in the DC area and make several weekend trips to NYC a year just to hit the Blind Tiger (along with Gingerman, dba, Blind Tiger and Brazen Head - to name just a few.) Where else can you go on a quiet afternoon in the West Village (they still call it that right?) and enjoy fresh ales such as : Chelsea Sunset Red, Chelsea Henry Hudson Cask IPA, Rogue Hazelnut Brown, Sierra Nevada Harvest (Seasonal) and ... AAAA Leffe Brown. Simply an experience. If I had my way, it would be a crime to enter this establishment an order Budweiser. Nuff said.

(03/23/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Good Great

Establishment: Barley and Hops Grill and Microbrewery, Frederick, MD

Visited here on the way to Brewer's Alley; it was a pleasant surprise to find a decent brewpub in a shopping center amid the ubiquity of retail alley. Though the selection was not diverse, the beers I tried, Nut Brown and the special (can't remember the name, but it was tasty) were enjoyable. It may give Brewer's Alley a run for its money (though I hope not, as I enjoy both - along with Brewer's Alley affiliate Summit Station in nearby Gaithersbarrio).

(03/22/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good

Establishment: Capitol City Brewing Company - Capitol Hill, Washington, DC

One of four locations, Capitol City - Capitol Hill serves reliable English/German style brews. Still a good place for us "bureaucrat-types" to unwind, despite the hordes of beer-moron tourists who sometime frequent this establishments, uttering phrases like, "What's the closest thing you got to Budweiser?" [Answer: Urine] Located in the Old Post office building, the area is not that dangerous, unless you're afraid of giving money to the homeless who live in the area. I digress ... it is a great place to have a good brew and some decent (not great) food.

(03/22/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Good Great Great

Establishment: Wharf Rat At Camden Yards / Oliver Breweries, Baltimore, MD

Very like a British pub, the Wharf Rat-Camden Yards is a great place to relax (if there is not an O's game that day) and enjoy a traditional English ale. The usual selections include: an Irish Red (strange for a British pub, though), a cream ale, several dark ales, cask-conditioneds and their Ironman Pale Ale, tasty but not as hoppy as I would prefer. Still a good choice - and across the street from Max's Camden Yards. If you feel the need to forget the loss of DeGroen's (Baltimore Brewing), you may as well drown your sorrow in an English Brown Ale. Cheers!

(03/22/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Great Awesome!

Establishment: Brewer's Art, Baltimore, MD

True Beervana in Charm City! I live in Washington, DC, yet still make it a point to visit this gift to the beer geek. The fact that Brewer's Art is still here, deadens the loss of DeGroen's (Baltimore Brewing Company). Of course, one must go to the downstairs cellar (somewhat reminicent of a Prague beerhall) to get an adequate atmosphere. They serve their own house beer (IPA, Proletary Porter and Resurrection, the last being a very malty Belgian) as well as an excellent bottle choice: Ayinger Dunkels, Victory Weizbocken and Frankenheim Alt, which I've never even seen in the US until here. A must for the true beer afficionado.

(03/22/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! N/A Great Great

Establishment: Abbey Brewing Company, Miami Beach, FL

This place should get a great review for the simple fact that it offers great beer while in Miami Beach, where the only other import is Sam Adams (I am not joking.) Their house beer is excellent, though they do serve it to cold - my only qualm about Abbey Brewing. I had the Pale Ale and the Imperial Stout, the latter being served properly BTW. An oasis in America's Beer Wasteland. It is located about 1 Block S of the highly-pretentious Snotnose Alley called the Lincoln Road Mall. Yuck!

(03/22/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Great Great

Establishment: Big River Grille and Brewing Works, Lake Buena Vista, FL

Located on Disney Boardwalk, a resort that is a boat ride between MGM and Epcot, this is establishment offers the only opportunity for decent beer while in the Land of the Mouse. This was my second visit (right after Hurricanes Charley and Frances) and was pretty quiet. On tap: a very good Oktoberfest (this chain is owned by Gordon Biersch, a purveyor of decent lagers), a light pale ale, an even-bodied brown ale and their (signature?) beer, Rocket Red Ale, a malty ale made from British Crystal malts. Take the patio on a nice day and you have a very relaxing experience while the kids are doing their thing in the Magic Kingdom.

(10/11/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Awesome! Great

Establishment: The Wicked Hop, Milwaukee, WI

I visited this new addition to the Third Ward during a recent trip to Irisfest. About 5 minutes walk from Milwaukee Ale House, WH has 5 taps of regionals (Tyrenna, New Glarus and the delicious Bell's) and a decent selection of bottles and Belgians - beer, I mean. Add to that an angelic barstaff and you have a pleasant place to hang out.

(09/12/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Great Great

Establishment: The Nomad World Pub, Milwaukee, WI

Stopped by here during a recent trip to Irishfest. An inviting bar that is a real comfortable place to relax. Not that many beers ot tap, though they do offer the usually great Lakefront products, which for some reason I could never fathom in my many visits to Milwaukee is not available in many of the places I haunt. Nomad is a nice neighborhood tavern that makes visitors seem welcome - unlike many places I have frequented.

(09/12/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great So So Great

Establishment: Founders' Restaurant and Brewing Company, Alexandria, VA

I made the trek down to Old Towne Alexandria to sample the wares. FBC, formerly Virginia Beverage Something Or Other, offers about 8 taps, with their usual beers named after the "founders" of Alexandria. During my visit, I tasted Kolsch, Brown Ale, a delicious (and potent - 8.6 ABV) Scotch Ale and a very tasty and hoppy (IBU 65) American Pale Ale; they also had a few wheat beers, but not being partial to that style, did not imbibe. I even got to chat with the brewer, Bill Madden. The Scotch Ale was his first batch at FBC, since leaving Capitol City. Menu looked pretty diverse, and a little above the pub grub offers. The one negative was the somewhat reluctancy of the bartenders to keep my glass filled. Those of us who spend much (too much, maybe) of our time rating BPs, know that one criteria of service is not having to ask for another pint! Nevertheless, the beer was excellent and makes another trip a probability.

(09/12/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Great Great

Establishment: Moriarty's, Philadelphia, PA

Great beer bar in Center City offering a wide variety of regionals including the excellent Yards. About 30 taps with good listings. Great food. Worth a stop when in Philadelphia. Don't know if Ben Franklin drank here though.

(09/05/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Good N/A Good Great

Establishment: Fergie's Pub, Philadelphia, PA

A comfortable pub that is up the street from Nodding Head and around the corner from McGillin's. Nice unpretentious atmosphere - no yuppies or Bud Swillers, just regulars - judging from other reviews - though I was from out of town. I rated the Beer Quality "Awesome" for the fact that Fergie pulls a great pint, too good as I imbibed about 5 pints. But seeing as it's Guinness, I owe no apologies. Also Yard's on cask and Yuengling Porter in bottles. Better than many of the faux pubs that seem to appear everywhere. No names of course.

(09/05/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Awesome!

Establishment: Ship Inn, Milford, NJ

When in the area, you must visit the Ship Inn. one of the best British pubs in the US, second only to Horse Brass Pub in that microbrew Mecca: Portland, Oregon. Ths Ship has always been consistent in quality, both foodwise and brew-wise, particularly the excellent British-style draught ales. They even offer great bottled selections, such as the elusive yet delicious Darwin's Oribinal Porter, made from yeast recovered from a shipwreck - how ironic!

(09/05/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Awesome! Great

Establishment: Trinity Hall, Dallas, TX

Excellent faux-pub in the Mockingbird Station Complex that has the usual tap selection of Guinness (great pour!), Boddington's, Stella A. and Murphy's Red Ale. This is the first time this reporter has even seen this good, flavorful Irish Red Ale. All in all, a great place to relax when in Dallas.

(09/05/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Great Awesome!

Establishment: Ginger Man, Dallas, TX

What a wonderful purveyor of malted beverages! I have had the honor to visit the GM in NYC & Austin and can say that all the locations are consistent in great selections and good quality along with knowledgable staff. The Dallas location is in the Uptown District and is right on the McKinney Avenue Trolley. Not bad given that the pub is located in what appears to be a converted house with minimal parking - but then responsible beerophiles don't drink and drive anyway. Here are some of the choices I oppprtuned to quaff: Abbott Ale Pub Draught, New Belgium Fat Tire, Kostrizer Black Lager, Fuller's Porter, DeKonnick and a cask from St. Arnold's, which is a Houston area microbrew. Great Pub in the Big D.

(09/05/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Good Good

Establishment: Tun Tavern Brewing Company, Atlantic City, NJ

A pretty decent brewpub located adjacent to the AC Convention Center/NJT Terminal. What makes this place a lifesaver is that it is located in a veritable beer wasteland (excluding "Firewaters.) A pleasant selection that included Devil Dog Pale Ale, All-American Pale Ale, Card Shark Red, Nut Brown, a Stout and the Tuninator Double Bock. I was in AC on business and visited twice. Supposedly, the original Tun Tavern was where Ben Franklin made one of his famous beer quotations. Anyway, if you are are a beer geek in search of a good pint, I heartily recomment the Tun Tavern.

(08/17/2004)


Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ 4 ] [ 5 ] [ 6 ] [ ALL ]













(0.344 seconds) 07:18:08 54.196.120.58, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS