PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Reviews on PubCrawler from
Other Reviews by this User
 
November 22, 2014 @ 11:52 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.

Reviews By

Beer Reviews
(203)

Restaurant Reviews
(0)






no
user
photo

203
Beer Reviews from
   

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ 4 ] [ 5 ] [ 6 ] [ 7 ] [ 8 ] [ 9 ] [ ALL ]
Average Rating
Beer Quality
Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good
Good Good Good Good

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So N/A N/A N/A So So

Establishment: Odell Brewing Company, Fort Collins, CO

I tried Easy Street Wheat (not "EZ Street") at Keystone ski resort in March. It was OK; nothing about it stood out as good or bad. Perhaps I didn't try it under the best of circumstances.

(04/07/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Dillon Dam Brewery, Dillon, CO

I tried Sweet George's Brown Ale at Copper Mt. in March. It was nice, malty, and delicious.

(04/07/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good N/A N/A N/A Good

Establishment: Pug Ryan's Steakhouse Brewery, Dillon, CO

I tried Over the Rail Pale Ale at Copper Mt. in March. I thought it was a good American pale ale.

(04/07/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good N/A N/A N/A Good

Establishment: Great Divide Brewing Company, Denver, CO

I had Denver Pale Ale at Copper Mt. in March. It's a nice, delicious American pale ale.

(04/07/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great So So Good Lousy Lousy

Establishment: Kaltenberg Castle Royal Bavarian Brewhouse, Vail, CO

The situation: Slightly crowded after skiing on a late-March weekday; hopelessly understaffed, probably due to the late season, resulting in poor service--our waitress did her best, but the situation was impossible; good food, but in a terrible atmosphere--imagine a German beer hall playing German techno music, VERY LOUD.

The beer: the Pilsner was fine, just what a good Pilsner should be, with a nice crisp flavor, not American yellow lager; the Weizen was tart and cloudy, though not as yeasty-tasting as I'm used to with American versions; I didn't stick around to try the Dunkel, but others liked it.

(04/07/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Good Great

Establishment: Breckenridge Brewery, Breckenridge, CO

The beers: Avalanche (amber ale) -- nice, easily drinkable, probably their best seller; Oatmeal Stout -- wonderful roasted flavors, my favorite here; India Pale Ale -- OK, but for a beer described as in the English style rather than American, not as strong as I would then expect (see Brooklyn's East India Pale Ale), nor as flavorful; Dan's Bitter Ale (seasonal) -- good, much more what I was looking for in a hoppy pale ale; Pandora's Bock (seasonal; tasted elsewhere) -- wonderfully malty, full bodied, and strong.

The rest: Slightly crowded after skiing on a late-March weekday; bar tender could have used some assistance, but the table service was great; dinner ordered off the lunch menu met with everyone's satisfaction (the Fish & Chips were praised).

(04/07/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good

Establishment: DuClaw Brewing Company, Hanover, MD

Stopped in recently for the re-introduction of the Naked Fish chocolate-raspberry-coffee-stout. Raspberry is the most notable flavor, but not so much as to overpower the others. The stout qualities still come through. It's not as sweet as many fruit beers are, which should please many people, but I personally prefer raspberry stout when it's sweeter than this.

They had free T-shirts for people on their e-mail list. I was surprised to find out 45 minutes into the event that the largest size left was L. Come on, we're talking about beer drinkers here! ;-)

(01/31/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Good Good

Establishment: Legend Brewing Company, Richmond, VA

Some of the beers were outstanding, more than making up for some that weren't. The seasonal when I visited in August was a white (wit) beer, which was excellent! (I came in a second time that weekend just for it.) The weekly cask rotation was the brown ale, which was great on cask, good otherwise (and I'm not fond of brown ale). The "Golden Ale"--really an "introductory" IPA--was good. The pilsner was OK; the lager was undistinguished. Something about the porter didn't taste right, but I couldn't put my finger on it. They had an interesting range of serving sizes: pitcher, liter, pint, 9 oz., and 4 oz. sample.

(12/02/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Good Good So So

Establishment: Richbrau Brewing Company and Restaurant, Richmond, VA

A nice restaurant, but the beers were not quite what I desired (nor what was described). Griffin Gold Ale is good for its style. Rye Ale and Old Nick Pale Ale had less hop flavor than expected. Big Nasty Porter was also understated. The Hefe Weizen had a mild bite, but was less yeasty than I thought it should be.

(12/02/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good

Establishment: Iron Hill Brewery and Restaurant, Newark, DE

The beers and food are good. Worth a detour to visit (but not a pilgrimage). They do distinguish between a British (Anvil) and American (Ironbound) pale ale. I've forgotten which one was also on cask when I visited in October, but it was very good. Granite Gold ale, Lodestone Lager, and Octoberfest all seemed appropriate to their styles. Pig Iron Porter was OK; Raspberry Wheat was good.

(12/02/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Good Good

Establishment: Brewer's Alley, Frederick, MD

Anniversary Ale, on cask, is a smooth cream ale with what seemed like citrusy notes. IPA is well balanced, not excessively hopped (which would actually be my preference). Dunkel Weizen is yeasty, flavorful, and full-bodied! Besides liking the three I tried, one of my friends thought highly of the Kolsch.

The food is good, but I was a little disappointed that the shrimp in my Shrimp Scampi Ceasar Salad seemed to be from the same frozen bag I'd buy at the grocery store. The waiter was friendly, informed and attentive, but tended to pass things in front of people instead of moving around. I wasn't surprised to have an hour's wait at 8 PM on a Saturday night without reservations. It's a popular place, and rightly so.

(08/12/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Good Great

Establishment: DuClaw Brewing Company, Hanover, MD

I happened to stop in on a night when they were serving the winter seasonals, Black Jack Stout and Devil's Milk Barley Wine. I only tried the stout, which was good, though I could taste that it has a high alcohol content for a stout (a review for the other location said 7.5%).

One thing to be aware of before coming is the parking. Unfortunately, the mall put several restaurants and the 24-screen movie theater together with the smallest part of the parking lot. I was surprised to get a nearby spot on a weeknight. Expect a long walk on the weekends.

(07/31/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Good Great

Establishment: Growlers was Summit Station Restaurant and Brewery, Gaithersburg, MD

I tried the six-glass sampler recently. The Cream Ale, Kolsch, Nut Brown, and Diamond Stout were all good, but my favorite was the Irvington Pale Ale. The India Pale Ale had just run out, so I had a second sample of the Irvington.

(07/04/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great So So Great

Establishment: DuClaw Brewing Company, Hanover, MD

Five of their own beers on tap. Bad Moon Porter is delicious, delivering a wonderful roasted-malt flavor. Venom Pale Ale is great, with what I'd call a floral hop flavor. Misfit Red is OK, mildly hopped; it's not a style I like. Ravenwood, a Kolsch, is good. Bare Ass Blonde Ale is rightly described as "introductory" with "a mild hop character"--a necessary evil.

The food--dinner entree and dessert--was great. The menu seemed broad enough, including a variety of sandwichs and burgers. The service was a little slower than I would like, even for dinner on Saturday, but the staff was pleasant and professional.

(06/23/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Rocky Run Tap and Grill, Glen Burnie, MD

This is the original location, in Marley Station Mall. It pre-dates their brewing operation. I understand that they serve the beer that is brewed at the Rocky Run in Columbia.

(06/20/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Rocky Run Tap and Grill, Baltimore, MD, MD

I understand that they serve the beer that is brewed at the Rocky Run in Columbia.

(06/20/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good

Establishment: Bare Bones Grill and Brewery, Ellicott City, MD

On June 12, the Patapsco Valley Gold, Tiber River Red, and Old Ellicott Ale were on tap; a guest beer was offered in place of the Savage Mill Porter. I was told that brewing would be done at both locations, though that disagrees with my understanding of state licensing.

(06/20/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good N/A N/A N/A Good

Establishment: Deep Creek Brewing Company, McHenry, MD

PAWS ("Pale-Ale-With-Substance") is accurately described on their web site as a dark, malty ale. It's very tasty.

(06/11/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great N/A N/A N/A Great

Establishment: North Coast Brewing Company, Fort Bragg, CA

Scrimshaw shows that a very good pilsner is not a contradiction in terms.

(06/11/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great N/A N/A N/A Great

Establishment: Three Floyds Brewing Company, Munster, IN

Alpha King is wonderful.

(06/11/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So Good So So Lousy

Establishment: Rocky Run Tap and Grill, Columbia, MD

I heard they had a new brewer, so I went back when my ski club had a happy hour there. The Pale Ale was good--much better than before--but the Red was thin and and had a faintly medicinal taste (a possible synonym for Mr. Brown's "phenolic").

The Service and Overall rankings have sunk because I've noticed that every time we've gone there for happy hour, our bill has been screwed up. We have consistently been charged full price for items that were discounted for happy hour. We've been able to straighten it out each time, but we shouldn't have had to.

(06/07/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good N/A N/A N/A Good

Establishment: Schirf Brewing Company was Wasatch Brew Pub, Park City, UT

Not 2002 Amber Ale - Aptly described on their web site as a well-balanced amber ale. It's not a style I care for, but it seems that they got it right.

(05/27/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A N/A Good

Establishment: Uinta Brewing Company, Salt Lake City, UT

Kings Peak Porter is very good, with a nice roasted flavor. I would recommend it to lovers of porters and stouts.

Cutthroat Pale Ale is good. It seemed in all ways appropriate to its style, and reminded me somewhat of Bass Ale.

I wish I could have found some of their other beers to try.

(05/27/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good

Establishment: Gordon Biersch Brewery Restaurant, Washington, DC

Somewhat up-scale, good quality food and beer. All beers are lagers. On my first visit, in April, I think they only had three on tap: Golden Export, Marzen, and Dunkles. Returning in May, they had a seasonal Maibock that was quite good. I've always found the Marzen to be good, here and at other locations.

(05/27/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A N/A Good

Establishment: Moab Brewery, Moab, UT

Good beers, tasted on tap in Snowbird, near Salt Lake City, over 230 miles from Moab.

Scorpion Tale Ale - hoppy, hoppy, hoppy! (And very good!)

Black Raven Oatmeal Stout - good, but just a little short of the mark for my tastes.

Deraileur Red Ale - OK, slightly malty, well balanced; just not what I go for.

Deadhorse Ale - copper-colored, smooth, good, very much on-style for an English-style pale ale.

(05/27/2001)


Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ 4 ] [ 5 ] [ 6 ] [ 7 ] [ 8 ] [ 9 ] [ ALL ]













(0.353 seconds) 23:52:18 54.161.191.154, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS