PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Reviews on PubCrawler from
Other Reviews by this User
 
October 21, 2014 @ 03:57 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.

Reviews By

Beer Reviews
(66)

Restaurant Reviews
(0)






no
user
photo

66
Beer Reviews from
   

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ ALL ]
Average Rating
Beer Quality
Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great
Great Great Good Great

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good So So Awesome!

Establishment: McNeill's Brewery, Brattleboro, VT

I love McNeill's more than most any bar I've been to, but since Mr. McNeill went solo cleanliness has gone down hill a bit (though that wouldn't stop me from going there). What bothers me is B.O. of some of it's patrons and I mean man do they stink.

(11/14/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A N/A Great

Establishment: Magic Hat Brewing Company, South Burlington, VT

I am a fan of Magic Hat and am from NJ, though all there beers have a similar taste. I would love to compare the quality of person that comes out of NJ against PA any day. Jack Nickelson, Meryl Streep, Frank Sinatra, are from NJ. The list is endless. Look how many young actors are from NJ (Christina Ricci, Frankie Muniz, Kirsten Dunst, Laura Prepon (all probably spelled wrong) are from NJ. Don't bash the Garden State. It turns out some fine, talented people.

(05/21/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! So So Good Awesome!

Establishment: McNeill's Brewery, Brattleboro, VT

McNeill's is one of the best brewpubs in the Country (that I've been to). Though Brattleboro can be hard to take sometimes. The downtown area is pretty nice and clean, but the side streets can be a little sleazy and the town has a hippie and small borderline criminal slacker element. But there are many fine people in the area and you can avoid any unpleasantness by parking in the new state of the art parking garage right next door! I like the town and love McNeill's.

(03/28/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! N/A So So Great

Establishment: Shepherd and the Knucklehead, Haledon, NJ

Stopped in with a date and found this place interesting. The crowd seemed a bit on the hippy side and college mixed (there is a college nearby). The people behind the bar did not seem interested in serving us, but I've been to Company Bees and this place has almost as many taps (though without my glasses I couldn't see what they were). The bartender just gave me one or two word answers. I would go back, but would bring my buddies next time.

(12/28/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So Great Great Good

Establishment: Blue Parrot Bistro, Gettysburg, PA

I don't see how this place, which just had Stella Artois, Yuengling and Troegs qualifies as a beer bar. Nice place, but nothing special as far as beer selection goes.

(11/16/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good

Establishment: Appalachian Brewing Company, Gettysburg, PA

They haven't started brewing yet. Great location (though not within walking distance from the Squre- for an American) on the first days battlefield- right across the street from where Lee had his headquarters. Good beer, good food, great building with lots of potential, but so far doesn't compare to the Gettysburg Brewing Company.

(11/16/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Shepherd and the Knucklehead, Haledon, NJ

where have all the good bartenders gone? still a good bar - but far less enjoyable service nowadays

I guess I was right when I said bartenders must be harder to find than customers. I guess he didn't make poor Allison a partner after all.

(11/07/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Lousy N/A

Establishment: Elm City Brewing Company, Keene, NH

Ever the loyal customer, I went back and was greeted by a bartending witch. Beer was good, but she ruined my afternoon.

(10/24/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Good Great

Establishment: People's Pint, Greenfield, MA

Though politically this place makes McNeills look like a gathering of the Vermont young Republicans club, it is well worth the visit. The cask IPA was to die for and the food is worth checking out. If left-wing politics disgust you, just don't read the bulletin boards or listen in while your fellow drinkers talk.

(09/10/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Lousy Good

Establishment: Gettysburg Brewing Company, Gettysburg, PA

Fact is my family (3 kids under 7) are welcome everywhere we go and Dave is out of business- wonder why?

(09/04/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Great Great

Establishment: Norwich Inn was Jasper Murdock's Alehouse, Norwich, VT

Only had the Red, which was good. Great old pub, nice old town. Will be back.

(07/07/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Good Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Awful Arthur's, Kill Devil Hills, NC

"Although the seafood is fresh and quite good, this is not a beer bar. Sam Adams Lager and Sierra Nevada Pale are the only decent micros available." Not a beer bar. What makes a good beer bar? Thirty stale beers on tap, poured through dirty lines? Or a great place with a couple of great beer served properly. Your from York, I'm from New York, I think I know a bit more than you.

(06/13/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Good Good Awesome!

Establishment: Gettysburg Brewing Company, Gettysburg, PA

I love the beer, but this place is not kid friendly. Can't compare an 11 year old to a four year old. Why did they ruin the menu as well. Turn the back room into a family area and ditch the WT pool table (make a family room). Sorry to burden the staff with my family, but we are on vacation.

(10/31/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Great Great

Establishment: Elm City Brewing Company, Keene, NH

Loved the Texas Red and the food was fantastic. I'll be back, but will have to drive past McNeills to do so, so maybe not.

(08/23/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Lousy So So

Establishment: Shepherd and the Knucklehead, Haledon, NJ

The last reviewer has no idea what he is writing about. He only drinks one of the major brands and does not know the real taste of beer!!!! I am not a regular( my bad ) just real beer lover and homebrewer.

AND OWNER?!

(08/13/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good

Establishment: The Brew Pub was Ramapo Valley Brewery, Suffern, NY

This place is not for families anymore, sad since it was a great family place for a while as MVBP. Menu is greatly reduced and they are putting pool tables where he old kitchen was. Beers pretty good, but is now more of a rock club. More power to them if they can make money.

(05/09/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Good Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Awful Arthur's, Kill Devil Hills, NC

The best Bass Ale in the US and the worlds greatest seafood...all on the beach. Second only to the Man of Kent in Hoosick, NY.

(04/10/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Shepherd and the Knucklehead, Haledon, NJ

Trouble at the Shepard and .... Pub? Maybe that's what happens when you worry more about duality than service, oh no.

(04/05/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Good Awesome!

Establishment: Ship Inn, Milford, NJ

Thought this place was going down hill, but it showed no sign of same this trip. Food very good and beer excellent. I take back anything I ever said negative about this place.

(02/17/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Blind Tiger Ale House, New York, NY

My favorite bar in New York. McSorely's and DBA follow. Great bear selection, clean lines, nice people. The place is a little divey, but I like that.

(12/06/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Awesome! Good So So Awesome!

Establishment: McSorley's Old Ale House, New York , NY

Though this is one of the greatest bars in the world, let's be honest people: The beers stinks and the waiters are the meanest cusses this side of the Hofbrau Haus in Munich. I wish I was sitting there right now though. Go easy ont he mustard, it'll blow the back off your head!

(10/06/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! So So Great

Establishment: Gettysburg Brewing Company, Gettysburg, PA

Though I like the beer and love the food, be aware that this kid is not friendly- which is strange in this day and age, especially in a place that attracts thousands of families on vacation. The owner sits around looking put-upon and asking people if they want to buy the place. Will someone please grant him his wish and send him back to the private sector (dealing with the public is not for everyone)- but keep up the quality.

(08/08/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: The Brew Pub was Ramapo Valley Brewery, Suffern, NY

Well, it's not the same "foke" who ran Mountain Valley (which was pretty good with their specialty beers); but I don't think they are brewing yet. Will probably go there this week and file a report.

(07/30/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Awesome! Good Great

Establishment: Zum Schneider, New York, NY

Authentic German food and authentic German beer. Three Weiss beers on tap and Hofbrau to! Only problem is I don't think German beer travels well and Hofbrau tastes better Hofbrau Haus. But when you can't go there...

(07/19/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Awesome! Great

Establishment: New England Brewing Company d/b/a/ The Brewhouse, Norwalk, CT

This place has been in business for over 10 years, why has it never been rated? Great beer and the place beautiful. I rate the almost awesome.

(03/27/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Lousy N/A

Establishment: Shepherd and the Knucklehead, Haledon, NJ

I just think the place is over priced for what you get and the attitude of the owner and help leave a lot to be desired. Funny how the E-mail address for the guy from Teaneck (who had to post the same comment three times)comes back as being non-existant.

(02/09/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Good N/A Good Great

Establishment: Andy's Corner Bar, Bogota, NJ

Don't like their new location, just another small bar with no character. A little disappointed by the selection as well. The old place was better for sure.

(02/05/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Ship Inn, Milford, NJ

Something may be up with this place.

(12/06/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A N/A Awesome!

Establishment: High Point Brewing, Butler, NJ

Great beer made by good people in the mountains of NJ. They also fill beer "gowlers" at a reasonable price. Don't miss this place.

(06/02/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good

Establishment: Mountain Valley Brewpub, Suffern, NY

They have the old menu back and apparently are giving Neil (brewer) free reign. Eight beers on tap last night (4/19/00). Two stouts, bock and the usual four and one guest brew from Ramstein. I'll give them another chance.

(04/20/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Lousy Lousy

Establishment: Shepherd and the Knucklehead, Haledon, NJ

THOUGH I WAS THE "PUBCRAWLER" WHO FIRST DISCOVERD THIS PLACE I CANNOT TELL YOU HOW MUCH I WAS DISAPPOINTED BY MY 3/1/00 VISIT. THEY CHARGED MY BUDDY $9 FOR A DOUBLE OF JOHNNY BLACK, FOR WHICH HE GOOD NATUREDLY RIBBED THE ROOKIE BARTENDER (HE ENDED UP DRINKING FOUR. I THINK "WINDOWS ON THE WORLD" CHARGES $8 FOR THE SAME DRINK). AFTER I FINISHED MY FOURTH BEER, THE BARTENDER ASKED ME IF I WANTED ANOTHER TO WHICH I REPLIED "ARE YOU BUYING?". THE OWNER (I HAVE TO ASSUME HE IS THE KNUCKLEHEAD) SUBSEQUENTLY CAME OVER AND STARTED BERATING US FOR HASSLING HIS BARTENDER. I GUESS BARTENDER'S ARE HARDER TO FIND THAN CUSTOMERS THESE DAYS. I'LL NEVER GO BACK THERE AGAIN.

(03/02/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Great Awesome!

Establishment: Thirsty Moose, Lake Hopatoong, NJ

Regular taps include Bass and John Courage. This last trip they featured Flying Fish ESB and Otter Creek Christmas Ale....For $5 for a 25 OZ glass. Beer lines are clean and the food is great. Well worth the trip.

(12/09/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Good Great

Establishment: River Horse Brewing Company, Lambertville, NJ

Folks, for a good time visit the brewery and sample all you can. Then buy some beer and picnic on the Delaware for a truly wonderful afternoon.

(10/25/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Awesome!

Establishment: C.H. Evans Brewing - The Albany Pump Station, Albany, NY

I hate to give out "awesomes"; maybe I will regret not awarding that exalted rating to CH Evans on my first visit. Worth the trip. Food was excellent, service was excellent, the building excellent, location excellent. I shall return.

(10/25/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Awful Arthur's, Kill Devil Hills, NC

Though considered by some to be a tourist spot, Awful Arthur's is actually heaven on earth and serves some of the best Bass Ale this side of the Atlantic. The seafood is incredible. During the summer the best seat is at the bar, but get there early (like before noon - I wish I was there with you).

(08/14/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Great Awesome!

Establishment: Weeping Radish, Manteo, NC

I too stopped at all three locations for some of the best German beer in the US. The best of the Outer Banks: The Weeping Radish and Awful Arthurs!!

(08/13/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Good Awesome!

Establishment: KClinger's Tavern, Hanover, PA

Drove from NJ and found this place to be one of the best beer bars the family has ever been to. A selection that boggles the mind and they taste good.

(07/06/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Good Good

Establishment: Doc's Bar and Grill, Totowa, NJ

To be fair, I recently went back and had one of the best Cafferty's (sic?) I've ever had.

(06/11/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Good Good Awesome!

Establishment: Ship Inn, Milford, NJ

Went there again 5/24/99 and it was great as great as ever. A great place in a great location. I disagree with the previous review in one aspect. The beers are $3.25-$3.75 for an Imperial pint. Not excessive for 19 ounces for some of the best beer on the east coast. The Shepards pie portion could be bigger though.

(05/28/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Good Great

Establishment: Seven Barrel Brewery, West Lebanon, NH

One of the best brewpubs in the North East.

(03/28/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Laughing Lion, Dover, NJ

Great beer selection. Somebody knows what they are doing (Mr. Stolarz). Food is very good. Well worth the trip.

(03/07/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Great Great

Establishment: Shepherd and the Knucklehead, Haledon, NJ

The quality and the selection of beer are first rate. The place could be a bit larger and easier to find; but it's well worth the visit for anyone in the beer starved Northern Passaic/Southern Morris county area.

(02/04/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great N/A So So Lousy Good

Establishment: Maple Leaf Malt and Brewing, Wilmington, VT

The beer was VERY GOOD, though the wheat beer was weak. The food service must improve; it took 1 hour and 45 minutes for our food to come to our table. Place is nice inside, but needs some bugs worked out (opened 9/98).

(12/22/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Great Great

Establishment: Long Valley Pub and Brewery, Long Valley, NJ

Beer seems better than last visit a year ago. Food good. Nice place to spend an afternoon. Cask conditioned Brown Ale was pretty decent.

(11/15/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So Great Good So So

Establishment: Hyannisport Brewing Company, Hyannis, MA

The kind of brewpub that gives brewpubs a bad name.

(08/30/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Good Awesome!

Establishment: d.b.a. (DBA), New York, NY

One of the best beer bars in the Country. A large selection of tap and bottled beer as well as scotches. A beer garden in the back. The place is the site of a number of beer dinners and events. No food served. Prices are reasonable for NYC.

(08/25/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Good Good

Establishment: Standings was Brewsky's, New York, NY

Way, way overpriced. Beer I had was stale. DBA down the block is cheaper and better.

(08/24/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Great Good

Establishment: Brown's Brewing Company was Troy Pub and Brewery, Troy, NY

Talk about grade inflation. This place rates all those awesomes? I don't think so. I have been going here since they opened and have some good beers there, but awesome. They were one of the first brew pubs to sell those excellent German growlers and I own several, but awesome beer? I don't think so. Have started going to the world famous Man of Kent down the road, when in town.

(08/24/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Mountain Valley Brewpub, Suffern, NY

Beer could be a little better. When they make something special- it's special. The regular offerings vary in quality from great to average. Jay, the former brewer, was overrated. I love the food, my wife hates it. Great wings. There are better brewpubs and there are worse ones. When they have a special beer (mai bock, octoberfest, smoked) it's worth the trip.

(08/24/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Ellicottville Brewing Company, Ellicottville, NY

I was a bit disappointed. I was expecting one of the great ones. The beer was very good, the hamburgers were great. But lunch for 4 came out to $70, before tip, which I thought was a bit steep.

(08/24/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome! Great

Establishment: Helmer's, Hoboken, NJ

A true gentleman's preserve. Great beer selection on tap and in the bottle. Some of the hardest to find Germans beers around (bottle). The food is great german food. The decor is turn of the century. The back room is great for large parties; makes you feel like men to drink and eat back there. Only shortcoming is the prices are slightly high, but still not bad.

(08/24/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Good Awesome!

Establishment: Weeping Radish, Manteo, NC

One of the best brewpubs (or breweries) in the United States.

(08/24/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Gettysburg Brewing Company, Gettysburg, PA

A true oasis in a town that could either be a hot, crowded tourist trap (on rare occasions); or a place with nowhere to go after dark. The self-serve idea is a revolution. No waiting for a waitress who refuses to stop by, then wants you to leave. The beer is different. There are better brewpubs in the North East, but this guy tries. The food is pub food, simple but fantastic and the prices are right. It is a haven for me.

(08/24/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Lousy Good Good Lousy

Establishment: Gettysbrew, Gettysburg, PA

Did the brewmaster ever taste the final results of his efforts? The wings are great though. They also have a play area for kids- away from everyone else that is a great idea (table next to it for parents). The building is one of the best though. The only brewpub which made me worried I was going to get sick from.

(08/24/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Good Great Good

Establishment: Union Station Brewery was John Harvard's Brew House, Providence, RI

Nice place. Beer is mainstream. Food is good. Place looks nice.

(08/24/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good So So Awesome!

Establishment: Trinity Brewhouse, Providence, RI

My wife and I stop at Trinity on the way to Cape Cod (from NJ). I drive there and she drives the rest of the way. The beer is great. The service is kind of Gen X slacker stylee; but they mean well. Stopped there on the way to my sister-in-law's wedding (on Cape Cod). My wife had the wedding dress in the car & would not leave it alone (parked right outside). She stayed in the car guarding the dress while I stood at the beer toasting her every so often. Another time my back went out and insisted on going anyway. My wife parks across the street and I walk in like Frankenstein. Everyone must have thought I was wierd. What would have they thought if they knew I drove 3 1/2 hours to get there? We're usually in a hurray to get going and I order three beers at a time. That gets funny looks too. I should just get a t-shirt that says "drove all the way from Jersey."

(08/24/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So N/A N/A So So

Establishment: Morris Canal Ale House, Boonton, NJ

Disappointing selection of brews.

(02/25/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! N/A Good Good Awesome!

Establishment: McNeill's Brewery, Brattleboro, VT

The best I've been to (and I've been to a lot). I hear they are opening the 2nd floor. Catamount is now making their bottle line.

(01/28/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Old Bay Restaurant, New Brunswick, NJ

Expensive beer.

(01/28/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great So So Great

Establishment: Sidewinders, Garfield, NJ

Good food. Great selection of beers. Prices are reasonable.

(01/28/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Great N/A

Establishment: Green Onion, Wallington, NJ

Good food. Decent beer selection, but beer is expensive.

(01/28/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Great N/A Good Good

Establishment: Doc's Bar and Grill, Totowa, NJ

Good beer. Dirty beer lines, beer tastes stale.

(01/28/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Good

Establishment: Andy's Corner Bar, Bogota, NJ

I think the place charges way too much for its beer.

(01/28/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good So So Awesome!

Establishment: Ship Inn, Milford, NJ

Best brewpub in NJ. One of the best anywhere.

(01/28/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Good Good Good

Establishment: Long Valley Pub and Brewery, Long Valley, NJ

Nice place. Beer isn't so good.

(01/28/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Great Awesome!

Establishment: Man of Kent Tavern, Hoosick Falls, NY

Carries hard to find English ales. Great food. Great atmosphere. Beer served properly. Hard to find, but worth the try.

(01/28/1998)


Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ ALL ]













(0.649 seconds) 03:57:50 23.22.204.36, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS