PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Reviews on PubCrawler from
Other Reviews by this User
 
July 31, 2014 @ 02:43 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.

Reviews By

Beer Reviews
(121)

Restaurant Reviews
(0)






Favorite Beer: New Glarus Raspberry Tart
Located In: southwest

121
Beer Reviews from
   

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ 4 ] [ 5 ] [ ALL ]
Average Rating
Beer Quality
Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great
Great Great Great Great

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Awesome!

Establishment: Papago Brewing, Scottsdale, AZ

I've visited here several times over the past couple of years. I love the 40 taps-no macro crap present. The beer selection in the cooler is well thought out. The pizza is usually very good. I've never had any problem with service here-but I usually sit at the bar. Overall a great beer joint....

(01/17/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Good Great Awesome!

Establishment: Dieu du Ciel!, Montreal, QC

I visited DdC this summer twice and was impressed. The beer selection is wonderful and the atmosphere is just the best. I wish this were my local, or even in my country!! I will be back if my travels ever take me to Montreal again.

(10/27/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great

Establishment: Flying Saucer, Little Rock, AR

Similar to many saucers in the south-wide selection of beers on tap and bottle and limited food menu. The regional beers are limited by the section of the country where the Saucer is located-and unfortunately Arkansas does not have a wide variety of breweries in the state. However, there is enough to choose from here if you visit seldomly.

This is a smoking bar-very stuffy and congested with smoke.

(04/18/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Two Rows Restaurant and Brewery, Dallas, TX

Two Rows has closed...Two Rows has closed....Two Rows has closed...

(04/07/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Good Great

Establishment: Springfield Brewing Company, Springfield, MO

It had been a few years since I visited here and I looked forward to the visit. SB is located downtown-a large lot across the street holds plenty of parking. The 2 level restaurant/bar is well lit and clean, with the tanks just behind the bar at the back of the pub. The bar area is very nice, big and clean with TV's but no sound (good thing).

The beer selection is fairly standard, with the usual lights, browns, and IPA's. I had: Brown ale-smooth, malty, roasty and very good-not usually my favorite style. The doppelbock was served in a tulip glass but the alcohol content was not overwhelming. Nice beer. I sampled the IPA-very, very low hop profile-this didn't even pass for a Pale Ale.

Pizza was good. One issue-all their beers are served too cold-I had to warm up the beers before I drank them.

Overall a nice, midwestern brewpub and a pleasant visit.

(02/08/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great

Establishment: Ginger Man, Fort Worth, TX

GM is located in the museum district in Fort Worth. Parking could get tight with a large crowd. I visited here 8/29/07 in the late afternoon. The place was fairly empty around 5:00 and I sat at the bar. A few people strolled in but by the time I left around 7 it was still not crowded.

As usual, they had a good selection of Texas beers (St Arnold, Rahr, Real Ale)and the usual selection from 'round the world. Smoking is still allowed here. Small patio in the front. Here's hoping survival.

(09/07/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Great Great

Establishment: Zea Rotisserie and Brewery, Metairie, LA

Paul Read the review below. They have not brewed here since Katrina. Their beers are brewed by Heiner Brau in Covington LA. He brews primarily very traditional German beers-which are also very good tasting beers.

Cheers

(09/07/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Great Great

Establishment: The Covey Restaurant and Brewery, Fort Worth, TX

I visited last week during a weekday-my second visit to this establishment. The bar area was about 1/2 filled. The Covey is certainly a very nice, well decorated brewpub (I hate to use that term as it presents itself as an upscale restaurant that brews on premises).

The beer selection was average but a nice Belgium dubbel on tap more than made up for the blandness of the rest of the beer menu. The staff did manage to secure another Belgium triple that was in the fermenter (thanks for the effort).

The menu was chock loaded with game and meat. They have some wonderful looking dishes-but given my per-diem I settled for an eggplant dish that was good but perhaps a bit overdone.

This would be a nice place for a quiet, romantic dinner with your spouse. I just hope the lack of customers I noticed was just because it was a weekday and not a trend-this is a nice place to visit.

(09/07/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Great Great

Establishment: Bull and Bush Pub and Brewery, Denver, CO

Frankly, I think it's ridiculous that there has been no review of this establishment since 2005. The beers are first class and the styles are across the board-from the Man beer, to barleywines and saisons. Food is consistent and the localized clientele means you'll talk to someone about Denver.

This is a great neighborhood brewpub-visit when in town. I did-tonight!!

cheers

(03/29/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Great Great

Establishment: Zea Rotisserie and Brewery, Metairie, LA

Zea is open and operating in Metairie! I visited on 3/21/07 with a friend for dinner. It was very busy.

I went to the bar first and received prompt and courteous service. Zea's beers are now brewed by Heiner Brau out of Covington, LA. The brewing equipment is still in place at the restaurant but is not operational. All of the 5 beers on tap are lagers-including a Kolsch, Pilsener, Spring Bock among the offerings.

I was served a Spring Bock-it was very light colored with no head. My first thought was uhhhh, what is this? It seemed way too light for a bock but the flavor, aroma and mouthfeel indicated that this was indeed a spring bock. Very nice beer but deceiving in appearence. Next up was the Pilsener. A light brownish color with malty nose and flavors.This is a well done and very quaffable beer. One of the better Pilseners I've had.

The food was great-I had trout with a nice white sauce and shrimp while my companion had a tofu something or other (she liked it!). It's good to see Zea serving good beer and food again. --

(03/26/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Lousy So So

Establishment: B and J Pizza, Corpus Christi, TX

Family style pizza joint in the front-beer bar in the back.

I sat at the bar and had a very mediocre experience. 1. 1st beer (Real Ale Coffee Porter) was to be served in a frozen glass. I had to ask to baratender for a room temp glass. 2. He didn’t offer me a menu when I sat down-I had to ask for one. 3. He asked me if I wanted another beer then proceeded to forget what I was drinking. I was one of only 5 people at the bar. 4. I had to get a coaster from another patron-he didn’t put one under my glass when served.

Overall, not a quality beer bar but then again it is CC-not beer heaven.

(03/05/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Boscos, Little Rock, AR

I visited here about two weeks ago. As usual it was very busy but I sat at the bar. Service overall was good as I got my beers and meal in good order. The crawfish cakes were very good. Beers: XXX-moderate bittering with little malt overtones. A good American Pale Ale

IPA-moderate head, light body, with medium hops. Smooth drinking beer.

Wee heavy-Coca Cola coloring with light head. Malty but served too cold. Turns in about 8.5%.

Batlic porter-black color, median head. Served too cold but warms up nicely. Best beer on the menu and comes in around 10%.

Overall a nice place for dinner and beers.

(03/05/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Great Great

Establishment: North by Northwest Restaurant and Brewery, Austin, TX

Stopped in on a weekday night recently. Sat outside-a little chilly but not bad. Had the IPA-first one I ever had here. A very nice beer similar to the Dogfish Head 60 minute. Had the barleywine/holiday ale-spiced and strong. Would have bought a growler but I had to fly back. The food was good-I had chicken pasta.

One issue-my companion ordered a top-shelf margarita. It was horrible. We both took one sip and cringed. The waitress took it back but it was still on our bill at checkout. That is not good service.

(12/15/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! N/A Great Great

Establishment: Draught House Pub and Brewery, Austin, TX

Stopped in on a recent weekday night. As usual very busy. I sat at the small bar-sort of strange as all the taps are right in front of you rather than at the back of the bar. Service was prompt-they were busy but the bartenders did chat for a minute when they had a bit of time. I had the house Saison-a little darker than most saisons I've had but very drinkable. I had the Live Oak Treehugger-a very nice barleywine I wish came in bottles for the cellar. A nice stopover a couple of times a year when I visit Austin.

(12/15/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Four Peaks Brewing Company, Tempe, AZ

I finally got back here after a hiatus of some time. Dropped in on a Wednesday night-it was as packed as I've ever seen it. This place seems to be more crowded every time I go.

Had the: Hefeweizen-great beer for the 100F day-well done.

Impale Ale (special) Hoppy yet light. Sort of an IPA/Pale ale offshoot-a very nice beer.

RAJ IPA-as usual a very drinkable IPA.

Had a great burger.

This place never fails to disappoint. Parking is getting difficult though with the growing crowds.

(05/15/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Good N/A N/A Great

Establishment: El Toro Brewing Company, Morgan Hill, CA

I had the fortunate experience of getting to visit El Toro again in February. As usual, all their beers were top-notch and the staff was very gracious. I managed to secure a bomber of their barley wine-still waiting for that "right" time to open it.

(04/18/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Great Good

Establishment: Oggi's Pizza and Brewing Company, Scottsdale, AZ

Despite my unfortunate experience a year ago here, I decided to give this place another try. The service was much better, as the bartender was very helpful. However, I had to ask what the specials were. They also still serve the beers in frozen glasses so ask for a room-temp glass when ordering.

Beer: Triple Belgium. Very good but a little cold. Clocked in around 9%.

IPA: Solid beer but served too cold.

Food: The wings were great-spicy and full of meat.

The establishment was fairly dead around happy hour on a Thursday. It seems to be off the beaten track as far as north Scottsdale is concerned. Oggis real estate team did not do a good job in placing this brewpub in the best location. IMO, I have this feeling that this place will not be here for the long term.

(02/27/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Great Great

Establishment: The Chimes East, Baton Rouge, LA

New, two-story building with plenty of parking (unlike the LSU Chimes) Very busy at 6pm, with lots of happy hour people in the bar area. We waited about 15 minutes for a table.

The beer taps and bottles are similar in number and variety as the LSU Chimes-lots of American macro and a decent selection of imports. They are very light on American micros.

All the beers that I had were fresh-Fransikaner (sp) HefeWeizen, Abita Dubblebock, and Maredsous 8. The food (raw oysters, fried shrimp, duck and sausage gumbo, red beans and rice) was all very good.

All in all, a good addition to the nightlife and desert wasteland of east Baton Rouge. I will return.

(02/02/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Rio Salado Brewing Company, Tempe, AZ

CLOSED-a big loss.

(12/12/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Great Good

Establishment: Jaxon's Restaurant and Brewing Company, El Paso, TX

This is a return trip. I had the: IPA- one of the better IPA's I've had. Recommeded.

Nitro stout: Well done, smooth, drinkable.

Out of brown ale. Sampled spicy light Xmas ale. Very thin with no followthrough. Not recommended.

Food was good. Overall a quality brewpub in the brewpub desert that is Texas.

(12/02/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Il Vicino Brewing Company and Tap Room, Albuquerque, NM

See my comments from a couple of years ago. I finally made back here fortunately. The crowd and the bartender are great. Beers: Cask IPA: very smooth, highly hopped but well balanced and drinkable.

Saison: Good rendention of a Belgium farmhouse ale. One of my favorite styles so I'm a sucker for a good saison-which this was. At 8% ABV, it went down nicely on a chilly evening.

Highly recommended.

(12/02/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A Good Great

Establishment: Barley's Smokehouse and Brewpub, Columbus, OH

Now no-smoking-great news.

Beers: Cask Scotch Ale: Great flavor & body with heavy malts and hops. Excellent.

Cask milk stout-a little thin for a stout but still very drinkable

IPA-thinner body but lots of hops and higher ABV. Very good.

Bartendress-not real friendly which seems to be a trend here if you're not a regular.

(10/13/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Good Great Good

Establishment: Rockslide Brewery, Grand Junction, CO

Very neighborhoody crowd for a downtown brewpub. The beers were of good quality but nothing was on tap that was off-the-chart. The bar service was very good and the bartender offered samples without asking.

Let's see-GJ has a great neighborhood brewpub and north Houston has????

(09/19/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Breckenridge Brewery, Breckenridge, CO

Frankly, it was just nice to come up to Breckenridge for a few days and get out of the Houston heat. The beers were overall good but nothing that was over the top. Unfortunately the small batch IPA was off tap. Cool, laid back place to quaff a few-doubly great considering it's within walking distance of my hotel.

(09/19/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Great Good

Establishment: BJ's Restaurant and Brewery, Chandler, AZ

Tried the ESB-fairly good to style but not particularly overwhelming. My buddy had the hefeweizen, which unfortunately we had to compare to the Hefeweizen which we just had at Rio Salado. No comparison....Rio Salado's kicked butt. I ended having a Rochefort 8 at the end of day, enough said...

The pizza was very good-deep dish filled with toppings.

(07/21/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A Great Great

Establishment: Rio Salado Brewing Company, Tempe, AZ

Stopped by for the first time in several months. Had the: Apricot Hefe: Marvelous concoction of Hefeweizen with just enough apricot to taste. Wonderfully hazy color and full-bodied. Great beer.

Hefeweizen-the original version is here. One of best HW you will find in Phoenix,if not the entire southwest US

Bought a liter bottle of Dubblebock (SP?). Nice full-bodied beer that was very drinkable. A little different....

(07/21/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Allagash Brewing Company, Portland, ME

I agree with most of the comments made below. The tour was very short and mostly uniformative-but that was OK because I their to sample their beers.

Well, they gave me one sample of the dubbel and didn't offer any others. They were also out of their special seasonal and the new 10 was still ageing so I did not get to sample or buy either one of those. I picked up a 750 of white, which I can get at home in 12oz bottles. Overall very disappointing.

(07/06/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good

Establishment: Sunday River Brewing Company, Bethel, ME

Went here twice while on vacation in NW Maine. We went for dinner one night and had tons of good food. The other time was in the middle of day just for beers. I lost my notes so this is from memory. It was very slow both times as this is a skiing area and most of their business is in the winter.

Lager-lighter but still very flavorful-especially during the very hot days we had.

IPA-more English style but very good.

I had a couple of other beers that were good but not memorable. Pleasant enough brewpub but don't go out of your way to go here.

(07/06/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Good Great Great

Establishment: Triple 7 Brewpub, Las Vegas, NV

I was here in mid-May and seem to have lost my notes. I had about 4 beers and remember that all of them were very good, particularly the barleywine. The fried fish was good too as was the service. I was pleasantly surprised at the quality of the beer.

(06/21/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Good Great Good

Establishment: Springfield Brewing Company, Springfield, MO

No reviews since 2003??? This brewpub hasn't changed much since my last review 2 years ago. It's still very clean, with a nice bar area and friendly barstaff.

All the beers were served too cold.

Maibock-served in a tulip glass. High ABV,very malty, but it had to warm up before the (nice) flavors came through.

Kolsch: medium body and malts. Good summer style beer.

Brown Ale: very dark color. Malty, nutty taste but done well (after it warmed up to 45F!!)

This is a nice place to spend some time while in Springfield but the beer doesn't meet up to some of the world class standards that might be expected on the coasts. Temper you expectations and you'll be pleased.

(06/16/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Great Great

Establishment: Vino's, Little Rock, AR

Still the funky little dive and holding up well.

Had the following beers: IPA-heavy hop, light malt and highly drinkable. Not too bad.

Octoberfest: very malty and smooth. A little different but still good.

Bock: very dark color, with a sharp/tangy taste and high ABV. Not sure about this but it was nice.

Pizza was great-I had to give 1/2 of it away.

Good place to go when in LR-definitely not in the style of your chain brewpubs.

(06/16/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Great N/A

Establishment: Gordon Biersch Brewing Company, Las Vegas, NV

I had 2 beers and food. The server was great, pouring me a full sampler without even me asking-great job.

Hefeweizen-good to style and well brewed.

Can't remember the other but I didn't finish it-too late at night.

Food was good. Typical GB restaurant/brewpup.

(06/13/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So N/A Good Good

Establishment: Tenaya Creek Brewery and Restaurant, Las Vegas, NV

I hate to punish a brewpub because 99% of them are better than the mass-lagers produced by budmillercoors. This place is a step above that in the beer and imagination-but not by much.

The Hefeweizen was served in a frozen glass but it was fairly good to style.

The IPA was served in such a small sample glass that is was difficult to properly taste. Very light body, low ABV.

Kolsch-served in a frozen glasss, very carbonated, light body and with a very "moderate" taste.

I concur with one of the previous reviewers that this is a sterile atmosphere (at least in the bar area) but better than sitting at the house watching Gilligan's Island reruns. Overall could be better but the big question is how much leaway does the brewer have in his/her recipes?

(06/13/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great

Establishment: Big Dog's Brewing Company was Draft House Barn and Casino, Las Vegas, NV

10 beers on tap. Stopped by late afternoon. Had the Belgian White Ale served very cold. Good to style.

Weinzenbock sample. well done, high ABV.

Tailwagger Wheat. Good American style unfiltered wheat for the heat.

Would go back here.

(06/13/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Blue Star Brewing Company, San Antonio, TX

We went there a couple of weeks ago. There are now about 6-8 beers on tap, but the King William was not on tap. The cask IPA and regular IPA were very good. We all had good dishes and the service was good outside. Glad to see the beers are back on....

(05/04/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Great Good

Establishment: Barley's Smokehouse and Brewpub, Columbus, OH

I always try to get by here when I'm in Columbus. It does have a neighborhood feel but I've never been uncomfortable here.

Both casks were on-The Brown ale was decent. I didn't try the stout. The Scotch Ale was very good (and potent). The brewer assistant was tending bar and was very busy so he didn't have time to talk-although he was friendly enough.

Just a nice, laid-back place to have some quality brews and some guest beers as well.

(03/27/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great

Establishment: Papago Brewing, Scottsdale, AZ

I had two beers: Double IPA that had been "randalled". Very hoppy (duh) and a little over-carbonated. Very drinkable though.

Ale Smith Old Numbskull on cask. Great beer served at the proper temp. Tulip glass required for this high ABV dynamo.

Service was good at the bar. Good place for beer and conversation.

(03/21/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Zona Brewing Company was The Cowboy, Scottsdale, AZ

I finally got back here after a few months away. The name change hasn't changed the quality of the beer. The beers:

Hefeweizen-very nice, German-style beer. One of the better Hefeweizen beers you will find on tap at any brewpub.

Belgium Trippel-very sweet and smooth, particularly at 8.9%!

Doppelbock-very dark, big bodied beer. Nice styling at 7.6% ABV. Great beer.

Liz was great at the bar. This is one of the better brewpubs in the valley and in the SW US.

(03/21/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great

Establishment: Nimbus Brewing Company, Tucson, AZ

This rating is actually between great and good-depends on the beer.

Rye Pale Ale-served very cold. Crisp and bitter, with medium hops and rye tastes. Nice refreshing beer.

Old Monkeyshine-sort of a cross between a barleywine and strong ale. Very dark and malty that is drinkable despite the 8.2% ABV. Good beer.

Dunkel Weizen: Very sweet and malty but the body is light for this style. Not a bad beer though.

Overall the quality of the beers is good enough for a stop here when in Tucson-just make sure you go during daylight if you've never been here. It's very difficult to find at night (and with the ongoing road construction it is double difficult to find).

(03/07/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good

Establishment: Gentle Ben's Brewing Company, Tucson, AZ

I went during a weekday evening and sat at the bar. Service was good. I had an:

IPA-very good beer, true to the west-coast over-the-top hoppy style. 8% ABV.

Nut Brown- 6% ABV. Malty, sweetish beer the was very drinkable. Not my favorite style.

Raspberry-good for this style.

Pale Ale-lighter beer but nice hoppiness. Not bad.

Overall this place brews good beer but other than the IPA there is nothing that really stands out.

(03/07/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Awesome!

Establishment: McCoy's Public House and Brewkitchen, Kansas City, MO

McCoys' beer has improved immensely since my last visit.

IPA-served too cold, very hoppy and bitter and no balance. Still a good brew, particularly for hop-heads.

Imperial (double) IPA. light gold and hazy. Heavily hopped and high ABV this beer stacks right up there with any of the California beers of this style. Super beer!!!!

Belgium Red Ale-very dark, wine colored and bitter/tart in the style of the the Flemish reds. What a find!! This was the best beer I've ever had here (and one that you don't find at many brewpubs) Good job.

The pot roast was excellent-fork tender and more than enough food.

This was the first time in my several trips to KC that McCoys outranked 75th St. Brewery (mostly because of McCoys improvements-these guys are definitely going in the right direction.

(02/28/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Great Great

Establishment: 75th Street Brewery, Kansas City, MO

I didn't get the tall, skinny chick for a server at the bar so the night started out well.

Unfortunately the cask engine was broken so no cask beers that night.

The Brown was very dark and a little bitter with a touch of acetyl at the end. A passable beer.

The Pale Ale looked and tasted like an IPA but with a little less hop taste. This was a good, well-balance beer.

Dortmunder-I don't drink many of these as you rarely see them brewed. It was golden, slightly hazy, but very malty with a touch of spice. Very nice, full-bodied beer.

The pizza was very good. 75th St. still seems to be consistent with the beer and food.

It was a major smokefest at the bar though with inadequate ventilation. I stunk of smoke after leaving. I guess you pays your money.....

(02/28/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Great Great

Establishment: Flat Branch Pub and Brewing, Columbia, MO

I have not seen a decrease in the quality of this establishment's beers.

The cask ESB is a strong, hoppy, well balanced beer. This is the best beer on tap.

The IPA was served a little cold but as it warmed up the great taste came through.

The cask Irish Red was heavily malted with a high ABV. Served in a pilsner glass (?). well done.

The bar area is large and very clean with attentive service. I would greatly appreciate if they would move to Houston.

(02/28/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Great Awesome!

Establishment: Ginger Man, Austin, TX

Ditto most of the (good) comments below.

Great outdoors seating area in the back, particularly yesterday when the temp. hit 80F (eat your hearts out Yankees!!!)

Great jukebox..

I had two beers the first time I went in last night ( I went twice in one night!). The bartender actually sent me over a sample without me even asking-touch of class and great bartending there. Great setting for drinking beer and hanging out. Have fun...

(02/16/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Independence Brewing Company, Austin, TX

I had the pale ale and the brown ale at Gingerman in Austin. The Pale Ale was served very cold but the tastes still came through. Not much smell but this beer is well balanced and with enough hops for the hophead in ya..

Brown ale-very sweet, this beer has a lot of body and is very drinkable nontheless. Not a session beer in any sense..

Overall Independence seems to be on the right track-hopefully they'll continue to brew other styles. Good job guys..

(02/16/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Bitter End Bistro and Brewery, Austin, TX

Went here on a Tuesday night-the main bar/restaurant area was as slow as I've ever seen it. The "B" side was quite busy though.

Beers: Belgian-style farmhouse ale. Very good-musty, aromatic, spicy..a great experiment worthy of Belgium.

Whisky stout-WOW. This is one great beer, with some Belgium-style overtones. Very nice.

The pizza was good-my buddy had a good burger.

BE is still turning out a great combo of beer and food..Stop by sometimes and enjoy.

(02/16/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: New Belgium Brewing Company, Fort Collins, CO

I had the 1554 at the Flying Saucer in Addison, TX on keep the glass night. I was a little disappointed in the flavor, which I thought was a little on the thin side. I think overall probably a middle-of-the-road beer for NB.

(02/08/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Live Oak Brewing Company, Austin, TX

I had the Liberation on tap at the Flying Saucer in Addison, TX. Heavy malty overtones with a strong alcohol bite. Great winter beer.

I've had most of their beers and these guys make great beer..let's bottle it now!!!!

(02/08/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Dogfish Head Craft Brewery, Milton, DE

Two comments. We're getting several of the Dogfish Head beers in the Houston area now. This is definitely one of the best micro's in the U.S. A little pricier than most micros but the quality is first rate.

2nd, I had the India Brown Ale on tap at the Flying Saucer in Addison, TX. This is a top-notch beer but, to my surprise, it differed very little from the bottled version. And it was the first beer of the night so my judgment was not yet impaired.

Keep up the great beer and please don't stop shipping to Texas despite the under-my-thumb tendancies of TABC.

(02/08/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Awesome!

Establishment: Four Peaks Brewing Company, Tempe, AZ

Lucky me-I got to go here twice in 3 weeks. The beers are still top-notch, especially the Hop Knot and IPA. The cask Pale Ale was particularly tasty.

The food is excellent and not typical brew-pub fare-check out the specials.

4 Peaks continues with their consistent quality of beer, especially considering that they are now bottling beer and have opened a second 4 Peaks in Scottsdale. Keep up the great work.

(02/08/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Good Great Great

Establishment: Second Street Brewery, Santa Fe, NM

Went here last week with 3 coworkers. Very crowded for a cold and snowy night.

Had to have the IPA-just a great beer as advertised so I had two.

Bitter-nice English style beer true to style.

Porter-similar to a Russian Imperial stout. What a superb winter warmer.

Definitely a must for the readers of Pubcrawler.

The food was good, not great.

The clientele, well...I'm a happy hippy, take a little trippy...Welcome to Santa Fe.

(02/08/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A Lousy So So

Establishment: Oggi's Pizza and Brewing Company, Scottsdale, AZ

I have several comments about Oggis. First of all I was looking forward to visiting this chain, particularly given the superb quality of beers that I had at the 2004 GABF. The location is a little funky, with no direct exit from the freeway.

Secondly, I went around 5 pm to watch rush hour go by. I ordered a double IPA from the rather young bartender. He proceeded to pour it into a FROZEN glass. I asked him to re-pour a beer into a room temperature glass. He then told me that he had been a bartender for 7 years and had never heard of beer being served otherwise! He asked me 3 times if I wanted him to pour out the beer and re-serve it-I said Yes on all 3 accounts. Mr. double-earring came on real strong with the attitude that I should drink the beer as he poured it-not as 1) it should be poured and 2) as me, the customer, would like it. I told him that I had been drinking beer longer than he had been alive and had visited hundreds of brewpubs/breweries/beer bars world wide and quite possibly might know a little more about the "frozen glass syndrom" (which I thought was Texas born and bred).

Needless to say I drank my beer (which by the way was very good) and got out of this place as soon as possible and went to 4 Peaks down the road. Maybe this is why the happy hour at Oggi's had about 10 customers while 4 Peaks was packed. Suffice to say I'll not go out of my way to visit this place again.

This is not the way to make a first impression for a new brewpub anywhere.

(01/14/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Great Great

Establishment: Tap Werks Ale House and Cafe, Oklahoma City, OK

My buddy and I had a great time at the trivia contest a few weeks ago. Nice selection of Belgium ales and a good selection of other beers.

My complaint is the extreme smokiness and lack of ventilation in the bar. Major red-eye when you leave this place.

(01/04/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Matthias' Restaurant and Pub, Houston, TX

I went by this place on Saturday night, December 18 and it was closed. Is this permanent???

(12/29/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: New Glarus Brewing Company, New Glarus, WI

I managed to score a couple of 750's of Raspberry Tart thanks to a very good friend. This "Wisconsin champagne" is a wonderful beer in the best Belgium style. Can't wait to get some of the other brews from New Glarus. Great job.

(12/20/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great

Establishment: The Chimes Restaurant and Tap Room, Baton Rouge, LA

The best selection of beers in BR, although there are too many "standard" beers on the menu. This place is always busy and the "scenery" is always tantalizing. The gumbo was awesome. Parking is a major issue here. The place to go in BR for brews and food.

(12/13/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Great Great

Establishment: Flying Saucer, San Antonio, TX

Typical FS-about 75 taps and twice as many bottles. A good selection of Texas beers and pleased to find Real Ale Coffee Porter on tap. Drink this beer!!! Very busy for Wednesday keep-the-glass-night. I got a nice metal Bass mug-the beer was nothing to speak of but the mug was nice.

(11/23/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Great Great

Establishment: Flying Saucer, Little Rock, AR

Typical Flying Saucer with a great selection of beers, both draft and bottled. They have a good variety of local and regional beers not found in the Texas FS's.

(11/23/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Great Great Good

Establishment: Boscos, Little Rock, AR

I have mixed feelings about Boscos. I've been to Boscos in Nashville and consider it one of the best brewpubs I've visited anywhere. So I had high hopes for this Boscos-unfortunately I was let down.

Beers: IPA-not a good beer with a very strong acetyl overtones.

Cask scotch ale: very strong alcohol smell, smooth taste with good body. Good but not great beer.

chocolate cream ale taster: what is this? No chocolate taste, no body, very light flavors. Glad I got the taster.

stout: Very bitter with moderate body. Probably the best beer on tap.

The beers are very sporadic as tasted. I know this is a newer brewpub so I hold out hope that the beers will be more consistent throughout the lineup.

(11/23/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A Good Great

Establishment: The Dodging Duck Brewhaus, Boerne, TX

I stopped by for a couple of beers last week during the late afternoon. It wasn't very busy. I sat out on the front porch-great view but the traffic was noisy.

Beers: ESB-well done and very flavorable. Porter-nice dark color, burnt taste with medium hops and malt. Good beer.

The price of the beers didn't bother me much-I agree with the previous writer on macro vs micros.

(11/23/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Zea Rotisserie and Brewery, Metairie, LA

By far the finest brewpub in the New Orleans area. I stopped by on a weeknight and had the following beers.

Lager: darker, unfiltered, very rich with nice malty overtones. Very nice beer.

IPA: served too cold-once it warmed up it was very dry, medium hopped with a good clean, crisp taste.

Strong Ale-Lighter body than the name suggests but more in the American Pale Ale style. well done

Barleywine-served a little too cold. Slightly sweet but not cloying. I think it was spiced. Quite warming. This was a great beer-a 10 oz. serving.

Food-The lamb was excellent. Well spiced and very tender.

If in New Orleans/Metairie, this place is a treat. Enjoy.

(10/28/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So So So Great So So

Establishment: Blue Star Brewing Company, San Antonio, TX

I returned to SA this past week on business and as usual stopped in at Blue Star. Not much has changed since my last visit-unfortunately. The place was dead with only 5-6 people in the restaurant/bar area. Only 4 beers were offered, with no cask or King William.

I had: Wheathead: American style unfiltered wheat. Passable.

Pale Ale: decent hops with a lighter body. Good beer

Stout: Good mouth and body but the flavor was lacking and the taste didn't last. Drinkable but not memorable.

Food: I had the lamb, usually a great meal. This time the lamb chops were extremely fatty and I left several bites on the plate. Disappointing.

Blue Star is no longer a "must stop" when in San Antonio. It's going in the wrong direction and the owner is now in the bike rental business too. Bad sign.

(09/17/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Assets Grille Brewing Company, Albuquerque, NM

I had two beers: Cask IPA-not overly hopped but perfect temp. and very drinkable

Hefeweizen-nice German-style Hefe that fits the style well.

Food-pasta with mushrooms that was very rich and filling.

(09/13/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Blue Corn Cafe and Brewery, Albuquerque, NM

I had two beers: Saison-A good attempt a the saison/farmhouse Belguim style (see Dupont). Not as overly pronounced or spiced as most Belgium saisons but a nice beer nevertheless.

Rye-A style that I rarely see or try, it was very flavorable and well-bodied. Not much to compare it to but very drinkable.

The food was good. The bar was very dark and not given to chatter.

(09/13/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Il Vicino Brewing Company and Tap Room, Albuquerque, NM

A small tap room with outside seating. They had vanilla stout on cask-smooth, loaded with vanilla- very good beer.

Friendly employees and customers-highly recommended.

(09/03/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Avery Brewing Company, Boulder, CO

I had the Avery IPA on cask at the Flying Saucer in Addison (Dallas) TX. What a great, smooth, drinkable beer-I had to have 2! Just another in the superb line of Avery beers. Good job guys.

(08/20/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Great Awesome!

Establishment: Flying Saucer, Addison, TX

I've been coming here since they opened. The breadth and depth of beers is as good as you will find anywhere. The bartenders (Doug has been behind the bar for ages) will serve up samples if asked without complaint.

I stopped by Wednesday night and, to my surprise, the St. Arnold cask engine was supplanted by Avery IPA. Wow! What a find. Just a wonderful beers and indicative of their great lineup of beers. Good job Avery-we're glad to have you in Texas.

(08/20/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Two Rows Restaurant and Brewery, Dallas, TX

Started out with a Hefeweizen. More styled toward a Belgium white in taste and color. Lighter body and flavor but well done.

Hopzilla-solid IPA and heavily hopped.

Barleywine-served in a 10 oz glass-waitress said it was 10% abv. Very sweet, syrupy and took some time to get used to it. One was enough.

Route 66-Heavily malted and very dark colored beer. Similar to a Scottish Ale but with some strange overtones.

Pizza was good.

(08/20/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Humperdink's Restaurant and Brewery, Addison, TX

The beers seemed to have improved a bit from the previous visit a few months ago.

Hefeweizen-always the best and most consistent beer.

Red-not the "Red" style but actually an IPA. Highly hopped, smooth, and well balanced.

Porter-Lighter body, burnt flavors, drinkable.

All around good beers with the Hefe headed toward great. The $2/20 oz. price is a good bargain.

(08/20/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Bitter Root Brewing, Hamilton, MT

I bought a 22 oz. bottle of the IPA while visiting Big Sky. This is a great beer, very hoppy but balanced enough so the the hops don't completely overwhelm the beer. I've two more Bitter Roots in my frig. waiting for me. Can't wait to try those also.

(08/16/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great

Establishment: North by Northwest Restaurant and Brewery, Austin, TX

The quality of beer has improved dramatically since my last visit. All the beers have much better body, flavor, mouthfeel, etc.

Hefeweizen-German style Hefe, nice cloudy color, a little undercarbonated and could have been a bit colder. Overall a good beer

Bock-Big malt flavor, strong ABV, solid body beer. Well done.

Black-a style that I rarely drink. very dark and well balanced. A nice tasting, very flavorable beer.

I'll put this place back on my frequent visit list if the beers continue to improve.

(08/16/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Saint Arnold Brewing Company, Houston, TX

St. Arnold has finally brewed an IPA!! Try the Alyssa IPA-it's a wonderful brew by the best microbrewery in Texas. Good job

(08/02/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Barley's Brewhaus and Restaurant, Overland Park, KS

Barley's has a huge tap and bottle selection with a decent selection of local micros and German beers. It probably has too many American macros to qualify as a true "beer finders" pub but for this part of KC they do a good job.

The ribs were good too.

(07/23/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Good Great

Establishment: 75th Street Brewery, Kansas City, MO

Went on a day when it was 95F outside-the A/C was not working properly and it was very warm in the bar area. Beers; Cask brown-a little light on mouthfeel, but very tasty and served at the proper temp.

Hefeweizen-well done-tasted great in a hot bar.

IPA-very good. Hopped well but good balance and very drinkable.

The pizza was good-especially at happy hour prices.

The bartender had a crappy attitude-and her tip reflected it.

This place continues to have a great combination of beer and food. Now let's get the A/C fixed.

(07/21/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Wynkoop Brewing Company, Denver, CO

I've been coming here for several years and Wynkoop is very consistent with the beer and food. My last visit in late June:

ESB cask-a little light on the body, but smooth and well balanced.

Strong English Bitter-in a firkin. 5 stars. Super hopped, lots of legs, high ABV. Great beer.

IPA. good nose, soapy head, good temp. First taste was strange but OK from then on.

Citrus ale sample-golden, fizzy, lighter but well done for it's style. A pint would have been too much.

Service was great as the bartender served all the samples I asked for.

Good job.

(07/21/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So Great Great Great

Establishment: Blue Star Brewing Company, San Antonio, TX

Unfortunately there were only 3 beers on tap when I was there a couple of weeks ago-and none of them were the cask. I had: Lager-solid drink for this style-but the cask lager I had in the past puts this to shame. Stout-well done-this was the my favorite for the night and was able to try a couple Pale Ale-a little on the light side for me. I've had more flavorful beers of this style here.

The food was good-my guest and I both finished our plates.

Here's hoping for a better selection next time I visit.

(07/14/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Great Great

Establishment: Roosters 25th Street Brewing Company, Ogden, UT

More emphasis on the restaurant side-the food was very good as was the wait staff. The beers-Pale Ale. Good for it's style. Hefeweizen-a little light for me but drinkable. Given the constraints of the Utah laws, these beers were well done. A nice place to bring the family.

(07/12/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Old Chicago, Bozeman, MT

Good selection of Montana/Wyoming micros. About 30 taps and 100 bottles. The pizzas were good also. Nice place to bring the kids.

(07/12/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Good Great

Establishment: Wolf Pack Brewing Company, West Yellowstone, MT

Had 3 beers: Hefeweizen-more like a Belgium White but very good. Alt-nice for the style Helles-lighter style but well done.

Out of the way for any normal beer tour but worth stopping if in the Yellowstone area.

(07/12/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great N/A Great Good

Establishment: Rock Bottom Brewery, Scottsdale, AZ

Like a lot of beer drinkers posting on this site, I am always wary of large chain brewpubs. But the two beers I had were very good. IPA-solid beer, hoppy with good body.

California Commons-A steam beer with good body and super hopped. Not sure about where the name came from-the waiter had no clue.

(06/11/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Great Great

Establishment: Zona Brewing Company was The Cowboy, Scottsdale, AZ

First of all, this brewpub is not closing. The beers are very good. I had the Dunkel Weizen which has medalled at the GABF. This is a great beer and one of the best brewed in the Phoenix area.

Helles-very crisp and cold. Excellent lager.

(06/11/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Great Great

Establishment: SunUp Brewing was Sonora Brewhouse, Phoenix, AZ

I stopped by in the early afternoon. Had the cask Pale Ale. Well done, proper temperature and very drinkable.

(06/11/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Bitter End Bistro and Brewery, Austin, TX

Bitter End has one of the best combinations of food and beer in any brewpub in the SW U.S.

Beers:

Pils-this is what an American pils should taste like IPA: Not as hoppy as some of the CAL brews but very drinkable and balanced. Pale Ale-a slightly milder and less hoppy version of the IPA-well done.

This place continues to be very consistent with their beer quality and food. Good job

(05/21/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great

Establishment: Zea Rotisserie and Brewery, Metairie, LA

Just checking my notes and forgot to add this from February. Beers are still very good and consistent from the other times I've been here. These beers would fit in with any good brewpub scene throughout the U.S.

(05/11/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Good Great

Establishment: Prescott Brewing Company, Prescott, AZ

I was there with 3 co-workers. I asked the waiter if they had a cask-conditioned beer-he said "what's that?" I told him to go ask his brewmaster. Not a great start! (they had no cask ales).

I did have several beers though. IPA-very dry, hoppy, lighter style. Nice.

Brown Ale-full flavored, good head, true to style.

Porter-very good, full bodied.

Overall very good beer. Definitely would go back.

(04/19/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Great Great

Establishment: BJ's Restaurant and Brewhouse, Houston, TX

We went here on Valentines day. According to the bartender, BJ's beers are contract-brewed by St. Arnolds. They do not brew on-premises. Of course the quality was first rate, especially the Porter.

(03/24/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Good Great

Establishment: Four Peaks Brewing Company, Tempe, AZ

Barleywine on cask-wow. My first and last beer of the night. Well done

IPA-still very nice

Kiltlifter-seemed better than ever

Hop Knot-for the hop head but very drinkable.

These guys just keep on kickin' out the great brews. Best brewpub in AZ.

(02/28/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Good Great

Establishment: Nimbus Brewing Company, Tucson, AZ

Beer only: Porter on nitro-wonderful beer. Smooth but with a nice ABV that hits the spot.

Pale ale-true to style-very dry and hoppy.

Good place to chill with the locals.

(02/28/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Great Great

Establishment: Flat Branch Pub and Brewing, Columbia, MO

I visited this brewery for the 1st time last week-with luck it won't be the last.

Started with the Cask ESB-very bitter, medium hops, dark copper color-very drinkable and smooth.

1997 Imperial Stout-wow! so smooth, high ABV, very dark. Wonderfully aged beer.

Cask Porter-burnt taste, no head, high ABV. Excellent beer.

British IPA-mild, true to style.

Green Chile sample-could not drink a pint of this. Well done for it's style but I'm not a fan of chilied beers.

Good pizza too. I definitely will come back here if I'm ever in Columbia again. Well done.

(01/26/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Great Great

Establishment: Schlafly (aka The Saint Louis Brewery Tap Room), Saint Louis, MO

I had 4 beers: APA Cask-very smooth, hoppy, a little thin on the mouth. Overall very good.

Stout-very tasty, a little light and served too cold. Good beer

Barleywine-served at proper temp-sweet but drinkable. 16oz served for a high ABV beer-who's complaining? Very nice.

I had beef stew-great food on a cold night. This is a nice place with a great selection of brews.

(01/21/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Great Great

Establishment: Bull and Bush Pub and Brewery, Denver, CO

I had the Man Beer, actually a cask-conditioned IPA. This is a great beer that goes down almost too smoothly-you want to chug it!! I had the black lager-very nice for a style you rarely see at a brewpub.

The food was OK, not great.

Now if they can do something about the extremely smoky premises-it really is annoying. This is one of the smokiest bars I've ever been in. Good job otherwise.

(01/13/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: River Market Brewing Company, Kansas City, MO

I just wanted to followup on Dan's comments. Both times that I've been in here it seemed like the clientele at the bar were all freinds of the bartendress. Sort of a street/biker/tatoo club-not the most comfortable of atmospheres. Thanks for the warning about the tip. There are too many other nice brewpubs in KC to put up with that crap.

(11/25/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Wynkoop Brewing Company, Denver, CO

Had all 3 cask conditioned beers. Strong Ale: Very dark beer, light head, high ADV. Great brew.

IPA: Still very nice. very smooth, medium IBU. Well done.

ESB: served at the correct temp. great head, high ABV. Nice beer.

Frambozen: Very light, rather tasteless. Stick to the Belgium Frambozens (or New Belgium's).

Had the pot roast. Very hearty and tasteful.

(11/17/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A Great Great

Establishment: Pint's Pub, Denver, CO

Had both cask conditioned beers. IPA: very mild, not super-hoppy. Very drinkable. Well done.

ESB: also on the milder side. Well balanced, nice beer.

(11/17/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Great Great

Establishment: Heavenly Daze, Denver, CO

Had 3 beers: IPA-extremely hoppy, good head/legs, well done. Served a little cold for my taste.

ESP-well balanced, a little thin, very drinkable

Brown: High ABV, well done

Food: Calzone-OK but not great. Lots of it though.

(11/17/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Blue Star Brewing Company, San Antonio, TX

Beer: Cask pale ale-well done, tasty Stout-sweet and very drinkable Autumnfest-nice thick lager in the Octoberfest style

Definitely the place for good beer in SA. Low key, good food, good service at the bar.

(11/07/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Great Great

Establishment: Hub City Brewing Company, Lubbock, TX

Went on a Tuesday night-not real crowded. Most of the people in the brewpub were at the bar.

Beers: American Pale Ale-bronze GABF 2003. Very hoppy, dark gold color, no head,much richer than most APA's I've had. Very good.

Stout-A little thin, no head. Nice tasting beer though.

Helles: clear golden beer, lighter in flavor. I've not had many Helles beers but this was flavorful.

Red: Well balanced, not my favorite style. This was well done though not great.

Overall a nice establishment. Lubbock is lucky to have a quality brewpub such as Hub City.

(10/29/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Great Great

Establishment: The Old Monk, Dallas, TX

This bar has about 15 beers on tap and about100 bottles. As big a Belgium selection as you're going to find in Texas. Most of the Belgium ales are the mainstream variety (Chimay, Duval, Orval, Hoogarden) but, in Texas, this is reaching out. We had a great server, sat outside in the pleasant fall weather (albeit right next to the street) and enjoyed the brews. Nice place to hang out.

(10/10/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Great Great

Establishment: Barley's Smokehouse and Brewpub, Columbus, OH

I had 3 cask beers: Both the Scottish Ale and Pale Ale were very good, although a little cold. The Russian Imperial Stout was also good but a little thin for the style.

The food is good, not great.

The bar area gets very smoky-typical Ohio and midwest smokefest.

Definitely would go back for the great beer.

(09/29/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Belle Isle Brewery, Oklahoma City, OK

Went in at happy hour. Had a stout-nice tasting but too cold. Hefeweizen-well done but a little low on the ABV. Octoberfest-a little thin and not enough ABV for this style. Operating under the antiquated OK beer laws limits this brewpub-they do try hard though.

(09/22/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Great Good

Establishment: River City Brewing Company, Wichita, KS

This was my second trip to River City. The stout, as before, was by far their best beer-very drinkable. The brown ale was good but not memorable. I sampled the wheat-an American style that was very light and slightly hazy.

Food: Had the beef stew which was very good.

I'll go back next time in Wichita.

(09/22/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Great Good

Establishment: Gentle Ben's Brewing Company, Tucson, AZ

We were in town for the football game and went here before the game. It was packed but the service was still good.

Their IPA is very good as was their stout. It seems that the beers have vastly improved since my last visit.

(09/09/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great

Establishment: Zea Rotisserie and Brewery, Metairie, LA

I agree with Ken-good LA brewpubs are a rarity so take advantage of Zea.

I stopped in around 5PM on a weekday. The bar area was empty but the restaurant was busy. The bartender (what was her name??) was great.

I tried:

Raspberry Wheat sample. A good beer if you're into that type of beer. A couple on a hot summer's day wouldn't hurt anyone.

IPA-served a little too cold. But once it warmed to the proper temp, the taste came through. Very hoppy, bitter, great smell and mouth. Super beer.

Lager-very heavy for a lager. Higher ABV, this is what a real lager should taste like. Well done.

Category 5 strong ale. This is the second time I've had this beer. It is strong but I'm not sure what the style is. Sort of a tweener beer but still a good brew.

My last post was deleted in the Pubcrawler server outage-I want to thank Patrick for the brewery tour back in February. Keep up the great work.

(08/11/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Great Good

Establishment: Abita Brewing Company, Abita Springs, LA

I've been to this "brewpub" several times. The beer is brewed off premises at the nearby brewery and not on-site.

There were about 8 beers on the board-unfortunately the cask was off. I did try:

English bitter: served WAY too cold which pretty much killed off the taste.

Turbo Dog: old standby. This is better than the bottled Dog and a pleasant drink.

Andy Gator: Served in a wine glass this wasn't as potent or as flavorful as I remember from times past. Served too cold.

Food: Stuffed seafood eggplant. Delicious.

I always go back here when in the area-just don't expect an "A" style brewpub but it's great for this area.

(08/11/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Great Good

Establishment: Abita Brewing Company, Abita Springs, LA

I've been to this "brewpub" several times. The beer is brewed off premises at the nearby brewery and not on-site.

There were about 8 beers on the board-unfortunately the cask was off. I did try:

English bitter: served WAY too cold which pretty much killed off the taste.

Turbo Dog: old standby. This is better than the bottled Dog and a pleasant drink.

Andy Gator: Served in a wine glass this wasn't as potent or as flavorful as I remember from times past. Served too cold.

Food: Stuffed seafood eggplant. Delicious.

I always go back here when in the area-just don't expect an "A" style brewpub but it's great for this area.

(08/11/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Jaxon's Restaurant and Brewing Company, El Paso, TX

We went on a Friday night late with the family.

I had an IPA-excellent, very hoppy, a little cold English Mild Bitter-wonderful hazy yellow color-well done

The food was very good and the service was OK-the waitress didn't know her beers and I had to go to the bar to get a list. I definitely would go back.

(08/05/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: El Toro Brewing Company, Morgan Hill, CA

I agree with everything the reviewer below,Jim Smith, says, even though he's originally from Louisiana and grew up drinking Jax and Dixie. I've been here 3 times and this taproom is a great getaway from the smog and congestion of the Blah Area. There are just no bad, or even mediocre, beers here. They are all first class drinks.

(07/23/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Great Good

Establishment: Assets Grille Brewing Company, Albuquerque, NM

Went in on a weekday night-I sat at the bar. The brewpub was not busy, either in the bar area or in the restaurant.

Food: Vegy pizza. Not that great. Not nearly enough toppings for me.

Beer: Pale Ale-very clean, crisp, well filtered and drinkable. Not really memorable but good.

Stout-served too cold but once it warmed up it was wonderful. Good job.

Brown: way too carbonated and lacking body and substance. Try again.

Overall, this is essentially the same beer styles they've served over the years. Good enough to keep coming back but not memorable.

(07/14/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great

Establishment: Il Vicino Brewing Company and Tap Room, Albuquerque, NM

Small taproom in an industrial area. They distribute the beers to various Il Vicino's in the area. The small room was filled toward the end of the day with locals. Beers: IPA-One of the better IPA's I've had. Very hoppy, bitter, good beer.

Brown: Served a little cold, but well done.

Red: I've not had too many "reds" as it's usually a throwaway style but this was very malty and tasty.

Hefeweizen sample-tasted like a Belgium white.

(07/14/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Michigan Brewing Company, Webberville, MI

I've had the newly brewed Celis White in bottles and on tap. The bottled White tastes somewhat between when Celis White first started brewing in Austin with Pierre and when Miller screwed up the beer. It's a very tasty Belgium white perfect for the hot summers in Texas.

I had it on tap twice, both times at the Flying Saucer in Addison, TX. The tap version is much smoother and more flavorful than the bottles. I did a taste test (not blind) against Hogaarden and there was no comparison. Hogaarden had virtually no flavor compared to the Celis White. I'm sure that Pierre can't be thrilled to see what Interbrew did to his once great beer.

Thank you to Michigan Brewing for bringing Celis beer back and for taking the trouble to get it distributed to southeast Texas. It's been too long without.

(07/03/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great

Establishment: Ironworks Brewery and Pub, Lakewood, CO

Low key, no frills, neighborhood brewpub. I visited on a weekday afternoon and it was moderately busy.

I had 3 beers: Alt-very nice, quaffable, smooth. I don't drink many Alts but this might change my mind.

IPA-high ABV, served a little cold for my tastes. Not highly hopped, no head, but very drinkable.

ESB-again, a little cold but good body and very flavorful. Nice beer.

This place is off the beaten path but recommended for their good beers and laid back atmosphere. I will be back.

(06/30/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: River Market Brewing Company, Kansas City, MO

Stopped by at 5pm-only a small happy hour "crowd". I wonder when these guys do business?

3 beers on tap- Filtered wheat-not bad for a summer brew. Pale ale-very good but they were having trouble with tap and couldn't get it working when I wanted another. "Red"-didn't try this one.

Don't go out of your way for this place.

(06/23/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: McCoy's Public House and Brewkitchen, Kansas City, MO

IPA-very nice, not too cold Stout-tasted off Brown-still thin

Food: Pot roast, still good.

(06/23/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Great Great

Establishment: 75th Street Brewery, Kansas City, MO

Ditto from the last time.

They had a Belgium Wit on tap-very much in the Pierre Celis style.

The Cask IPA was on tap-still tasty.

Food: Fried Catfish, lightly breaded and very good.

(06/23/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Mill Creek Brewery and Restaurant, Kansas City, MO

CLOSED.

(06/23/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Great Great

Establishment: SunUp Brewing was Sonora Brewhouse, Phoenix, AZ

The bar area was filled with locals when I arrived around 5:30 on a weekday. I had a cask kolsch which was excellent-perfect temperature. Also had the IPA which was very good too. Sampled the stout, an excellent version similar in style and potency to a Russian Imperial Stout. This one sneaks up on you. Food: I had an excellent Rueben. I will definitely go back next time I'm in Phoenix.

(02/03/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Good

Establishment: Rio Salado Brewing Company, Tempe, AZ

This is a micro in an industrial area-not a "hot spot" as far as the discoteque scene but typical of most micros I've run across. Mostly locals as the slick bar buzzards won't put this on their list of crawls.

They have a nice, comfortable set-up with a couple of rooms of tables and a smallish bar area.

Beers: Hefewiezen was very nice and tasted similar to many good German wheat beers I've had. Spring Bock-lighter color beer that packed an 8% abv punch. Smooth going down and the alcohol doesn't overwhelm the beer. I bought a sixer of this to carry home. Sampled the pale ale-typical but not special. No cask conditioned ale available.

This would be a great place for a Friday TGIF on the patio. A return trip will be in the works.

This

(01/31/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Lousy N/A Good N/A

Establishment: River Market Brewing Company, Kansas City, MO

I stopped in late afternoon after finishing my rounds. Because of the weather the bar was not crowded. They only had 2 beers on tap because of some mechanical malfunction. The "red" was actually very tasty and similar to a nice pale ale/IPA. The "light/golden" was just that, a good attempt to brew for the macro drinkers but not enough flavor to satisfy me.

I'll call before I go next time to ensure that the beer selection is actually that-a selection. I don't want to rate this brewery because of an issue they can't control.

(01/24/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Great Great

Establishment: McCoy's Public House and Brewkitchen, Kansas City, MO

I visited this bar twice in two nights while in town. It was close to the hotel and given the snow I didn't want to venture to far. I was hesitant to visit because the last time I was here several months ago I visited in the late afternoon for a beer only and service from the Ian Hunter/Kenny G. look-alike bartender was horendous.

So who do I see when I walk in-yup-him. Fortunately I had another bartender serve me on both nights and the service was fine.

The beer: The stout is drinkable but too cold, the brown ale is passable but not overwhelmingly flavorful, the ESB was more of an English style and very good. Sampled the Ginger Shandy-too sweet for my tastes.

Food: Night 1 I had the pot roast-two huge chunks of fork tender meat. It was delicious and I couldn't finish it! Night 2 I had the Greek pizza. Again very good but I wished I would have had the pot roast again!!

I would go back here because the beer is good (but not altogether memorable) and the food is excellent.

(01/24/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Good Great

Establishment: 75th Street Brewery, Kansas City, MO

I visited this past week during the late afternoon. Several regulars were at the bar. I must say one thing about this brewery-I've been going to 75th St. Brewery since the early 90's and the clientele is among the friendliest I've ever run across. Every time I've been in the bar area people are always talkative and friendly-even to strange out-of-towners like myself!!!

I had a cask pale ale, 2 in fact. Very well done beer served at the proper temperature. The IPA was also very nice although a little cold.

75th St. is a regular stop for me when in the KC area. Go there.

(01/24/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Great Good

Establishment: Springfield Brewing Company, Springfield, MO

Springfield Brewing is a very nice, comfortable facility. The bartender was very helpful the night I was there (weekday) with samplers and suggestions. I also bought several nice .5L pilsner glasses that had been shipped incorrectly to the brewery and he gave me a large handful of new coasters too. The beer: First a caveat-all the beer was served much too cold-that's great if you're mowing the yard in the summer but not in the dead of winter (or any other time) for craft brews. I had to warm the beer up with my hands before I drank any of it. The seasonal Winter Warmer had a very high ABV but was thinnish and no "stick to your guts" feeling The Porter had a great flavor and was very similar to some stouts I've had (after it warmed up). The Dobblebock was very dark with a heavy alcohol presence and a strong, thick mouthfeel. This was by far the best beer I had in the brewery. Food: I had cheddar soup and a small (but large) Caesars salad with chicken. Both dishes were very good. I would certainly go back here. Hopefully they continue to experiment with new beers and consider serving their beers at the proper temperature. This is a very nice establishment for a town such a Springfield, MO.

(01/20/2003)


Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ 4 ] [ 5 ] [ ALL ]













(0.394 seconds) 14:43:43 54.82.53.231, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS