PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Reviews on PubCrawler from
Other Reviews by this User
 
July 22, 2014 @ 02:46 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.

Reviews By

Beer Reviews
(203)

Restaurant Reviews
(0)






no
user
photo

203
Beer Reviews from
   

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ 4 ] [ 5 ] [ 6 ] [ 7 ] [ 8 ] [ 9 ] [ ALL ]
Average Rating
Beer Quality
Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good
Good Good Good Good

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Hudepohl-Schoenling, Cincinnati, OH

Snyder International Brewing Group (SIBG) acquired the brands of Hudepohl-Schoenling, apparently in 1999. I don't know if they've brewed them at Cleveland's Crooked River Brewing Co., which they apparently rescued from bankruptcy in 1998. SIBG bought Maryland's Frederick Brewing Co. in 1999, and they are working on adding Little Kings and Crooked River beers to those already brewed in Frederick.

(05/10/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Wild Goose Brewery, LLC, Frederick, MD

Correction: The owner is Snyder International Brewing Group, LLC, of Cleveland, Ohio.

(05/10/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Good Good

Establishment: Wild Goose Brewery, LLC, Frederick, MD

I took a dozen people from my ski club to the tour Saturday (1:30 PM Saturdays & Sundays). It was well done--not the best I've been on, but no complaints. There were 13 beers on tap from the Blue Ridge, Wild Goose, and Brimstone labels. It was a good opportunity to compare the stouts of each label side-by-side. Brimstone's seasonal Irish Wake is still one of my favorite beers, preferable even to Guinness.
Neither Hempen brew was availble, the first time our guide had seen that. He speculated that they may be dropped in the future. He said that they probably had been brought to market before they were prefected, and, while he likes them, he thought that too many people had been turned off in their initial exposure.
There has been no consolidation (officially, so far) among Frederick's many products after last fall's take-over by SMG (Snyder Management Group?) of Ohio. In fact, they're working on brewing Snyder's Ohio brands, Crooked River from Cleveland and Little Kings from Cincinnati. Frederick's annual capacity is 100 thousand barrels, of which only about 17% is currently in use.
Also in the future are two more bottle sizes. Besides the current 12 oz. sizes, they may be bringing out 7 oz. and 40 oz. bottles.

(05/09/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good

Establishment: High Mountain BrewHouse, Whistler, BC

A nice place with nice beers, but only the lager stands out. Frank's Nut Brown Ale--flavorful, but not as malty sweet as I expected. Big Wolf Bitter & Twin Peaks Ale--o.k., but not notable. Northern Light Lager--very light, indeed. Lifty Lager--very flavorful and good.

(05/01/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good

Establishment: Dubh Linn Gate Old Irish Pub, Whistler, BC

28 beers on tap, macros from Europe and Canada, plus Canadian micros (no US beers). Good food and service, but seating is on bar stools or at small tables -- difficult for a big group. Live music daily at 3 PM and 9 PM. In the Pan Pacific Lodge at Whistler Village, near the base of the Blackcomb Gondola.

(05/01/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Great Good

Establishment: The Keg Steakhouse, Whistler, BC

AKA The Keg at the Mountain. Surprising for a place with "keg" in the name, there were only 3 beers on draught. In addition, they had about 20 brands in bottles, for a fairly good selection (though mostly macros) US and Canadian beers. The service and food made for a wonderful casual dining experience.

(05/01/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good

Establishment: Ellicott Mills Brewing Company, Ellicott City, MD

The Australian head-brewer has added a couple of non-German style beers (but still lagers). At the brewfest at Baltimore Brewing Co., Justin compared Boomerang Lager to Fosters. I found it to be a smooth yellow beer with a good body. On a visit to the pub, it was being suggested as an introductory beer. I've forgotten to what Justin compared Big Red Bock. It's a flavorful amber lager with spice notes. I also tried the Jack Frost Bock, which was malty and strong. This year's Maibock will be introduced Friday ("Cinco de Maibock" ;-).

(05/01/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So N/A N/A N/A So So

Establishment: Ryleigh's Oyster, Baltimore, MD

Tried a couple of beers last weekend at the annual brewfest at Baltimore Brewing Co. Stockade Amber seems awfully thin, and not especially flavorful. It's just another face in the amber ale crowd. The IPA is o.k., but that's all.

(04/29/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good N/A N/A N/A Good

Establishment: Capitol City Brewing Company, Baltimore, MD

Tried two beers last weekend at the annual brewfest at Baltimore Brewing Co. The Porter was too carbonated, but the Hefeweizen was good and yeasty.

(04/29/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great N/A N/A N/A Great

Establishment: Baltimore Brewing Company, Baltimore, MD

Impressed, as always, with the Weizen I had at the annual brewfest last weekend.

(04/29/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So N/A N/A N/A So So

Establishment: Wharf Rat At Camden Yards / Oliver Breweries, Baltimore, MD

Sample two beers last weekend at the annual brewfest at Baltimore Brewing Co. Old English (brown) Ale was flavorful and I liked it -- but I've never cared for properly done brown ales, so what does that say? Ironman Pale Ale continues to be a disappointment (and not much of a tribute). I generally like bitter ales, and it certainly is bitter, but there's not much flavor to it.

(04/29/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good N/A N/A N/A Good

Establishment: Brewer's Alley, Frederick, MD

Tried some last weekend at the annual brewfest at Baltimore Brewing Co. Brown was o.k.; cask-conditioned Porter was good; Dubbel Weizen was appropriately flavorful and good.

(04/29/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great N/A N/A N/A Great

Establishment: Victory Brewing Company, Downingtown, PA

I tried a couple of beers last weekend at the annual brewfest at Baltimore Brewing Co. The Pils seemed o.k. but didn't impress me (maybe BBC's house Pils overshadowed it). Hop Devil was simply excellent.

(04/29/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Deep Creek Brewing Company, McHenry, MD

Was told May 23 in person, but web site says May 24.

(04/29/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good N/A N/A N/A Good

Establishment: Deep Creek Brewing Company, McHenry, MD

Tasted two beers last weekend at the annual brewfest at Baltimore Brewing Co. Stout tasted too fresh to judge. Wheat Bock had a good yeasty taste and seemed appropriate to the style.
Present location in Oakland closes May 6 so they can move to the permanent location in McHenry, reopening May 23.

(04/29/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great N/A N/A N/A Great

Establishment: Lancaster Brewing Company, Lancaster, PA

Lancaster's Milk Stout was the best beer I had last weekend at the annual brewfest at Baltimore Brewing Co. It was simply excellent. I thought the Pils was o.k.

(04/29/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good N/A N/A N/A Good

Establishment: Columbia Brewery, Creston, BC

Columbia brews Kootenay and Kokanee beers. I tried a Kootenay Mountain (brown) Ale while vacationing in Whistler, BC. A nice beer, though not as malty-sweet as I expected a brown ale to be.

(04/27/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Good Good

Establishment: Black's Pub, Whistler, BC

Pub upstairs (pub food) and restaurant downstairs (continental) have separate entrances. Pub advertises "over 90 beers," but that's counting different sized containers for some beers; restaurant selection is smaller, but would still rate "good." Beers from all over the world; majors and micros from Canada and USA; nine beers are on tap. Located in Whistler Village at the base of the Whistler and Blackcomb gondolas. Big windows, nice views, great people-watching.

(04/27/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Whistler Brewing Company, Limited, Whistler, BC

Tried a Whistler Avalanche Pilsner while on vacation there. It was a very flavorful Pils, nothing like the usual yellow beer.

(04/26/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A N/A Good

Establishment: RandB Brewing Company, Vancouver, BC

Tried three R&B beers on draught while vacationing in Whistler, BC. Red Devil Ale was good but didn't stand out from the amber crowd. Raven Ale was listed as a cream ale on the menu; whatever it is, it's a nice dark beer. Sun God Wheat Ale (listed on the menu as a lager) was also good, being crisp and clean, much as I expected a wheat ale to be.

(04/26/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good N/A N/A N/A Good

Establishment: Okanagan Spring Brewery, LTD, Vernon, BC

I tried an Okanagan Spring Pale Ale while vacationing in Whistler, BC. It had a good, slightly hoppy flavor. I didn't notice much aroma or aftertaste.

(04/26/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good N/A N/A N/A Good

Establishment: Granville Island Brewing Company, Limited, Vancouver, BC

Tried bottles of Pale Ale and Amber Ale while vacationing in Whistler, BC. Nice beers, largely similar to each other, except that the slightly-hoppy Pale was a bit hoppier than the Amber.

(04/26/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! N/A N/A N/A Awesome!

Establishment: Brimstone Brewing Company, Frederick, MD

This year's Brimstone Irish Wake (stout) was excellent, as it has been in the past.

(03/25/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Great Great

Establishment: Clipper City Brewing Company, Baltimore, MD

I stopped in for a tour and tasting a week ago. The last of the Winter Ale was still outstanding, as was the Irish Style Stout. Hugh Sisson mentioned that the IPA is changing to a hoppier beer, more in the California style than the actual English style.

(03/18/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good

Establishment: Bare Bones Grill and Brewery, Ellicott City, MD

These ales are nice, but not exceptional. There are no false notes, but there are some missing ones. The golden ale, English-style ale, red, and seasonal scotch ale are all in the right vein, but just shy of the mark. The porter reminded me more of a stout, but also a bit shy. I thought the seasonal abbey dubbel came closest to a great rating. This is all faint praise, but praise none the less. I like Bare Bones as a family-priced restaurant with a good happy hour and nice beers.

(02/23/2000)


Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ 4 ] [ 5 ] [ 6 ] [ 7 ] [ 8 ] [ 9 ] [ ALL ]













(0.176 seconds) 14:46:26 54.211.0.191, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS