PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Reviews on PubCrawler from
Other Reviews by this User
 
August 29, 2014 @ 11:27 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.

Reviews By

Beer Reviews
(121)

Restaurant Reviews
(0)






Favorite Beer: New Glarus Raspberry Tart
Located In: southwest

121
Beer Reviews from
   

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ 4 ] [ 5 ] [ ALL ]
Average Rating
Beer Quality
Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great
Great Great Great Great

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So Great Great Great

Establishment: Blue Star Brewing Company, San Antonio, TX

Unfortunately there were only 3 beers on tap when I was there a couple of weeks ago-and none of them were the cask. I had: Lager-solid drink for this style-but the cask lager I had in the past puts this to shame. Stout-well done-this was the my favorite for the night and was able to try a couple Pale Ale-a little on the light side for me. I've had more flavorful beers of this style here.

The food was good-my guest and I both finished our plates.

Here's hoping for a better selection next time I visit.

(07/14/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Great Great

Establishment: Roosters 25th Street Brewing Company, Ogden, UT

More emphasis on the restaurant side-the food was very good as was the wait staff. The beers-Pale Ale. Good for it's style. Hefeweizen-a little light for me but drinkable. Given the constraints of the Utah laws, these beers were well done. A nice place to bring the family.

(07/12/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Old Chicago, Bozeman, MT

Good selection of Montana/Wyoming micros. About 30 taps and 100 bottles. The pizzas were good also. Nice place to bring the kids.

(07/12/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Good Great

Establishment: Wolf Pack Brewing Company, West Yellowstone, MT

Had 3 beers: Hefeweizen-more like a Belgium White but very good. Alt-nice for the style Helles-lighter style but well done.

Out of the way for any normal beer tour but worth stopping if in the Yellowstone area.

(07/12/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great N/A Great Good

Establishment: Rock Bottom Brewery, Scottsdale, AZ

Like a lot of beer drinkers posting on this site, I am always wary of large chain brewpubs. But the two beers I had were very good. IPA-solid beer, hoppy with good body.

California Commons-A steam beer with good body and super hopped. Not sure about where the name came from-the waiter had no clue.

(06/11/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Great Great

Establishment: Zona Brewing Company was The Cowboy, Scottsdale, AZ

First of all, this brewpub is not closing. The beers are very good. I had the Dunkel Weizen which has medalled at the GABF. This is a great beer and one of the best brewed in the Phoenix area.

Helles-very crisp and cold. Excellent lager.

(06/11/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Great Great

Establishment: SunUp Brewing was Sonora Brewhouse, Phoenix, AZ

I stopped by in the early afternoon. Had the cask Pale Ale. Well done, proper temperature and very drinkable.

(06/11/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Bitter End Bistro and Brewery, Austin, TX

Bitter End has one of the best combinations of food and beer in any brewpub in the SW U.S.

Beers:

Pils-this is what an American pils should taste like IPA: Not as hoppy as some of the CAL brews but very drinkable and balanced. Pale Ale-a slightly milder and less hoppy version of the IPA-well done.

This place continues to be very consistent with their beer quality and food. Good job

(05/21/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great

Establishment: Zea Rotisserie and Brewery, Metairie, LA

Just checking my notes and forgot to add this from February. Beers are still very good and consistent from the other times I've been here. These beers would fit in with any good brewpub scene throughout the U.S.

(05/11/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Good Great

Establishment: Prescott Brewing Company, Prescott, AZ

I was there with 3 co-workers. I asked the waiter if they had a cask-conditioned beer-he said "what's that?" I told him to go ask his brewmaster. Not a great start! (they had no cask ales).

I did have several beers though. IPA-very dry, hoppy, lighter style. Nice.

Brown Ale-full flavored, good head, true to style.

Porter-very good, full bodied.

Overall very good beer. Definitely would go back.

(04/19/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Great Great

Establishment: BJ's Restaurant and Brewhouse, Houston, TX

We went here on Valentines day. According to the bartender, BJ's beers are contract-brewed by St. Arnolds. They do not brew on-premises. Of course the quality was first rate, especially the Porter.

(03/24/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Good Great

Establishment: Four Peaks Brewing Company, Tempe, AZ

Barleywine on cask-wow. My first and last beer of the night. Well done

IPA-still very nice

Kiltlifter-seemed better than ever

Hop Knot-for the hop head but very drinkable.

These guys just keep on kickin' out the great brews. Best brewpub in AZ.

(02/28/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Good Great

Establishment: Nimbus Brewing Company, Tucson, AZ

Beer only: Porter on nitro-wonderful beer. Smooth but with a nice ABV that hits the spot.

Pale ale-true to style-very dry and hoppy.

Good place to chill with the locals.

(02/28/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Great Great

Establishment: Flat Branch Pub and Brewing, Columbia, MO

I visited this brewery for the 1st time last week-with luck it won't be the last.

Started with the Cask ESB-very bitter, medium hops, dark copper color-very drinkable and smooth.

1997 Imperial Stout-wow! so smooth, high ABV, very dark. Wonderfully aged beer.

Cask Porter-burnt taste, no head, high ABV. Excellent beer.

British IPA-mild, true to style.

Green Chile sample-could not drink a pint of this. Well done for it's style but I'm not a fan of chilied beers.

Good pizza too. I definitely will come back here if I'm ever in Columbia again. Well done.

(01/26/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Great Great

Establishment: Schlafly (aka The Saint Louis Brewery Tap Room), Saint Louis, MO

I had 4 beers: APA Cask-very smooth, hoppy, a little thin on the mouth. Overall very good.

Stout-very tasty, a little light and served too cold. Good beer

Barleywine-served at proper temp-sweet but drinkable. 16oz served for a high ABV beer-who's complaining? Very nice.

I had beef stew-great food on a cold night. This is a nice place with a great selection of brews.

(01/21/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Great Great

Establishment: Bull and Bush Pub and Brewery, Denver, CO

I had the Man Beer, actually a cask-conditioned IPA. This is a great beer that goes down almost too smoothly-you want to chug it!! I had the black lager-very nice for a style you rarely see at a brewpub.

The food was OK, not great.

Now if they can do something about the extremely smoky premises-it really is annoying. This is one of the smokiest bars I've ever been in. Good job otherwise.

(01/13/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: River Market Brewing Company, Kansas City, MO

I just wanted to followup on Dan's comments. Both times that I've been in here it seemed like the clientele at the bar were all freinds of the bartendress. Sort of a street/biker/tatoo club-not the most comfortable of atmospheres. Thanks for the warning about the tip. There are too many other nice brewpubs in KC to put up with that crap.

(11/25/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Wynkoop Brewing Company, Denver, CO

Had all 3 cask conditioned beers. Strong Ale: Very dark beer, light head, high ADV. Great brew.

IPA: Still very nice. very smooth, medium IBU. Well done.

ESB: served at the correct temp. great head, high ABV. Nice beer.

Frambozen: Very light, rather tasteless. Stick to the Belgium Frambozens (or New Belgium's).

Had the pot roast. Very hearty and tasteful.

(11/17/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A Great Great

Establishment: Pint's Pub, Denver, CO

Had both cask conditioned beers. IPA: very mild, not super-hoppy. Very drinkable. Well done.

ESB: also on the milder side. Well balanced, nice beer.

(11/17/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Great Great

Establishment: Heavenly Daze, Denver, CO

Had 3 beers: IPA-extremely hoppy, good head/legs, well done. Served a little cold for my taste.

ESP-well balanced, a little thin, very drinkable

Brown: High ABV, well done

Food: Calzone-OK but not great. Lots of it though.

(11/17/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Blue Star Brewing Company, San Antonio, TX

Beer: Cask pale ale-well done, tasty Stout-sweet and very drinkable Autumnfest-nice thick lager in the Octoberfest style

Definitely the place for good beer in SA. Low key, good food, good service at the bar.

(11/07/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Great Great

Establishment: Hub City Brewing Company, Lubbock, TX

Went on a Tuesday night-not real crowded. Most of the people in the brewpub were at the bar.

Beers: American Pale Ale-bronze GABF 2003. Very hoppy, dark gold color, no head,much richer than most APA's I've had. Very good.

Stout-A little thin, no head. Nice tasting beer though.

Helles: clear golden beer, lighter in flavor. I've not had many Helles beers but this was flavorful.

Red: Well balanced, not my favorite style. This was well done though not great.

Overall a nice establishment. Lubbock is lucky to have a quality brewpub such as Hub City.

(10/29/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Great Great

Establishment: The Old Monk, Dallas, TX

This bar has about 15 beers on tap and about100 bottles. As big a Belgium selection as you're going to find in Texas. Most of the Belgium ales are the mainstream variety (Chimay, Duval, Orval, Hoogarden) but, in Texas, this is reaching out. We had a great server, sat outside in the pleasant fall weather (albeit right next to the street) and enjoyed the brews. Nice place to hang out.

(10/10/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Great Great

Establishment: Barley's Smokehouse and Brewpub, Columbus, OH

I had 3 cask beers: Both the Scottish Ale and Pale Ale were very good, although a little cold. The Russian Imperial Stout was also good but a little thin for the style.

The food is good, not great.

The bar area gets very smoky-typical Ohio and midwest smokefest.

Definitely would go back for the great beer.

(09/29/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Belle Isle Brewery, Oklahoma City, OK

Went in at happy hour. Had a stout-nice tasting but too cold. Hefeweizen-well done but a little low on the ABV. Octoberfest-a little thin and not enough ABV for this style. Operating under the antiquated OK beer laws limits this brewpub-they do try hard though.

(09/22/2003)


Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ 4 ] [ 5 ] [ ALL ]













(0.163 seconds) 11:27:32 184.72.141.31, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS