PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Reviews on PubCrawler from
Other Reviews by this User
 
September 16, 2014 @ 10:30 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.

Reviews By

Beer Reviews
(86)

Restaurant Reviews
(0)






no
user
photo

86
Beer Reviews from
   

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ 4 ] [ ALL ]
Average Rating
Beer Quality
Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great
Great Good Great Great

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Great Great

Establishment: Le Saint Bock, Montreal, QC

Le SB opened earlier this year on the St Denis street in the Latin Quartier, in between Le 3 Brasseur & L'Amere a Boir in what was formerly a bicycle shop.

Food selection is more pub fare than otherwise, but done well for what it is. The real treat is the 16 micros on tap, most Quebecois that are not available elsewhere. In addition, there is a fairly decent bottle selection as well, mostly from Quebec & Belgium. When the weather is nice, there is also a nice little terrasse outside, so you can enjoy a nice brew and people watch on this great street.

(04/26/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good So So Good Good

Establishment: Les 3 Brasseurs, Montreal, QC

Montreal's 4th location of this brewpub chain from France. On the corner of Crescent, the beer selection was standard, with the exception of the christmas beer. The music was seemingly louder than in the other locations and I was treated to Outkast, Madonna, Beenieman and other slop that permeates US airwaves. So if you can't get enough of this at home...

(12/08/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good So So Great Good

Establishment: Benelux Brasserie Artisanale et Cafe, Montreal, QC

I stopped in Benelux on a Saturday eve in December and met Jean Francois, who owns(?)/manages the pub. He was very accomodating and filled me in on the details of the place.

Benelux opened in midsummer 2006 in a space that was previously a bank (safe is still intact). Food offerings are limited - my rating above was based on selection not quality. But for the main thing - the beer. Benelux had 4 selections on tap while I was there, although the ran out of the abbay blonde before I could try it. The stout was easy drinking and the rye pale ale was on special during the hockey game. In addition to these 4 beers, there were another 3 beers on offer from another Quebec microbrewer - guest taps if you will, which will rotate.

Although never jammed, there was a steady crowd the whole time I was there. The atmosphere and layout are get good marks in my opinion. This place is easy to find on Sherbrook, so check it out.

(12/03/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Bieres and Compagnie, Montreal, QC

The Rue St Laurent Biere et Compagnie was closed as of August 2006. I passed by in December 2006 and it is now a souvlaki restaurant.

(12/03/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Great Great

Establishment: Les 3 Brasseurs - Vieux Montreal, Montreal, QC

The latest offering from the French (France not French Canadian) brewpub chain is located in Old Montreal. A nice 2-story space, the offerings were blanche, blonde, ambree & brune. Decent food and a nice crowd that seemed to go beyond the tourist scene. Maybe this changes in summer though.

(02/19/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Good Great

Establishment: The Ginger Man, Houston, TX

My experience is with the Ginger Man in NYC. However, the Ginger Man in Houston is a nice little destination. Not quite the same atmosphere as Manhattan, but still a great selection of draught and bottled brews. Sitting at the bar, the service struck me as busy and efficient - that is, not friendly and welcoming but not rude or testy. More to the order of, I have a lot of people to take care of, know what you want or I'll be back. There is no kitchen although they do have a handful of snax. Nice neighborhood in Houston - one that you can actually walk around in as opposed to the car mandate that the rest of the city seems to suffer from.

(01/24/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Awesome! Great

Establishment: Henry's End Cafe, Brooklyn, NY

Henry's End is just down the street from Henry St Ale House and I confused the two at first. Henry's End however is a restaurant without a bar per se. The food is quite good with a nice wild game section and entrees prices running from $15 to $25. The beer selection is very nice, not extensive in quantity but there are some nice choices not commonly seen (Berliner Kindl Weisse for example) and there seems to have been a conscious choice to include a few examples from a lot of different styles.

(01/16/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Great Great

Establishment: Les 3 Brasseurs, Montreal, QC

This is the second location of 3 Brasseurs (a third is scheduled to open soon in old Montreal). The space is right on St Catherine street between Rue McGill College and Rue University and contains 2 stories opening onto the sidewalk. Beer is brewed at this location and the offerings were blanche, blonde, brune, ambree & doree. The beer doesn't try to be way out in style and will satisfy most session drinkers.

The menu is the same as the St Denis location. The service was top-notch on my visit, both friendly and efficient. The food came out quickly and was better than I remember from St Denis.

(07/21/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Good Good

Establishment: Claddagh Irish Pub, Pittsburgh , PA

The first faux Irish Pub (you know, nice bar, good lighting, and knick-knacks stashed everywhere that is supposed to make you feel like the place has been around 100 years) was Fado in Atlanta 8 or 9 years ago. At the time, I really liked the place because it was different, but we did have to get used to $5 pints, as they were one of the first to break this price. Years later, I've been in more of these places than I can count.

Claddagh does the theme quite well, but being in in a strip mall-ish storefront situation just next to the blazing neon of a movie theatre does tend to take away from the 'traditional Irish country pub' motif.

The beer selection is 8-10 taps and a fair number of bottle/can choices as I peeked into the cooler. The selection runs mostly from Ireland & Britain, which is a good thing, and the choices I had on tap came out well. The food was also solid, not exceptional but tasty.

This is a great place to duck into with a friend if the wives/girlfriends are doing a bit of shopping in all of the stores nearby.

(06/17/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Good Good Good Great

Establishment: Dieu du Ciel!, Montreal, QC

This little brewery is a bit off the tourist path (over the hill from downtown). As other reviews noted, the kitchen is limited. Toaster oven pizza and Quebecois cheese plate. Quite good for what it is, but this is a place where you go for beer that has a few snacks, not a great food place that also has awesome beer.

About the beer. The night I went, there were 4 offerings en fut - a rousse, a Belgian style blanche, a very nice abbey triple, and a stout (Deesee Nocture -pardon my spelling) that was incredible.

(05/22/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Good Great

Establishment: L'Île Noire, Montreal, QC

There is no food. This is a superb dinking venue. Ambient, IDM music in the background. Nice wooden interior, with windows open onto the street. 15 taps + another 6-8 bottles plus a scotch list that is most impressive (top 5 I've seen in the world - ask & I'll tell you the other 4).

A very nice place. All cities should be blessed with something like this.

(05/16/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Hurley's Irish Pub, Montreal, QC

I've stopped by Hurley's 3 times, eaten twice. The food is good, the Bailey's cheesecake was awesome.

Beerwise, there is a really nice selection of Canadian offerings, mixed in with some European imports. A nice selection all in all. Whisky-wise, the scotches are there, but I actually enjoyed the selection of Irish whiskies. You can find scotches in a lot of places, but Irish ones are often limited to your Bushmills/Jameson/Powers in most pubs.

This place does get crowded on weekends.

(05/16/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great N/A Good Good

Establishment: Le Cheval Blanc, Montreal, QC

As its been 2 years since this place was reviewed...

This was the first brewpub in Montreal, opening in '86 or '87 (can't remember see the website). The Cheval Blanc bieres that you get here are different than the ones brewed by Brasseurs RJ and sold in bottle throughout the city. There is a connection obviously, but both the bartender at the pub as well as the ratebeer guys show it different. My own tasting of the amber bears it out as well.

Still, visit this place. Decor is cool. Location is cool.

(05/08/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Great Great

Establishment: Harris Grill, Pittsburgh , PA

I understand that Harris Grill was open once upon a time, then closed. It is open again - under new mgt or not, I am unsure - and has a nice selection of beer in both bottle and on tap.

The menu runs with standard bar fare expanded to include a few entrees and other non-typical sandwiches (i.e. monte cristo, muffaletta, etc.) I believe I saw a note that said kitchen is open late, which is cool.

A nice outdoor seating in the front gives a people-watching option that should be good in the spring and summer.

(04/26/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Good Great Great

Establishment: L’Amere a Boire, Montreal, QC

Nice little place on St. Denis. Not a quaint smoky pub, but a nice 'loft-ish atmosphere. There were 8 samplings on tap tonight - a blanche, a Czech blonde (fantastic), 3 reds, & 3 porters / stouts. All of the samples were good, the Czech style blonde & red were excellent.

Food wise, the menu isn't huge. The fries are top-notch though with a nice cajun mayo. The burger was standard.

Service was very cool.

(03/10/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: One-Eyed Mike's, Baltimore, MD

While in Baltimore for the weekend, we asked (in Max's) for a decent local place for crabcakes away from the tourist area of Inner Harbor and were directed to One-Eyed Mike's.

Well, the staff (and other patrons) were very friendly, attentive & fun. The crabcakes were spectacular (much better than Phillips was our consensus opinion). The beer selections were nice. And the Grand Marnier theme served as our dessert.

Don't miss this place.

(02/10/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Great Awesome!

Establishment: D's Six Packs and Dogz, Pittsburgh , PA

D's is an unassuming little shop selling dogs and a few sandwiches (great stuff though). No elaborate oaken bar, no subdued lighting. But their beer selection is amazing. 800+ tossed about in the reviews below. Striving to reach 1000 is what I read on a sign on the wall.

Whereas most states have liquor/package stores or an indie cornershop that specializes in beer, Pennsylvania's beer laws preclude you from buying singles and samples (or even 6-packs) in a beer store. Thankfully, places like D's help rectify that situation.

(01/04/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Good Great

Establishment: Gooski's, Polish Hill, PA

Pittsburgh has a number of these little neighborhood bars - Sidelines, Rivertowne Inn, etc - that pack an unexpected assortment of beers on tap and in bottles. Gooski's is small, dark and, when I went, very smoky. But the beer selection is very good and the prices are reasonable. They were out of 75% of the Polish food offerings but their wings were excellent.

The jukebox was under repair so I cannot comment on the tunes. Another great thing about Gooski's is its proximity to downtown and the strip district, which makes it easily accessible.

(12/22/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Good Good

Establishment: Burgh's Pizza and Wing Pub, Bridgeville, PA

Stopped in on a Friday afternoon. Although the tap selection is none too shabby, most of the choices here come in bottle form. Which is fine as there was a nice choice of seasonals from which to select.

The pizza was really tasty, but the wings - both hot & mild left something to be desired. The sauce had too much butter in it and consequently, would not stay on the wings. I like butter in my sauce, but more importantly, I like it to stay on the food rather than running through the basket and over the table.

I rate this Good overall as it more of a "stop in if in the neighborhood" place rather than a destination unto itself.

(12/13/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Awesome!

Establishment: Bieres et Compagnie, Montreal, QC

This is the original Bieres et Compagnie location, which has been around since '96 or '97. The beer menu is the same at both places, but what a fantastic offering it is. Heavy on Quebec, French & Belgian artisanal beers, the beer complements the food - if you like mussels, visit.

(10/29/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Great Awesome!

Establishment: Kelly's Bar and Lounge, Pittsburgh , PA

This is an excellent place. There is a single page of pub fare for the food and 2 pages for the cocktails & beer. Not a huge number of taps & bottles, but the quality more than makes up for the quantity. Plus, as mentioned, the taps rotate weekly.

The bartenders were fun and the place has great atmosphere, w/ a 50s Diner-ish motif and punk & rockabilly tunes. I did see that the music choices were varied by night, so you may get a DJ playing something else.

(10/26/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Good Great

Establishment: Bloomfield Bridge Tavern, Pittsburgh , PA

The draft selection isn't large, but by the bottle, the choices are much better. Plus, several of the offerings (Eastern European) are unique to this bar from what I can tell about Pittsburgh - for those of you looking to add a few more titles to your beer list.

Food was inexpensive, tasty and filling. But I didn't really expect light fare when I ordered the Polish Platter.

(10/25/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good

Establishment: Bites and Brews, Pittsburgh , PA

A few updates. B&B is owned by the same folks who own Elbow Room next door. They do accept credit cards now as well. Beer-wise, B&B offers 45 bottles & 30 taps. While there aren't as many interesting beers as you might think out of 75 choices, still, there are 75 choices - although the Allagash Grand Cru was a bit off when I was there.

Atmosphere is really that of a sandwich shop.

(10/25/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Great Good

Establishment: Lot 17, Pittsburgh, PA

I visited Lot 17 on a Wednesday night. There were 10-15 patrons, all 30-50 year old men, watching the baseball game. Atmosphere was OK, not exciting.

The beer selection is ~ 15 taps with another 30 or so choices in bottle. You can definitely find something to drink, although there are a few too many alco-pops in the mix.

The stuffed peppers were excellent. The buffalo chicken sandwich was average. The wings looked good, but I had already placed my order.

(10/21/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Good So So Good

Establishment: Park Slope Alehouse was Park Slope Brewing, Brooklyn, NY

From prior reviews, I didn't expect this to be a brewpub. Now, I no longer see the equipment either. This is a nice little corner pub, with standard pub fare (nachos & wings were good, hummus was a bit off). There were only 2 offerings in bottle - nothing exciting there, but they did have 20 taps, comprised overwhelmingly with micros & imports.

(10/18/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Bieres and Compagnie, Montreal, QC

A wonderful beer lounge. Nice upscale decor & atmosphere. They have a nice multi-page beer menu, with a nice list of local Quebec offerings.

The menu has some eclectic twists such as the caribou burger, but the part that drew me in were the selection of mussels - 30 different preparations are available.

(09/30/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So Good Good Good

Establishment: Les 3 Brasseurs, Montreal, QC

Visited Les 3 Brasseurs on a Sunday evening. The place was ~ 60% full. There were 4 beers on tap - Blonde, Blanche, Ambre & Brune, with the Ambre being the most flavorful of the lot.

The menu is fairly different from most brewpubs, with less reliance on wings & nachos & a bit more towards sandwiches & salads. They also have a house version of a pizza (sort of like a 'Turkish pizza').

The site is on Rue St Denis so there are many other spots nearby before or after.

(09/27/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome!

Establishment: Waterfront Ale House, Brooklyn, NY

We stopped in on a Saturday evening and had a couple of appetizers & entrees and several beers. The food was spot on and the beer list impressive - the list of bottle-conditioned British ales inlcuded 6 that I had not previously tried.

Great atmosphere as well.

(09/12/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Great Great

Establishment: Loreley Restaurant and Biergarten, New York, NY

A relatively new German place in Manhattan. The tap & bottle selection are nice and the quality of the taps was in top form.

As for the food, we had 2 entrees. Both were good but not great (and yes, I do like German food quite well). My recommendation is to go for the bier and, if you develop an appetite, have a snack while you're there.

(09/12/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Good Great

Establishment: Brutopia, Montreal, QC

Brutopia had a nice selection of 9 beers brewed on the premises plus another handful of local micros. I found most of the beers to be nice examples of their style. The kitchen was closed the night I was in, so no comment on the food.

(09/03/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Awesome! Great

Establishment: Rivertowne Inn, Verona, PA

Decent draft selection, but Rivertowne shines in the bottle department. Our bartender was quite knowledgable about their selections and even pulled out some new releases (Gouden Carolus 2004 Grand Cru) when he found out the types of beer we were interested in that night.

The food was also quite good - we ordered 3 different types of pizza and some wings as an appetizer.

Rivertowne isn't the easiest place to find as the address is on the main street but the actuality is its on a frontage, but if you happen to be in Veorna, stop in.

(08/08/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Great Good

Establishment: Frank and Jerry's Bier Haus, Pittsburgh , PA

Bierhaus is still open. The breweriana is still intact (I didn't realize that Iron City once produced a stout) and the crowd is very much local to the neighborhood.

The beer selection is mostly macro, plus Yuengling, Pittburgh Brewing products, & Stoudt's Pale Ale. A place to go for a beer & a shot that's a bit off the beaten path.

(08/03/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Max's Allegheny Tavern, Pittsburgh , PA

Don't expect 50 taps & 200 bottles. Max's is a German restaurant with ~ 8-10 taps (Kostritzer, mmmm) and perhaps the same number of choices in bottle, with a bent towards German choices.

Max's has been a hotel & bar for 100+ years. I love the atmosphere of an old Bierhaus. The food was tasty & satisfying - I chose peasant fare which was great without being gourmet. The kitchen is open late, which is helpful on the Northside. And the bartender was cheerful & helpful throughout my stay.

(08/03/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Good Great

Establishment: Piper's Pub, Pittsburgh, PA

The tap selection is quite nice - and I'm more a draft beer fan than bottle for the most part. All 3 of the drafts I tried were top form as well.

The menu looked more interesting than the typical pub fare, so I opted for the stilton stuffed chicken. Unfortunately, the dish was good (almost so-so) and not great. I'll definitely go back, but think I'll stick with a breakfast or burger.

(07/26/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Good Good Good

Establishment: Boomerang BBQ was Vermont Flatbread, Pittsburgh , PA

Very good pulled pork but I wish they had a potato side besides chips/salad (i.e. not cold).

But now for the beer...there was a nice selection of Aussie brews - 4 choices from Cooper's Brewery & King Lager from Melbourne, along with the ubiquitous Fosters. There were a lot of other bottles - I didn't count but guessing 50-60 judging by the list - both import & domestic micros. On the tap side, there was a nice selection of regional micros - from Crooked River, Erie, & Lancaster Brewing Co.

(06/28/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Great Great

Establishment: Monterey Pub, Pittsburgh , PA

Monterey is a warm & cozy pub located on a street of Pittsburgh 'brownstones' (ok they're not exactly brownstones, but brick rowhouses neatly kept on a quaint street). The pub itself is finished and furnished in traditional style - high marks for atmosphere.

The tap list & bottle list are not extensive (but neither are traditional English & Scottish pubs - the concept of 300 beers in 1 establishment more North American than European) but very serviceable with 1 or 2 examples of several different styles. You won't be disappointed.

On the menu side, I only tried the fish & chips which was good (tasty & large portions).

A very nice neighborhood pub.

(06/22/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Sharp Edge Creekhouse, Pittsburgh , PA

The Belgian samplers (4 5 oz glasses) are a great way to taste the variety of Belgians on tap in case you're unsure of whether you will like them. Also had a nice pot of mussels (the June special) and frites. The place is a destination (not that easy to find as you try to follow 60 out from the city) but worth it when you track it down.

(06/07/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Good Great Great

Establishment: Bado's Pizzeria and Delicatessen, Pittsburgh , PA

The tap selection is 10-15 beers with a heavy emphasis on regional & national micros - with decent specials & happy hours. The bottle selection is wonderful. I gave the place an awesome because I've been trying different beers for a long time now and these guys had between 5 & 10 Belgians that I had not previously tasted.

I didn't really drop in for the food but I did have a tasty little pie. I'll go back to check out some other menu items later.

(06/04/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So Good Great Good

Establishment: Gene's Last Chance, Pittsburgh , PA

As below, a standard bar with mostly big domestics on tap, plus Guinness for a dark choice. Typical bar & grill food, but friendly bartenders.

(05/28/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Great Great

Establishment: John Harvard's Brew House, Wilkins Township, PA

I had not been to a John Harvard's since I visited the ones in Atlanta 5-6 years ago, but decided to give this one a try. There were 11 selections to try, 8 of them I really enjoyed. The service was on top and talked about the beer and food with knowledge. Overall, a very enjoyeable visit.

(04/27/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Awesome!

Establishment: Z-Lounge was Zythos, Pittsburgh , PA

There are other bars with a larger total selection of beer, but I really enjoy Zythos. The selection is quite nice, including a few bottles I hadn't seen elsewhere in Pittsburgh. In addition, they have a nice little selection of scotch and other premium spirits. And best of all, I love the atmosphere & music. This bar would fit nicely in E.Village or LES.

(04/23/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Good Great

Establishment: Ciao!, Carnegie, PA

I happened to be in the Carnegie area and took Paris' recommendation to heart. Ciao is a nice little restaurant where I had a very nice tortellini bolognese and insalata mista, which is a good change for a beer bar. For the beer - 7 taps with 5 micros, Yuengling and Coors. The bottle selection number somewhere between 25-30 selections (and these are rotated I was told). My comment isn't about Ciao being in need of a coat of paint, but rather the fact that there seemed to be only 3 people out in the whole of Carnegie. Given the environment these guys operate in ( a dead 'main' street), I'm giving them kudos for effort and an awesome for the beer selection.

(03/03/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Good Good

Establishment: Paddys' Pour House, Carnegie, PA

Great shepherd's pie. Now for the beer. 7 taps - Guinness, Murphy's Stout & Amber, Harp, Labatt Bleu, Yuenling Lager & Coors Light. Around 10-12 bottles, mostly domestic macros.

Now for the good news. Pour House is scheduled to get Smithwicks Irish Ale on tap in March - a beer new to the US market.

(03/02/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Good Great Great

Establishment: Market Street Ale House, Pittsburgh , PA

The Ale House, which opened in August 2003, is on the 2nd floor overlooking Market Square. There are 10-12 taps focusing primarily on Belgian and Belgian style (Delerium Noel for Christmas) beer. In addition, there are 50+ beers on the bottle list, again with a focus on Belgian and US microbrews. There is a cigar bar downstairs as well.

(12/05/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So Good Good Good

Establishment: Finnigan's Wake, Pittsburgh , PA

12 taps - split about 50/50 between imports & domestics. Decent food. Many evenings after work (weekdays), the place is mostly empty.

(12/01/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Grille On Seventh was Seventh Street Grille, Pittsburgh , PA

I walked by the 7th Street Grille on November 30. There was a sign in the window from the landlord indicating that the Grille was closed but also stating that a new bar/restaurant tentant was being sought.

(12/01/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Good Great

Establishment: Fox and Hound English Pub and Grille, Pittsburgh , PA

I had mixed expectations for a place located bang up against a suburban mall, but I was pleasantly surprised. 36 taps ranging from the big domestics to Lindemans Framboise certainly helped on the positive aspect. Plus the diversity of activities - video games, billiards, large TVs, etc - make it a place that could appeal to several different moods.

(11/07/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Good Good Good

Establishment: Chumley's, New York, NY

Very good burger, but a bit pricy. Nice selection of beer, but quality was only ok. The atmosphere is fantastic though. Especially if you go on an off-time when it isn't jammed elbow to elbow.

(01/31/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Lousy So So Good So So

Establishment: Mars 2112, New York, NY

No reason for this place to be in pubcrawler. 5 beers on tap in the bar, but only 3 available in the dining area. Yes, we took kids, but were hoping for a place where they would enjoy the theme and we could enjoy a good beer.

(10/14/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good So So Good

Establishment: Beer Bar, New York, NY

Prices are a bit high [$5.75 for most bottles] and most of the selection is in bottles. Young's Bitter on tap was tasty, Guinness was average to a bit flat, Red Hook ESB was in good form. In bottles, they have Otter Creek Stovepipe Porter - the only place in NY I have found it [so far...]

(10/03/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Great Good

Establishment: China Grill, New York, NY

Not really a beer bar, but a very upscale Chinese restaurant. Prices are very high - $15 [a salad] & up for lunch. No beer on tap, and a decent variety but nothing unusual in the bottle - a Tsingtao is $6.00.

(08/26/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Great Good

Establishment: Rectangles, New York, NY

This place has been on the site for at least a year with no review, so I stopped in. It is a Middle Eastern [Israel/Yemen] restaurant with great food, no taps, but a nice selection of beer in bottles. Being a restaurant the bar is a bit small. Friendly service.

(07/24/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A Good Good

Establishment: Detour, New York, NY

I stopped in to check out the taps. There are 10-15 with a nice variety. Nothing especially unique, but the beer was very fresh. I went before the band started, so it was a bit slow and mellow - just what I wanted at the time.

(07/24/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Good Awesome! Great

Establishment: Zum Schneider, New York, NY

There are a few places around the city that specialize in German taps and this is one of them. The beer is wonderful. The food is good, but really the beer is the selling point here. Servers are very friendly. Make sure you get there early enough to get a seat.

(07/22/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Great Great

Establishment: The Bellevue Bar, New York , NY

Good little dive. Nice jukebox, fun crowd. But, there aren't really that many beers here. This is a place to come out for a boozer, not to sample beer.

(07/20/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Toast, New York , NY

While the name doesn't sound like a beer bar and the atmosphere doens't look like one through the window, this is a nice little bistro that also has great burgers and an amazing little sectoin of draft beer [16 taps, rotating but on my trip incl. Fullers ESB, Magic Hat 9, Anchor Liberty, Harpoos Seasonal, etc] and another 5-8 in bottle and none from the major US breweries. Its a bit out of the way, but if you're in the area definitely a nice surprise. Very friendly service also.

(07/06/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Good Good

Establishment: Divine Bar, New York, NY

Divine is still here. Its as much a wine bar as a beer bar but still the selection is definitely different than most places. 10-12 taps and 3-4 times that in bottle. It is a bit expensive and the atmosphere is very trendy. Just depends on what you want. If you don't want to fight trendy crowds, then go early in the week.

(07/02/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Good Great Great

Establishment: Saint Andrew's, New York, NY

A bit of an upscale pub, there is a nice selection of draght and even more bottles and...nice single malt variety. I didn't try all of the beers, but the ones I had were very tasty and they have a few on tap that are different from the standard ales, lagers & stouts [Belhaven being one].

(06/26/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Great Great

Establishment: Abbey Pub, New York, NY

5 taps and the Magic Hat #9 and Brookyn Lager were excellent. They have several more offers in bottles from Belgian to Sam Smith. Standard pub fare but very tasty and also some nicer dinner entrees but I didn't sample those. The bartender was fabulous and the atmosphere was cool. Stop in if in the neighborhood.

(06/16/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! N/A Awesome! Great

Establishment: The Spot, Knoxville, TN

The Spot may be a bit hard to find as it is tucked away on Kingston Pike and doesn't advertise with glaring neon, but it will be well worth your effort. The Spot is a beer bar -- no food [but you can bring it in], no wine, no liquor. All of the beer is bottled, no draught so the quality of the beer is that of the bottle, but the Spot crew won't let you drink a spoiled beer. The selection is great and there are special 'clubs' that encourage you to try the different brews available. It can get very crowded on weekends, esp if there is a band, so I always preferred it during the week as a place to chill out.

(06/14/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Great Good

Establishment: Murphy's Law, New York, NY

Quaint little pub just a bit out of the way. There are 11 taps - Woodpecker, Guinness, Murphy's Amber, Sam Adams, Stella, Carlsberg, Harp, and a few others. Very friendly beertender and good food.

(06/14/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Good Great Great

Establishment: Joe Allen, New York, NY

I stopped in for a pint to check it out and had two - a red ale from Maine and a Boddingtons - both very tasty. I only had a bar snack which was good, but can't comment on the food too much. They also had a nice bottle selection.

(06/02/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Good Good

Establishment: Fitzpatrick Hotel, New York, NY

This is a hotel bar, not a beer bar. There are decent taps given that caveat, but don't trek over looking for anything different. Friendly bartender and lots of World Cup on TV though.

(06/02/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! So So Great Great

Establishment: Swift's, New York, NY

Nice atmosphere, friendly people, and a good selection of taps - there were several on hand not found in most pubs. The food selection is limited and what I had was OK. Go for the beer!

(05/21/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: 10th Avenue Jukebox Cafe, New York, NY

There is no phone number and based on this address, no bar here either.

(05/20/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great N/A Great Good

Establishment: Jake's Dilemma, New York, NY

Update for 2002. No food. Around 10 taps from domestic macrobrew to a Guinness and a cider. The bottle selection is fairly large but the choices are stacked on a rail above the bar. They are working on putting together a list. Friendly bartenders. Local crowd. I could have done without the booty music though.

(04/27/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Good Great

Establishment: Ruby's Taphouse, New York, NY

Very low-key atmosphere. They serve atomic wings [available at several locations in the city] as hot as you want them. The beer selection was nice - more taps than I can remember but 20 as below sounds right and each of the 3 I tried was in top form.

(04/15/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Good Great N/A

Establishment: Hallo Berlin, New York, NY

I went to Hallo Berlin on St. Paddy's day - go figure. The atmosphere is very casual, but just what I wanted. Large portions of food, quite tasty and the schwartzbier was absolutely fantastic. It must have arrived on the plane that morning. Beer selection was not that extensive in quantity [8-9 taps] but gets a great because most of 8-9 are unavailable elsewhere and thus is a nice change of pace. Enjoy.

(04/05/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Awesome! Great

Establishment: Ned Kelly's, New York, NY

Selection is 7 taps - guinness, harp, bass, heineken, sam adams, bud, miller lite - but the guinness is very nice. The service was awesome and the food was tasty as well. Ned's space is about 3/4 tables for dining and then an area around the bar for sipping.

(03/15/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good

Establishment: Slaughtered Lamb, New York, NY

I do like the atmosphere - tacky horror motif and all. The food is good standard fare, but by itself wouldn't convince you to stop in. The beer selection is 9 taps - not bad, but nothing unusual either. When friends come in from out of town, I'll bring them here for one and then carry on.

(02/19/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Awesome! Great

Establishment: Thady Con's, New York, NY

As below, the best part is the atmosphere. A great winter pub to walk inside and feel comfortable. Great pub fare and friendly service. I went on a weeknight. It may get very crowded on weekends.

(02/12/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Goldrush Bar and Grill, New York, NY

This is not a beer bar. It is a bar, it does have beer. It is, however, more of a biker bar - they were raffling off a harley and the bartenderesses were wearing cowboy hats. There was decent music, but don't go here expecting to debate the finer p(o)ints of dubbelbock vs. imperial stouts.

(02/08/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Good Great

Establishment: Waterfront Ale House, New York, NY

As the comments say this is near the movie theatre. This place makes movie drivel seem fun. Lots of beer, good beer, friendly and knowledgable bartenders, and nice food. Haven't been to Brooklyn yet but will probably go based on the appeal of this location.

(02/05/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Great Great

Establishment: White Horse Tavern, New York, NY

The food is inexpensive and served without flare, but its just what I want when I go there. Service has always been very friendly. Beer selection is good and what I've ordered very tasty. But what's not mentioned above is atmosphere and White Horse has it. If you like low-key and friendly [for everyone not just beer geeks], try it out.

(02/05/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Good Good

Establishment: Chelsea Brewing Company, New York, NY

Chelsea contract brews for some other locations in town and their own brews show up from time to time in places. We went one Sunday afternoon after a walk and watched the sunset while having a pint. I like the beer - all of it. Perhaps not the most unusual you'll ever have, but very satisfying. The CBC cask conditioned sout was available at Blind Tiger for a little while and was top notch.

(01/28/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Great Great

Establishment: Kinsale Tavern, New York, NY

I made the trek up for lunch one day. It is way up there, but a great little pub with a charming little bartender when I was there and top notch pub grub. No rare beers on their 20+ taps, but enough to satisfy most people.

(01/28/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great

Establishment: Standings was Brewsky's, New York, NY

Atmosphere is a bit louder, less refined than Burp Castle, but the prices more than make up for it. Try them both side by side, and you'll probably have the extra beer at Brewsky's!

(01/28/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Great Great

Establishment: Burp Castle, New York, NY

Great beer, nice mood, wall paintings by a Ukrainian artist are nice as well. But the prices are just to stiff to sit down for any length of time. 15 feet from Brewsky's.

(01/28/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Great Great

Establishment: Burp Castle, New York, NY

Great beer, nice mood, wall paintings by a Ukrainian artist are nice as well. But the prices are just to stiff to sit down for any length of time. 15 feet from Brewsky's.

(01/28/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So Lousy So So So So

Establishment: Carnegie Hill Brewing Company, New York, NY

I went to Carnegie Hill in November 2001. The beer selection included 3 made on site - and mediocre at best. Nothing unique. Food included nachos and pizza with a nice frozen crust texture. If you're in the neighborhood and feel lucky stop in, but I wouldn't advise a special trip.

(01/28/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Great Great

Establishment: Jimmy Armstrong's Saloon, New York, NY

Small pub on the westside. Young's Oatmeal as their stout. Varied menu. Server who was very friendly and efficient. One to go back to.

(01/12/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So Good So So So So

Establishment: J.G. Melon, New York, NY

Beer. Selection was Bud, Pilsner Urquell, Bass, and Bud on tap. Served in small mugs. Burger, Fries, 1 Pilsner was $14.60 plus tip. Not horrible but in a city with so many places...

(01/11/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Great Great

Establishment: Greenwich Brewing Company, New York, NY

The beer is now contract brewed at Chelsea Brewing, using different recipes however. Nice selection of styles, good food, and friendly service on the times I've been in.

(11/19/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great So So Good Good

Establishment: West Side Brewing Company, New York, NY

Understaffed for the crowd that was there. Lots of people got the burgers and they looked good. The wings were mediocre at best though.

(11/19/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Good Great

Establishment: Saint Mark's Ale House, New York, NY

Good atmosphere for a Thursday eve--peopled but not jammed. Nice selection of draft but I stuck with the Magic Hat

(07/06/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Good Great

Establishment: Saint Mark's Ale House, New York, NY

Good atmosphere on a Thursday eve, peopled but not jammed Nice selection of beer, but I stuck with Magic Hat.

(07/06/2001)


Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ 4 ] [ ALL ]













(0.382 seconds) 10:30:52 54.89.233.81, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS