PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Reviews on PubCrawler from
Other Reviews by this User
 
December 22, 2014 @ 07:45 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.

Reviews By

Beer Reviews
(43)

Restaurant Reviews
(1)






User Tagline: "Beer is proof God loves us and wants us to be happy"
Favorite Beer: Sierra Nevada Pale Ale
Located In: Pittsburgh, PA

43
Beer Reviews from
   

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ ALL ]
Average Rating
Beer Quality
Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good
Great Good Great Good

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Great Good

Establishment: Molly Brannigans Traditional Irish Pub, Pittsburgh , PA

While I agree somewhat with what the previous reviewer says about over-saturation of the Irish pub, it's nice to go into a place and have more than Bud, Coors and Iron to pick from on tap. Yes, the traditional Irish pub is becoming more of a cliche than anything with real meaning. With all of these chains bringing over everything "authentic from Ireland" it makes me wonder if there's anything left in Ireland. I have visions of walking into a pub in Dublin and either seeing an empty room or one filled with Steeler paraphernalia with the bar keep proclaiming "It's all authentic stuff from Pittsburgh"! Anyway, the beer is your typical Irish selection on tap (which I said before you could do much worse with), the staff is friendly and the food is okay if not great. I wouldn't avoid the place if asked to go but I wouldn't run their either. Local places with a great selection (insert Chiodo's or Sharp Edge's name here) are what we need instead of big-box pubs. Support your local pub proprietor.

(05/10/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Great Good

Establishment: Johansson's Dining House, Westminster, MD

Stopped in last week while in town on business. A couple of their own brews on tap with a decent, if limited, selection of other brews on tap. I can imagine this place, and the bar downstairs, get quite busy being in the middle of a college town. The local beer was good if not exceptional. Their food is pretty good also, though it focuses mostly on sandwiches. People in the bar and working behind the bar seem fairly friendly. Not a bad establishment for being in the middle of nowhere.

(05/10/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! N/A Great Great

Establishment: Jack's Cannery Bar, San Francisco, CA

Sorry - submitted this review for Jack's Bar's before I realized I reviewed the wrong place. Oh well, here's what I said:

Stopped in here by accident to use the restroom while in the Fisherman's Wharf area and sure am glad I did. This place has great character, great waitstaff and great beer selection - and being in on of the most touristy-areas of the city. Each time we went to Fisherman's Wharf we were sure to stop in, even if only for one pint (it's awfully hard to have just one here).

(03/21/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! N/A Great Great

Establishment: Jack's Bars (various locations), San Francisco, CA

Stopped in here by accident to use the restroom while in the Fisherman's Wharf area and sure am glad I did. This place has great character, great waitstaff and great beer selection - and being in on of the most touristy-areas of the city. Each time we went to Fisherman's Wharf we were sure to stop in, even if only for one pint (it's awfully hard to have just one here).

(03/21/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good N/A So So So So

Establishment: San Francisco Brewing Company, San Francisco, CA

It's a shame that such an historic brewpub in such a great location can produce such a bland/tasteless selection of brews. Everything was marginal at best, no flavor/ingredient in any of them to make you say "Wow - that's a good beer!" The selection is good but what's a good selection when all you have to pick from is one bland beer after another? And the bar and atmosphere is almost as bland as the beer. I stayed in San Fran for 4+ days just a couple blocks from this place, wlaked by it I don't know how many times, but after the first visit I didn't even think of going back in. Stay away.

(03/21/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Great Great

Establishment: Chiodo's Tavern, Pittsburgh , PA

Was here for the Great Guinness Toast in '05 - the last one they'll have there before they close. Very sad. Local places like this give a city character and we should do everything we can to keep them. I don't know how many times I've been to a chain brewpub or chain beer bar and been disappointed. Sure they may have a good beer selection but what's missing is the local flair. Do we really need another place with shiny chrome bars and exposed ducts overhead? Everyone should be fortunate to experience places like Chiodo's. It'll be sad to see go.

(03/11/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Bado's Pizzeria and Delicatessen, Pittsburgh , PA

Been to this place many times. It has just about everything you would look for in a local pizza-pub restaurant. Great beer selection, good, tasty food and a waitstaff that's usually very friendly. This place can range form not very crowded (usually during the week) to standing room only (on the weekend). You can usually find a place to lean on while enjoying your favorite beverage. Always a good time.

(03/11/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Claddagh Irish Pub, Pittsburgh , PA

No, this place isn't authentic Irish like the Pour House in Carnegie, but it isn't bad for a chain. They have a good selection of tap beers and whiskeys. The food I've had there a couple times has been good also. They have bands that play there weekly that range from Irish to contemporary. You could do much worse than stop in this place if you're in the area.

(01/12/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great

Establishment: The Church Brew Works, Pittsburgh , PA

Church Brew Works continues to excel at both brewing beer and food. I was back recently to try their Oktoberfest. While it was good I was a little disappointed in its lack of a “kick”. It seemed a little mild for an Oktoberfest. But their standards remain very good. Their stout is very tasty and the Pious Monk Dunkel remains one of my favorite brews anywhere. The food has always been excellent. Everything from simple burgers and fries or pizza to the more upscale meals are always tasty. Of all the brewpubs to go under recently in the ‘Burg area, I’m glad this one has remained. Let’s hope it continues. We need more local brewpubs to contrast the blandness of the chains.

(10/25/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Good So So Good So So

Establishment: Hops Restaurant and Brewery, Colorado Springs, CO

This was the first brewpub I've ever been to that I wished I'd ordered a mass-produced beer instead of their own. I first ordered theior wheat and had to check with the waitress at two or three times to verify she didn't bring me a Coors light - it was that bad. After that I tried the brown ale which was okay but very bland. I finished with the pale ale which was drinkable but nothing exceptional. The food was very bland also. I won't be coming back here.

(10/21/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good

Establishment: Two Rows Restaurant and Brewery, Dallas, TX

This place is pretty good as far as brewpubs go. The wheat was very hoppy - more of a pale ale with hints of wheat. The brown ale was good and the oatmeal stout was probably the best. The food is good, not great. A nice looking place that I would go back to the next time I'm in town.

(10/21/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Good Good So So

Establishment: Phantom Canyon Brewing Company, Colorado Springs, CO

Stopped in for dinner back in May and was excited at first to see the selection available. Unfortunately, a big selection sometimes means only average beer. And this was the case. I was happy they had a Kolsch on tap but after my first sip there was definitely something wrong. It had a distinct sour after-taste. Thinking maybe the Kolsch wasn't a big mover and it had gone bad in the keg, I ordered a pale ale next - a definite crowd favorite. Nope, same problem. Either they don't keep their beer lines clean or they have other, more serious problems keeping batches from spoiling. As for the food, it wasn't bad but I agree it tried to be a little more upscale than you would expect from a place like this. There's nothing wrong with a brewpub trying to be a little more fancy than your basic pub but the food quality didn't match the price. I have returned to the Springs a few times since and haven't had the urge to go back. It's too bad because it looks like it could really be a nice place. Just work on the beer and food.

(07/09/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A So So So So

Establishment: Mad Boar Brewhouse, North Myrtle Beach, SC

The beer selection was good for a tourist area. And the beer itself wasn't bad. The waitstaff however wasn't very attentive. Two of us sat at the bar and must have waited almost ten minutes before someone would serve us. And they weren't busy at all - it's just the bartenders were keeping themselves busy in the back loading and unloading glasses instead of checking on their customers. Didn't have any food but it looked like their selection was okay but not as good as at Liberty. I would only go here again if I was in the area (Barefoot Landing) without anything to do. Nothing here gave me the feeling that I had to come back.

(09/04/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Great Good Great

Establishment: Liberty Steak House and Brewery, Myrtle Beach, SC

For a brewpub in a tourist location, this is about as good as can be expected. The beers have a good taste without being overly exceptional. The waitstaff can vary from very good to just okay - it all depends on the person. We went there twice while on vacation and so-so service the first time and really good service the second. Go there between 4 and 7pm for their happy hour specials - half off all drinks (beer and mixed) and their bar food. We had appetizers and they were quite good. It gets busy during happy hour because it is a great deal. I would go back to this place again before I would go to Mad Boar again. The next time in MB we'll be back.

(09/04/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Good Good Good

Establishment: Empire Brewing Company, Rochester, NY

Had dinner there last week and the food was pretty good. Their Brazilian Chowder was really tasty - just the right combination of spice and sweetness. The beer ranged from average to good. Skinny Atlas Light was good for a light beer, so-so for a Kolsch (which is what it is styled after). Black Magic Stout had a nice combination of chocolate and coffee malt. The Hefe-Weizen was refreshing without being remarkable. The Amber Ale was average. The first seasonal fruit I had was the Apricot Ale. A taster sample of it wasn't bad, it wasn't overpowering with apricot. But a full pint of it was too much. Then I tried there Purple Haze which is a blueberry ale. This is their best selling beer. They serve it with fresh blueberries in the glass. I wouldn't be able to drink an entire pint of it. Way to sweet. They do make a blue and tan which is the blueberry and stout. They may not be too bad - I didn't try it. Overall a very nice place that's easy to get to. I would go back.

(07/01/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! So So Great Great

Establishment: Sharp Edge Creekhouse, Pittsburgh , PA

Beer is the only reason to go here. I haven't eaten here for a while but when I have it's been okay, nothing great. Their pizzas are okay, and some of their burgers. I would stay away from the entrees. But why eat when the beer selection is probably one of the best in the area? They've recently remodeled to expand the bar area which was badly needed. And now they've expanded their deck out back. It's great to sit out there on a lazy hot day and satisfy your thirst with a hefe-weizen! To bad the view is of the parking lot and the bridge overhead. Even so, the beer and the environment make me want to go back time and again. Now if the food could be half as good as the beer...

(06/10/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So So So So So Good

Establishment: Red Star Brewery and Grille, Greensburg, PA

Stopped here for dinner/drinks since I was in the area, it's an hour from where I live. The bar looks very nice in the restored train station. The dining area was realtively small but there are tables outside on the not-so-hot days. The beer selection was limited, they were out of an ESB that sounded good. Had the American Pale Ale (okay, refreshing for a hot day) and the Iron Horse stout (probably their best - pretty good stout). Strangely the waitress tried to discourage me from trying a sampler of the beers, first time I've ever had that happen. And she didn't seem too concerned with us once our food arrived. The food was okay, some meals looked better than others. Their entree menu is very limited, maybe 6 meals in all. I was glad to stop here but I wouldn't make a trip here again in the near future, even if I am in the area.

(06/10/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good So So Great Good

Establishment: John Harvard's Brew House, Wilkins Township, PA

This is a nice-looking place and could be a regular hang-out for me if it wasn't for the 20 - 30 minute travel. The beer selection was okay, they were out of the Bavarian lager. The others that I had, stout, weizen, Scottish ale and pale ale were good. The Scottish ale and hefe-weizen were a little on the weak side. The pale ale was very refreshing. The food ranged from good to not very good. Ordered a meatloaf that was so undercooked we had to send it back twice. They were very concerned about it and did try to rectify the problem. I would go back again and give them another try.

(06/10/2002)


Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ ALL ]













(0.243 seconds) 07:45:44 54.242.126.126, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS