PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Reviews on PubCrawler from
Other Reviews by this User
 
December 17, 2014 @ 05:36 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.

Reviews By

Beer Reviews
(121)

Restaurant Reviews
(0)






Favorite Beer: New Glarus Raspberry Tart
Located In: southwest

121
Beer Reviews from
   

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ 4 ] [ 5 ] [ ALL ]
Average Rating
Beer Quality
Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great
Great Great Great Great

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Good Great Great

Establishment: Second Street Brewery, Santa Fe, NM

Went here last week with 3 coworkers. Very crowded for a cold and snowy night.

Had to have the IPA-just a great beer as advertised so I had two.

Bitter-nice English style beer true to style.

Porter-similar to a Russian Imperial stout. What a superb winter warmer.

Definitely a must for the readers of Pubcrawler.

The food was good, not great.

The clientele, well...I'm a happy hippy, take a little trippy...Welcome to Santa Fe.

(02/08/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A Lousy So So

Establishment: Oggi's Pizza and Brewing Company, Scottsdale, AZ

I have several comments about Oggis. First of all I was looking forward to visiting this chain, particularly given the superb quality of beers that I had at the 2004 GABF. The location is a little funky, with no direct exit from the freeway.

Secondly, I went around 5 pm to watch rush hour go by. I ordered a double IPA from the rather young bartender. He proceeded to pour it into a FROZEN glass. I asked him to re-pour a beer into a room temperature glass. He then told me that he had been a bartender for 7 years and had never heard of beer being served otherwise! He asked me 3 times if I wanted him to pour out the beer and re-serve it-I said Yes on all 3 accounts. Mr. double-earring came on real strong with the attitude that I should drink the beer as he poured it-not as 1) it should be poured and 2) as me, the customer, would like it. I told him that I had been drinking beer longer than he had been alive and had visited hundreds of brewpubs/breweries/beer bars world wide and quite possibly might know a little more about the "frozen glass syndrom" (which I thought was Texas born and bred).

Needless to say I drank my beer (which by the way was very good) and got out of this place as soon as possible and went to 4 Peaks down the road. Maybe this is why the happy hour at Oggi's had about 10 customers while 4 Peaks was packed. Suffice to say I'll not go out of my way to visit this place again.

This is not the way to make a first impression for a new brewpub anywhere.

(01/14/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Great Great

Establishment: Tap Werks Ale House and Cafe, Oklahoma City, OK

My buddy and I had a great time at the trivia contest a few weeks ago. Nice selection of Belgium ales and a good selection of other beers.

My complaint is the extreme smokiness and lack of ventilation in the bar. Major red-eye when you leave this place.

(01/04/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Matthias' Restaurant and Pub, Houston, TX

I went by this place on Saturday night, December 18 and it was closed. Is this permanent???

(12/29/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: New Glarus Brewing Company, New Glarus, WI

I managed to score a couple of 750's of Raspberry Tart thanks to a very good friend. This "Wisconsin champagne" is a wonderful beer in the best Belgium style. Can't wait to get some of the other brews from New Glarus. Great job.

(12/20/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great

Establishment: The Chimes Restaurant and Tap Room, Baton Rouge, LA

The best selection of beers in BR, although there are too many "standard" beers on the menu. This place is always busy and the "scenery" is always tantalizing. The gumbo was awesome. Parking is a major issue here. The place to go in BR for brews and food.

(12/13/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Great Great

Establishment: Flying Saucer, San Antonio, TX

Typical FS-about 75 taps and twice as many bottles. A good selection of Texas beers and pleased to find Real Ale Coffee Porter on tap. Drink this beer!!! Very busy for Wednesday keep-the-glass-night. I got a nice metal Bass mug-the beer was nothing to speak of but the mug was nice.

(11/23/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Great Great

Establishment: Flying Saucer, Little Rock, AR

Typical Flying Saucer with a great selection of beers, both draft and bottled. They have a good variety of local and regional beers not found in the Texas FS's.

(11/23/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Great Great Good

Establishment: Boscos, Little Rock, AR

I have mixed feelings about Boscos. I've been to Boscos in Nashville and consider it one of the best brewpubs I've visited anywhere. So I had high hopes for this Boscos-unfortunately I was let down.

Beers: IPA-not a good beer with a very strong acetyl overtones.

Cask scotch ale: very strong alcohol smell, smooth taste with good body. Good but not great beer.

chocolate cream ale taster: what is this? No chocolate taste, no body, very light flavors. Glad I got the taster.

stout: Very bitter with moderate body. Probably the best beer on tap.

The beers are very sporadic as tasted. I know this is a newer brewpub so I hold out hope that the beers will be more consistent throughout the lineup.

(11/23/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A Good Great

Establishment: The Dodging Duck Brewhaus, Boerne, TX

I stopped by for a couple of beers last week during the late afternoon. It wasn't very busy. I sat out on the front porch-great view but the traffic was noisy.

Beers: ESB-well done and very flavorable. Porter-nice dark color, burnt taste with medium hops and malt. Good beer.

The price of the beers didn't bother me much-I agree with the previous writer on macro vs micros.

(11/23/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Zea Rotisserie and Brewery, Metairie, LA

By far the finest brewpub in the New Orleans area. I stopped by on a weeknight and had the following beers.

Lager: darker, unfiltered, very rich with nice malty overtones. Very nice beer.

IPA: served too cold-once it warmed up it was very dry, medium hopped with a good clean, crisp taste.

Strong Ale-Lighter body than the name suggests but more in the American Pale Ale style. well done

Barleywine-served a little too cold. Slightly sweet but not cloying. I think it was spiced. Quite warming. This was a great beer-a 10 oz. serving.

Food-The lamb was excellent. Well spiced and very tender.

If in New Orleans/Metairie, this place is a treat. Enjoy.

(10/28/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So So So Great So So

Establishment: Blue Star Brewing Company, San Antonio, TX

I returned to SA this past week on business and as usual stopped in at Blue Star. Not much has changed since my last visit-unfortunately. The place was dead with only 5-6 people in the restaurant/bar area. Only 4 beers were offered, with no cask or King William.

I had: Wheathead: American style unfiltered wheat. Passable.

Pale Ale: decent hops with a lighter body. Good beer

Stout: Good mouth and body but the flavor was lacking and the taste didn't last. Drinkable but not memorable.

Food: I had the lamb, usually a great meal. This time the lamb chops were extremely fatty and I left several bites on the plate. Disappointing.

Blue Star is no longer a "must stop" when in San Antonio. It's going in the wrong direction and the owner is now in the bike rental business too. Bad sign.

(09/17/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Assets Grille Brewing Company, Albuquerque, NM

I had two beers: Cask IPA-not overly hopped but perfect temp. and very drinkable

Hefeweizen-nice German-style Hefe that fits the style well.

Food-pasta with mushrooms that was very rich and filling.

(09/13/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Blue Corn Cafe and Brewery, Albuquerque, NM

I had two beers: Saison-A good attempt a the saison/farmhouse Belguim style (see Dupont). Not as overly pronounced or spiced as most Belgium saisons but a nice beer nevertheless.

Rye-A style that I rarely see or try, it was very flavorable and well-bodied. Not much to compare it to but very drinkable.

The food was good. The bar was very dark and not given to chatter.

(09/13/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Il Vicino Brewing Company and Tap Room, Albuquerque, NM

A small tap room with outside seating. They had vanilla stout on cask-smooth, loaded with vanilla- very good beer.

Friendly employees and customers-highly recommended.

(09/03/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Avery Brewing Company, Boulder, CO

I had the Avery IPA on cask at the Flying Saucer in Addison (Dallas) TX. What a great, smooth, drinkable beer-I had to have 2! Just another in the superb line of Avery beers. Good job guys.

(08/20/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Great Awesome!

Establishment: Flying Saucer, Addison, TX

I've been coming here since they opened. The breadth and depth of beers is as good as you will find anywhere. The bartenders (Doug has been behind the bar for ages) will serve up samples if asked without complaint.

I stopped by Wednesday night and, to my surprise, the St. Arnold cask engine was supplanted by Avery IPA. Wow! What a find. Just a wonderful beers and indicative of their great lineup of beers. Good job Avery-we're glad to have you in Texas.

(08/20/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Two Rows Restaurant and Brewery, Dallas, TX

Started out with a Hefeweizen. More styled toward a Belgium white in taste and color. Lighter body and flavor but well done.

Hopzilla-solid IPA and heavily hopped.

Barleywine-served in a 10 oz glass-waitress said it was 10% abv. Very sweet, syrupy and took some time to get used to it. One was enough.

Route 66-Heavily malted and very dark colored beer. Similar to a Scottish Ale but with some strange overtones.

Pizza was good.

(08/20/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Humperdink's Restaurant and Brewery, Addison, TX

The beers seemed to have improved a bit from the previous visit a few months ago.

Hefeweizen-always the best and most consistent beer.

Red-not the "Red" style but actually an IPA. Highly hopped, smooth, and well balanced.

Porter-Lighter body, burnt flavors, drinkable.

All around good beers with the Hefe headed toward great. The $2/20 oz. price is a good bargain.

(08/20/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Bitter Root Brewing, Hamilton, MT

I bought a 22 oz. bottle of the IPA while visiting Big Sky. This is a great beer, very hoppy but balanced enough so the the hops don't completely overwhelm the beer. I've two more Bitter Roots in my frig. waiting for me. Can't wait to try those also.

(08/16/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great

Establishment: North by Northwest Restaurant and Brewery, Austin, TX

The quality of beer has improved dramatically since my last visit. All the beers have much better body, flavor, mouthfeel, etc.

Hefeweizen-German style Hefe, nice cloudy color, a little undercarbonated and could have been a bit colder. Overall a good beer

Bock-Big malt flavor, strong ABV, solid body beer. Well done.

Black-a style that I rarely drink. very dark and well balanced. A nice tasting, very flavorable beer.

I'll put this place back on my frequent visit list if the beers continue to improve.

(08/16/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Saint Arnold Brewing Company, Houston, TX

St. Arnold has finally brewed an IPA!! Try the Alyssa IPA-it's a wonderful brew by the best microbrewery in Texas. Good job

(08/02/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Barley's Brewhaus and Restaurant, Overland Park, KS

Barley's has a huge tap and bottle selection with a decent selection of local micros and German beers. It probably has too many American macros to qualify as a true "beer finders" pub but for this part of KC they do a good job.

The ribs were good too.

(07/23/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Good Great

Establishment: 75th Street Brewery, Kansas City, MO

Went on a day when it was 95F outside-the A/C was not working properly and it was very warm in the bar area. Beers; Cask brown-a little light on mouthfeel, but very tasty and served at the proper temp.

Hefeweizen-well done-tasted great in a hot bar.

IPA-very good. Hopped well but good balance and very drinkable.

The pizza was good-especially at happy hour prices.

The bartender had a crappy attitude-and her tip reflected it.

This place continues to have a great combination of beer and food. Now let's get the A/C fixed.

(07/21/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Wynkoop Brewing Company, Denver, CO

I've been coming here for several years and Wynkoop is very consistent with the beer and food. My last visit in late June:

ESB cask-a little light on the body, but smooth and well balanced.

Strong English Bitter-in a firkin. 5 stars. Super hopped, lots of legs, high ABV. Great beer.

IPA. good nose, soapy head, good temp. First taste was strange but OK from then on.

Citrus ale sample-golden, fizzy, lighter but well done for it's style. A pint would have been too much.

Service was great as the bartender served all the samples I asked for.

Good job.

(07/21/2004)


Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ 4 ] [ 5 ] [ ALL ]













(0.653 seconds) 17:36:19 54.237.38.30, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS