PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Reviews on PubCrawler from
Other Reviews by this User
 
September 18, 2014 @ 09:06 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.

Reviews By

Beer Reviews
(203)

Restaurant Reviews
(0)






no
user
photo

203
Beer Reviews from
   

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ 4 ] [ 5 ] [ 6 ] [ 7 ] [ 8 ] [ 9 ] [ ALL ]
Average Rating
Beer Quality
Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good
Good Good Good Good

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Hard Times Cafe, Rockville, MD

To review another location, take a moment and create an entry for that location. It's easy to do, especially when you have the web site address right here.

(01/09/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good So So So So So So

Establishment: San Francisco Brewing Company, San Francisco, CA

Good beers; nothing outstanding or out-of-place about them. Decent food, but nothing great. The service was ordinary, though the staff and the regulars seemed to be having a good time together. Like an earlier reviewer, I wondered why I couldn't get unseasoned fries.

(12/05/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good So So Good

Establishment: ThirstyBear Brewing Company, San Francisco, CA

Good beers, but to my tastes none of them stood out. (The Golden Vanilla has a very pronounced vanilla taste.) At 50 cents, the taster glasses were a better value than the 12 oz. or 22 oz. glasses. Had two different bartenders on three visits in late May. One bartender was very friendly; the other seemed completely indifferent. The menu is entirely committed to Spanish cuisine, so your experience will likely vary with your tastes, but what I ate seemed good. The location is very convenient to Moscone Convention Center.

(12/05/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good

Establishment: Beach Chalet Brewery and Restaurant, San Francisco, CA

Had a good dinner and a sampler on a Tuesday night in May. I thought the beers were fair to good, though the stout was very good. This is a good restaurant in a nice setting offering good beers. There was a slight wait for a table that Tuesday, just before sunset. It would have been a great place to watch the sunset, but it was cloudy that evening.

(12/05/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Good Great

Establishment: Anchor Brewing Company, San Francisco, CA

I agree with the others -- they give a very good brewery tour. RESERVATIONS ARE REQUIRED. See their web site for information, http://www.anchorbrewing.com/about_us/tourinfo.htm They also make great beer.

(12/05/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Good Great

Establishment: Magnolia Pub and Brewery, San Francisco, CA

Visited in late May. I'm usually happy when a brewpub offers one beer on cask; finding four of their own beers on cask (at that time, Pale Ale, IPA, Mild, and Bitter), plus a guest cask, was outstanding. I tried each of those, a good Belgian Double, and an excellent Stout. The staff seemed friendly, and I liked the free-range chicken sandwich. Aside from the interesting artwork, the place physically reminded me of a corner diner or coffee shop. It was a bit noisy inside, but that's a minor flaw.

(12/05/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Good Good Good

Establishment: Appalachian Brewing Company, Gettysburg, PA

I sampled nine of the eleven beers on tap -- five-of-six year-round selections and four specialty beers. All were at least good. Jolly Scot Scottish Ale and Volks Weizenbock (December Specialty) stood out as best; Susquehanna Stout wasn't too my taste. The beer is still brewed in Harrisburg, but they have a license and plan to begin brewing in January. The beers I sampled were Water Gap Wheat, Mountain Lager, Purist Pale Ale, Jolly Scot Scottish Ale, Susquehanna Stout, Hinterland Hefe Weizen (June Specialty), Kipona Fest (August Specialty), Pennypacker Porter (October Specialty), Volks Weizenbock (December Specialty). I din't try the Cask Conditioned Pennypacker Porter.

(12/05/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Rocky Run Tap and Grill, Columbia, MD

There are separate Pubcrawler entries for all three Rocky Run locations. Please use the Baltimore entry to review the Baltimore location.

(12/01/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Bill Bateman's Bistro, Clarksville, MD

Closed in 2002 or earlier. "Luna C Grille" ( http://www.lunacgrille.com/ ) opened in same location with same phone number, reviewed by the Baltimore Sun on December 8, 2002:

http://entertainment.sunspot.net/top/1%2C1419%2Cp-artslife-restaurantsfood-!PlaceDetail-7533.html

(12/01/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Barley and Hops Grill and Microbrewery, Frederick, MD

Tried the Annapolis Rocks Pale Ale and OktoberFest seasonal at the http://www.mdoktoberfest.com Maryland Brewer's OktoberFest. They're brewing some good beers now.

(10/17/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good

Establishment: Buckhead Brewery and Grill, Myrtle Beach, SC

Some good beers in an odd setting with good lunch menu and what I thought was an over-priced dinner menu.
Of the five beers available, the Pale Ale and the Black Diamond Stout we're both great; the Hefeweizen and Aspen Amber were well made, but not to my personal taste; and the Buck Light was probably the lightest and thinest barely-yellow beer that I've ever seen. My brother liked their root beer.
For lunch, we liked the Buffalo (bison) Burger and the Aspen Tuna Salad. Gator Tail made for a good appetizer. On a second visit, I found the selection of steaks on the lunch and dinner menus a bit bewildering -- it was hard to find just plain steak. In all cases, the food was good.
For atmosphere, the "Colorado Steakhouse" (from Georgia) did remind me of places I've eaten out west on ski trips, but it seems strangely out-of-place outside of a mall in a beach town.

(09/08/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good N/A N/A N/A Good

Establishment: New South Brewing Company, Myrtle Beach, SC

I've tried the White and Brown ales at restaurants around Myrtle Beach. There both good.

(09/07/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Good Good

Establishment: Bungalow Billiards and Brew, Chantilly, VA

Stopped in on a Sunday afternoon for a burger and a couple of beers. They have a good selection of the larger imports and craft brews (I had a Sierra Nevada Pale Ale and a New Castle Brown Ale), and the burgers are great. The staff and customers were friendly. I'd stop in again if I were nearby. A sign on the door requires "appropriate dress," but plenty of people were in T-shirts, so it didn't seem like a big restriction.

(04/05/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good

Establishment: Ellicott Mills Brewing Company, Ellicott City, MD

I stopped in at Ellicott Mills on Saturday and had a couple of their rotating selections, Ambush Ale (Scotch ale, 5.8% abv) and Belgian Tripel (9% abv). I thought the scotch ale was good, but with my tastes that may mean it should have been maltier. About all I can say for the tripel is that it was very sweet. The written description describing "a distinctive fruit finish" was an understatement. I'm not saying it was bad, but I thought the sweetness overpowered anything else.

(03/24/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good

Establishment: Red Brick Station / White Marsh Brewing Company, Baltimore, MD

I had dinner with friends on a Wednesday last month. We came in at 5 PM, before the crowd arrived. The service was good overall, but the server did disappear for a while, and the food, which was also good, took longer to come than expected.

I tried a beer sampler of the 5 regular selections, a seasonal (Octopus' Pajamas), and a cask conditioned ale (which I've forgotten). I didn't care for Something Red, and Honeygo Lite is indeed a light beer. I liked the rest (Avenue Ale, Daily Crisis IPA, Spooners' Stout, Octopus' Pajamas), though I prefer a stout to have more body. None of the beers are bad, and several of them are quite good.

(03/24/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Good Great

Establishment: Growlers was Summit Station Restaurant and Brewery, Gaithersburg, MD

On a slow Labor Day afternoon, enjoyed a late lunch/happy hour out on the balcony/deck. The burgers are good. First time I tried the IPA, and I liked it. I also still like the Irvington Pale Ale and the Diamond Stout.

(09/07/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Bohager's, Fells Point/Baltimore, MD

They moved from 515 S. Eden St. to 701 S. Eden St. four or five years ago. And, as others have written, it's not worthy of being listed as a beer bar.

(08/30/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great N/A N/A N/A Great

Establishment: Avery Brewing Company, Boulder, CO

I recently tried Avery IPA on tap at KClinger's Publik House in Etters, PA. It was delicious!

(06/18/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Good Great

Establishment: R.F.D. (Regional Food and Drink), Washington, DC

[Reposting my review from Sun, 23 Feb 2003] Came in after a Saturday night hockey game with a couple of friends. The service was good considering the place was soon packed, with people standing in the bar area and waiting out on the sidewalk. Wide selection of beers, with a separate beer menu listing what was on tap. The main beer menu reads oddly as it is organized by style. We each liked the food we ordered: hamburger, Buffalo wings, baked oysters. [Actually, organized by style isn't a bad idea with so many beers.]

(06/04/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good So So Good Good

Establishment: Cafe Tatoo (and Mojo Room and Lounge), Baltimore, MD

I enjoyed attending a concert at The Tattoo four days ago. Looks like a neighborhood bar on the outside; looks like a dive on the inside, but that's not necessarily bad. Guinness was on tap, and Yards IPA was supposed to be, but snow prevented delivery. I noticed Sierra Nevada and Newcastle Brown Ale in bottles. Sitting at the bar, service was fine. My friends thought the nachos and fries were OK. It's better than the average a place I'd go to see a band I like.

(03/01/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Good Great

Establishment: R.F.D. (Regional Food and Drink), Washington, DC

Came in after a Saturday night hockey game with a couple of friends. The service was good considering the place was soon packed, with people standing in the bar area and waiting out on the sidewalk. Wide selection of beers, with a separate beer menu listing what was on tap. The main beer menu reads oddly as it is organized by style. We each liked the food we ordered: hamburger, Buffalo wings, baked oysters.

(02/22/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: DuClaw Brewing Company, Bel Air, MD

There is a separate entry for the Arundel Mills/Hanover, MD location.

(11/18/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good

Establishment: Boston Beer Works, Boston, MA

Stopped in after a Sunday baseball game in August. Fenway Ale and Back Bay IPA were both good, appropriate to style. We had good food and good service, despite the huge crowd. It was, however, very noisy. No samplers served after the game, which I can understand.

(11/17/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A N/A Good

Establishment: Clay Pipe Brewing Company, Westminster, MD

I haven't been impressed with Backfin Pale Ale or Blue Tractor Ale, both of which I've had on tap at the Last Chance Saloon. However, at the Maryland Brewers' Oktoberfest I had the chance to sample their Porter and "Nice Weiss." I thought both were very good, raising my rating from "So So" to "Good."

(10/21/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Rocky Run Tap and Grill, Columbia, MD

There are separate Pubcrawler entries for the other two Rocky Run locations.

(07/22/2002)


Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ 4 ] [ 5 ] [ 6 ] [ 7 ] [ 8 ] [ 9 ] [ ALL ]













(0.144 seconds) 21:06:48 54.81.134.175, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS