PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Reviews on PubCrawler from
Other Reviews by this User
 
April 24, 2014 @ 10:58 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.

Reviews By

Beer Reviews
(86)

Restaurant Reviews
(0)






no
user
photo

86
Beer Reviews from
   

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ 4 ] [ ALL ]
Average Rating
Beer Quality
Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great
Great Good Great Great

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Great Good

Establishment: China Grill, New York, NY

Not really a beer bar, but a very upscale Chinese restaurant. Prices are very high - $15 [a salad] & up for lunch. No beer on tap, and a decent variety but nothing unusual in the bottle - a Tsingtao is $6.00.

(08/26/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Great Good

Establishment: Rectangles, New York, NY

This place has been on the site for at least a year with no review, so I stopped in. It is a Middle Eastern [Israel/Yemen] restaurant with great food, no taps, but a nice selection of beer in bottles. Being a restaurant the bar is a bit small. Friendly service.

(07/24/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A Good Good

Establishment: Detour, New York, NY

I stopped in to check out the taps. There are 10-15 with a nice variety. Nothing especially unique, but the beer was very fresh. I went before the band started, so it was a bit slow and mellow - just what I wanted at the time.

(07/24/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Good Awesome! Great

Establishment: Zum Schneider, New York, NY

There are a few places around the city that specialize in German taps and this is one of them. The beer is wonderful. The food is good, but really the beer is the selling point here. Servers are very friendly. Make sure you get there early enough to get a seat.

(07/22/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Great Great

Establishment: The Bellevue Bar, New York , NY

Good little dive. Nice jukebox, fun crowd. But, there aren't really that many beers here. This is a place to come out for a boozer, not to sample beer.

(07/20/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Toast, New York , NY

While the name doesn't sound like a beer bar and the atmosphere doens't look like one through the window, this is a nice little bistro that also has great burgers and an amazing little sectoin of draft beer [16 taps, rotating but on my trip incl. Fullers ESB, Magic Hat 9, Anchor Liberty, Harpoos Seasonal, etc] and another 5-8 in bottle and none from the major US breweries. Its a bit out of the way, but if you're in the area definitely a nice surprise. Very friendly service also.

(07/06/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Good Good

Establishment: Divine Bar, New York, NY

Divine is still here. Its as much a wine bar as a beer bar but still the selection is definitely different than most places. 10-12 taps and 3-4 times that in bottle. It is a bit expensive and the atmosphere is very trendy. Just depends on what you want. If you don't want to fight trendy crowds, then go early in the week.

(07/02/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Good Great Great

Establishment: Saint Andrew's, New York, NY

A bit of an upscale pub, there is a nice selection of draght and even more bottles and...nice single malt variety. I didn't try all of the beers, but the ones I had were very tasty and they have a few on tap that are different from the standard ales, lagers & stouts [Belhaven being one].

(06/26/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Great Great

Establishment: Abbey Pub, New York, NY

5 taps and the Magic Hat #9 and Brookyn Lager were excellent. They have several more offers in bottles from Belgian to Sam Smith. Standard pub fare but very tasty and also some nicer dinner entrees but I didn't sample those. The bartender was fabulous and the atmosphere was cool. Stop in if in the neighborhood.

(06/16/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! N/A Awesome! Great

Establishment: The Spot, Knoxville, TN

The Spot may be a bit hard to find as it is tucked away on Kingston Pike and doesn't advertise with glaring neon, but it will be well worth your effort. The Spot is a beer bar -- no food [but you can bring it in], no wine, no liquor. All of the beer is bottled, no draught so the quality of the beer is that of the bottle, but the Spot crew won't let you drink a spoiled beer. The selection is great and there are special 'clubs' that encourage you to try the different brews available. It can get very crowded on weekends, esp if there is a band, so I always preferred it during the week as a place to chill out.

(06/14/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Great Good

Establishment: Murphy's Law, New York, NY

Quaint little pub just a bit out of the way. There are 11 taps - Woodpecker, Guinness, Murphy's Amber, Sam Adams, Stella, Carlsberg, Harp, and a few others. Very friendly beertender and good food.

(06/14/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Good Great Great

Establishment: Joe Allen, New York, NY

I stopped in for a pint to check it out and had two - a red ale from Maine and a Boddingtons - both very tasty. I only had a bar snack which was good, but can't comment on the food too much. They also had a nice bottle selection.

(06/02/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Good Good

Establishment: Fitzpatrick Hotel, New York, NY

This is a hotel bar, not a beer bar. There are decent taps given that caveat, but don't trek over looking for anything different. Friendly bartender and lots of World Cup on TV though.

(06/02/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! So So Great Great

Establishment: Swift's, New York, NY

Nice atmosphere, friendly people, and a good selection of taps - there were several on hand not found in most pubs. The food selection is limited and what I had was OK. Go for the beer!

(05/21/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: 10th Avenue Jukebox Cafe, New York, NY

There is no phone number and based on this address, no bar here either.

(05/20/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great N/A Great Good

Establishment: Jake's Dilemma, New York, NY

Update for 2002. No food. Around 10 taps from domestic macrobrew to a Guinness and a cider. The bottle selection is fairly large but the choices are stacked on a rail above the bar. They are working on putting together a list. Friendly bartenders. Local crowd. I could have done without the booty music though.

(04/27/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Good Great

Establishment: Ruby's Taphouse, New York, NY

Very low-key atmosphere. They serve atomic wings [available at several locations in the city] as hot as you want them. The beer selection was nice - more taps than I can remember but 20 as below sounds right and each of the 3 I tried was in top form.

(04/15/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Good Great N/A

Establishment: Hallo Berlin, New York, NY

I went to Hallo Berlin on St. Paddy's day - go figure. The atmosphere is very casual, but just what I wanted. Large portions of food, quite tasty and the schwartzbier was absolutely fantastic. It must have arrived on the plane that morning. Beer selection was not that extensive in quantity [8-9 taps] but gets a great because most of 8-9 are unavailable elsewhere and thus is a nice change of pace. Enjoy.

(04/05/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Awesome! Great

Establishment: Ned Kelly's, New York, NY

Selection is 7 taps - guinness, harp, bass, heineken, sam adams, bud, miller lite - but the guinness is very nice. The service was awesome and the food was tasty as well. Ned's space is about 3/4 tables for dining and then an area around the bar for sipping.

(03/15/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good

Establishment: Slaughtered Lamb, New York, NY

I do like the atmosphere - tacky horror motif and all. The food is good standard fare, but by itself wouldn't convince you to stop in. The beer selection is 9 taps - not bad, but nothing unusual either. When friends come in from out of town, I'll bring them here for one and then carry on.

(02/19/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Awesome! Great

Establishment: Thady Con's, New York, NY

As below, the best part is the atmosphere. A great winter pub to walk inside and feel comfortable. Great pub fare and friendly service. I went on a weeknight. It may get very crowded on weekends.

(02/12/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Goldrush Bar and Grill, New York, NY

This is not a beer bar. It is a bar, it does have beer. It is, however, more of a biker bar - they were raffling off a harley and the bartenderesses were wearing cowboy hats. There was decent music, but don't go here expecting to debate the finer p(o)ints of dubbelbock vs. imperial stouts.

(02/08/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Good Great

Establishment: Waterfront Ale House, New York, NY

As the comments say this is near the movie theatre. This place makes movie drivel seem fun. Lots of beer, good beer, friendly and knowledgable bartenders, and nice food. Haven't been to Brooklyn yet but will probably go based on the appeal of this location.

(02/05/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Great Great

Establishment: White Horse Tavern, New York, NY

The food is inexpensive and served without flare, but its just what I want when I go there. Service has always been very friendly. Beer selection is good and what I've ordered very tasty. But what's not mentioned above is atmosphere and White Horse has it. If you like low-key and friendly [for everyone not just beer geeks], try it out.

(02/05/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Good Good

Establishment: Chelsea Brewing Company, New York, NY

Chelsea contract brews for some other locations in town and their own brews show up from time to time in places. We went one Sunday afternoon after a walk and watched the sunset while having a pint. I like the beer - all of it. Perhaps not the most unusual you'll ever have, but very satisfying. The CBC cask conditioned sout was available at Blind Tiger for a little while and was top notch.

(01/28/2002)


Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ 4 ] [ ALL ]













(0.145 seconds) 22:58:46 54.81.170.186, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS