PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Reviews on PubCrawler from
Other Reviews by this User
 
July 30, 2014 @ 04:21 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.

Reviews By

Beer Reviews
(148)

Restaurant Reviews
(0)






no
user
photo

148
Beer Reviews from
   

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ 4 ] [ 5 ] [ 6 ] [ ALL ]
Average Rating
Beer Quality
Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great
Great Great Great Great

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Great Great

Establishment: Nodding Head Brewery and Restaurant, Philadelphia, PA

Pretty reliable brewpub in Center City and not too far from Fergie's or McGillan's. The bar area is rather small for me, and the place is sort of in need of repair, nobody comes here for anything except tasty beer; I had the Grog, BPA and the Downtown Brown Ale. IMO, the best brewpub in Philadelphia - especially, if Monk's is too crowded.

(05/31/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Good Great Great Great

Establishment: Flying Scotsman, Washington, DC

First, let me say that I have been here only once; I did enjoy this place. Second, while the beer selection is good, I would not describe it as "outstanding." They serve the usual triage of terror (Bud, Bud Light and Coors), but they DO offer Red Hook ESB and (drum roll)...Belhaven Ale, which makes this establishment worth the trip. By the way, this was the site of an Irish pub (Name?), which was open for about a month - I think. Also,this pub is located in an alley next to the DOL (DC residents will know what that means.)

(05/26/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Awesome! Great

Establishment: Dubliner Irish Pub, Washington, DC

This is an update of my last reveiw from July 200..you, know? I forgot. Anyway, the Dubliner is still my favorite DC Irish pub and they now serve Smithwick's (pronounced Smith-icks). And the trad music is still the best! Go there in the fall after the tourists leave...

(05/26/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Good N/A Great So So

Establishment: Syracuse Suds Factory, Syracuse, NY

The reason for my rating is obvious: there are so many good places in town (Blue Tusk & Clark's) where a thirsty traveler can parch their lips, so why come here? Maybe, my mistake was coming here AFTER Blue Tusk? While, Syracuse Suds (SS - how appropriate) is not the worst beer I've had, given the environment, it could be better - particularly since the demise of the great Empire Brewing Company. Syracuse Suds? More like Syracuse Duds. Keep trying guys! By the way, porter is supposed to be a caramel color.

(05/26/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Olde Peninsula Brewpub and Restaurant, Kalamazoo, MI

I visited OP for dinner prior to hitting Bell's (Tell me Gabriel, why don't you like Bell's?). This was a very pleasant place: great, though not overwhelming, beers (OP IPA, Sunset Red Ale, 123 Ale and Midnight Stout). A very wide selection, something for everyone and anyone that enjoys delicious beer. OP is OK!

(05/26/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Great Awesome!

Establishment: Bell's Brewery / Eccentric Cafe, Kalamazoo, MI

A visit here is a must to any true beer geek! I live on the east coast and therefore can only wistfully dream of putting my hands around a pint of a Bell's beer, and what beer! During my short (alas) visit here, I lost count of all the styles offered - although, I did count at least 6 different stout. What a place!

(05/26/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! N/A Great Awesome!

Establishment: Firkin, Libertyville, IL

I discovered this fine establishment during a visit from Chicago - was in town to "discover" Mickey Finn's. Although, I had only one beer during this trip, it was evident that I should have come here instead. The menu looked very eclectic, not the usual brew and burger venue; the beer list was astounding! I need not brag to the folks in Chicagoland, but to beer travelers venturing to this great city on the lake, a visit to The Firkin (a 70 minute ride on the excellent Metra commuter train) is surely mandatory.

(05/26/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Great

Establishment: Mickey Finn's Brew Pub was Libertyville Brewing, Libertyville, IL

I don't know who this Ashley fellow is, but this is a pretty good brewpub; great selection of lagers and ales (Abana Amber Ale, Old Rondout Pale Ale, Nitro Pale, Irish Ale and two ales on cask: American Pale Ale & Irish Stout). Worth the Metra ride from Chicago - responsible beer geeks don't drive when imbibing. If you have the time, check out The Firkin place across the street.

(05/26/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Great Great

Establishment: The Duke of Perth, Chicago, IL

One of the best Scottish pubs in Chicago; a very unassuming place - rather small - but comfortable. One of those typical pubs you would find in Glasgow or Aberdeen, a place where Groundskeeper Willie could call home.

(05/25/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Great Awesome!

Establishment: Map Room, Chicago, IL

You've read the previous reviews; it is really difficult to add to what has been said by others. For me, great beer is a passion. When one finds a great beer bar, with exemplary service from folks who know what it's like to love great beer, you just want the whole world to know that such a beervana exists. Have been to NYC, Portland (OR), Boston, Munich, Bruges (Belgium), Ireland, Seattle and Baltimore (home of Max's on Broadway), they all are up there with Chicago. A sample of what I had here: Spaten Maibock, Adnams Broadside Bitter (cask),Great Lakes' Edmund Fitzgerald Porter, Founder's Dirty Bastard, Bell's Expedition Stout, Bell's Kalamazoo Stout, Three Floyds Alpha King and DeKonnick - on tap!!!

(05/25/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Great Great

Establishment: Jaks Tap, Chicago, IL

Great beer bar, great seletion of regional microbrews (Bell's, Stoney Creek, Two Brothers); unfortunately, it is a little out of the way - not so muchinto Greektown, but a few blocks west of Union Station. Still, when you get there, you aren't going to regret the trip: this is what beer is about.

(05/25/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Great Awesome!

Establishment: Clark Street Ale House, Chicago, IL

After The Map Room, this is probably the best beer bar I have visited in Chicago. Good atmosphere - humble folks without pretension always saying "Howdy neighbor..." Always a great selectio, particularly a consistent supply of Three Floyds brews. MMMMM Three Floyds.

(05/25/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Great Great

Establishment: David Copperfield's, New York, NY

Great beer selection, great food and great service - worth the trip uptown if the Gingerman is too crowded.

(01/18/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Flossmoor Station Brewing Company, Flossmoor, IL

Great brewpub makes a great day trip from Chicago!

(09/21/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great So So Great Great Great

Establishment: Dubliner Irish Pub, Washington, DC

As several reveiwers have already noted: the Dubliner is not a beer bar, but a very atmospheric and popular Irish pub that pours a great pint o Guinness. Decent food and live irish music nightly. Next door to the Irish Times and across the street from Capital City (Capitol Hill.) Not a bad crawl...

(07/21/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Awesome!

Establishment: Dr. Dremo's Taphouse, Arlington, VA

Just three words: Chimay On Tap. I love the Brickskeller, but Dr. Dremo is an excellent, casual beer bar with great selections and IMHO the best burgers around. If you can just get used to the abandoned warehouse decor and the minimalist ambience, you can be best prepared for an evening (it opens at 5pm) of great beers!

(07/21/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Great Great

Establishment: Brewzzi, West Palm Beach, FL

This is the second location (the other being in Boca Raton.) Located in WPB very pretentious Cityplace, this brewpub offers some enjoyable german lagers with an occasional IPA. A great happy hour deal is 2-4-1 beers. Good food - at least mine was and some attractive, efficient barstaff makes this a worthy addition to the beer wasteland that is south Florida.

(07/21/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Great Great

Establishment: Bieres et Compagnie, Montreal, QC

This is an excellent Quartier Latin beer bar with two locations offers a great selection of Belgian beers with a good selection of Quebec micros, which IMHO have always been underated. One interesting note - the menu has caribou burgers (it tastes a little like sausage - thought I was going to say chicken?) A great place to go if you're in this beautiful city.

(07/21/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Triple 7 Brewpub, Las Vegas, NV

The best Vegas brewpub I have visited. this place is located at the Main Street Casino - in Downtown Vegas, right of the kitschy Fremont Experience. Good selections of ales and lagers. What's real great: no video poker games in the bar! This is for beer drinkers.

(12/18/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Great Great

Establishment: Boston Beer Works - North Station, Boston, MA

Having also visited BBW across from Fenway (which I liked), I prefer this one simply because it was one of the few -wait, correction - the only place that did'nt charge outrageous cover on St. Patty's Day - the most revered day of the year. And the beer was excellent. Try the 9 Alarm Amber Lager.

(03/23/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Good Great

Establishment: Boston Beer Works, Boston, MA

I had an enjoyable and relaxing lunch here during St. Patty's weekend; great Boston Red Ale and Curley's Irish Stout. A great brewpub in a great beer drinking town. Of course, I would avoid it at game time. Three thumbs up!

(03/23/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Good Good Great

Establishment: Brickskeller, Washington, DC

The Brick is about beer. Nothing else. Not for the food -which is good (I recommend the wings and burgers.) As far as service...never had a problem getting beer. Is the bartender surly or rude? Who cares? Just hand me another bottle of Old Flag Porter and I'm a happy camper. To those who seek draught beer, I suggest Big Hunt(off Dupont Circle), or take the train to Philadelphia (Monk's Cafe) or NYC (Gingerman.) Remember: Life is too short to drink bad beer.

(06/21/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Growlers was Summit Station Restaurant and Brewery, Gaithersburg, MD

There still seems to be a division among fans of the former "Old Towne Tavern" and the current "Summit Station." Having been a long-time patron -though not one of the regular barflies who make daily appearances-I will defend this establishment with my worthless life. Is'nt bad enough living in Maryland, where beer lovers cannot receive beer by mail? Is it not tragic enough to be a beer lover in Montgomery County, home of the world's most deplorable liquor laws? To those two parties mentioned, I ask: If it were not for Summit Station (FKA Old Towne), where else would you find great beer?

(01/19/2001)


Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ 4 ] [ 5 ] [ 6 ] [ ALL ]













(0.146 seconds) 16:21:02 54.205.188.59, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS