PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Reviews on PubCrawler from
Other Reviews by this User
 
October 01, 2014 @ 11:25 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.

Reviews By

Beer Reviews
(28)

Restaurant Reviews
(0)






no
user
photo

28
Beer Reviews from
   

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ ALL ]
Average Rating
Beer Quality
Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good
Good Good So So Good

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Lousy Good

Establishment: The Lion and Rose, San Antonio, TX

I visited at 6pm on a Monday. It was happy hour, but the price specials only included the common "domestic" longnecks, or Dos Equis pints, no English pints at this English pub. I paid $6.50 each for my beers.

The only employee that I interacted with was the bartender, and I thought he was a bit surly. I think he had an English accent, so maybe that makes this place "authentic"?

They have a website, I think they make some effort to update it. I clicked on "What's Happening Today" and it did have last Friday, which is more current than many websites; but it wasn't today. And the list of their beers was not 100%, they didn't have the Young's Double Chocolate Stout on draught.

I had a London Curry for dinner, I liked it quite a bit.

Overall, it's probably typical for an English pub in Texas, with some pros and some cons.

(01/14/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Tenaya Creek Brewery and Restaurant, Las Vegas, NV

Today they have seven beers: Pilsner, Belgian Wit, Hefeweisen, Pale Ale, Brown Ale, Pale Bock, Barleywine and Stout. I had the sampler, all were decent.

The food was good, the service was good. It's a Tuesday night, the atmosphere is fine with me. And they have free wifi, I am here now!

(08/21/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Monte Carlo Pub and Brewery, Las Vegas, NV

I just called them, they said they stopped making their own beer in December (2006).

(08/21/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Lousy So So

Establishment: Little Apple Brewing Company, Manhattan, KS

I had two pale ales: "Prairie Pale Ale", and "American Pale Ale", side by side, and I could not tell them apart. They were both OK. I could not get food, because the kitchen was closed; but a different customer got food. My waitress, Leslie, was short with me and very condescending.

(09/07/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good So So Good

Establishment: Boscos Squared, Memphis, TN

It's the only brewpub in town, so, where else can you go?

The food is good and the beer is decent, but the service is hit or miss. Some members of the waitstaff know nothing at all about beer.

(09/06/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Good So So Lousy Great

Establishment: High Desert Brewing Company, Las Cruces, NM

Ever since my trip here last month, I have been greatly looking forward to this, my next trip. Today I got up early and drove over 700 miles to get here in time for dinner and to sample all of the beers.

However ... tonight they did not have the IPA, Pilsner, ESB, or Pale Bock :-(

Again, the food disappointed me. I had the chipotle quesadilla. The tortilla was burnt on the outside, and just didn't sit well with me.

And I thought the waitress I had was pretty rude, I have no idea why. In less that an hour, she had to "turn me over to the bartender", as if she couldn't stand me.

The American Pale Ale is still very good. The other styles I sampled are good as well.

As I said last time: "come for the beer".

(05/24/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A Lousy N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Eddie's Bar and Grill, Las Cruces, NM

Why is this place listed as a Beer Bar? "These place serve a good selection of microbrews and/or imports." Eddie's is a hotel bar at the Best Western and serves Bud, Bud Light, Coors, Coors Light and Miller Lite on tap. I walked in, saw this, and walked out. If you're in Las Cruces, I recommend you go to High Desert.

(04/30/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Good Awesome!

Establishment: High Desert Brewing Company, Las Cruces, NM

This is one of the best brewpubs I have ever been to. Come for the beer. They have 11 or 12 on tap today. I'm just passint through this town, I came last night, and I came back for lunch this afternoon. I have tried six styles so far, and every one has met and/or exceeded my expectations. I had the IPA, American Pale, ESB, Pale Bock, Bohemian Pilsener, and Peach Wheat. They are all fresh and vibrant! The first five are all sufficiently hoppy; my only complaint was that the Peach could be fruitier, but that is just my tastes, it was by far better than most fruit beers.

The atmosphere is not typical. At night, it is very well lit for a bar. It is a very small place, so when they have a few customers, it is crowded; but it had a very friendly vibe to it.

Since it is small, the staff is minimal. I thought last night's guy was cool, very laid back, he handled everything in stride. Today at lunch, the lady here would probably rather be doing something else.

The food menu is somewhat limited. I tried the spinach quesadilla. It was good but not exciting.

Come for the beer!

(Also note that they do have free wifi, although they didn't advertise it. I'm there right now :-)

(04/21/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good

Establishment: Jaxon's Restaurant and Brewing Company, El Paso, TX

On the positive side, the prices are excellent: $2.95 for a pint, $1.75 for seven two-ounce samples.

The food was good. I liked the soup a lot, the salad was salad, and the chicken vaquero was surprisingly plain.

The beer was good, I had a sampler and an IPA.

My server Rick D. was adequate, nothing more or less.

I'd say this place is worth a stop on your way from Dallas to Phoenix; it's very easy to get here from I-10.

(04/20/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great So So Good Good

Establishment: Big Buck Brewery and Steakhouse, Grapevine, TX

I had several IPAs, they were very good. I also tried a stout, it was OK. The food was decent, but really had no life to it, it wasn't anything special. The waiter was very polite.

(04/03/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Good So So Great

Establishment: Seabright Brewery, Santa Cruz, CA

My soup was plain but my appetizer was excellent. I thought the dessert was just OK but my friend thought it was spectacular. They had three different types of hoppy beers plus pomegranate cider for me, and several others for my friend, so we were very happy with that. I don't like to judge the service of an entire establishment based on one person, but what else can I do? Catarina wasn't particularly attentive.

(12/21/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great

Establishment: BJ's Restaurant and Brewhouse, Plano, TX

I went to BJ's last night, had a few beers and some snacks. They have Happy Hour discounts on beer and food Sunday - Thursday from 9 - 11.

(09/26/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Lousy Good

Establishment: Flying Saucer, Fort Worth, TX

I had dinner and beers at the Flying Saucer last night with friends. The beer selection was very good, except for the fact that all of the Pale Ales and IPAs were listed on the menu under "Ambers", rather than "Pales" (?!?). And Monday night is $2.50 for most pints.

The food was good, what they had of it. However, the service was terrible. Ordered a side of ranch dressing and had to request it two more times after the food came. Ordered a soup, inquired about it 1/2 hour later, and got "we're out of that". Ordered tonic water and got club soda. When she finally came around again, "we're out of tonic water". We were out of lemons for a while, but later in the evening they magically appeared.

(05/10/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great So So Lousy Good

Establishment: Foothills Brewing, Winston-Salem, NC

I went with friends the other night. First, we had a few beers in the bar. I like hoppy beers, so first I tried the IPA, and it was very good. Then I had the Pale Ale, but it didn't seem very hoppy, perhaps it was by comparison to the beer I had already had. Then I had the ESB, and it wasn't very hoppy either. Then we decided to have dinner. It was a Friday night, and they were very busy, so we were waiting quite a while. Then a hostess said for $10 she would seat us right away, so we paid. I had mixed feelings about this. We ordered appetizers and entrees. The entrees came first, and they were cold. Then the appetizers came, and they were even colder. As it's the only brewpub in town (?), I'd probably go back, just to try the rest of the beers; but my friends say they probably won't.

(04/26/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Lousy Good

Establishment: Triple 7 Brewpub, Las Vegas, NV

I went here three times last weekend. The beer was good, the food was good, the service was terrible (all three times). The prices vary, they have a graveyard happy hour with dollar beers very late in the night. The most unusual thing about this establishment is that is does not have any rest rooms! Drink all the beer you want, but then you have to walk out through the casino to find one.

(01/28/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Great Great

Establishment: Brew Moon, Honolulu, HI

Last night, they had six beers on tap, all good. My favorite style, the pale ale, was excellent. A surprise to me was that I also very much enjoyed the red, very crisp and clean with a good hoppy taste. The food menu had a lot of great sounding items, I'm sorry I didn't get to try them all.

(12/19/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So N/A So So So So

Establishment: Gordon Biersch Brewing Company, Honolulu, HI

Yesterday, they had four beers on tap: "export", marzen, bock, and winter fest. No pale ale (my favorite style); no stout. All of the beers tasted very similar: they were all fairly malty, and I wonder if they were all made with the same type of [bitter] hops?

(12/19/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So So So Good Good

Establishment: Royal Bavaria Restaurant and Brewery, Moore, OK

I went there last night. They only had two (of their usual three) beers. The gold (blond) was very good. The amber tasted rusty.

I thought that the spicy sausages were greasy; the goulash was greasy and salty, the sourkraut was good; and the noodles were bland. The desserts were nothing special.

(01/19/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Good Good Good

Establishment: Belle Isle Brewery, Oklahoma City, OK

The beer tasted watery.

(01/16/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Lousy Good So So

Establishment: Coach's Sports Museum and Brewery, Oklahoma City, OK

I sampled all of the beers; I thought that they were watery.

The food was fairly flavorless. My pork sandwich (the house specialty) was cold.

(01/16/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So Good So So So So

Establishment: Hops Restaurant and Brewery, Daytona Beach, FL

I had the pale ale; it wasn't very hoppy. I also tried the "dark", it was mild with a slight smoky taste. I thought the beer selection was rather limited.

I had the spinach salad for dinner, it was pretty interesting. A lot of people have spinach salad because they are "health conscious" or vegetarians. Well, this spinach salad had bacon and lots of rib meat! (I'm not complaining, only describing.)

(11/11/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Great Good Great

Establishment: Blackhorse Pub and Brewery, Clarksville, TN

(11/03/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Good So So Great

Establishment: Kelly's Brewpub, Albuquerque, NM

This place has the best beer selection I have ever seen in a brewpub!

On this particular visit, the service was poor.

(10/21/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great So So Great

Establishment: Turtle Mountain Brewing Company, Rio Rancho, NM

I had the pale ale; I liked it a lot.

Was there on a Saturday night, not too late, but the kitchen had ran out of dough, so that eliminated 2/3 of the menu (pizza and calzones). I had a spinach salad, which I thought was fabulous.

Our particular server wasn't very attentive, and was overly familiar.

(10/21/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A Lousy Lousy

Establishment: The Green Room was Mogollon Brewing, Flagstaff, AZ

Stopped by this establishment on a Sunday night, because of its high rating on PubCrawler. It was fairly empty, only a few people sitting at the bar. My traveling companion and I sat at a table and waited for service. After about 10 minutes, we left; nobody even acknowledged our presence. Then we went to Beaver Street and had a great time.

(10/21/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Awesome! Great

Establishment: Beaver Street Brewery and Whistle Stop Cafe, Flagstaff, AZ

I've been to Beaver Street many times over the last few years, it's one of my favorites. The beer selection is good; I think the IPA is excellent. The food menu has a good variety. And the last time I was there, the service was excellent.

(10/21/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Good Great

Establishment: Jasper Ridge Brewery, Ishpeming, MI

The beer is the reason to go here. They had seven tonight, all were quite good. The food, service, and atmosphere weren't anything special. If you go, ask if they still have the movie package deal ... a pass for two to the movies (across the parking lot) for $5, with a $15 food purchase.

(05/30/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good So So So So

Establishment: Breckenridge Brewery, Breckenridge, CO

The pale ale and the mango chicken spinach salad were pretty good, but I did not care for the atmosphere in this establishment. The Happy Hour price of $2/pint was very reasonable. As the only brewpub in this ski town, it was extremely crowded when I went.

(01/09/2002)


Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ ALL ]













(0.257 seconds) 11:25:13 54.234.244.98, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS