PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Reviews on PubCrawler from
Other Reviews by this User
 
August 29, 2014 @ 07:18 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.

Reviews By

Beer Reviews
(467)

Restaurant Reviews
(0)






User Tagline: Somewhere in the world it's beer o'clock; who's buying?
Favorite Beer: Right now...Stegmaier Summer Stock
Located In: Mid-Atlantic
My Website: www.lewbryson.com
467
Beer Reviews from
   

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ 4 ] [ 5 ] [ 6 ] [ 7 ] [ 8 ] [ 9 ] [ 10 ] [ 11 ] [ 12 ] [ 13 ] [ 14 ] [ 15 ] [ 16 ] [ 17 ] [ 18 ] [ 19 ] [ ALL ]
Average Rating
Beer Quality
Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great
Great Great Great Great

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Awesome! Good Great

Establishment: Independence Brew Pub, Philadelphia, PA

Attended a beer dinner at Independence in March -- actually, two beer dinners, on consecutive Saturdays. Beer was the best I've had there in quite a while; outstanding stout, a snappy clean k├Âlsch, and a rich, heavy Scottish ale. Food was shockingly good, a delicious four-course meal. Service was top-notch the first dinner, about average the second one. And the joint was jumping both nights. Not to say the negative reviews are wrong, but...there's new money and new attitude at the top at Independence, and you really should stop in and make up your own mind. There may be a wad of trendoids around the bar drinking light beer, but it's prime Center City bar real estate, it's going to happen. Try to get beyond that.

(04/05/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Good Great

Establishment: Iron Hill Brewery and Restaurant, Wilmington, DE

Very snazzy new Iron Hill right in the middle of the new riverside development in Wilmington. All the classic Iron Hill touches: very visible brewhouse, brick and dark wood, architecturally pleasing design and decor, crisp fresh food, and flawless beer. Upstairs deck overlooking the river and the good side of Wilmington (with heaters for extended deck season) is a nice addition here. As with all Iron Hill's, highly recommended...although the service here the one time I visited was the slowest I've ever encountered at an Iron Hill, and the only time I've seen servers standing around chatting to each other. Hope it was an aberration, as service is usually a high point at Iron Hill.

(04/02/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Empire Brewing Company, Syracuse, NY

Closed in September 2003. Latest news is that re-opening efforts have run into a wall.

(04/02/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A N/A Great

Establishment: South Street Brewery, Charlottesville, VA

Great beer, great selection of beer, beautiful place with the long bar and two-sided fireplace. Looking forward to bringing some friends to this place.

(03/19/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Good N/A N/A Great

Establishment: Starr Hill Restaurant and Brewery, Charlottesville, VA

I always wind up visiting Starr Hill when it's not open; a writer has that option when it just doesn't fit your schedule. Mondays may be closed at Starr Hill, but they're "Open Door Mondays," locals are invited in to watch and help brew; VERY cool idea, and very community-involved. The beers are excellent, if not that varied; 4 regulars, 4 seasonals. That's okay, when they're done this well. Definitely worth a stop for the beer.

(03/19/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Good Great

Establishment: Michael's Bistro and Taphouse, Charlottesville, VA

Nice place, above average tap selection, quality of the beer (Lagunitas IPA) was good, and the duck potpie I had was real good. Only quibble: the bruschetta I ordered said 'feta' on the menu, and I got some kind of herbed cheese spread on it. Not bad, but not feta. Otherwise, real nice, cozy, relaxed, friendly.

(03/19/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Awesome! N/A Great Great

Establishment: Mellow Mushroom, Charlottesville, VA

Stopped in for a beer on Monday. This is a pizza joint with a small bar in the back -- that's wrapped around about 34 taps, with a pretty excellent selection; NOT the usual suspects. I got a Bear Republic Racer 5 -- sour! I got the bartender's attention, asked her for another beer. "Too much for you?" she asked. No, usually just right, but over the hill. "That's a new keg," she said, sounding worried. Then... "What else can I get you?" Cool! I selected a 3 Floyds Alpha King, she delivered, and it was great. That's the kind of reaction I like to see.

(03/19/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Iron Hill Brewery Restaurant -- North Wales, North Wales, PA

The latest Iron Hill, North Wales, jumped off to a great start on March 4. The interior is beautiful, with the architectural details that make Iron Hill so attractive, the dashing open kitchen, the proudly displayed brewhouse. Beers were limited to the Iron Hill standards, but brewer Larry Horwitz told me he has been given almost completely free rein on filling the rest of the taps with specials. "Anything within reason, they told me," he said, and added that they seemed pretty open to being convinced. I suspect this location is going get slammed, hard; once again, Iron Hill has put a perfect place in a perfect location. Cheers for a job well begun.

(03/08/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A Great Awesome!

Establishment: Ship Inn, Milford, NJ

Just hit the Ship yesterday with some good friends, one of whom is a particularly picky brewer of British-style ales. We all loved the beer (tried the cask porter and just stuck with it, excellent glass), sampled a bit of their great selection of whiskies, and enjoyed ourselves immensely. The Ship is a neat little haven from the day's tiresome routine, and I always look forward to visiting.

(03/08/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Times Square Brewery, New York, NY

NOT the same Times Square Brewery that closed in 2001; different address, new brewer, and new owners. Only the name's the same. Opened 2/14/04. Apparently no website as yet.

(03/02/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A N/A Great

Establishment: Four Sons Brewery, Titusville, PA

Four Sons opens either today or tomorrow, I stopped in for a look around yesterday. Brewer Matt Allyn very kindly showed me around (7 bbl. Pub system), talked to us about how pleased he was to be returning to his home area, and set us up with samples of his beers: for first-time brews, these were top-notch, including a strong ale, a schwarz, a helles, a very creamy tripel, and three others. Really good, and the place is beautiful inside. Definitely worth the trip from either Erie or I-80!

(02/23/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Great Awesome! Great

Establishment: Foxhead Pub / Foxburg Inn on the Allegheny, Foxburg, PA

Finding Foxburg was a blast: we took Metz Road, which is a winding gravel and mud track through the hills that comes out a mile uphill from the town. The town and pub sit on the banks of the Allegheny River, and the view is tremendous. The Inn itself looks great, the kind of place you dream about having as a summer lodge. There are two levels, the formal restaurant upstairs and the pub down below. We ate downstairs; delicious mushroom soup and stuffed mushrooms, somewhat overdone pasta with an excellent sauce, and great grilled lamb with rice and a hot pepper garnish with an unfortunate white sauce (mayonnaise? very bland). Service was very attentive and friendly. The beer is brewed on a hot-water-and-extract system, and is uninspiring, but not sour or seriously flawed. I wouldn't go back for the beer, to be honest, but I WILL go back for the restaurant and the view...and draft Yuengling, probably.

(02/23/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Clinchbrau Brewing Company, North Tazewell, VA

Clinchbrau has been closed for at least six months, the owner has moved, the equipment's broken up

(02/18/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Great Awesome!

Establishment: Grey Lodge Pub, Philadelphia, PA

Another Friday the Firkinteenth...15! casks of real ale pouring at the Grey Lodge, and at least a third of them were phenomenal. The joint was packed, people were lined up halfway down the block waiting to get in, just to drink cask ale. The selection was amazing, the bartenders harried but never snarly, prices reasonable...and it's great on other days too. A fantastic combination of beer temple and corner bar.

(02/16/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Great Awesome!

Establishment: Blind Tiger Ale House, New York, NY

What's to say? The Blind Tiger bends over backwards to get a phenomenal, mind-blowing selection of beers, has a regular calendar of over-the-top beer events, euchres special-release kegs out of brewers, and presents them all to the beer lover in fantastic condition. Prices are not out of line, whiskey selection is also good, and the atmosphere is very comfortable. Gotta -- and I do mean GOTTA -- love this place!

(02/16/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Awesome!

Establishment: Victory Brewing Company, Downingtown, PA

Latest visit to Victory not only provided excellent handpump HopDevil, but great tableside service (bar service was a bit smart-assed and defensive) and excellent food: I had a rare burger with spinach and onions that was superb. Full marks to Victory, and I'm really happy to see the pub live up to the brew!

(02/10/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Great Great

Establishment: Parting Glass, Saratoga Springs, NY

I could nit-pick -- fair amount of gristle in my stew, waitress was friendly but occasionally clueless, beer selection was relatively innocent of local beers -- but that would miss the point. The stew tasted great, the waitress was REALLY friendly and quick, and the beer selection was appropriate to the setting...and the setting was excellent. A great old rambling bar, where I felt at home pretty quickly.

(02/09/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Lousy N/A Good So So

Establishment: Horse You Came In On, Fells Point/Baltimore, MD

Very disappointing. I went here expecting a historic saloon, I found a swill bar with a cover charge, loud music, and a real frat-house look to it. Not on my return list.

(02/09/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Awesome!

Establishment: Wharf Rat At Fells Point, Fells Point/Baltimore, MD

Just as nautical, rough-hewn, and real as it was when I first visited, 18 years ago. Beers still great, too, although these days it's almost all Oliver's beers, from the Wharf Rat brewpub over by the stadium. I had a great mug of Ironman PA. Dog-friendly, and pretty damned people-friendly, too. Great place to pound on the table and get loud talking to your friends.

(02/09/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Great Awesome!

Establishment: Max's on Broadway, Fells Point/Baltimore, MD

Max's has one hell of a selection on draft, in the bottle, and in the cellar, aging. The beers I had were all in good condition but one, and that was just on the edge. The staff were knowledgeable, the taplist up to date, and the prices were reasonable. My only complaint was how damned loud it was...and that's not so bad if you go upstairs. Max's is on my must-stop list for my next stop in Baltimore, and that's a short list.

(02/08/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A Great N/A Great Great

Establishment: John Steven Limited, Fells Point/Baltimore, MD

Just stopped in for a look around, had a cup of coffee (long night, and I was flagging a bit), and was impressed by the beer selection; not the same thing everyone else in Fells Point was pouring. Cool place, plenty of dining room, nice little middle bar in the back.

(02/08/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Duda's Tavern, Baltimore , MD

I was real happy to finally get to Duda's. I like the feel of the place, the location, the building, the service, and the beers were excellent. Max's has more beers, no doubt, and even better ones, but Duda's would be the place I'd rather hang out: somewhat older crowd, with nothing to prove. I heard the food's great, didn't have any. Very comfortable place.

(02/08/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Bertha's, Fells Point/Baltimore, MD

Bertha's is the real thing, some unchanged, uncluttered Baltimore, and you can live on their mussels and Guinness (though I was sopping them up with the house Best Bitter, done by Wharf Rat). Followed it with a piece of chess pie, very good. Only complaint: the bread that comes with the meal is lifeless! Mussels this good deserve better bread! Bertha's is a great bar, a classic. It's not too big, but it's for real.

(02/08/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Baltimore Jack, Baltimore , MD

This place is now a nightclub/megabrew joint by a different name. No longer of interest to people looking for either great beer or great bars. I was just there 2/6/04.

(02/08/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Red Brick Station / White Marsh Brewing Company, Baltimore, MD

It's a special pleasure to taste a brewpub's entire range of taps in one day and have every single one of them be clean, tasty, and impressive. Just had this happen on Friday at Red Brick Station. Had the 3-pint Pasta in cream curry sauce (excellent plate of food, stuffed with chicken, shrimp, and sausage), my dad had the crab soup (also very good), and I just loved the Spooner's Stout. Listen up, all you folks who diss Ringwood: it can be done right. Come here and have a taste.

(02/08/2004)


Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ 4 ] [ 5 ] [ 6 ] [ 7 ] [ 8 ] [ 9 ] [ 10 ] [ 11 ] [ 12 ] [ 13 ] [ 14 ] [ 15 ] [ 16 ] [ 17 ] [ 18 ] [ 19 ] [ ALL ]













(0.306 seconds) 19:18:58 54.198.26.110, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS