PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Reviews on PubCrawler from
Other Reviews by this User
 
April 25, 2014 @ 04:54 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.

Reviews By

Beer Reviews
(86)

Restaurant Reviews
(0)






no
user
photo

86
Beer Reviews from
   

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ 4 ] [ ALL ]
Average Rating
Beer Quality
Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great
Great Good Great Great

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Bieres and Compagnie, Montreal, QC

A wonderful beer lounge. Nice upscale decor & atmosphere. They have a nice multi-page beer menu, with a nice list of local Quebec offerings.

The menu has some eclectic twists such as the caribou burger, but the part that drew me in were the selection of mussels - 30 different preparations are available.

(09/30/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So Good Good Good

Establishment: Les 3 Brasseurs, Montreal, QC

Visited Les 3 Brasseurs on a Sunday evening. The place was ~ 60% full. There were 4 beers on tap - Blonde, Blanche, Ambre & Brune, with the Ambre being the most flavorful of the lot.

The menu is fairly different from most brewpubs, with less reliance on wings & nachos & a bit more towards sandwiches & salads. They also have a house version of a pizza (sort of like a 'Turkish pizza').

The site is on Rue St Denis so there are many other spots nearby before or after.

(09/27/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome!

Establishment: Waterfront Ale House, Brooklyn, NY

We stopped in on a Saturday evening and had a couple of appetizers & entrees and several beers. The food was spot on and the beer list impressive - the list of bottle-conditioned British ales inlcuded 6 that I had not previously tried.

Great atmosphere as well.

(09/12/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Great Great

Establishment: Loreley Restaurant and Biergarten, New York, NY

A relatively new German place in Manhattan. The tap & bottle selection are nice and the quality of the taps was in top form.

As for the food, we had 2 entrees. Both were good but not great (and yes, I do like German food quite well). My recommendation is to go for the bier and, if you develop an appetite, have a snack while you're there.

(09/12/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Good Great

Establishment: Brutopia, Montreal, QC

Brutopia had a nice selection of 9 beers brewed on the premises plus another handful of local micros. I found most of the beers to be nice examples of their style. The kitchen was closed the night I was in, so no comment on the food.

(09/03/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Awesome! Great

Establishment: Rivertowne Inn, Verona, PA

Decent draft selection, but Rivertowne shines in the bottle department. Our bartender was quite knowledgable about their selections and even pulled out some new releases (Gouden Carolus 2004 Grand Cru) when he found out the types of beer we were interested in that night.

The food was also quite good - we ordered 3 different types of pizza and some wings as an appetizer.

Rivertowne isn't the easiest place to find as the address is on the main street but the actuality is its on a frontage, but if you happen to be in Veorna, stop in.

(08/08/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Great Good

Establishment: Frank and Jerry's Bier Haus, Pittsburgh , PA

Bierhaus is still open. The breweriana is still intact (I didn't realize that Iron City once produced a stout) and the crowd is very much local to the neighborhood.

The beer selection is mostly macro, plus Yuengling, Pittburgh Brewing products, & Stoudt's Pale Ale. A place to go for a beer & a shot that's a bit off the beaten path.

(08/03/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Max's Allegheny Tavern, Pittsburgh , PA

Don't expect 50 taps & 200 bottles. Max's is a German restaurant with ~ 8-10 taps (Kostritzer, mmmm) and perhaps the same number of choices in bottle, with a bent towards German choices.

Max's has been a hotel & bar for 100+ years. I love the atmosphere of an old Bierhaus. The food was tasty & satisfying - I chose peasant fare which was great without being gourmet. The kitchen is open late, which is helpful on the Northside. And the bartender was cheerful & helpful throughout my stay.

(08/03/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Good Great

Establishment: Piper's Pub, Pittsburgh, PA

The tap selection is quite nice - and I'm more a draft beer fan than bottle for the most part. All 3 of the drafts I tried were top form as well.

The menu looked more interesting than the typical pub fare, so I opted for the stilton stuffed chicken. Unfortunately, the dish was good (almost so-so) and not great. I'll definitely go back, but think I'll stick with a breakfast or burger.

(07/26/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Good Good Good

Establishment: Boomerang BBQ was Vermont Flatbread, Pittsburgh , PA

Very good pulled pork but I wish they had a potato side besides chips/salad (i.e. not cold).

But now for the beer...there was a nice selection of Aussie brews - 4 choices from Cooper's Brewery & King Lager from Melbourne, along with the ubiquitous Fosters. There were a lot of other bottles - I didn't count but guessing 50-60 judging by the list - both import & domestic micros. On the tap side, there was a nice selection of regional micros - from Crooked River, Erie, & Lancaster Brewing Co.

(06/28/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Great Great

Establishment: Monterey Pub, Pittsburgh , PA

Monterey is a warm & cozy pub located on a street of Pittsburgh 'brownstones' (ok they're not exactly brownstones, but brick rowhouses neatly kept on a quaint street). The pub itself is finished and furnished in traditional style - high marks for atmosphere.

The tap list & bottle list are not extensive (but neither are traditional English & Scottish pubs - the concept of 300 beers in 1 establishment more North American than European) but very serviceable with 1 or 2 examples of several different styles. You won't be disappointed.

On the menu side, I only tried the fish & chips which was good (tasty & large portions).

A very nice neighborhood pub.

(06/22/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Sharp Edge Creekhouse, Pittsburgh , PA

The Belgian samplers (4 5 oz glasses) are a great way to taste the variety of Belgians on tap in case you're unsure of whether you will like them. Also had a nice pot of mussels (the June special) and frites. The place is a destination (not that easy to find as you try to follow 60 out from the city) but worth it when you track it down.

(06/07/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Good Great Great

Establishment: Bado's Pizzeria and Delicatessen, Pittsburgh , PA

The tap selection is 10-15 beers with a heavy emphasis on regional & national micros - with decent specials & happy hours. The bottle selection is wonderful. I gave the place an awesome because I've been trying different beers for a long time now and these guys had between 5 & 10 Belgians that I had not previously tasted.

I didn't really drop in for the food but I did have a tasty little pie. I'll go back to check out some other menu items later.

(06/04/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So Good Great Good

Establishment: Gene's Last Chance, Pittsburgh , PA

As below, a standard bar with mostly big domestics on tap, plus Guinness for a dark choice. Typical bar & grill food, but friendly bartenders.

(05/28/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Great Great

Establishment: John Harvard's Brew House, Wilkins Township, PA

I had not been to a John Harvard's since I visited the ones in Atlanta 5-6 years ago, but decided to give this one a try. There were 11 selections to try, 8 of them I really enjoyed. The service was on top and talked about the beer and food with knowledge. Overall, a very enjoyeable visit.

(04/27/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Awesome!

Establishment: Z-Lounge was Zythos, Pittsburgh , PA

There are other bars with a larger total selection of beer, but I really enjoy Zythos. The selection is quite nice, including a few bottles I hadn't seen elsewhere in Pittsburgh. In addition, they have a nice little selection of scotch and other premium spirits. And best of all, I love the atmosphere & music. This bar would fit nicely in E.Village or LES.

(04/23/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Good Great

Establishment: Ciao!, Carnegie, PA

I happened to be in the Carnegie area and took Paris' recommendation to heart. Ciao is a nice little restaurant where I had a very nice tortellini bolognese and insalata mista, which is a good change for a beer bar. For the beer - 7 taps with 5 micros, Yuengling and Coors. The bottle selection number somewhere between 25-30 selections (and these are rotated I was told). My comment isn't about Ciao being in need of a coat of paint, but rather the fact that there seemed to be only 3 people out in the whole of Carnegie. Given the environment these guys operate in ( a dead 'main' street), I'm giving them kudos for effort and an awesome for the beer selection.

(03/03/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Good Good

Establishment: Paddys' Pour House, Carnegie, PA

Great shepherd's pie. Now for the beer. 7 taps - Guinness, Murphy's Stout & Amber, Harp, Labatt Bleu, Yuenling Lager & Coors Light. Around 10-12 bottles, mostly domestic macros.

Now for the good news. Pour House is scheduled to get Smithwicks Irish Ale on tap in March - a beer new to the US market.

(03/02/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Good Great Great

Establishment: Market Street Ale House, Pittsburgh , PA

The Ale House, which opened in August 2003, is on the 2nd floor overlooking Market Square. There are 10-12 taps focusing primarily on Belgian and Belgian style (Delerium Noel for Christmas) beer. In addition, there are 50+ beers on the bottle list, again with a focus on Belgian and US microbrews. There is a cigar bar downstairs as well.

(12/05/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So Good Good Good

Establishment: Finnigan's Wake, Pittsburgh , PA

12 taps - split about 50/50 between imports & domestics. Decent food. Many evenings after work (weekdays), the place is mostly empty.

(12/01/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Grille On Seventh was Seventh Street Grille, Pittsburgh , PA

I walked by the 7th Street Grille on November 30. There was a sign in the window from the landlord indicating that the Grille was closed but also stating that a new bar/restaurant tentant was being sought.

(12/01/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Good Great

Establishment: Fox and Hound English Pub and Grille, Pittsburgh , PA

I had mixed expectations for a place located bang up against a suburban mall, but I was pleasantly surprised. 36 taps ranging from the big domestics to Lindemans Framboise certainly helped on the positive aspect. Plus the diversity of activities - video games, billiards, large TVs, etc - make it a place that could appeal to several different moods.

(11/07/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Good Good Good

Establishment: Chumley's, New York, NY

Very good burger, but a bit pricy. Nice selection of beer, but quality was only ok. The atmosphere is fantastic though. Especially if you go on an off-time when it isn't jammed elbow to elbow.

(01/31/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Lousy So So Good So So

Establishment: Mars 2112, New York, NY

No reason for this place to be in pubcrawler. 5 beers on tap in the bar, but only 3 available in the dining area. Yes, we took kids, but were hoping for a place where they would enjoy the theme and we could enjoy a good beer.

(10/14/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good So So Good

Establishment: Beer Bar, New York, NY

Prices are a bit high [$5.75 for most bottles] and most of the selection is in bottles. Young's Bitter on tap was tasty, Guinness was average to a bit flat, Red Hook ESB was in good form. In bottles, they have Otter Creek Stovepipe Porter - the only place in NY I have found it [so far...]

(10/03/2002)


Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ 4 ] [ ALL ]













(0.168 seconds) 04:54:35 54.81.129.89, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS