PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Reviews on PubCrawler from
Other Reviews by this User
 
July 22, 2014 @ 08:55 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.

Reviews By

Beer Reviews
(203)

Restaurant Reviews
(0)






no
user
photo

203
Beer Reviews from
   

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ 4 ] [ 5 ] [ 6 ] [ 7 ] [ 8 ] [ 9 ] [ ALL ]
Average Rating
Beer Quality
Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good
Good Good Good Good

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great N/A N/A N/A Great

Establishment: Victory Brewing Company, Downingtown, PA

Whirlwind Witbier was the discovery of the day among domestic beers yesterday at the Last Chance Saloon's Spring Beer Tasting in Columbia, Maryland. This one really stood out among the 25 beers sampled. See the web site for a good description.

(04/29/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! N/A Good Great

Establishment: Commonwealth Fish and Beer Company, Boston, MA

The service was fine, but there were hardly any customers on the night before Easter. I asked for a sampler, not realizing I'd get nine samples, four of which were cask conditioned. All were appropriate to their styles. If I read my notes correctly, the non-cask ales were Blonde Light, Golden Ale, Boston Burton Ale, Famous Porter, and Burton Bitter (seasonal); the cask ales were Boston's Best Burton Bitter, India Pale Ale, Stout and Kilduff's Red. My favorite was the Stout.

(04/23/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Ryleigh's Oyster, Baltimore, MD

The new web site and a sign in the window confirm a March re-opening with a "Baltimore Steak House concept." They've created a good web site, giving accurate directions, parking information, and a map link.

(02/24/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good N/A N/A N/A Good

Establishment: Victory Brewing Company, Downingtown, PA

I tried the St. Victorious Doppelbock on tap at The Last Chance Saloon in Columbia, Maryland. It is smooth, malty, medium bodied (not at all heavy), and strong. It's not a style I favor, so I may be underrating it. It's well made.

(02/14/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good N/A N/A N/A Good

Establishment: Red Brick Station / White Marsh Brewing Company, Baltimore, MD

I tried the Spooner Stout on a nitro tap at The Last Chance Saloon in Columbia, Maryland. It's smooth, but the body is lighter and the roasted flavors less pronounced than I prefer.

(02/14/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good N/A N/A N/A Good

Establishment: Wolf Pack Brewing Company, West Yellowstone, MT

I tried the Lone Mountain Alt on the slopes of Lone Mountain in Big Sky, Montana. I would call it good, with a copper-to-amber color, thin body, and mild malt flavor.

(02/04/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good N/A N/A N/A Good

Establishment: Weyerbacher Brewing Company, Easton, PA

I found the Raspberry Imperial Stout and the Winter Ale on tap at The Last Chance Saloon here in Columbia, Maryland. The Raspberry Imperial Stout strikes a balance of roasted and fruity flavors (though personally I like this style more toward one extreme or the other). The Winter Ale is strong, roasted, and malty, without overdoing any of those elements. Their web site is actually http://www.weyerbacher.com/

(02/03/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Great Good

Establishment: District ChopHouse and Brewery, Washington, DC

I'll second the comment that most of the beers were good but not outstanding. I haven't disliked any of them, but I haven't been bowled over by any of them either. The four that I remember from several visits: Light is a decent, undistinguished Pilsener, "fashioned after great American light lagers" -- appropriate (even necessary) for the general audience. Amber is a nice Pale Ale. Oatmeal Stout (on nitro) was the best, to my tastes; "smooth and creamy" with "a touch of roasted flavor." The recently tapped California Common, described as being in the Steam Beer style, was nice. (Quotes are from their page on the Washington Post web site.)
The food is generally excellent, especially in presentation, but also in taste. The portions are indeed large, and the price follows suit. Crowding is a problem, as this is downtown, just a block south of the MCI Center (hockey, basketball, concerts) and the Gallery Place/Chinatown Metro station (Red, Yellow and Green lines). They just recently added a weekend brunch starting at 10:30 AM, with a jazz trio on Sunday; it was fantastic!

(01/31/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good N/A N/A N/A Good

Establishment: Saranac / F.X. Matt Brewing Company, Utica, NY

I've seen rave reviews of "Season's Best Nut Brown Lager" on the Real Beer Page, but I thought it was just a good beer. Oddly, it's not even mentioned in the brewery's web site, Saranac.com.

(01/27/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good N/A N/A N/A Good

Establishment: Great Northern Brewing Company, Whitefish, MT

I had a Black Star Golden Lager at the airport bar in Bozeman, Montana. It's a good, crisp beer -- pretty much what a golden lager should be. Their web site is giving away a T-shirt every week through the end of March.

(01/27/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good N/A N/A N/A Good

Establishment: Spanish Peaks Brewing Company, Bozeman, MT

Yellowstone Pale Ale (bottled): very well hopped, flavorful, amber colored. Their web site is spanishpeaks.com

(01/24/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good N/A N/A N/A Good

Establishment: Big Sky Brewing Company, Missoula, MT

Scape Goat Pale Ale (bottled): good, well-balanced, amber colored. Their web site is bigskybrew.com

(01/24/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A N/A Good

Establishment: Big Hole Brewing Company, Belgrade, MT

Headstrong Pale Ale has strong hop and malt flavors, well balanced; less malty on tap than from the bottle it seemed. Wisdom Cream Ale (on tap) was smooth and flavorful. "The Corral" in Big Sky, MT served a Corral Dark Ale they said was from Big Hole. It had a big malty flavor; I wondered if it was actually a dark lager.

(01/24/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Bayern Brewing Company, Missoula, MT

I had a Bayern Pilsner on tap n Big Sky, Montana. Subtly malty, flavorful, and good. The web site is bayernbrewery.com

(01/24/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Wharf Rat At Camden Yards / Oliver Breweries, Baltimore, MD

Recently at The Last Chance Saloon in Columbia, MD I tried the cask conditioned Oliver's Best Bitter and the Oliver's Black Friar Stout. The bitter was smooth and good; the stout was great, with a medium body, creamy head, and good roasted notes.

(01/23/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good

Establishment: Capitol City Brewing Company - Downtown, Washington, DC

I tried a sampler of Kolsch, Bitter, Pale Ale and Alt. I suppose all were appropriate to their styles. They neither excited me nor offended me. A pint of the stout was nice. I prefer a sampler that covers all the beers, and I was disappointed not to see an Octoberfest beer on October 1st.
There wasn't much of a crowd (or much noise) on a Sunday afternoon.
Entrance is on H St., at the corner of 11th St. The Convention Center is also at that intersection, and the 11st exit of the Metro Center subway stop is a block south. See their web site for amap.

(10/02/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great So So Great

Establishment: Liberty Steak House and Brewery, Myrtle Beach, SC

The IPA was good, which is better than I remembered from the previous year (and they corrected the spelling ;-). I enjoyed the Raspberry Wheat more than before, also. The Red was nice, but not exciting. What got me to come back three more times in a week was the Porter. It had a very good stout-like flavor but was properly thinner than a stout. The steaks were good, and the service, too, except outside late in happy hour, when it was bad. I'd still like to see some space for non-smokers.

(09/18/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So So So So So So So

Establishment: Mad Boar Brewhouse, North Myrtle Beach, SC

On a second visit, a year later, I was still underwhelmed. The seasonal, a mild, was interesting, but only just. The rest were not at all interesting.

(09/18/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Great Great

Establishment: Clipper City Brewing Company, Baltimore, MD

Enjoyed another tour for the introduction of the Octoberfest beer. It's good, but supplies are limited. I'm told that Hugh Sisson was featured in one of the local brewspapers explaining the upcoming changes to the product line. Part of this will be the end of the Porter and Irish Stout, so find the Porter while you can.

Some new contract brewing: Gold Ale bottled for Brew Thru and OBX stores in the Outer Banks of North Carolina; dry-hopped Oxford Class available under a house label at John Stevens in Baltimore's Fells Point; Blue Point, a soon-to-come Long Island based brewer; and, DuClaw, for a new venue that I think will be closer to Baltimore than their Bel Air location.

(08/28/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So Good Good So So

Establishment: Sweetwater Tavern, Centreville, VA

The place was busy but with no wait around 4:30 PM on a Saturday. The service and food were good, but the items were a little pricey, I thought (but likely in-line with the area). No beer stood out, but none offended. Snake River Pale Ale (bottled as Sweet Water Ale) and Boot Hill Brown Ale were OK. It's hard to remember the difference between Pale Face Summer Wheat Beer and Jackalope Canyon Ale, both unfiltered wheats. Sweetwater Light was just that; it could make a good introductory beer for someone who's not up to a pale ale.

(08/28/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Good Good So So

Establishment: Rocky Run Tap and Grill, Columbia, MD

A couple of recent visits raised my opinion of the beer quality just slightly. I hadn't tried the Elvis Eizmarzen before. It was interesting, a marzen with a slightly yeasty flavor. A sip of the stout wasn't as awful as the last time I tried it, but the pale ale is still uninteresting. Still not my choice as a brewpub, but friends sometimes like to go there.

(06/17/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good N/A N/A N/A Good

Establishment: Brewer's Alley, Frederick, MD

Sampled from some fresh growlers at a tasting last week in Annapolis. I liked the Nut Brown a bit more than I noted below. The IPA was balanced & hoppy. The Hefeweizen was flavorful and had a good aroma. The Smoked Porter was particularly interesting, with the smokiness not being as strong as some of the smoked beers and rauchbocks I've tried; I tend to find them overpowering.

(06/01/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good N/A N/A N/A Good

Establishment: Lancaster Brewing Company, Lancaster, PA

The bottled Milk Stout is quite good; the draught was even better. The Strawberry Wheat, on tap at The Last Chance Saloon here, has too much strawberry flavor for me. It isn't overly sweet, but I didn't get much beer taste. It reminded me of putting too much Strawberry Quik in my milk as a kid.

(06/01/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Chesapeake U Brew (BOP), Annapolis, MD

They're closing, hoping to relocate in Delaware or Virginia by December. Last "Brew w/a Pro" is May 25; last day to brew is May 26.

(05/17/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Wild Goose Brewery, LLC, Frederick, MD

Second correction: Published sources state the capacity is 170 thousand bbl.

(05/10/2000)


Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ 4 ] [ 5 ] [ 6 ] [ 7 ] [ 8 ] [ 9 ] [ ALL ]













(0.16 seconds) 20:55:13 54.81.52.32, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS