PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Reviews on PubCrawler from
Other Reviews by this User
 
August 27, 2014 @ 02:06 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.

Reviews By

Beer Reviews
(467)

Restaurant Reviews
(0)






User Tagline: Somewhere in the world it's beer o'clock; who's buying?
Favorite Beer: Right now...Stegmaier Summer Stock
Located In: Mid-Atlantic
My Website: www.lewbryson.com
467
Beer Reviews from
   

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ 4 ] [ 5 ] [ 6 ] [ 7 ] [ 8 ] [ 9 ] [ 10 ] [ 11 ] [ 12 ] [ 13 ] [ 14 ] [ 15 ] [ 16 ] [ 17 ] [ 18 ] [ 19 ] [ ALL ]
Average Rating
Beer Quality
Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great
Great Great Great Great

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Great Great

Establishment: Race Street Cafe, Philadelphia, PA

I'd been advised about Race Street several times, and was planning to visit, but today I was meeting microdistiller Tito Beveridge (really his name) and when other plans fell through, I suggested we walk round the block to Race Street Cafe. Man, what a lucky guess! The barroom is very dark-wood cozy, staff is quick and friendly without being the least bit pushy or fake, the bar and stools are very comfortable, and the beer rocks. About 15 taps, with handles like Sly Fox Odyssey IPA, Yards Philly Pale and ESA, Lancaster Winter Warmer, Stoudt's ESB, Southampton Secret Ale...great stuff, and the pints of Philly Pale Tito and I both had were phenomenally fresh, as good as any I've had (he loved the stuff, and commented on it several times). I'm going to have to make for lost time on this place. Highly recommended.

(02/18/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A Great Great

Establishment: Cafe Saint-Ex, Washington, DC

Very cool place, romantic atmosphere, properly 1930s Euro-aviation motif. An excellent job of decor serving the ambiance. The beer selection is not broad, but it is well-chosen. 13 bourbons and some unusual malts round things out. Stylish but not poserish, and not snooty. Very well done.

(02/14/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Awesome! Great Awesome!

Establishment: World Cafe Live, Philadelphia, PA

I got to World Cafe Live's first beer festival yesterday, and man, was I impressed. Great live music venue, but also a great place for a beer fest. Everything's open to the stage, everything's easily accessible, everything's very cool. And thanks to an events coordinator who used to work for Boston Beer Company, there's good beer here, too. World Cafe Live is a music venue first and foremost, but it's also a nice cafe restaurant with great food and drink. Definitely check the website and find a good show to attend. They're currently planning two beerfests a year and some beer dinners as well. Nice!

(02/13/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Good Great Great Great

Establishment: Bridgewater's Pub, Philadelphia, PA

Just heard about this place four days ago, and there I was in 30th Street Station, running for my train back to the 'burbs, when I thought...hey, Lew, there's ALWAYS time for a beer. So I slipped into this nifty little bistro, right off the main concourse on the 30th Street side of this gorgeous old railroad station, sat down and ordered a Golden Monkey. Yeah, that's right: Golden Monkey, Young's Special, Stoudt's Pils, Flying Fish Dubbel, and some really good spirits, too. The service was quick but personable, and the food, WOW. Very nice seafood, surprising vegetarian items, NOT what you'd expect in a train station bar. This one's a keeper, folks: definitely recommended.

(02/13/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great N/A Great

Establishment: Spinnerstown Hotel, Spinnerstown, PA

First time at this old hotel bar and restaurant, and I was very impressed. Nice old place, although the original building has pretty much been wrapped by new construction except for the original old chestnut beams in the banquet room upstairs -- the Spinnerstown has been a tavern since before 1819, and displays an 1822 petition to the governor to reinstate their tavern license, signed by every man in the township. The atmosphere is right in that cozy corner of comfortable, clean, and polished, helped by the excellent service (I didn't rate that because I was travelling with a brewery rep, which makes it hard to judge objectively). The owner, John, and bartender, Hal, were both very passionate about the beer (the chef seemed more passionate about the whiskey, which is a GOOD thing as well!), and they were running Gulden Draak, Dogfish Head Indian Brown (very nice), Smithwick's, among others. They're putting in a handpump, doing monthly "meet the brewer" nights, and the menu is great -- food was delicious, especially the cream of mushroom soup. Best of all, they're only a couple minutes from the Quakertown exit of the PA Turnpike, VERY easy stop to make...and I will be.

(02/11/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great

Establishment: Quotations, Media, PA

Quotations is right across the street from Iron Hill, too close to pass up. (And while you're walking around the neighborhood, Trader Joe's, across the parking lot from Iron Hill, is fun to mess around in as well.) Quotations is running on a shoestring but picking up the pace, and you MUST admire an owner who put everything he owned on the line to open a place, and then put beers like Avery's The Czar and New Holland Mad Hatter on. Clean, uncluttered, friendly. I've been in twice and really like the place. Beers are well cared for and interesting, staff seems to know what they're talking about, two VERY important points. Could this be the start of a small pub crawl in Media? Good beer begets good beer!

(01/31/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great N/A Great Great

Establishment: DuClaw Brewing Company, Baltimore, MD

Stopped in for the first time tonight, had an Old Flame old ale, which was malty enough, but didn't have the fruitiness/estery character promised by the promo flyer; somewhat disappointing. Bartender was great, and so was the scenery: the place was absolutely crawling with women, guys were outnumbered by a large margin. Curious. Anyway, I thought the decor in the bar was a bit too industrial to be comfortable, seemed a bit echoey. Dining room, on the other hand, was very nice.

(01/25/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A Great Awesome!

Establishment: Bourbon, Washington, DC

First, why do I give Bourbon two Greats, a Good, and an N/A, but an overall Awesome? Simple: 60-odd bourbons crowd the top shelf of this aptly-named place, and the bartenders know them all and can really advise you on them. Second, so what, like, why is a bourbon bar here? Because not only do they have a massive bourbon selection, great comfort food at a reasonable price, and 12 by-the-glass wines, Bourbon also has a very nice tap selection, and some great bottled beer. If you want to drink, they're ready for you. The place is spotless, relaxed, and one of the slickest neighborhood bars I've ever seen. They're so neighborhood they don't even have a sign. Write down that street number!

(01/25/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Deep Creek Brewing Company, McHenry, MD

Just talked to an owner today (1/19/05): they have taken out the brewery, and are closed for a few months to renovate the place with "a whole new look and theme." Without a brewery. Bummer.

(01/19/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Typhoon Brewery, New York, NY

Typhoon is no longer brewing. Got that info from a brewer who is currently bidding on their system. The restaurant remains open.

(01/19/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Great Great

Establishment: Parker's Grille and Tap House, Newark, NY

If anything, Parker's looks better, and the staff has shaken down. The food was delicious. The Wagner IPA I had was great. But the beer selection has diminished. Sad. If you want to make the money on the higher-end beers, you got to work them.

(01/17/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Great Good

Establishment: Moonwinks, Cuba, NY

Moonwinks was a great surprise for me: out in the sticks (though they're sticks I love), nothing special to look at, but a really nice place inside, and a couple of outstanding taps: Erie Railbender (VERY fresh) and Southern Tier's Phin & Matt's Excellent Ale (also delish). Price was ridiculously reasonable, setting was very comfortable, service was personable and quick...and it was snowing with the playoff games on. What the hell more can you ask?

(01/17/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So Great Great Good

Establishment: Old Chicago, Trevose, PA

Disappointing. I've been to Old Chicago before in other cities, and was pleased to hear one had landed near me, but today's visit...whew. I owe an apology to Bites & Brews in Pittsburgh, which I recently reviewed as a very disappointing use of 30-odd taps. Old Chicago in Trevose is worse. A Rogue Santa's Reserve that was stale, a good tap of Stoudt's Fat Dog, and perhaps four others were the lone standouts in The Taps of Crap. Lunch was good, a canadian bacon and red onion pizza with a nice caesar salad, and samples of beers were cheerfully offered. But the beer...jeez, did they think we weren't ready? In THIS area? We've got people crying for more selection, and we keep getting the same old crap. Meanwhile, Isaac Newton's sells any exotic thing they put on tap. Wake up!!!

(01/11/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A N/A Great

Establishment: Red Star Brewery and Grille, Greensburg, PA

Jeff Guidos's beers are excellent, and he's always working at making them better. Had a very nice Irish Red that I hope he makes again, and the Voodoo Child Dunkel was -- as always -- tasty and smooth. Great range of beers, well-executed, beautiful premises, and situated in a classic small-town downtown: Red Star is WELL worth getting off the PA Turnpike.

(01/03/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Jean Bonnet Tavern, Bedford, PA

Finally got a meal at Jean Bonnet's. Just a Reuben, but truly one of the best ones I've had. Beer was Yards Philly Pale Ale, delicious and snappy. Service was just fine, setting was great as always. A fine place to stop after a drive over the ridges on Rt. 30.

(01/02/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Great Great

Establishment: Troegs Brewing Company, Harrisburg, PA

Wow. Stopped in twice in the past two weeks, and the beers to be sampled were top of the mark. Troegenator, Mad Elf, Van den Hoorn (whoops, not supposed to talk about that one), Pale Ale, Hopback, all excellent, all consistent, all drinkable as all get-out. Fantastic work, and they're showing some real growth: new brewhouse arrives this month. Go boys, go.

(01/02/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Great Awesome!

Establishment: Pittsburgh Bottleshop Cafe, Bridgeville , PA

NO ONE ELSE reviewed this place in four months? Jeez...Oh well. The beer has gotten even better, the atmosphere is improved with some nice decorating, the service is more personable. Mark is hitting this nail square on the head.

(01/02/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Good Great Awesome!

Establishment: D's Six Packs and Dogz, Pittsburgh , PA

D's is what it is, which is a hot dog joint with a drop-dead beer selection. Six hot taps, 800+ bottles, and a short menu of dogs, sausage, chicken tenders, and fries (delicious Pittsburgh beauties). Drop in, grab a beer or two and a dog, and groove on it.

(01/02/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Chiodo's Tavern, Pittsburgh , PA

I HOPE this wasn't my last visit to Joe's...but if it was, it'll do as a valedictory. The bar was warm and friendly, full of neighborhood folks. And the Iron City was cold, clean, and fresh, and back on draft, thank you very much. Don't worry, the broad selection of bottles is still there. And so's Joe, who was looking better than I'd seen him in a few years, and playing it cagey about whether he was actually going to sell or not. Hey, Joe, whatever you do, it's cool. You earned it!

(01/02/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great So So N/A Great Good

Establishment: East End Brewing Company, Pittsburgh, PA

Stopped in to visit last Tuesday and met one-man operation Scott Smith. Big Hop IPA is packed with hop flavor, though not overly bitter; Black Strap Stout bulges all over with flavor, a bit rough, more than a bit bitter, and I can see a good following for it. Good luck to Scott, he's got a lot of hard work ahead, but he sure seems to know how to make beer.

(01/02/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Great Awesome!

Establishment: Pennsylvania Brewing Company aka Penn Brewery, Pittsburgh , PA

Penn was rocking when I stopped in last week, tables full and busy, and pint after pint of St. Nikolaus Bock sailing across the bar. I stuck to the damn-near-perfect Penn Dark and was not disappointed. Food was delicious and plentiful, service was on the dot. No complaints here.

(01/02/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A Great Great

Establishment: Frank and Jerry's Bier Haus, Pittsburgh , PA

Great stop a few days after Christmas. Friendly crowd, even to my buddy the Eagles fan. Classic corner bar with a great breweriana display, and better than average beer selection.

(01/02/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Great Awesome!

Establishment: Remedy was Ray's Marlin Beach Bar and Grill, Pittsburgh , PA

The beer: draft Kostritzer Maibock, one I'd never seen or even heard of, deliciously fresh and simply perfect. The food: Jacked and stacked meatloaf sammich with garlic mashed spuds, would have been perfect if the gravy had been a bit less sharp, but pretty darned good as it was. The Service: Attitudinal, attentive, experienced. The Vibe: pure Ray's. Seek this place out, and enjoy yourself.

(01/02/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Great Great

Establishment: The Church Brew Works, Pittsburgh , PA

Stopped in last week and was lucky enough to find the Bocks au Chocolats on tap. Wonderfully dry cocoa-flavored beer, not the chock-sweet chocolate beers you'll find elsewhere, and light in body and color. Delightful. Service was quick, witty, and just a bit smart-assed: perfect for the moment. Great time, thanks, Church!

(01/02/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great

Establishment: Mastracchio's Restaurant and Lounge, Newport, PA

Mastracchio's was recommended to me by Heather at Selin's Grove as a nice little place by the Juniata River with a pretty good beer selection. Dead on, Heather. I dropped in late on a Tuesday night this week, and it was quiet, but the owner, Lou, is very beer passionate, and tries to get as much in as he can...which is surprisingly good. The place is a rural bar, but it's clean, friendly, and the beer's amazing, given that you're literally miles from anywhere. It is conveniently located right beside the main eastern road to Penn State, though, so I'll be back.

(12/23/2004)


Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ 4 ] [ 5 ] [ 6 ] [ 7 ] [ 8 ] [ 9 ] [ 10 ] [ 11 ] [ 12 ] [ 13 ] [ 14 ] [ 15 ] [ 16 ] [ 17 ] [ 18 ] [ 19 ] [ ALL ]













(0.253 seconds) 14:06:55 54.83.230.219, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS