PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Reviews on PubCrawler from
Other Reviews by this User
 
August 21, 2014 @ 07:11 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.

Reviews By

Beer Reviews
(36)

Restaurant Reviews
(0)






no
user
photo

36
Beer Reviews from
   

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ ALL ]
Average Rating
Beer Quality
Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great
Great Great Great Great

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Awesome! Great

Establishment: Old Harbor Brewing Company, Hudson, MA

Buy it in a bottle in the store and it's okay (the stout's good). But drink it out of the taps at the brewery (located off Route 62--you better be paying attention for the small sign that says "Old Harbor Brewing Co" NOT Pilgrim Brewery, or such) and you'll be amazed at the difference. All their beer tastes great on-site and the folks are fun and great to talk/hangout with. Keep up the good work, folks! I only wish the beer held up better in the growlers (light-struck beer happens fast in a growler) . . .

(07/30/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good N/A N/A So So

Establishment: Wachusett Brewing Company, Westminster, MA

I used to think the Nut Brown was good. Had it again recently and I was disappointed (and that was on-draft). Either the quality slipped or it was never truly there. Slightly below-average beer in general.

(07/30/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A N/A Good

Establishment: Underground Brewing Company, Marlborough, MA

The name suits the place. This guy brews a lot of the "house brews" at local restaurants (usually ambers), and let's them use their own names. But he's consistently above average if not truly inspiring. p.s.- Glad Carl had at least one good experience . . .

(07/30/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good

Establishment: North East Brewing Company, Allston, MA

Went there on an early date with a sour girl so that may have ruined the place to me . . . But the beer was good (slightly above average) and the food was also good. Atmosphere? Good, but the location's not handy by foot to much else . . . by car it's close to the Sunset Grill and not too bad from Boston . . .

(07/30/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So N/A N/A So So

Establishment: Middlesex Brewing Company, Wilmington, MA

The beer is pretty much uninspiring. I've tried it on more than one occasion (even on tap at the Horseshoe Pub in Hudson), and I keep asking myself why I go back for the abuse . . . Here, finally, is a case where I can even say someone's stout isn't up to snuff.

p.s.- Poor Carl doesn't seem to have much luck with the tours, eh . . .?

(07/30/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So Good Good Good

Establishment: Lowell Brewing Company was Brewhouse Cafe and Grille, Lowell, MA

The beer is mostly average. Good stout (once again: it's hard to screw up a stout, isn't it?). Good atmosphere with indoor and some of the only outdoor seating left in Lol. [sic]

Fun place to enjoy yourself outside after work when the weather's nice. Wouldn't come to Lowell to go there, but if you're already there, I'd stop by.

(07/30/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great

Establishment: John Harvard's Brew House, Framingham, MA

Great beer. Wonderful food. Very nice atmosphere. It may be Shopper's World, but when you're inside you'll feel like you're at the downtown pub . . .

(07/30/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A N/A Great

Establishment: Mercury Brewing Company, Ipswich, MA

Great, solid beer. Cool grolsch-style cap on their big bottle o' oatmeal stout (my favorite). Watch for it being light-struck when you get a growler at the packy, however . . .

(07/30/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Good Good

Establishment: Commonwealth Fish and Beer Company, Boston, MA

A solid brewpub that will not disappoint. Beer is above average, with occasional, surprising excellence. Food is run-of-the-mill, but good. Atmosphere is pretty good. If you're in Boston and have limited time to make the rounds hit John Harvards and especially the Beer Works before places like the Commonwealth and Cambridge Brewing Cos.

(07/30/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Good Great

Establishment: Cambridge Brewing Company, Incorporated, Cambridge, MA

Nice atmosphere (indoor and outdoor seating). Solid, slightly-above to above-average beer. Memorable pub fare. I recommend it.

(07/30/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A N/A Great

Establishment: Boston Beer Company aka Samuel Adams, Boston, MA

Never been on the tour (don't know why). But my general opinion of Sam Adams is that they are extremely consistent, and make high quality beer. Each beer tells its own story; each carries its own distinguishing character; each is very solid. Are there better beers out there than the Cream Stout?--No. Than many of the others?--Yes. But you gotta give a nod to the Boston Beer Company . . . where the modern American beer revolution really got its momentum . . .

(07/30/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Good Awesome!

Establishment: Boston Beer Works, Boston, MA

The comments speak for themselves, but I'll add my two cents: Great beer, including always one "cask conditioned." Great selection. Great food. Though the place is busy and you can sometimes feel lost in the crowd this place is one of the top five brewpubs I've ever been to nationwide . . .

(07/30/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A N/A Awesome!

Establishment: Berkshire Brewing Company, South Deerfield, MA

Beer IS one of the top beers bottled in Massachusetts. Always consistently good, and I've purchased it all over. Never have made it out there (so I too, cannot comment on the service out there), but I will have to soon . . .

(07/30/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Awesome!

Establishment: Sunset Grill and Tap, Allston, MA

If you read all the comments you'll realize this place is a must visit. Simply the best selection of beer around. The quality of beers on tap is (as we all know) far superior to bottled. This is the place to go to try beer the way it was meant to be drunk. Crowded, noisy, etc. yes, but you can't get anywhere else what they've got here.

(07/30/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome!

Establishment: Horseshoe Pub, Hudson, MA

An old hangout of mine. Outside of the Sunset Grill I've never found a better selection of beer (in this country, anyway). Over fifty on tap, and more than that in bottles. Join the Beer Safari and drink yourself to the 100 beer mark. I'm a little over half-way there myself . . .. Your traditional pub fare for food, but with a twist here and there and well done. Indoor and outdoor seating, with frequent live music.

(07/30/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great

Establishment: Nutfield Brewing Company, Derry, NH

It's their yeast. All Nutfield beer (open-fermented) has a certain character to it. If you like it, you'll love just about every one of their brews, which somehow manage to maintain their individuality. Small mom and pop feel to the place. Neat to see open-fermentation for yourself (they let you climb some stairs and looks down into the fermentation tanks.

The folks let you taste (basically) to your heart's content. Brewer is a fun guy to talk to--ask him about Bob Dole's visit . . .

Also, the place is located RIGHT off Rte 93, and if you like good beer take that small side-trip on a Saturday, when you're on your way somewhere else.

(07/30/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Good Good

Establishment: Sunday River Brewing Company, Bethel, ME

Same ownership as Stone Coast in Portland and resultingly similar selection in the beer department. But, when I was there at least, I found the quality at Sunday River to be a small notch above that of Stone Coast. I.e., their light beers didn't all blend in with one another in the sampler set. Wings were plenty hot, though for flavor I've definitely had better. Nice after-ski lodge atmosphere.

(07/30/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good

Establishment: The Stone Coast Brewing Company, Portland, ME

Nice atmosphere with something for everyone (pool upstairs, nice open pub atmosphere with view out over the old city with glimpses of the water from the downstairs). Beer was solid. Average to above average. I was, once again, partial to the dark beers, but one of the lighter ones stuck in my mind, as well. Food was good. Cigars (decent selection) were good and moist.

(07/30/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great

Establishment: Shipyard Brewing Company, Portland, ME

Fun tour. If you're a brewer you'll appreciate the little things (or I should say the BIG things) about this microbrewery's setup. We were sampling afterwards for a long time--another tour came through and went before we moved on. Good beer, very fresh at the source. Their dark beers hold up well in the bottle, too!

(07/30/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Awesome! Great

Establishment: Ocean Brewing Company, Laguna Beach, CA

Small, unassuming place, with an average atmosphere at best. BUT, the food was incredible, and one of the beers was inspired: a "Honey Basil." Sound trendy? WAS, but it was also a) one of the most successful "experimental" beers I've ever tasted, b) certainly the best example of "spicing" a beer and doing it right, and c) a successful implementation of honey in the beer (Normally, I'm not a huge "honey-beer" fan--my guess is the brewer at this place added honey after fermentation so you don't get that canked character caused by the yeast's consuming the honey).

Their Porter was also good and I actually ended up getting a nice tall old-fashioned glass pitcher of it (over the Basil Honey).

Service was notable--had a great, fun waitress.

(07/30/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Devil Mountain Brewery, Benicia, CA

OUTSTANDING beer! Love the "Five-Malt." If you see this in your local "packy" or wherever you buy your beer, pick some up. You won't be disappointed.

(07/30/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So Good So So So So

Establishment: Tap House, Huntington Beach, CA

I had the stout after trying the sampler, because the others lacked real character (and it's tough to screw up a stout). The food was good (had the fish tacos). The cigars (good selection) were good and were plenty moist. Dined outside (toward the street) and enjoyed myself immensely until they shut the place down on us and kicked us out before we'd finished our beer--of course they did let us order another round right before doing so.

(07/30/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Good Great Good

Establishment: Huntington Beach Beer Company, Huntington Beach, CA

I thought their porter was good, as was their pale ale. The other beers were somewhat bland. The atmosphere was nice, but not great: nice view of the street and pedestrians, and you can see the ocean in the distance--indoor or outdoor seating.

(07/30/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So Good Good So So

Establishment: River City Brewing Company, Wichita, KS

An odd place with an atmosphere more like that of your average midwest Sports Bar. Saw lots of folks drinking bottles of budweiser and watching the games on tv. Beer was so-so to good, but overall below average. NOT a die-hard beer-lovers establishment . . .

(07/30/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Oasis Brewery, Boulder, CO

It's been a while, but the place left a good taste in my mouth. I recall being particularly impressed with the food, and finding the beer above average . . .

(07/30/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Flying Dog Brewpub, Aspen, CO

Tried a Flying Dog brew (in the bottle, here in Mass) and was disappointed. Cool label, but proof that you can't judge a brew by its label . . .

(07/30/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Breckenridge Brewery, Breckenridge, CO

Have always been a fan of Breckenridge's microbrews. Solid, above-average micros.

(07/30/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Good Good

Establishment: Mill Creek Brewery and Restaurant, Kansas City, MO

They had a Kolsch there last time I was in (a couple years ago) and I was duly impressed with it--excellent beer, and I'm usually more a fan of the dark stuff. Their other beers were good. Other than the Kolsch I'd call the place average.

(07/30/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Boulevard Brewing Company, Kansas City, MO

Great beer! It was a staple of mine while attending K-State. Pick up an assortment and try them all. Well above average microbrew . . .

(07/30/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great

Establishment: 75th Street Brewery, Kansas City, MO

It's been a couple of years (I feel like I'm saying that in too many of the midwestern reviews--you'll have to excuse me), but: The beer was great, the food was great, the atmosphere was good. Above average brewpub.

(07/30/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Great Great

Establishment: Flat Branch Pub and Brewing, Columbia, MO

It's been a couple of years, but I still find the place memorable. Good Scotch taster set as well as wonderful beer, great food, and a great atmosphere. I'ts in my top five nationwide . . .

(07/30/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great N/A N/A N/A Great

Establishment: Emerson Biggins, Lawrence, KS

The brewer's a bit eccentric, but he makes a mean brew . . .

(07/30/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Little Apple Brewing Company, Manhattan, KS

It's been a couple of years, but: Great little Brewpub with some medal-winning brews. It was the "Black Squirrel Stout" when I was there. Great, revolving menu. Nice atmosphere. The only game in town if you're in Manhattan . . .

(07/30/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Great Awesome!

Establishment: Free State Brewing Company, Lawrence, KS

It's been a couple of years but I used to go there whenever I was in town. The food was phenomenal (I'm reminded in particular of an amazing pheasant soup with barley!!), and the beer was top notch. Atmosphere is also nice. Go out of your way to visit this place . . .

(07/30/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Good Good

Establishment: Jackson Hole Pub and Brewery was Snake River Brewing, Jackson, WY

Big place that uses its space to show the conditioning tanks, etc. to their advantage. Resultingly great, airy atmosphere. Food was good. Beer was great or good. I'm sure that in-season it can really bring 'em in . . .

(07/30/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Good N/A Awesome! Great

Establishment: Otto Brothers' Brewing Company, Jackson Hole, WY

I was there between the active seasons in October, so there was little activity. Ended up sitting on the floor with the girl who worked there, sampling beer after beer for a few hours. The place is tiny and off the beaten path, but their beer is excellent. Liked the Moose Juice Stout, in particular.

(07/30/1998)


Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ ALL ]













(0.223 seconds) 19:11:51 54.226.116.197, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS