PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Reviews on PubCrawler from
Other Reviews by this User
 
November 29, 2014 @ 03:10 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.

Reviews By

Beer Reviews
(467)

Restaurant Reviews
(0)






User Tagline: Somewhere in the world it's beer o'clock; who's buying?
Favorite Beer: Right now...Stegmaier Summer Stock
Located In: Mid-Atlantic
My Website: www.lewbryson.com
467
Beer Reviews from
   

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ 4 ] [ 5 ] [ 6 ] [ 7 ] [ 8 ] [ 9 ] [ 10 ] [ 11 ] [ 12 ] [ 13 ] [ 14 ] [ 15 ] [ 16 ] [ 17 ] [ 18 ] [ 19 ] [ ALL ]
Average Rating
Beer Quality
Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great
Great Great Great Great

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: North Country Brewing Company, Slippery Rock, PA

I've heard they're hoping for a 'soft' opening in the last week of the year. Nothing solid to back that up, but the guy I talked to should know. I'll be there on Dec. 29, I'll post after that.

(12/05/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Eulogy Belgian Tavern, Philadelphia, PA

Tom Morrice: if you're going to spout Philly bar history, you ought to know that Bridgid's was Philly's "original" Belgian beer bar, not Cuvee. As for Monk's vs. Eulogy (vs. Bridgid's), why does one have to be "the best"? I'm pretty happy we have three Belgian-focused beer bars in town (four, if you count the Abbaye). Cheer up, buddy.

(11/21/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good So So N/A

Establishment: Abbaye, Philadelphia, PA

Just had a very disappointing dinner at Abbaye, and I don't get it. Five of us went, four ordered sandwiches, one got fish and chips. The dinners took over 40 minutes to arrive, and every one of the five orders of frites was cold, as was my oyster po' boy and my wife's grilled zucchini sandwich. I told the waitress immediately about the frites, and she (rather unconcernedly) offered fresh orders. Those did come out, rather quickly, and were excellent, the main reason the food rating is as high as it is. Happily, the beer was great (Bluebird Bitter and Yards ESA), but we were only asked once in an hour if we wanted another; my glass had been sitting empty for almost half an hour. What the hell happened to this wonderful place that I recommended to so many people? I'm hoping this is an aberration, but...the waitress was the same one we had at the excellent dinner I reviewed below. Not a good sign. With luck, things will improve.

(11/04/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Awesome! N/A Great Great

Establishment: Tap Werks Ale House and Cafe, Oklahoma City, OK

Tapwerks is almost intimidating, with its long, long stretch of 108 taps. And that's cool. But I tried four beers, and only one of them was not spoiled at least a bit; two of them were undrinkable. Okay, finding that out sucks, but...when a guy tells a bartender, hey, this beer you got on cask has been on too long, it's going sour, the bartender oughta do more than nod and walk off. Still, the pint of Choc I had was very nice, and the service (other than that lapse) was pretty good, and it's a cool place. Just go and ask the bartender: "Hey, what are you selling a lot of?" And order that. She'll be right, mate.

(10/09/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A N/A Great

Establishment: Coach's, Norman, OK

I enjoyed Coach's: the big, old, authentic, and lofty feel of the pool hall, the excellent IPA and stout I sampled, and yeah, the good-looking waitresses! Didn't eat, didn't spend much time in the restaurant, but I did like the beer.

(10/09/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good N/A Great Good

Establishment: Bricktown Brewery, Oklahoma City, OK

I don't get all the talk of diacetyl; I couldn't taste any in the Bricktown beers I had. I couldn't taste much of anything past the sour tang of the infection in these beers. I had a sampler rack, and the only beers that weren't soured up were the lager (which had a nasty aroma of baby whiz), the fest beer (which was actually pretty decent -- and had only been on for 9 days, which could explain things), and the wheat...no, actually, the wheat was sour also, but a more citric tang than the lactic whack the others had, so it might well have been intentional, a lemon addition of some kind. But the other beers were just...too darned sour to drink at all. Too bad, because this is a really cool place, and the food was looking and smelling great. I'd almost recommend you go here and have lunch...with Pepsi. I can't recommend the beer at all. They were brewing while we were there, and it sure smelled like they knew what they were doing, but I'd guess (and it's just a guess, cuz I'm no brewer) that they either need more work on sanitation, or they just need to move the beer faster. There is a LOT of Bud and Lite signage in the place, and a lot of bottles of that at the bar. I suspect they're selling a lot of mainstream beer, and their own beer sales have slowed...but I could be wrong, I'm not privy to the details. What I do know is that the beers were pretty darned sour. Period.

(10/09/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A Good Great

Establishment: Belle Isle Brewery, Oklahoma City, OK

Odd-looking place upstairs, beautiful downstairs. Had the Fallfest and the oatmeal stout, enjoyed both of them quite a bit: good clean beers, and solid in style. If I came back to OKC, I'd definitely come back to Belle Isle.

(10/09/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great

Establishment: Anchor Drinking Establishment, Wichita, KS

I was in Wichita for the Midwest Beerfest this weekend, and when my buddy Bob and I got into town, we hit River City Brewing. After lunch and a few beers, we asked the brewer what else was good in town, and he told us about this new bar that had just opened, the Anchor. We walked down, and it was balls-out cool: a 20-tap bar with about 200 bottles and a full-service espresso bar. I started out by firing up a triple espresso to counteract the previous hour's beers, then went to a Free State Ad Astra Ale, a quite nice beer that we couldn't quite peg as to style: somewhere in the intersection of brown ale, pale ale, red ale, and amber...and good. The bar, though, was cool. It was open about a week, and looked like it had been there for three or four years. Very high pressed-tin ceiling, a neat clear-coated coppertop bar, just rough enough, just neat enough, and some pretty cool folks behind the bar. Downchecks? Tap selection was a bit weak; they're getting that "Great" based largely on the bottles. But I suspect that this place is going to pick up some business that will push things a bit, judging from the comments I was hearing there and at the beerfest dinner last night. Good luck to them, this is going to be a cool spot.

(10/09/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Good Great

Establishment: River City Brewing Company, Wichita, KS

First time here (hell, first time in Wichita), and some parts were pretty impressive. The building, in the Old Town section, was a neat old brick place, solid inside and out, with a big wraparound wooden porch/dock. Bar downstairs was where we headed, and ordered a stout and an IPA. Both were a bit sweeter than I expected, but good, real good, and clean. Food was good, though the chips with our artichoke dip were a bit stale (bizarrely plentiful, though!): our burgers were delish. The only rankling thing was the service. The bartender was taking our order and just walked away mid-sentence when the phone rang (what, anyone on the phone is more important than a bar customer?); she didn't ask how we wanted our burgers done (we got them medium, I prefer rare); and she got the wrong cheese on my buddy's burger...and didn't seem too upset by it. Bummer. But we talked to brewer Dan Norton, who was great, pleasant, knew his stuff, and got us samples of beers we hadn't had (we'd gotten pints of brown and red to go with lunch, also good; the red was nice and hoppy, brown a bit chocolate-tinged), and let us try a sample of a young pseudo-lambic framboise he was making (it's definitely a bug-beer, and had a beautiful red color). All in all? A definite return-worthy brewpub.

(10/09/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Ortlieb's Brewery and Grille, Pottstown, PA

Ortlieb's closed a couple weeks after Henry Ortlieb's death in July, and will not be re-opening. I have that from people who worked at the brewery and from people who are looking into buying the equipment. Too damned bad.

(09/12/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Great

Establishment: Otto's Pub and Brewery, State College, PA

I wasn't overly impressed with Otto's the first time I stopped in, but decided a second chance was definitely in order (as it always is); GLAD I went back. Charlie's beers were simply incredible, from the massive Double D to the beautifully sour character of the recent Flanders Red. Great range, great execution. Food's been great, service as well. A must-stop in the area.

(09/12/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! N/A Great Awesome!

Establishment: Mesquito Grille, Doylestown, PA

Stopped in yesterday, blown away by the finely selected bottles and taps. For the space and taps they have, this may be one of the best selections I've ever seen in many years of looking at beer menus. The bottle menu is crammed with outstanding beers of almost every type (a bit low on lambics, but who's perfect?), a very nice selection of draft beers, and separate smoking and non-smoking bars (with satellite soccer in the smoking bar). Very knowledgeable bar staff round things out nicely. I didn't eat (except for a nice chewy mug of Fuller's London Porter), but I've heard very good things about the food. I'll be back to this one.

(08/27/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great N/A Great

Establishment: Lancaster Brewing Company, Lancaster, PA

The sheer number of taps at Lancaster was quite impressive recently, over 10, but the quality was the gripper, from the great Milk Stout and classic Pilsner to the shocking Gueuze. Nice work! The Lamburger was an outstanding sandwich, served fresh and hot. And Lancaster has spiffed up its bar and dining room: great place to hang.

(08/24/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Appalachian Brewing Company, Gettysburg, PA

First, the brewery's in, the brewer's hired, but the state's holding things up. Licensing issues...come on, PA, GET A CLUE. Sorry.

Anyway, for the moment, we've got plenty of ABC brews on tap here, and they were tasting pretty damned good when I stopped in last week, particularly the Wheat, much to my surprise. Fish and chips rocked, the site was impressive: right beside Lee's HQ from the battle. Certainly worth a stop if you're in town, should be your first, might be your last, too.

(08/24/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great So So Great Great Great

Establishment: Dobbin House Tavern, Gettysburg, PA

This is an atmosphere check, folks: the Springhouse Tavern at Dobbin House is just too cool to be missed. In a stone house dating from 1776, the Springhouse Tavern at the Dobbin House is a below-ground bar with rock walls and a stone floor, bartending women in colonial garb, lots of candles, low ceiling, and a bar that was built in 1815. And it's a real BAR, not a showpiece or a museum exhibit. I mean, come on, they only serve Troegs Hopback and Yuengling (okay, and Coors Light, too), but sitting at that old bar in the flickery light and coolth of a real springhouse (you can see and hear the spring trickling in the corner) and drinking a Hopback is just too damned cool. Definitely deserves a visit!

(08/24/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So N/A Great Good

Establishment: Blue Parrot Bistro, Gettysburg, PA

The Blue Parrot is not my first choice in Gettysburg, but it's far from last. I had a good glass of Lancaster Strawberry Wheat (which I thought was 4-Grain from the tap marker, which cost them a rank on Quality), quick service with a smile, and good conversation. Beer selection definitely could have been better.

(08/24/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Market Cross Pub, Carlisle, PA

Stopped in to see Jeff and Kevin last week, and thoroughly enjoyed the house beers. Market Cross has always been good, and the house brewery is pushing that towards the next level. Jeff told me of plans for a second MCP in a nearby town, opening soon. Good news for some people. Food's quite good, service was prompt and cheerful, bathroom's clean, beer's good (both house taps and decent guest taps). An absolute oasis in Carlisle.

(08/24/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Great Awesome!

Establishment: Stoudt's Brewing Company, Adamstown, PA

Stopped in last week to see the new bottling line in action. After some initial struggles, it's running well. A pleasant side-effect: now that the pilsner's available in 12 oz. bottles, it's selling much better. Thank God! Yes, this does mean that ALL OF STOUDT'S BEER IS BEING MADE AT THE STOUDT'S BREWERY IN ADAMSTOWN. Period. No exceptions, and pretty much everything on the shelf now is from Adamstown. I picked up a sixtel of Weiss for a party in NY, and it was very popular with everyone from alpha geek types to Bud-suckers.

Stoudt's has a great selection of beers, from pilsners and fests, to stouts and IPA, to dubbels and tripels, with the occasional rauchbier and rye beer thrown in. The beers taste great, and while the sales have been flat for years, I think this bottling line may make the difference. Find some of the new 12 oz. bottles and give them a try, they're great.

(08/24/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A N/A Great

Establishment: Swashbuckler Brewing Company Limited, Manheim, PA

Well, this is kind of fun. This is my 350th "review" (I'll admit that some of them were less review-like than others), the first Pubcrawler to hit that mark, and I get to do it on a brewery that has no reviews yet. Cool. KEEP REVIEWING, EVERYONE!! And please do your best to really give people something more than just dots on the ratings and "Nice place." Doesn't have to be long-winded, but let us know WHY you liked it or didn't. Helps everyone.

Anyway... Swashbuckler is on the grounds of the PA Renaissance Faire, which is actually on the grounds of the Mt. Hope Winery. They make only four beers -- Golden Ale, Golden Lager, Red Skies Amber, and Old Peg Leg Stout -- and they only sell them on draft at the Faire grounds. But they do sell a LOT of beer in only 15 weeks, enough to keep them in business. Right now the Faire's opening for the first day of the season, and they were brewing frantically yesterday to be ready for the rush. The beers are okay, no flaws, but the only really outstanding one is the stout. They know that, and they're brewing to their audience: thousands of thirsty folks who didn't come for the beer; they came for the jousting and the wenches and the fun. The setting is unmatched for a brewpub, far as I know, a sprawling recreation of a medieval fair (or a cleverly crafted money sieve, depends on your perspective!). It's a lot of fun, the family went two years ago. There are three places in the fair where you can get Swashbuckler, and Mt. Hope wines by the glass. "Live free, eat well, and drink fine ale!" Indeed.

(08/13/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! N/A Great Great

Establishment: Pittsburgh Bottleshop Cafe, Bridgeville , PA

You know, I had a fantastic time here, but I'd also agree with Jen from C-ville: ZERO atmosphere...unless the joint's rocking. Looky here, I stopped in on a WEDNESDAY night, it was raining, it was half an hour till closing time, and the PBC was jumping, busting out at the seams with hot chix, big cigar guys, a coupla geeks, more good-lookin' bartenders than you could shake a tip at -- and I'm looking around, completely baffled. The PBC is in a strip plaza, it's just one big high-ceilinged room with very little decoration, a few tables, a bar with about 16 taps on one side (decent taps, though: Bell's 2-Hearted, Erdinger Weiss, Southern Tier Porter, Arrogant Bastard), and a wall of coolers on the other, filled with hundreds of beers, and not just crap, rare and excellent beers. What were they there for? Is there nothing else? Maybe it's the beer, maybe it's the bartenders, maybe it's owner Mark Davis (who was all over the place, keeping it happening), maybe it's the beer (did I say that? You bet!), but this place DOES have something...and my bet is that it's going to get better. Make the trip, it's easy.

(08/09/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A So So Good

Establishment: Bites and Brews, Pittsburgh , PA

Bites & Brews is a new place, right next to the Elbow Room on Ellsworth. It's a pizza and sandwich joint (FYI: cash only), done in industrial HoJo orange, which I hate. THIRTY taps, but what a waste of lines: this is the most mediocre line of thirty craft/import taps I've seen in years. Some very cautious wholesaler rep must have picked these. The only out of the ordinary selections when I visited were Allagash Grand Cru and Young's Ramrod; good beers, and that's why I upped the selection rating to "Good," but all alone in a selection of taps you could easily find elsewhere in the city. Bottle selection was even worse. Yawn.

(08/09/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great

Establishment: Carl's Tavern, Monroeville, PA

Thanks for the tip, Sean: Carl's is just as you described it. Not much to look at on the outside, just another cinderblock/permastone beer joint by the side of the road, and not that easy to get into, but the taps are excellent, lines and beers are clean, service is quick and friendly, and the place is absolutely spotless. Looks like a good place to hang in Monroeville.

(08/09/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! N/A Great Great

Establishment: Rivertowne Inn, Verona, PA

First time visit was very impressive. Rivertowne's tucked away in Verona, but would do any big-city bar scene proud. 16 taps (some good, some so-so, a couple that were amazing) and an excellent 200+ bottle selection. Very authentic feel without an ounce of pretension, with friendly locals who were happy to talk to an out-of-towner about their favorite watering hole. The food looked great, big honking pieces of fish and chicken, and the service was without reproach. Very impressive, but not intimidating. I'll be sending people here, you bet.

(08/09/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A Great N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Pittsburgh Deli Company, Pittsburgh , PA

Can't really comment on anything but the selection: PDC wasn't open yet when I stopped in and talked to the manager. The selection WAS impressive: not huge, but the guy is getting bang for the buck on his cooler space. "I have beer ADD," Dave McCombie said; "I just can't have the same beer twice!" It shows. There are four taps and a handpump, but you'll go for the bottles, a full range of Dogfish Head, plenty of micros and imports.

(08/09/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Awesome! Great

Establishment: Remedy was Ray's Marlin Beach Bar and Grill, Pittsburgh , PA

What to say...Ray's is rare, if not unique, in its character, and I love it. Fun, campy, multi-culti, smart, comfortable, friendly, beer-aware, and the food, the food rocks. Ray's is somewhat crippled by a small keg-room (they have 8 taps and hope to upgrade that as much as possible), but they've compensated with an excellent bottle selection. The upstairs rooms also sport full bars, and look like a hipster's basement. When this joint is hopping, it must be insane...in a good way. Definitely high on my list for a return visit.

(08/09/2004)


Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ 4 ] [ 5 ] [ 6 ] [ 7 ] [ 8 ] [ 9 ] [ 10 ] [ 11 ] [ 12 ] [ 13 ] [ 14 ] [ 15 ] [ 16 ] [ 17 ] [ 18 ] [ 19 ] [ ALL ]













(0.515 seconds) 03:10:00 54.90.233.153, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS