PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Reviews on PubCrawler from
Other Reviews by this User
 
December 22, 2014 @ 07:50 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.

Reviews By

Beer Reviews
(467)

Restaurant Reviews
(0)






User Tagline: Somewhere in the world it's beer o'clock; who's buying?
Favorite Beer: Right now...Stegmaier Summer Stock
Located In: Mid-Atlantic
My Website: www.lewbryson.com
467
Beer Reviews from
   

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ 4 ] [ 5 ] [ 6 ] [ 7 ] [ 8 ] [ 9 ] [ 10 ] [ 11 ] [ 12 ] [ 13 ] [ 14 ] [ 15 ] [ 16 ] [ 17 ] [ 18 ] [ 19 ] [ ALL ]
Average Rating
Beer Quality
Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great
Great Great Great Great

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A Great Great

Establishment: Monterey Pub, Pittsburgh , PA

The Monterey is tucked into one of the brick rowhomes that make up this solid neighborhood. It was quiet and dark on the street when I stopped by, lightly raining, and the Monterery was a warm glow of light and welcome. There are no gaudy signs, only an Irish flag and a small sandwich board on the sidewalk to mark it as anything different from the homes around it; my ideal of a neighborhood bar. Inside? Six good taps (including 3 Penn taps, always good to support the local brewery), a decent selection of Irish and American whiskey, a substantial bar, booths, and a friendly crowd. The music played loud enough to be heard but not so as to overwhelm normal conversation, which was lively and even somewhat cultured. After I finished my Penn Dark and walked back down the street, I found myself wishing that this was my local, and that my family was waiting for me down the block.

(08/09/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Max's Allegheny Tavern, Pittsburgh , PA

Can't BELIEVE I've never rated Max's! A wonderfully authentic German joint on the North Side, with a good selection of German and micro taps, a great German bottle selection, and delicious German food. I had the sausage platter on my latest trip (last Wednesday) and a fresh jar of Penn Dark; did the trick for me. My dad's on a low-salt, low-fat diet, and he sticks to it religiously -- has pizza once a year, a model of compliance...except when Max's is in the offing, at which time he tosses his diet to the winds and chows down. It's that kind of place. A must-stop in Pittsburgh.

(08/09/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A Great Good

Establishment: Lot 17, Pittsburgh, PA

Lot 17's an interesting mix of a stylish facade out front, an old-style bar inside the door, and a snazzily modern dining room in the back, kind of an upscale neighborhood tappie. Definitely looked to be the most "bar bar" on this block, though there are better choices not far off: Bloomfield Bridge Tavern just down the street, for one, and I'd probably go to the Pleasure Bar for dinner. But a good enough place to hole up for a few, and the food has gotten some good reviews in local press lately. Worth a look.

(08/09/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Brewer's Alley, Frederick, MD

Stopped in on a Saturday to meet my brother-in-law and his family, the eight of us stayed for a delicious late lunch. We tried the cask barleywine (marvelous, rich, round, not over-hopped, beautiful beer at the peak of condition), hefe (excellent, right on form), oatmeal stout (very nice, could have been a bit "silkier"), kölsch (excellent beer, clean but able to stand up for itself, no wimp), and IPA (slightly disappointing, seemed a bit low on body...but the growler of it we took home tasted awfully good last night: might have been me). If I'd been whisked there blindfolded, I might have thought I was at Selin's Grove. The food was excellent, I had the wood-oven mac & cheese with Maryland country ham, my bro-in-law's steak salad with blue cheese rocked. Service was quite good, though beer service was a bit slow at times. Brewer's Alley was a hit with everyone, getting four thumbs up from the adults, the kids loved it, too. Great place.

(08/03/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! N/A Great Great

Establishment: Wharf Rat At Camden Yards / Oliver Breweries, Baltimore, MD

Just talked to Bill Oliver earlier this month: no sale on the Wharf Rat. In fact, he said: "Oh, that rumor? Comes up every year or so. No, we're not selling." I visited in June and found almost every beer I sampled to be good, and some of them downright excellent. Steve Jones is a real Brit who really gets Brit ales; the Rat's lucky to have him brewing.

(07/29/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Awesome! Great

Establishment: For Pete's Sake, Philadelphia, PA

I've heard folks complain that FPS is expensive: I paid $5 for a big 20 oz. pint of Yards Philly Pale. I've heard folks complain that the place is fake: I had a great conversation about Irish whiskey with the bartender. I've heard people...oh, to hell with 'em. FPS is great little corner bar that is Irish without being stupid about it, very friendly, clean enough to take your mother to, and not that hard to find. Great beer taps, outstanding Irish whiskey selection, and all of it served quickly and with a knowledgeable flair.

(07/29/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Just Sports Bar and Grill, Bristol, PA

I was shocked to find a place with a tap selection this good so close to my home...that I had no clue was here. I ran into the manager, Jimmy Flynn, at the Grey Lodge, and he told me to drop in sometime. Today I went down for lunch. FOUR Victory taps, Weyerbacher Old Heathen, Old Dominion Bourbon Barrel Stout, Lancaster 4-Grain, and more: I got a Heavyweight StickeNJAB that was deliciously fresh. Got the daily special, a bacon double cheeseburger, and it was just about perfect; the fries were so fresh they burnt me, the tomato on the burger was ripe and juicy. Service was quick and attentive, and enthusiastic about the beer. O'Flaherty's isn't much to look at, inside or out, just a highway-side bar, but the beer's excellent, and the joint's pretty damned friendly. Well worth a stop off I-95 or the PA Turnpike, it's less than a mile away from either one. I'll be back, believe me.

(07/29/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great

Establishment: Ten Stone, Philadelphia, PA

First time for me, but first time for Pubcrawler? Guys, we need to do better than this! In any case, Ten Stone is definitely a strong second tier contender for Philly beer bars. I'd only keep it out of the first tier because the draft selection is a bit unfocused, and does not have enough of the exclusive to it. But comfortable? You bet, friendly, diverse crowd, good pours, and a neat look to the place. Definite winner, I'll have to be back here soon.

(07/23/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great So So N/A Great Great

Establishment: U.S. Hotel, Hollidaysburg, PA

The U.S. Hotel isn't really that micro-friendly; you'll find Sam Adams there, but that will be about it. But this is a great old bar, with a massive wooden back bar, tile floors and walls, and even a "spitoon" trough at the bottom of the bar with intact plumbing. Extemely comfortable place, not raucous with stupid music or sports, you can actually talk here. A step back into Pennsylvania's past, and a must-stop for the serious bar tourist.

(07/19/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Good Awesome!

Establishment: Standard Tap, Philadelphia, PA

Stopped in Standard Tap last Friday with some friends from out of town. Food was excellent (great fries, love the smelts, crisp calamari, small downcheck for one under-done steak), beer was outstanding: the 'new' Yards Philly Pale Ale, wow, couple good casks, Sly Fox Simcoe IPA and Dry Stout, Weyerbacher Heresy, McKenzie Brown Ale... We sat in the new section at the very cool corner table, first time sitting back in this section for me, and I loved it. Service was about as bad as I've ever had here, though: slow and apparently not really concerned about it, which was so out of character as to be disturbing. Hope it was just a busy night, but when three out of five pints on a table are sitting empty before the waitress notices, and it then takes five to ten minutes to get beers...that's not good. Still, the beer and food and vibe and atmosphere were great, and I'm willing to cut some slack for it for now.

(07/19/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Great Great

Establishment: Knickerbocker Tavern, Altoona, PA

Very pleasant first visit to this solid tavern. Good taps, very good bottle selection, tasty pub grub (onion rings are some of the best I've had), and a neat enclosed patio area back up the great old-style tavern bar. Perfect place to go drinking.

(07/09/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Great Great

Establishment: Johnstown Brewing Company, Johnstown, PA

Less than a year, and Johnstown has got it together. Stopped in today with the family, and was very impressed with the beers, food, and service. Beer, thanks to new brewer Barrett Goddard, was much more interesting this time: perfect dry stout, hoppier pale ale, nice Boho-type pilsner, and a zingy witbier. Food was excellent, some great sandwiches (and my son's pizza compared favorably to what I had in Rome last year) and house-made potato chips. The snappy tortilla jack flips (or whatever they were called) were very good: triangles of pepper jack, crusted with broken tortilla chip bits and deep-fried. Service was right on the spot and friendly. Had a great time, and got the distinct feeling that it's only going to get better.

(07/09/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Boulevard Grill and Warehouse, Johnstown, PA

Sorry, I forgot: The closing WAS temporary. The owners had expanded too much, too quickly, and got hosed. They closed, re-grouped, found some new partners (friends and family) with more business experience, and they're in for the long haul. Looks like a good future, and they want to put more beers on.

(07/09/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A Great Great

Establishment: Boulevard Grill and Warehouse, Johnstown, PA

My first visit to the Boulevard Grill was this afternoon, and it was quite cool. Had a delicious glass of Penn Weizen, one of six "better" beers on tap, and met the owners. Real nice setup, good-looking bars, live music space. I'll be back to this one sometime for sure.

(07/09/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Ortlieb's Brewery and Grille, Pottstown, PA

RIP Henry Ortlieb. Henry Ortlieb died on vacation in Costa Rica on July 4th. No details on his death were available. He was 56. The brewery will remain open for the foreseeable future.

Henry was a mercurial character in Philly brewing, the scion of an old brewing family. It's strange to think of him not being around. He always had a good word to say about people.

(07/09/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Coopers Cave Ale Company Limited, Glens Falls, NY

Just a note: Lake Placid Brewpub's lawyer has the same opinion about growler fills. And from my experience with state booze law enforcement, it doesn't really matter so much what WE think the law says, what matters is what the local enforcement agent thinks. Sad, but true. Growler laws usually come under labeling laws, and some of that's interpretation. Mostly, though, it depends on the local agent's interpretation. And I like the Pathfinder Porter at Cooper's.

(06/30/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Black Rock Brewing Company, Wilkes-Barre, PA

Just heard from a knowledgeable local that Black Rock is closed indefinitely, the sign on the door was vague, but it didn't sound good. Anyone have any details?

(06/30/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Bardo Brewing, Amissville, VA

VERY closed, has been closed for over a year. There is apparently some controversy over whether this Amissville brewery was ever legally open.

(06/19/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A Good Good

Establishment: Founders' Restaurant and Brewing Company, Alexandria, VA

Visited twice last month. Beers were surprisingly good, very hoppy pale ale and the kolsch was clean and tasty; obviously learned something from Cap City. Service was competent, although the other servers kept standing around the front door in a weird way; not waiting for customers, just talking and ignoring people. Didn't have food, though it looked good and people seemed to be enjoying it. If the reviewers who gave this a "Lousy" rating are serious, and not just jumped-up eejits who are still pissed about their mug club (guys, it was a different business...let it go), all I can say is that if you think this is a lousy brewpub, you're lucky. And spoiled. This place is good, better than some of the brewpubs in the DC Metro area. You need to get out more.

(06/09/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Good Great

Establishment: Owl Bar, Baltimore, MD

I don't understand the controversy. The Owl Bar had a surprising (to me, anyway) number of excellent taps, both local and imported, with a marvelous old-school hotel bar look and feel. I felt like I should perhaps have been a bit better dressed, but what's wrong with that? Does every bar have to be okay with casually sloppy dress, does every brewpub have to serve burgers and wings? NO! Get the bartenders a bit more up to speed on the great beer they have to offer (the bartender I had was willing and pleasant, but ignorant), and this could be a great addition to Baltimore's excellent beer bars. It only needs knowledgeable bartenders to become a rare and wonderful beer bar.

(06/08/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Barker Brew Company, Fredonia, NY

I heard the same sad news, and had heard rumblings of the possibility a few months ago. Just wanted to set one thing straight, though: Pepper Pike, Bobbi Pike's daughter, did not wreck things. Pepper was handed a mess, and was doing a great job handling things. The menu decisions were group decisions, and the food I had in February, after the menu change, was still top-notch. My parents were just at Barker last month and had the house beers, so I don't believe that was a problem. No heat, I'm not raving here, just wanted to clear Pepper of complicity. What I saw of her work was impressive. Sure as hell am gonna miss Barker, though. I can't think of too many places like it.

(06/07/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Great Great

Establishment: Mahaffey's Pub, Baltimore, MD

First time to Mahaffey's, and it was quite impressive. Outstanding selection for the number of taps: no clinkers at all. Great small bottle selection as well, and service was pretty quick and plenty cheerful. Steamed shrimp was delish; I can still smell Old Bay on my fingers. I'd go back to Mahaffey's again and again and again. Cask-conditioned beer EVERY DAY.

(06/03/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Brown's Brewing Company was Troy Pub and Brewery, Troy, NY

Troy Pub has changed their name to Brown's Brewing Co. as of 4/23/04, as reported in the Albany Times-Union. Everything else remains the same for now, it's just a name change, but they will be moving brewing ops to another site in the near future.

(05/31/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Good Good

Establishment: Brauerei Fassla, Bamberg,

Unfair, sir! Certainly Spezial has a wider selection of beers, and it could be argued that their beer is better than Fässla's...but it could be argued the other way, too. Fässla's pils was quite good when I had it, the lunch crowd was jovial and engaging (though they were sure I had to be Irish!), and the food was every bit as good as Spezial's. I don't believe it's possible to "waste your time" at any of the breweries in Bamberg.

(05/26/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great

Establishment: Galaxy Hut, Arlington, VA

Assertively crude art, points for that. Not a big or fancy place, points for that. Don't care that they're not big or fancy, points. Good beer selection: BIG POINTS. Reasonable prices, no posers, unpretentious: I'll be back. Recommended.

(05/21/2004)


Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ 4 ] [ 5 ] [ 6 ] [ 7 ] [ 8 ] [ 9 ] [ 10 ] [ 11 ] [ 12 ] [ 13 ] [ 14 ] [ 15 ] [ 16 ] [ 17 ] [ 18 ] [ 19 ] [ ALL ]













(0.427 seconds) 07:50:29 54.242.126.126, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS