PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Reviews on PubCrawler from
Other Reviews by this User
 
April 18, 2014 @ 06:51 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.

Reviews By

Beer Reviews
(203)

Restaurant Reviews
(0)






no
user
photo

203
Beer Reviews from
   

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ 4 ] [ 5 ] [ 6 ] [ 7 ] [ 8 ] [ 9 ] [ ALL ]
Average Rating
Beer Quality
Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good
Good Good Good Good

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good

Establishment: Rams Head Tavern / Fordham Brewing Company, Annapolis, MD

Recently enjoyed a "dinner and show combo"--10% off dinner; free Fordham brew after the show; and, validated parking. The service was good despite having a goup of almost 20, and the food was also good.

The selection of five beers that night contained only two of their usuals. The Helles and Golden seemed appropriately to style, and the Victor E. Light was accurately described as a Pilsner with less-than-usual bitterness. The unexpected Schwarz is a style I don't care for and feel I can't rate. My favorite was the Tavern Ale, a nice bitter pale ale.

(11/13/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Awesome! Great

Establishment: Rams Head Tavern, Savage, MD

Five of their own Fordham beers from Annapolis on tap, plus five or six other taps (including Guinness) and a long list of bottles. The Fordham Copperhead Ale and Oktoberfest were good, and I really like the Tavern Ale. I enjoyed my meal, a crab cake sandwich, and others in my group were pleased with their selections. Our waiter did a fantastic job handling our large happy hour group.

(11/06/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Chesapeake U Brew (BOP), Annapolis, MD

I brewed an Irish Stout earlier this year that I loved almost as much as Guinness! I'm going back this week to brew another beer, but I'm having trouble choosing among the many styles offered. "Brew with a Pro" night is a wonderful opportunity to meet area brewers, the friendly and helpful staff and owners, and other good-beer fans; and to make a good case of beer. But the best thing of all is not having to clean up after myself. ;-)

(11/01/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A N/A Good

Establishment: Baltimore Brewing Company, Baltimore, MD

Sampled Pils, Marzen, Dopplebock, and Hefeweizen from growlers on "Brew with a Pro" night at Chesapeake U-Brew. (Sadly, Theo couldn't get back from Germany to be there, but we still had his yeast!) I'm not as much a fan of German styles as I am of other nationalities, but DeGroen's beers are fine. I would single out the Pils in particular, since there are so many poor examples of this style being produced by others.

(11/01/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! So So So So Good

Establishment: Last Chance Saloon, Columbia, MD

The selection of beers on tap at the Last Chance is outstanding. It's what keeps me coming back, at least monthly. Yet, it seems like there has been a decrease in either the selection or the rotation of the beers in the past year. What I've really noticed is that the beer menus aren't printed out nearly as frequently as they used to be (look for the date at the bottom on the back). It could be that the renovation of the shopping center (now complete, and a great improvement) had a financial affect behind the scenes.

The food is OK, and I can usually find a good special, and there are usually great desserts, but the meals do not rise above what I can find elsewhere in Columbia. The food alone wouldn't keep me coming back. (There was a time earlier in the year when they weren't having specials every day.)

The bartenders and wait staff are almost always knowledgable, pleasant, and hard-working, but there seem to be too few of them. When it's crowded, the kitchen can seem slow.

There are directions available on the web site, but I just sent in a correction for one of the routes. If you aren't familiar with Columbia, call for directions. This town can be a maze , even to the residents. (We apologize for the inconvenience ;-)

(11/01/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Lousy So So

Establishment: Bill Bateman's Bistro, Clarksville, MD

A fine selection of quality beers and a good dinner salad were more than offset by absent-minded bartenders and a bar layout that works poorly for a large group at happy hour.

(10/26/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Deep Creek Brewing Company, McHenry, MD

IPA is "great"--very hoppy--but 4 Beary Wheat is "so so"--neither fruit nor wheat was particularly evident. Tasted at the Maryland Craft Brewers Festival in Baltimore yesterday. Owner was very friendly and eager to talk. He mentioned that they've broken ground in McHenry by Ski Wisp, which is the site where they originally planned to open; opening is about a year away.

(10/18/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Growlers was Summit Station Restaurant and Brewery, Gaithersburg, MD

Diamond Stout was the best beer I tasted at the Maryland Craft Brewers Festival in Baltimore yesterday. It was a fine example of the style.

(10/18/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Good Good Good

Establishment: Humperdink's Restaurant, Arlington, TX

A good chain restaurant with beers that are acceptable but not outstanding. Very convenient to The Ballpark in Arlington if you use Six Flags Drive. Texas Blonde: inoffensive yellow lager. Big Horn Light: low-cal version of the Blonde, but with less flavor and a cloying after-taste; why microbrew a light? Big Horn Hefeweizen: all the features of a hefe, but all of them too mild. Buttface Amber: smooth, drinkable, acceptable. Big Red Ale: more pale ale than IPA as they claim, and not hoppy enough to satisfy as either one. Oktoberfest: o.k., but thin, and a touch sweeter than I expected. Total Disorder Porter: on style, except more carbonated than I expected.

(10/09/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So N/A Good So So

Establishment: Routh St. Brewery and Grille, Dallas, TX

Beers were less than I expected. Bar service was good, but I didn't have time to eat (I can't believe the kitchen closes at 11 PM on Saturday). Bavarian Wheat: unfiltered but not spicy or yeasty. Pale Ale: o.k.; English-style, lightly hopped. Brown Ale: generally mild and undistinguished. Big Black Stout: disappointing; some roasted malt flavor, but thin bodied and overly carbonated, with a head that quickly fizzed away. 90 Shilling Scotch Ale: less strong and less flavorful than I expected.

(10/09/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So N/A So So So So

Establishment: Spoetzl Brewery, Shiner, TX

A nice tour, but more for the novice than the knowledgable. A too-scripted presentation. Located on US 95 on the north edge of town. Only three samples (it used to be two), and only four taps (and one was out). Shiner Honey Wheat Hefeweizen: pleasant light-yellow ale, but "hefe" my butt! Shiner Bock: a nice marzen, but not exciting; Dos Equis is similar but better. Shiner Winter Ale: a fine full-bodied, strong-flavored ale, first available that day (October 1). Why no picture-taking on the tour? "Might distract the employees" ('Can I take a picture with you?'); might pose on the copper kettles, or climb on for that perfect angle (I can see that); and, they want to control what images are sold to magazines (completey bogus).

(10/09/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Good Great

Establishment: Bitter End Bistro and Brewery, Austin, TX

Best food I had in Austin, best beer I had in Texas (except maybe on the Celis tour). EZ Wheat: American-style, filtered, crisp & clean, on style. Poindexter Pils: on style. Son of Bullet Head, "Barley Wine's Little Brother": good; seemed like a flavorful, low-hopped English-style pale ale. Aberdeen Amber: good; seemed more like a medium-hopped pale ale than an 80 Shilling Scottish Ale. Austin Pale Ale: great; west-coast style highly-hopped pale ale. Hill Country Honeymead: I don't know--I hate mead. Sledgehammer Stout: excellent; smooth, creamy, subtly roasted, medium bodied.

(10/09/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So N/A Good So So

Establishment: Lovejoy's Tap Room and Brewery, Austin, TX

Dark, run-down, smokey, but I had a decent bartender. Wit: hits the right notes, but plays them too softly. IPA: good, but under-hopped for the style. Stout: medium-bodied, not much roasted flavor. Pale Ale: medium-hopped; wished for more.

(10/09/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Copper Tank Brewing Company, Austin, TX

Live web cam at buzzcam.com.

(10/09/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Good So So So So

Establishment: Copper Tank Brewing Company, Austin, TX

It's quiet at lunchtime on a weekday. Decent pub grub. Copper Light: decent, but why microbrew a light beer? Big Dog Brown: on style. Grimsditch's ESB: seemed like an ordinary yellow beer, not an ESB. Honey Wheat: on style. White Tail Pale Ale: medium-hopped; good, but not great. Bitchin' Black Cherry: bitterness overwhelmed the cherry flavor. Mocha Madness Stout: too strong coffee-flavor overwhelmed the roasted malt taste of stout.

(10/09/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Good So So So So

Establishment: Waterloo Brewing Company, Austin, TX

A loud, dumpy kind of place serving a mix of good and ordinary beers (and good apple pie). I had to pay in advance before being served. Hefe-Roggen: a hefe-weizen with rye; good. Prarie Dog Pilsner: on style. Slaphead Red: very ordinary. Ed's Best Bitter: bitter, but poorly-hopped (not highly-hopped as menu claims). Clara's Clara: watery blonde ale. Guy Town IPA: good, but under-hopped for the style. O. Henry's Porter: a very good porter.

(10/09/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Great Awesome!

Establishment: Celis Brewery, Austin, TX

A great tour, with a tour guide who was passionate and knowledgable about beer (they're hiring, btw). One sample from each of eight taps, all but one of which were good or excellent. Celis Pale Bock (Ale outside of TX): low-hopped, dark amber color; TX law says "ale" must be more than 5% ABW. Celis Grand Cru & Dubel Ale: both excellent, though much too strong for my tastes. Celis White: defines the style for America; I never had it on tap before, and I liked it better than out of the bottle. Celis Raspberry: sweeter and fuller-bodied than most fruit beers, because it's based on the White. Pale Rider Ale: medium-hopped pale ale contract-brewed for Clint Eastwood. Lagniappe: well-hopped amber-colored west-coast style pale ale contract-brewed for Lagniappe (Louisiana). Pierre's Reserve: a corn-based golden lager from a Miller recipe, contract-brewed for the Paris Hilton Hotel in Las Vegas; the guide got it out of the way first.

(10/09/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Saint Arnold Brewing Company, Houston, TX

Tried Amber Ale at the Astrodome, on tap and bottled. It struck me as a good, well-hopped amber-colored pale ale with good flavor and a clean finish. Missed the tour because the Astros played a day game.

(10/09/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Lousy Good So So Lousy

Establishment: Traffic Jam and Snug, Detroit, MI

Visited in July. Good food (great ice cream), acceptable service, disappointing beer (and only three of them). Cherry Wheat had barely a hint of cherry flavor, none in the nose. IPA tasted quite bitter but not at all hoppy. Java Porter had a nice coffee finish but a very slight body. Overall, I was distinctly underwhelmed.

(09/18/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Good Good So So

Establishment: Atwater Block Brewery, Detroit, MI

Visited in July. Good pub food served by a good staff, but with average beers. Hell (helles?) was OK. Pilsner, if you like them, was distinguished from the usual yellow beer by more bitterness. Rost was OK, but it didn't seem like an Oktoberfest beer as it was described. Big League Brew seemed pretty average for an amber, but with extra bitterness. La Nina seemed like what I expected of the Rost -- like an Oktoberfest/Marzen. Weizen Bock was too sweet and too strong for my personal tastes, but I don't know how it's supposed to be. Hefe Weizen was probably exactly on style, though I'm no judge of that style. RPA (rye?) reminded me of the Pilsner with a more bitter aftertaste.

(09/18/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Mad Boar Brewhouse, North Myrtle Beach, SC

I'll add that we thought that the growlers were very well priced, but my brother, living nearby, didn't think any of the beers were worth it. The sampler was also well priced and had all their beers then on tap.

(09/18/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good So So Great So So

Establishment: Mad Boar Brewhouse, North Myrtle Beach, SC

Visited just before Labor Day. Great waiter, OK brews, disappointing meal (though my brother did better with his). Raspberry Wheat had a good flavor but no nose. Golden Pilsner was aptly described by my brother as "water." India Pale was a decent American PA, not up to being an IPA. Scottish Ale fell short of that style, particularly in the alcohol content, it seemed. Oatmeal Stout was smooth with good roasted notes but seemed pretty thin. Belgian Red may have been to style, but I'm no judge of them. Brew of the Month, Independence Lager, made with 30lbs of cinamon jaw breakers, was quite interesting, particularly the nose.

(09/18/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Great Great

Establishment: Liberty Steak House and Brewery, Myrtle Beach, SC

Visited twice in the week before Labor Day. Good food, good waitstaff, friendly bartenders. Good selection of beers, which are OK to good. Raspberry Wheat had good flavor but no nose. Miss Liberty Lager and Golden Ale were inoffensive yellow beers. Unfiltered Wheat was not to style, but accurately listed as "an American interpretation of a German classic." Nut Brown Ale was OK but not up to the style, which I don't care for anyway. Indian [sic] Pale Ale was a decent American PA, not IPA. Oatmeal Stout was good, but with less of the bitter and roasted features they claimed; still, I liked it.

Draw backs: Only 5 of 9 beers per sampler (so we each ordered two!), and no non-smoking section in the dining room.

(09/18/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Otter Creek Brewing Company, Middlebury, VT

Tried their Oktoberfest brew at the Last Chance Saloon, Columbia, MD. I'd swear it had a hoppiness I didn't expect for this style, but I liked it.

(09/18/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Weeping Radish, Kitty Hawk, NC

Location is *immediately* south of the junction of US 158 and NC 12 in Kitty Hawk, on the east side of US 158. Due to the intersection, I drove past several times without noticing it . Never had the chance to go in.

(09/15/1999)


Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ 4 ] [ 5 ] [ 6 ] [ 7 ] [ 8 ] [ 9 ] [ ALL ]













(0.185 seconds) 18:51:07 54.234.217.247, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS