PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Reviews on PubCrawler from
Other Reviews by this User
 
September 21, 2014 @ 09:20 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.

Reviews By

Beer Reviews
(467)

Restaurant Reviews
(0)






User Tagline: Somewhere in the world it's beer o'clock; who's buying?
Favorite Beer: Right now...Stegmaier Summer Stock
Located In: Mid-Atlantic
My Website: www.lewbryson.com
467
Beer Reviews from
   

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ 4 ] [ 5 ] [ 6 ] [ 7 ] [ 8 ] [ 9 ] [ 10 ] [ 11 ] [ 12 ] [ 13 ] [ 14 ] [ 15 ] [ 16 ] [ 17 ] [ 18 ] [ 19 ] [ ALL ]
Average Rating
Beer Quality
Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great
Great Great Great Great

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome!

Establishment: Johnny Brenda's, Philadelphia, PA

Standard Tap with a smaller menu, less room, and -- for now -- less people. Once again, William and Paul have struck at the edge of a developing neighborhood (Fishtown), getting in relatively cheap and building a bar that will draw people to this area. The beer is excellent, kept at the peak of freshness: Sly Fox Pils, Yards PYNK, Legacy Duke of Ale, Yards ESA on the handpump. Food? Like I said, smaller menu, but the grilled octopus, hummus, and shoestring fries I shared with my friends were outstanding. I'll be back. Sorry it took so long to get here the first time.

(02/03/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good So So Good

Establishment: Johnstown Brewing Company, Johnstown, PA

Johnstown Brewing is working uphill. I stopped in December, and while the beers I had were all clean and well-made, they were not up to par on flavor. This is not necessarily a fault on the part of Johnstown or their brewer, Brian Neville; I suspect it is a plan, rather than bad execution. Johnstown is one of the deepest pockets of light beer-itis in PA, and pulling them out of it is going to be a long slow process. J-town Brewing is on the right track, I think: they're selling a LOT of their two lightest beers, which bodes well for the future. I'd just maybe think about putting one hefty beer in there for the people who are ready for it. Food was just okay; good, but nothing special. Service was unfortunately not as good as the first time I stopped; the bartender left the bar for 10 minutes at a time, and was not real attentive when she was on station. Still, the potential is good. If it's on your way, definitely stop in. I suspect they need a few out-of-towners to shake things up.

(02/02/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Awesome!

Establishment: Isaac Newton's, Newtown, PA

Isaac's has bounced back better than ever from the fire in 2002; upstairs is expanded and looks great, new carpet and decor downstairs looks good, and the bar expansion is much appreciated. But the tap and cooler expansion, now THAT is outstanding. The deep, well-thought-out bottle selection backs up a constantly rotating tap selection that covers all the major bases of beer. Service is better than it used to be; only weak spot is table-side, which is still not up to bar service levels. Bartenders are quite beer-savvy. Patrons are too, and friendly with it.

(02/02/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Good Great

Establishment: Flanigan's Boathouse, Conshohocken, PA

Took my son here after Return of the King, we both enjoyed the nachos, I had a real good pork sandwich. I'd like to say I got the whole beerlist (it was a good, pretty long one), but when the waitress said "Duke of Ale," I kind of short-circuited and just said "Yes yes yes yes." The Boathouse is a little over-sports'd for me, but otherwise, nice place to hang out; clean, reasonable, good service, good beers.

(02/02/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Colorado Brewery and Trading Company, Danbury, CT

Stopped in with the kids over Christmas break. Big place, kind of empty on a Sunday afternoon, but the beer was good (Trance Porter especially), my barbecue pizza was disgustingly good (I mean, I felt like a pig eating ALL of it, but I just couldn't stop), and the service was on the spot but not annoyingly clingy. Well-done all-round. Only complaint would be that the place is almost too big; kind of echo-y.

(01/13/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Good N/A Great Great

Establishment: Keegan Ales, Kingston, NY

Tommy Keegan is an excellent brewer, and I've tasted the beer to prove it. Mother's Milk Stout is rich and rocking, Hurricane Kitty Pale Ale...well, most breweries would call this crisp, snappy beer an IPA. Get on up to Kingston and check it out, you can thank me later.

(01/13/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great So So Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Nicks Seafood, Baltimore , MD

This place is SO DAMNED BALTIMORE. Huge buckets of beer (mostly mainstream, but I had Clipper City's McHenry) and seafood grilled, fried, broiled, sushified, and shucked raw. Mostly standup, and everyone's there, eating the fresh stuff. I can't remember the last time I saw my dad this happy eating, tearing into 9 jumbo steamed shrimp and a McHenry. Nick's is The Balls.

(01/07/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Good N/A N/A Great

Establishment: Legacy Brewing (was Neversink and was Fancy Pants), Reading, PA

I've had Legacy's Steamhorse Lager (deliciously bigger version of a steam beer) and Duke of Ale IPA (smashingly good IPA, just wanted to keep drinking it all night) and Nor'Easter (strong ale, good, but not up to the caliber of the other two) so far, and I'd like to say that I hope they succeed, and that they get the Duke of Ale on at every bar I visit regularly!

(01/07/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Awesome! Great

Establishment: Otto's Brauhaus, Horsham, PA

I can't believe this wasn't on Pubcrawler; I can't believe I didn't put it on before! Otto's is great, a real institution, and they know their beerology cold, especially when it comes to German and Czech lagers. The German food is authentic and delicious, the decor is authentic as well, and the service is ausgezeichnet. Great place to bring a bunch of friends and drink cold lager beer while talking, laughing, and even singing.

(01/07/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Brown's Brewing Company was Troy Pub and Brewery, Troy, NY

I don't live in Troy or the Capital District, and I only make it to the Troy Pub about twice a year, but...I think I speak for plenty of people when I say Please don't change your beer selection! There are lots of places that serve Coors Light; there is only ONE place that serves Troy's beers. Hang your hat on it.

(01/05/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Eddie's Brewery and Grille, Orchard Park, NY

Bill, sorry you had a bad experience. The thing I liked most about the beers at Eddie's when I had them (two years ago...it takes a while to get a book written and published!) was the LOW carbonation and how clean they were. Obviously something's changed, and that's a damned shame. I'm going to get out to western NY in the next month or so, and I'll be sure to drop in for a session.

(01/04/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Awesome! Great

Establishment: Which Brew, Easton, PA

I'm really pissed that it took me so long to get to Which Brew! I took my family there tonight for dinner, and by the time my wife and I were splitting dessert (a delish chunk of sweet potato pie), she was saying how she wished we had a place like this near us. The tap beer tonight was rocking: Troegenator, Mad Elf, Old Heathen, Perkuno's Hammer, Lunacy, HopDevil, Lanc. Milk Stout, Smuttynose Pumpkin, and a dry-hopped firkin of Weyerbacher Winter. Back that up with an impressive bottle list, and you're sure to find something. The menu's a bit short, but very good. Cathy had a great burger with mushrooms and a couple of cheeses (more towards rare than the ordered medium-rare, but that's okay), I had ESB chili (a little over the top on the cumin for me, but meaty and satisfying), and like I said, the pie was great. Service was just about perfect, the atmosphere was great with friendly regulars, clean bathrooms, and a realy cozy feel. We will definitely be back, highly recommended.

(01/03/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A N/A Great

Establishment: Manayunk Brewery and Restaurant, Manayunk, PA

Just a note: Manayunk's owner, Harry Renner IV, just died. RIP, Harry. Tough time for the family; Harry's dad was murdered last year. Next beer at Manayunk's is to you.

(12/22/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great

Establishment: Marzoni's Brick Oven and Brewing Company, Duncansville, PA

Stopped at Marzoni's on 12/1; they opened on 11/21. Got the sampler (a very good deal at $5 for seven 7 oz. beers) and tried everything. Pale Ale and IPA were both very hoppy, stout was good (though relatively light in color), amber lager was quite good in a lightly malty way. Raz wheat was not nasty. Only disappointment was the hefeweizen, which showed no discernable Bavarian weizen characteristics other than the cloudiness. Didn't have food, but it looked great; no surprise, given the Hoss's pedigree. This place is up and running, doesn't look like they'll need much shakedown time at all. Well worth the trip up I-99 from the PA Turnpike.

(12/03/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Awesome! Awesome! Great

Establishment: Strawberry Hill Restaurant, Lancaster, PA

Excellent dining, outstanding wine list, and -- surprise! Great beer as well: Chimay White and Rogue Dead Guy on tap, plus a full line of Sam Smith in bottles, and some other treats (some nice whiskey, too). I'd like to see some more American (and LOCAL) micros, but for now, a great place for food and beer!

(10/28/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Good Great Great

Establishment: Lancaster Brewing Company, Lancaster, PA

Went in Friday with 23 friends and kids. Beer was top-notch: milk stout, pilsner, Ye Old Mullet (a cask mild-like ale), Winter Warmer, Oktoberfest. Food was okay, if not great. Service was very good, considering we were about 35 minutes late on our reservation. Definitely would recommend this place to others: the bar is really happening, and the beer is excellent.

(10/28/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Spuyten Duyvil, Brooklyn, NY

Haven't been there yet myself, but wanted to get this one in for everyone's benefit. People I've talked to say it's the hottest new place for beer in NYC.

<...great selection of Belgians. Adding a hand-pump in November>

(10/14/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A Awesome! Awesome! Great

Establishment: Abbaye, Philadelphia, PA

The Abbaye is currently BYOB due to a screwup by the former owners of their license. But this is still a great place to go: the food we had was tremendous. Fancy (cheese-stuffed roasted figs wrapped in apple-smoked bacon) or plain (a honking big portion of halibut in fish and chips), this food is delicious, and the service is great. Call ahead to see if they're serving yet, but GO!

(10/13/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Bare Bones Grill and Brewery, Ellicott City, MD

Not a brewpub...it's this weird Maryland law. You can only have one brewpub in a chain. So all the beer is brewed at Cockeysville and shipped here. That might make it a tied house, but it's for sure not a brewpub, there is NO brewery here. But it doesn't serve a bunch of different beers, either, just Bare Bones beers (which are good!).

(10/08/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A Awesome! Great

Establishment: Gooski's, Polish Hill, PA

Found Gooski's late one Friday night, and it impressed the hell out of me. I'm not usually one to rate on price, but...$2.50 pints of HopDevil in Pittsburgh has got to be mentioned. Great jukebox, great staff, great crowd...weird look, it all adds up to a place that should be a lot better known than it is.

(10/08/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Neuweiler Brewing Company, Incorporated, Allentown, PA

Hasn't been a brewery in years, decades; the beer in the 1990s, while good, was contract-brewed. Haven't seen any Neuweiler's on the shelves in over three years. Too bad, it was good beer.

(10/08/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Jones Brewing Company, Smithton, PA

Closed January 2002. Still brewed under contract at Pittsburgh, but I don't think that will last.

(10/08/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: KClinger's Publik House, Etters, PA

Definitely not a brewpub: the "brewery" is still a concrete block shell with a dirt floor, and has been for three years.

(10/08/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Canal Street Pub and Restaurant, Reading, PA

Not a brewpub, never has been a brewpub. Canal Street IS located directly over the brewery that has been Neversink, Fancy Pants, and now is Legacy, but it is a separate business, and always has been.

(10/08/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Red Bell Pub at the Airport, Philadelphia, PA

Not sure who's running this now, but it's NOT called Red Bell anymore, and it never was a brewpub. It's a beer bar.

(10/08/2003)


Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ 4 ] [ 5 ] [ 6 ] [ 7 ] [ 8 ] [ 9 ] [ 10 ] [ 11 ] [ 12 ] [ 13 ] [ 14 ] [ 15 ] [ 16 ] [ 17 ] [ 18 ] [ 19 ] [ ALL ]













(0.294 seconds) 09:20:00 54.90.195.67, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS