PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Reviews on PubCrawler from
Other Reviews by this User
 
November 25, 2014 @ 04:16 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.

Reviews By

Beer Reviews
(121)

Restaurant Reviews
(0)






Favorite Beer: New Glarus Raspberry Tart
Located In: southwest

121
Beer Reviews from
   

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ 4 ] [ 5 ] [ ALL ]
Average Rating
Beer Quality
Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great
Great Great Great Great

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A Great Great

Establishment: Rio Salado Brewing Company, Tempe, AZ

Stopped by for the first time in several months. Had the: Apricot Hefe: Marvelous concoction of Hefeweizen with just enough apricot to taste. Wonderfully hazy color and full-bodied. Great beer.

Hefeweizen-the original version is here. One of best HW you will find in Phoenix,if not the entire southwest US

Bought a liter bottle of Dubblebock (SP?). Nice full-bodied beer that was very drinkable. A little different....

(07/21/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Allagash Brewing Company, Portland, ME

I agree with most of the comments made below. The tour was very short and mostly uniformative-but that was OK because I their to sample their beers.

Well, they gave me one sample of the dubbel and didn't offer any others. They were also out of their special seasonal and the new 10 was still ageing so I did not get to sample or buy either one of those. I picked up a 750 of white, which I can get at home in 12oz bottles. Overall very disappointing.

(07/06/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good

Establishment: Sunday River Brewing Company, Bethel, ME

Went here twice while on vacation in NW Maine. We went for dinner one night and had tons of good food. The other time was in the middle of day just for beers. I lost my notes so this is from memory. It was very slow both times as this is a skiing area and most of their business is in the winter.

Lager-lighter but still very flavorful-especially during the very hot days we had.

IPA-more English style but very good.

I had a couple of other beers that were good but not memorable. Pleasant enough brewpub but don't go out of your way to go here.

(07/06/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Good Great Great

Establishment: Triple 7 Brewpub, Las Vegas, NV

I was here in mid-May and seem to have lost my notes. I had about 4 beers and remember that all of them were very good, particularly the barleywine. The fried fish was good too as was the service. I was pleasantly surprised at the quality of the beer.

(06/21/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Good Great Good

Establishment: Springfield Brewing Company, Springfield, MO

No reviews since 2003??? This brewpub hasn't changed much since my last review 2 years ago. It's still very clean, with a nice bar area and friendly barstaff.

All the beers were served too cold.

Maibock-served in a tulip glass. High ABV,very malty, but it had to warm up before the (nice) flavors came through.

Kolsch: medium body and malts. Good summer style beer.

Brown Ale: very dark color. Malty, nutty taste but done well (after it warmed up to 45F!!)

This is a nice place to spend some time while in Springfield but the beer doesn't meet up to some of the world class standards that might be expected on the coasts. Temper you expectations and you'll be pleased.

(06/16/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Great Great

Establishment: Vino's, Little Rock, AR

Still the funky little dive and holding up well.

Had the following beers: IPA-heavy hop, light malt and highly drinkable. Not too bad.

Octoberfest: very malty and smooth. A little different but still good.

Bock: very dark color, with a sharp/tangy taste and high ABV. Not sure about this but it was nice.

Pizza was great-I had to give 1/2 of it away.

Good place to go when in LR-definitely not in the style of your chain brewpubs.

(06/16/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Great N/A

Establishment: Gordon Biersch Brewing Company, Las Vegas, NV

I had 2 beers and food. The server was great, pouring me a full sampler without even me asking-great job.

Hefeweizen-good to style and well brewed.

Can't remember the other but I didn't finish it-too late at night.

Food was good. Typical GB restaurant/brewpup.

(06/13/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So N/A Good Good

Establishment: Tenaya Creek Brewery and Restaurant, Las Vegas, NV

I hate to punish a brewpub because 99% of them are better than the mass-lagers produced by budmillercoors. This place is a step above that in the beer and imagination-but not by much.

The Hefeweizen was served in a frozen glass but it was fairly good to style.

The IPA was served in such a small sample glass that is was difficult to properly taste. Very light body, low ABV.

Kolsch-served in a frozen glasss, very carbonated, light body and with a very "moderate" taste.

I concur with one of the previous reviewers that this is a sterile atmosphere (at least in the bar area) but better than sitting at the house watching Gilligan's Island reruns. Overall could be better but the big question is how much leaway does the brewer have in his/her recipes?

(06/13/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great

Establishment: Big Dog's Brewing Company was Draft House Barn and Casino, Las Vegas, NV

10 beers on tap. Stopped by late afternoon. Had the Belgian White Ale served very cold. Good to style.

Weinzenbock sample. well done, high ABV.

Tailwagger Wheat. Good American style unfiltered wheat for the heat.

Would go back here.

(06/13/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Blue Star Brewing Company, San Antonio, TX

We went there a couple of weeks ago. There are now about 6-8 beers on tap, but the King William was not on tap. The cask IPA and regular IPA were very good. We all had good dishes and the service was good outside. Glad to see the beers are back on....

(05/04/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Great Good

Establishment: Barley's Smokehouse and Brewpub, Columbus, OH

I always try to get by here when I'm in Columbus. It does have a neighborhood feel but I've never been uncomfortable here.

Both casks were on-The Brown ale was decent. I didn't try the stout. The Scotch Ale was very good (and potent). The brewer assistant was tending bar and was very busy so he didn't have time to talk-although he was friendly enough.

Just a nice, laid-back place to have some quality brews and some guest beers as well.

(03/27/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great

Establishment: Papago Brewing, Scottsdale, AZ

I had two beers: Double IPA that had been "randalled". Very hoppy (duh) and a little over-carbonated. Very drinkable though.

Ale Smith Old Numbskull on cask. Great beer served at the proper temp. Tulip glass required for this high ABV dynamo.

Service was good at the bar. Good place for beer and conversation.

(03/21/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Zona Brewing Company was The Cowboy, Scottsdale, AZ

I finally got back here after a few months away. The name change hasn't changed the quality of the beer. The beers:

Hefeweizen-very nice, German-style beer. One of the better Hefeweizen beers you will find on tap at any brewpub.

Belgium Trippel-very sweet and smooth, particularly at 8.9%!

Doppelbock-very dark, big bodied beer. Nice styling at 7.6% ABV. Great beer.

Liz was great at the bar. This is one of the better brewpubs in the valley and in the SW US.

(03/21/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great

Establishment: Nimbus Brewing Company, Tucson, AZ

This rating is actually between great and good-depends on the beer.

Rye Pale Ale-served very cold. Crisp and bitter, with medium hops and rye tastes. Nice refreshing beer.

Old Monkeyshine-sort of a cross between a barleywine and strong ale. Very dark and malty that is drinkable despite the 8.2% ABV. Good beer.

Dunkel Weizen: Very sweet and malty but the body is light for this style. Not a bad beer though.

Overall the quality of the beers is good enough for a stop here when in Tucson-just make sure you go during daylight if you've never been here. It's very difficult to find at night (and with the ongoing road construction it is double difficult to find).

(03/07/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good

Establishment: Gentle Ben's Brewing Company, Tucson, AZ

I went during a weekday evening and sat at the bar. Service was good. I had an:

IPA-very good beer, true to the west-coast over-the-top hoppy style. 8% ABV.

Nut Brown- 6% ABV. Malty, sweetish beer the was very drinkable. Not my favorite style.

Raspberry-good for this style.

Pale Ale-lighter beer but nice hoppiness. Not bad.

Overall this place brews good beer but other than the IPA there is nothing that really stands out.

(03/07/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Awesome!

Establishment: McCoy's Public House and Brewkitchen, Kansas City, MO

McCoys' beer has improved immensely since my last visit.

IPA-served too cold, very hoppy and bitter and no balance. Still a good brew, particularly for hop-heads.

Imperial (double) IPA. light gold and hazy. Heavily hopped and high ABV this beer stacks right up there with any of the California beers of this style. Super beer!!!!

Belgium Red Ale-very dark, wine colored and bitter/tart in the style of the the Flemish reds. What a find!! This was the best beer I've ever had here (and one that you don't find at many brewpubs) Good job.

The pot roast was excellent-fork tender and more than enough food.

This was the first time in my several trips to KC that McCoys outranked 75th St. Brewery (mostly because of McCoys improvements-these guys are definitely going in the right direction.

(02/28/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Great Great

Establishment: 75th Street Brewery, Kansas City, MO

I didn't get the tall, skinny chick for a server at the bar so the night started out well.

Unfortunately the cask engine was broken so no cask beers that night.

The Brown was very dark and a little bitter with a touch of acetyl at the end. A passable beer.

The Pale Ale looked and tasted like an IPA but with a little less hop taste. This was a good, well-balance beer.

Dortmunder-I don't drink many of these as you rarely see them brewed. It was golden, slightly hazy, but very malty with a touch of spice. Very nice, full-bodied beer.

The pizza was very good. 75th St. still seems to be consistent with the beer and food.

It was a major smokefest at the bar though with inadequate ventilation. I stunk of smoke after leaving. I guess you pays your money.....

(02/28/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Great Great

Establishment: Flat Branch Pub and Brewing, Columbia, MO

I have not seen a decrease in the quality of this establishment's beers.

The cask ESB is a strong, hoppy, well balanced beer. This is the best beer on tap.

The IPA was served a little cold but as it warmed up the great taste came through.

The cask Irish Red was heavily malted with a high ABV. Served in a pilsner glass (?). well done.

The bar area is large and very clean with attentive service. I would greatly appreciate if they would move to Houston.

(02/28/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Great Awesome!

Establishment: Ginger Man, Austin, TX

Ditto most of the (good) comments below.

Great outdoors seating area in the back, particularly yesterday when the temp. hit 80F (eat your hearts out Yankees!!!)

Great jukebox..

I had two beers the first time I went in last night ( I went twice in one night!). The bartender actually sent me over a sample without me even asking-touch of class and great bartending there. Great setting for drinking beer and hanging out. Have fun...

(02/16/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Independence Brewing Company, Austin, TX

I had the pale ale and the brown ale at Gingerman in Austin. The Pale Ale was served very cold but the tastes still came through. Not much smell but this beer is well balanced and with enough hops for the hophead in ya..

Brown ale-very sweet, this beer has a lot of body and is very drinkable nontheless. Not a session beer in any sense..

Overall Independence seems to be on the right track-hopefully they'll continue to brew other styles. Good job guys..

(02/16/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Bitter End Bistro and Brewery, Austin, TX

Went here on a Tuesday night-the main bar/restaurant area was as slow as I've ever seen it. The "B" side was quite busy though.

Beers: Belgian-style farmhouse ale. Very good-musty, aromatic, spicy..a great experiment worthy of Belgium.

Whisky stout-WOW. This is one great beer, with some Belgium-style overtones. Very nice.

The pizza was good-my buddy had a good burger.

BE is still turning out a great combo of beer and food..Stop by sometimes and enjoy.

(02/16/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: New Belgium Brewing Company, Fort Collins, CO

I had the 1554 at the Flying Saucer in Addison, TX on keep the glass night. I was a little disappointed in the flavor, which I thought was a little on the thin side. I think overall probably a middle-of-the-road beer for NB.

(02/08/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Live Oak Brewing Company, Austin, TX

I had the Liberation on tap at the Flying Saucer in Addison, TX. Heavy malty overtones with a strong alcohol bite. Great winter beer.

I've had most of their beers and these guys make great beer..let's bottle it now!!!!

(02/08/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Dogfish Head Craft Brewery, Milton, DE

Two comments. We're getting several of the Dogfish Head beers in the Houston area now. This is definitely one of the best micro's in the U.S. A little pricier than most micros but the quality is first rate.

2nd, I had the India Brown Ale on tap at the Flying Saucer in Addison, TX. This is a top-notch beer but, to my surprise, it differed very little from the bottled version. And it was the first beer of the night so my judgment was not yet impaired.

Keep up the great beer and please don't stop shipping to Texas despite the under-my-thumb tendancies of TABC.

(02/08/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Awesome!

Establishment: Four Peaks Brewing Company, Tempe, AZ

Lucky me-I got to go here twice in 3 weeks. The beers are still top-notch, especially the Hop Knot and IPA. The cask Pale Ale was particularly tasty.

The food is excellent and not typical brew-pub fare-check out the specials.

4 Peaks continues with their consistent quality of beer, especially considering that they are now bottling beer and have opened a second 4 Peaks in Scottsdale. Keep up the great work.

(02/08/2005)


Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ 4 ] [ 5 ] [ ALL ]













(0.341 seconds) 16:16:58 54.90.66.237, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS