PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Reviews on PubCrawler from
Other Reviews by this User
 
July 24, 2014 @ 08:18 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.

Reviews By

Beer Reviews
(467)

Restaurant Reviews
(0)






User Tagline: Somewhere in the world it's beer o'clock; who's buying?
Favorite Beer: Right now...Stegmaier Summer Stock
Located In: Mid-Atlantic
My Website: www.lewbryson.com
467
Beer Reviews from
   

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ 4 ] [ 5 ] [ 6 ] [ 7 ] [ 8 ] [ 9 ] [ 10 ] [ 11 ] [ 12 ] [ 13 ] [ 14 ] [ 15 ] [ 16 ] [ 17 ] [ 18 ] [ 19 ] [ ALL ]
Average Rating
Beer Quality
Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great
Great Great Great Great

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A Great Awesome!

Establishment: Ulrich's Tavern, Buffalo, NY

Ulrich's may not have the best selection of beer in Buffalo, but it's more than adequate, and the place itself is fantastic. It is the oldest bar in Buffalo, opened in 1868. They served in the upstairs (as the "Hassenpfeffer Club") during Prohibition, and presidential candidate Al Smith dined here during his campaign as the Democrat's "Wet" candidate. I missed the food, unfortunately: they only serve on Friday and Saturday nights, and it's gotten great reviews in local press. A piece of history with draft Flying Bison, Guinness, and Warsteiner: how can you miss?

(01/27/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! N/A Great Great

Establishment: Pizza Plant, Williamsville, NY

Saw beers here I saw nowhere else in two hard days of drinking in Buffalo: Cooperstown Benchwarmer Porter, Dogfish Head 60-Minute IPA, Three Floyd's Behemoth. Well-done, guys! Strange setup, but I'll take it for these beers.

(01/26/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Awesome! Great

Establishment: Alternative Brews, Amherst, NY

Some truly great beers here, and I hear the blues is tremendous. This was the one bar EVERY beer geek mentioned when I said I was going to Buffalo, and now I know why. Excellent beers, good cigar selection, too.

(01/26/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Good N/A N/A Awesome!

Establishment: Barker Brew Company, Fredonia, NY

I went back, and I'm glad I did. Barker Brewing has an edge, and that edge is Joe Rogers. I'm just now finishing up a mini-growler of his ESB, and it is FINE, one of the better beers I've had lately. The 90/60-shilling Scotch (let Joe explain the 90/60 part) is a work in progress, and he's getting close to perfection. The Porter continues as a wonder in glass. Nothing overdone, nothing wimpy. Beautiful place, drool-inducing menu, top-shelf booze, and hot live jazz. What more do you WANT from a brewpub, other than to have this one in your town?

(01/26/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Good Great So So

Establishment: Market Street Brewing Company and Restaurant, Corning, NY

I was prepared to like Market Street, but two things ruined it for me. First, their bar munchies are wicked spicy, like as in painfully hot. I've been told that their jerk chicken sandwich (which, to be fair, is noted as terrifically hot in the menu) is painfully hot by someone who digs hot foods. Second, I had a sampler of the five beers on tap, and two of them were too sour/infected to drink, another was obviously headed in the same direction. That's depressing. I hate to downcheck a brewery so hard, but the beer was just not good enough OVERALL to give a better rating. The two that were not sour, the blackberry lager and Potbelly Pale Ale were both good, the PA was actually quite good. But sour beers are bad news, hence the low review.

(01/26/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A Good Good

Establishment: Colter Bay, Buffalo, NY

I was initially impressed with Colter Bay. Lots of good-looking taps, nice enough place, not overpoweringly noisy, cute bartenders (I like looking at good-looking women, deal with it). Sounds good, right? Then I looked at what was going on. First, about 1/3 of the taps were swill. Second, about 4/5 of the taps were all from the same distributor, who is obviously having a LOT to say about what goes on tap at Colter Bay. Finally, when I looked down the bar, you know what I saw people drinking? Wine, mixed drinks, and bottles of Blue. In a crowded bar, I saw 5 pints of draft beer, and one of them was mine. Not a great sign. I understand Colter Bay was one of Buffalo's original multitaps: too bad they've wandered.

(01/26/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A Awesome! Great

Establishment: Flying Bison Brewing Company, Buffalo, NY

Service at a packaging brewery? You gotta understand: Tim Herzog will bend over backwards to get an account serviced or make a customer happy. The best way he does that is by brewing his beers: I'm drinking the tail-end of a growler of his new Blackbird Oatmeal Stout right now, it's rippingly good stuff. If you're in Buffalo, find a pub with Flying Bison beer: if you find one that doesn't have it, ask the morons why they don't. Look for the blue propellor tap handles.

(01/26/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A Awesome! Great

Establishment: Pearl Street Grill and Brewery, Buffalo, NY

VERY comfortable place, and sharp-looking. Paul Koehler brews up some very clean, traditional beers. I really liked his lighter beer, the Seneca Saaz: bright clear yellow beer, with a surprisingly peppy floral hop aroma and crisp, clean malt body with a light bitterness. Excellent pint-after-pinter. The Trainwreck altbier is superbly balanced. Buffalo's best brewpub.

(01/26/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Empire Brewing Company, Buffalo, NY

This place is SO closed! Been a while, but people in Buffalo bars are still talking about it: they left town like the Colts left Baltimore! They're picking over the bones: mark this placed CLOSED.

(01/26/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A Great Great

Establishment: Black Rock Brewing Company, Wilkes-Barre, PA

Went back just before Christmas. Saw plenty of families, couples, and singles enjoying themselves during an intense snow squall. Our waitress served us with a smile: a burly, delicious Alt, that "grab-ya" Kolsch (favorite of my group), gently spiced Winter ale, and a crisp Pale Ale. Very comfy, and yes, they've turned the lights down!

(01/04/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Selin's Grove Brewing, Selinsgrove, PA

My wife and I made arrangements with my parents to take our kids overnight so we could drive 3 1/2 hours to go to Selin's Grove's 5th anniversary on 12/21/01. It didn't seem like a lot of trouble for what we got: fantastic beers (the 1999 and 2000 St. Filian's on cask were almost reward enough), excellent food (I had mulligatawney and promptly ordered a second bowl), and friendly service, all in a cozy, warm, sophisticated (NON-SMOKING) atmosphere. I told Steve that as much as I loved being at Selin's Grove, I was often happy sitting at home in Bucks County, just knowing that a place like that was open and doing well. This is a must stop for any beerlover visiting... America.

(12/27/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Porterhouse Restaurant and Brew Pub , Lahaska, PA

Toad, you monkey, how the hell are you?! Good to see you here. Yes, there are new owners at B-Mountain, no word yet on when they're re-opening. Have to take a run up there.

(12/13/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A Great N/A

Establishment: Black Rock Brewing Company, Wilkes-Barre, PA

Black Rock just opened on Nov. 19. I was there the previous Friday, when brewer Terry Hawbaker (late of W.T. Hackett's, which is definitely closed, BTW!) was doing staff training. I'm basing that service rating on the waitresses I saw: mama! They were hip chicks who really dug the beer. Good sign. The beer was pretty good stuff for first batches. A fairly gutsy kolsch, malty in aroma. A very brisk, Centennial-hopped Pale Ale. A somewhat overhopped ESB, though Terry said he had a second batch in tank that had more body to it, that might up the balance a bit. A very big nut brown ale, full-bodied and buzzy with booze: watch out for this one. A smoky, roasty porter. Terry has plans for an oatmeal stout and a weizenbock...at least. Hope this place works out, be nice to have fresh beer in NE PA again!

(11/20/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A N/A Great

Establishment: Legacy Brewing (was Neversink and was Fancy Pants), Reading, PA

Fancy Pants it is, and Pete's involved as a consultant. Brewer used to work at Pretzel City, and their IPO is reminiscent of PC's late lamented Duke of Ale. Great-tasting porter, very smooth nitro-pour Pub Ale. Look for the roll-out on Thanksgiving Eve in Berks County. I expect good things from these guys!

(11/13/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A Good Good

Establishment: Ugly Oyster Drafthaus, Reading, PA

After hearing rave reviews of the Ugly Oyster, I finally got a chance to stop in last night. It was beautiful, gorgeous, cozy... I was let down. The Ugly Oyster's been redone as one of the "Fado"-type Guinness bars. Guinness spun off a company that essentially sells bar interiors and Irish pub businesses. It's not technically a franchise, but you'll notice a lot of similarity right away: a lot of Guinness-Bass Import Co. beers on tap (check: UO had Harp, Guinness, Bass, though they also had Black Biddy Stout, Tupper's Hop Pocket, and Stoudt's Harvest on cask), Irish music (check), plenty of Guinness signage (check), and beautiful woodwork and such that looks old and is brand-new (check). Comfortable, but an Irish pub in Reading is about as authentic as an Arab cowboy. It's a nice enough place, but where is the place I heard about: "a mini-Monk's," "Belgium in Reading," "great beers from all over"? My server broke off pouring my beer repeatedly to scoop foam off the top (if she knew how to use the taps properly...), answer the phone, and chat. Man could die of thirst in a place like that. I'd go back, but I doubt I'd send people there when the Northeast Taproom, 3rd & Spruce, the Peanut Bar, and Canal Street were around. Probably I'm just irked that I missed it before the re-do, but these 'pub-in-a-box' redo's irk me too. If you can't come up with a bar on your own, why not just run an Appleby's?

(11/13/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Weyerbacher Brewing Company, Easton, PA

Before any nasty rumors get started: Weyerbacher is moving in early January, and the pub will unfortunately be closing for at least a year. THE BREWERY IS NOT CLOSING! Just moving in a lost-our-lease kind of deal, to industrial space in Easton. If anything, the beer might be better. But plans are for the pub to return as soon as proper space is found for it. A shame, but I know I intend to get a few nights in at one of my favorite bars before it's gone!

(10/22/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Pennsylvania Brewing Company aka Penn Brewery, Pittsburgh , PA

Another Great American Beer Festival medal for Penn Gold -- the fifth, and the FOURTH GOLD. Some kind of achievement. Congratulations!

(10/02/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Valhalla Microbrewery and Restaurant, Pittsburgh , PA

Hey, Sean, SOMEone likes your beer besides me (and all the people who keep swarming Valhalla, that is): Congratulations on another Great American Beer Festival medal (Silver) for Pillage Pils! WAKE UP AND SMELL THE LAGER, PEOPLE!!

(10/02/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: The Church Brew Works, Pittsburgh , PA

Dontcha hate it, when people keep slamming your beer...and then you keep winning those pesky Great American Beer Festival medals? Congratulations to Bryan the Brewer on two more medals! Mad Brewer Maibock and Pious Monk Dunkel do it again!

(10/02/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Great Great

Establishment: Weyerbacher Brewing Company, Easton, PA

I agree with Doug: the food has suddenly gotten MUCH better. We were just up last Saturday (9/29) and had ravioli, chili (great pita "plate"), and a grilled chicken sandwich: all were excellent, as was the creamy wild mushroom and garlic soup. Was somewhat disappointed by the selection of beer (ESB, IPA, Hops Infusion, Triple, and QUAD, no Autumnfest, Mild, or stout/porter), but what we had was delicious, particularly the after-dinner snifter of QUAD. Yes, it's small, yes, it's on a back street, yes, it's Easton, but YES, I love this place, and so does my family. Very friendly place, very friendly people.

(10/02/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Good Great

Establishment: Village Tap, Chicago, IL

Found this place through a friend's recommendation while in town for WhiskyFest. We took Michael Jackson here for dinner -- really. He liked the beer, but I don't think he was nuts about the chicken sandwich. I know I was pretty pissed when the waiter screwed up our food orders and I got stuck with a veggie burger. Feh. Thank God the beer was fantastic and the bartender was really into the whole beer gig. I'd go back, but I'd order from the window!

(09/25/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: New Road Brewhouse, Collegeville, PA

Just talked to the GM at New Road last week, and they are NOT brewing. They are still selling the beer Brian O'Reilly brewed last June, and a bunch of commercial beers like Molson, Coors Light, and Yuengling Lager. The GM did say they were talking to two brewers, but they're only looking for part-timers. Doesn't look good. Sorry, guys, but it just doesn't look good.

(09/25/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Great Awesome!

Establishment: The Church Brew Works, Pittsburgh , PA

I sure can't understand why anyone would complain about this beer. We had five this past weekend: Turbo Llama Lager (made with quinoa), Blast Furnace Stout, Pious Monk Dunkel, Bell Tower Brown (cask), and Weizenbock. The T.Llama damn near took my head off, a strong lager that needs to be treated with respect but with a delicious sweet taste. The Blast Furnace Stout is the stout newbies think Guinness is, rich and tasty. The Weizenbock was fantastic, full of weizen esters and banana and clove, and the Dunkel was smooth and malty...which is why it won a Gold GABF medal in 1998. The only complaint I had was that the Bell Tower Brown was served a bit too cold. But these were excellent beers, a great range of brewpub beers. That's what I expect from all four brewpubs in Pittsburgh, and I haven't been let down for three years or so. The Pierogie pizze was good too, and my son's bison burger was outstanding. Price was reasonable, service was competent and knowledgeable, if not particularly personable. This place is great, a destination stop in Da Burgh.

(09/25/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A N/A Great

Establishment: Wachusett Brewing Company, Westminster, MA

Wachusett brews some excellent beer, my particular favorites are the Porter and IPA. They have a high level of quality and consistency, and continue to put money into their production equipment. Good guys, and I hope to see them grow.

(09/06/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: New Road Brewhouse, Collegeville, PA

I was told today that New Road has NOT ceased brewing ops. I'll investigate and report.

(08/26/2001)


Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ 4 ] [ 5 ] [ 6 ] [ 7 ] [ 8 ] [ 9 ] [ 10 ] [ 11 ] [ 12 ] [ 13 ] [ 14 ] [ 15 ] [ 16 ] [ 17 ] [ 18 ] [ 19 ] [ ALL ]













(0.153 seconds) 08:18:14 54.197.215.146, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS