PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Reviews on PubCrawler from
Other Reviews by this User
 
July 26, 2014 @ 06:09 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.

Reviews By

Beer Reviews
(121)

Restaurant Reviews
(0)






Favorite Beer: New Glarus Raspberry Tart
Located In: southwest

121
Beer Reviews from
   

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ 4 ] [ 5 ] [ ALL ]
Average Rating
Beer Quality
Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great
Great Great Great Great

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Great Good

Establishment: River City Brewing Company, Wichita, KS

This was my second trip to River City. The stout, as before, was by far their best beer-very drinkable. The brown ale was good but not memorable. I sampled the wheat-an American style that was very light and slightly hazy.

Food: Had the beef stew which was very good.

I'll go back next time in Wichita.

(09/22/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Great Good

Establishment: Gentle Ben's Brewing Company, Tucson, AZ

We were in town for the football game and went here before the game. It was packed but the service was still good.

Their IPA is very good as was their stout. It seems that the beers have vastly improved since my last visit.

(09/09/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great

Establishment: Zea Rotisserie and Brewery, Metairie, LA

I agree with Ken-good LA brewpubs are a rarity so take advantage of Zea.

I stopped in around 5PM on a weekday. The bar area was empty but the restaurant was busy. The bartender (what was her name??) was great.

I tried:

Raspberry Wheat sample. A good beer if you're into that type of beer. A couple on a hot summer's day wouldn't hurt anyone.

IPA-served a little too cold. But once it warmed to the proper temp, the taste came through. Very hoppy, bitter, great smell and mouth. Super beer.

Lager-very heavy for a lager. Higher ABV, this is what a real lager should taste like. Well done.

Category 5 strong ale. This is the second time I've had this beer. It is strong but I'm not sure what the style is. Sort of a tweener beer but still a good brew.

My last post was deleted in the Pubcrawler server outage-I want to thank Patrick for the brewery tour back in February. Keep up the great work.

(08/11/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Great Good

Establishment: Abita Brewing Company, Abita Springs, LA

I've been to this "brewpub" several times. The beer is brewed off premises at the nearby brewery and not on-site.

There were about 8 beers on the board-unfortunately the cask was off. I did try:

English bitter: served WAY too cold which pretty much killed off the taste.

Turbo Dog: old standby. This is better than the bottled Dog and a pleasant drink.

Andy Gator: Served in a wine glass this wasn't as potent or as flavorful as I remember from times past. Served too cold.

Food: Stuffed seafood eggplant. Delicious.

I always go back here when in the area-just don't expect an "A" style brewpub but it's great for this area.

(08/11/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Great Good

Establishment: Abita Brewing Company, Abita Springs, LA

I've been to this "brewpub" several times. The beer is brewed off premises at the nearby brewery and not on-site.

There were about 8 beers on the board-unfortunately the cask was off. I did try:

English bitter: served WAY too cold which pretty much killed off the taste.

Turbo Dog: old standby. This is better than the bottled Dog and a pleasant drink.

Andy Gator: Served in a wine glass this wasn't as potent or as flavorful as I remember from times past. Served too cold.

Food: Stuffed seafood eggplant. Delicious.

I always go back here when in the area-just don't expect an "A" style brewpub but it's great for this area.

(08/11/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Jaxon's Restaurant and Brewing Company, El Paso, TX

We went on a Friday night late with the family.

I had an IPA-excellent, very hoppy, a little cold English Mild Bitter-wonderful hazy yellow color-well done

The food was very good and the service was OK-the waitress didn't know her beers and I had to go to the bar to get a list. I definitely would go back.

(08/05/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: El Toro Brewing Company, Morgan Hill, CA

I agree with everything the reviewer below,Jim Smith, says, even though he's originally from Louisiana and grew up drinking Jax and Dixie. I've been here 3 times and this taproom is a great getaway from the smog and congestion of the Blah Area. There are just no bad, or even mediocre, beers here. They are all first class drinks.

(07/23/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Great Good

Establishment: Assets Grille Brewing Company, Albuquerque, NM

Went in on a weekday night-I sat at the bar. The brewpub was not busy, either in the bar area or in the restaurant.

Food: Vegy pizza. Not that great. Not nearly enough toppings for me.

Beer: Pale Ale-very clean, crisp, well filtered and drinkable. Not really memorable but good.

Stout-served too cold but once it warmed up it was wonderful. Good job.

Brown: way too carbonated and lacking body and substance. Try again.

Overall, this is essentially the same beer styles they've served over the years. Good enough to keep coming back but not memorable.

(07/14/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great

Establishment: Il Vicino Brewing Company and Tap Room, Albuquerque, NM

Small taproom in an industrial area. They distribute the beers to various Il Vicino's in the area. The small room was filled toward the end of the day with locals. Beers: IPA-One of the better IPA's I've had. Very hoppy, bitter, good beer.

Brown: Served a little cold, but well done.

Red: I've not had too many "reds" as it's usually a throwaway style but this was very malty and tasty.

Hefeweizen sample-tasted like a Belgium white.

(07/14/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Michigan Brewing Company, Webberville, MI

I've had the newly brewed Celis White in bottles and on tap. The bottled White tastes somewhat between when Celis White first started brewing in Austin with Pierre and when Miller screwed up the beer. It's a very tasty Belgium white perfect for the hot summers in Texas.

I had it on tap twice, both times at the Flying Saucer in Addison, TX. The tap version is much smoother and more flavorful than the bottles. I did a taste test (not blind) against Hogaarden and there was no comparison. Hogaarden had virtually no flavor compared to the Celis White. I'm sure that Pierre can't be thrilled to see what Interbrew did to his once great beer.

Thank you to Michigan Brewing for bringing Celis beer back and for taking the trouble to get it distributed to southeast Texas. It's been too long without.

(07/03/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great

Establishment: Ironworks Brewery and Pub, Lakewood, CO

Low key, no frills, neighborhood brewpub. I visited on a weekday afternoon and it was moderately busy.

I had 3 beers: Alt-very nice, quaffable, smooth. I don't drink many Alts but this might change my mind.

IPA-high ABV, served a little cold for my tastes. Not highly hopped, no head, but very drinkable.

ESB-again, a little cold but good body and very flavorful. Nice beer.

This place is off the beaten path but recommended for their good beers and laid back atmosphere. I will be back.

(06/30/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: River Market Brewing Company, Kansas City, MO

Stopped by at 5pm-only a small happy hour "crowd". I wonder when these guys do business?

3 beers on tap- Filtered wheat-not bad for a summer brew. Pale ale-very good but they were having trouble with tap and couldn't get it working when I wanted another. "Red"-didn't try this one.

Don't go out of your way for this place.

(06/23/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: McCoy's Public House and Brewkitchen, Kansas City, MO

IPA-very nice, not too cold Stout-tasted off Brown-still thin

Food: Pot roast, still good.

(06/23/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Great Great

Establishment: 75th Street Brewery, Kansas City, MO

Ditto from the last time.

They had a Belgium Wit on tap-very much in the Pierre Celis style.

The Cask IPA was on tap-still tasty.

Food: Fried Catfish, lightly breaded and very good.

(06/23/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Mill Creek Brewery and Restaurant, Kansas City, MO

CLOSED.

(06/23/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Great Great

Establishment: SunUp Brewing was Sonora Brewhouse, Phoenix, AZ

The bar area was filled with locals when I arrived around 5:30 on a weekday. I had a cask kolsch which was excellent-perfect temperature. Also had the IPA which was very good too. Sampled the stout, an excellent version similar in style and potency to a Russian Imperial Stout. This one sneaks up on you. Food: I had an excellent Rueben. I will definitely go back next time I'm in Phoenix.

(02/03/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Good

Establishment: Rio Salado Brewing Company, Tempe, AZ

This is a micro in an industrial area-not a "hot spot" as far as the discoteque scene but typical of most micros I've run across. Mostly locals as the slick bar buzzards won't put this on their list of crawls.

They have a nice, comfortable set-up with a couple of rooms of tables and a smallish bar area.

Beers: Hefewiezen was very nice and tasted similar to many good German wheat beers I've had. Spring Bock-lighter color beer that packed an 8% abv punch. Smooth going down and the alcohol doesn't overwhelm the beer. I bought a sixer of this to carry home. Sampled the pale ale-typical but not special. No cask conditioned ale available.

This would be a great place for a Friday TGIF on the patio. A return trip will be in the works.

This

(01/31/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Lousy N/A Good N/A

Establishment: River Market Brewing Company, Kansas City, MO

I stopped in late afternoon after finishing my rounds. Because of the weather the bar was not crowded. They only had 2 beers on tap because of some mechanical malfunction. The "red" was actually very tasty and similar to a nice pale ale/IPA. The "light/golden" was just that, a good attempt to brew for the macro drinkers but not enough flavor to satisfy me.

I'll call before I go next time to ensure that the beer selection is actually that-a selection. I don't want to rate this brewery because of an issue they can't control.

(01/24/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Great Great

Establishment: McCoy's Public House and Brewkitchen, Kansas City, MO

I visited this bar twice in two nights while in town. It was close to the hotel and given the snow I didn't want to venture to far. I was hesitant to visit because the last time I was here several months ago I visited in the late afternoon for a beer only and service from the Ian Hunter/Kenny G. look-alike bartender was horendous.

So who do I see when I walk in-yup-him. Fortunately I had another bartender serve me on both nights and the service was fine.

The beer: The stout is drinkable but too cold, the brown ale is passable but not overwhelmingly flavorful, the ESB was more of an English style and very good. Sampled the Ginger Shandy-too sweet for my tastes.

Food: Night 1 I had the pot roast-two huge chunks of fork tender meat. It was delicious and I couldn't finish it! Night 2 I had the Greek pizza. Again very good but I wished I would have had the pot roast again!!

I would go back here because the beer is good (but not altogether memorable) and the food is excellent.

(01/24/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Good Great

Establishment: 75th Street Brewery, Kansas City, MO

I visited this past week during the late afternoon. Several regulars were at the bar. I must say one thing about this brewery-I've been going to 75th St. Brewery since the early 90's and the clientele is among the friendliest I've ever run across. Every time I've been in the bar area people are always talkative and friendly-even to strange out-of-towners like myself!!!

I had a cask pale ale, 2 in fact. Very well done beer served at the proper temperature. The IPA was also very nice although a little cold.

75th St. is a regular stop for me when in the KC area. Go there.

(01/24/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Great Good

Establishment: Springfield Brewing Company, Springfield, MO

Springfield Brewing is a very nice, comfortable facility. The bartender was very helpful the night I was there (weekday) with samplers and suggestions. I also bought several nice .5L pilsner glasses that had been shipped incorrectly to the brewery and he gave me a large handful of new coasters too. The beer: First a caveat-all the beer was served much too cold-that's great if you're mowing the yard in the summer but not in the dead of winter (or any other time) for craft brews. I had to warm the beer up with my hands before I drank any of it. The seasonal Winter Warmer had a very high ABV but was thinnish and no "stick to your guts" feeling The Porter had a great flavor and was very similar to some stouts I've had (after it warmed up). The Dobblebock was very dark with a heavy alcohol presence and a strong, thick mouthfeel. This was by far the best beer I had in the brewery. Food: I had cheddar soup and a small (but large) Caesars salad with chicken. Both dishes were very good. I would certainly go back here. Hopefully they continue to experiment with new beers and consider serving their beers at the proper temperature. This is a very nice establishment for a town such a Springfield, MO.

(01/20/2003)


Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ 4 ] [ 5 ] [ ALL ]













(0.143 seconds) 06:09:07 54.225.18.187, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS